Klorane • Soothing Shampoo with Peony Extract for Irritated Itchy Scalps • Shampoo

rated 3.3(18 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deuxbisous on 8/20/2013 10:48:00 AM more reviews by deuxbisous

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

My scalp can sometimes become irritable but is not always a problem. I wanted to try this shampoo for the soothing properties and also because it smelled so beautiful. Unfortunately it dried out my hair - I found it to be incredibly harsh to the point that I was finding loads of hair breaking off after washing with it - and it actually made my scalp itch! - the exact opposite of what it claimed to do. Unfortunately I had to throw it out without finishing. A big disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 polkadot1 on 6/25/2013 6:05:00 PM more reviews by polkadot1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love this shampoo!

I have psoriasis on my scalp which can get terribly dry itchy and sore. My hair can get a bit oily at the roots and always needed washed every two days at most , I tried this product when none of usual shampoos were cutting it and my scalp felt soothed from the first wash.

It has a nice floral scent and is in a handy flip top bottle.

It is a bit more expensive than brands like dove but I find i only need to wash my hair every third day now so a bottle lasts me ages.

I have fine hair which can be very flat when just washed and be difficult to style, when i use this my hair has a bit more volume.

I ran out recently and my scalp flared up again quickly. I wish it was a bit more widely available but ive used several bottle of this now and am still very happy with this product

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LibertyRose on 5/20/2013 12:36:00 PM more reviews by LibertyRose

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I am shocked by my strong dislike for this shampoo. Beautiful packaging usually wins some points from me, but not this time. It doesn't bubble up at all, and the lack thereof doesn't seem to produce any perceptible benefits to my hair. For the same price, I'd rather get Bumble & Bumble or Fresh.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 vuvie on 3/13/2013 10:44:00 PM more reviews by vuvie

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Soothe and calms my itchy & acne scalp when I had problem with my scalp a few years ago. At the same time, I have eczema skin so I must use natural / organic product without SLS (which causes my eczema flare up).

I was under a lot of stress back then so I needed to calm my scalp. When the scalp is itchy and has acne, the inflamed hair follicles will cause more hair falling. After using 3 bottles of this, my scalp calmed down and now I am back to normal.

I also used Avalon Organics Teatree shampoo in between. Now my HG is Avalon Organics Teatree shampoo and I believe either Klorane or Avalon Organics is good enough for itchy/acne scalp problem.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 rustybag on 1/18/2013 4:09:00 PM more reviews by rustybag

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Klorane products are hit or miss for me, and unfortunately, this one is a miss. It smells like roses to me, which I do not like the scent of. It cleans my fine hair well and rinses clean, but something in this makes me shed a lot. At $18 for 13 ounces, it's not cheap, either. Disappointing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mllemustard on 1/14/2013 12:03:00 AM more reviews by mllemustard

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Hazel    

This shampoo worked really well for me.

I was having problems with a very dry, itchy, and flaky scalp (it was, seriously, gross). I figured I'd try this Klorane shampoo for its soothing properties after having tried various dandruff shampoos that didn't work and seemed to irritate my head even more.

I no longer want to scratch my head off. The flaking has stopped. It cleans reasonably well and leaves my hair soft (I have thick, short-ish hair, color-treated hair), even when I don't use conditioner.

A nice bonus: it smells really nice. It's very floral and girly (duh, peonies!), but a nice change from the medicinal tar smell of T-Gel.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MadameJouhier on 12/19/2012 11:37:00 AM more reviews by MadameJouhier

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This shampoo smells really good. It seemed to calm my irritated scalp due to the changing seasons. It cleaned well and didn't leave my hair dry. I wished it was a little thicker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Lucifiel on 11/27/2012 10:29:00 AM more reviews by Lucifiel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Terrible, doesn't really work on my greasy hair + scalp much and cleanses it poorly. Though at first, it did work reasonably well. However, its performance started to degrade after 2 months' of usage and my scalp is flaking again.

I can't believe I still have a lot more left.

Edit: I believe the reason why this shampoo can be so harsh for some, is due to the presence of SLS(sodium laureth sulfate). Try finding a shampoo with cocamidoprophyl betaine or decyl glucoside or sodium laureth sarcosinate.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 lemon_tree on 9/21/2012 9:11:00 PM more reviews by lemon_tree

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I wanted to love this shampoo, it smells amazing. light floral, very pretty and not overwhelming. BUT it made my scalp itchy (when it's supposed to "soothe" it!) and didn't do a good enough job cleaning it so my hair still felt a little greasy after washing. Too bad. I'll be using the rest of it as a body wash. the bottle is pretty big but it's kinda pricey for what it is. odd texture, more watery than gel like, compared to most shampoos.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marisolantela on 3/8/2012 5:08:00 AM more reviews by marisolantela

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Too bad it didn't work for me, this is one of the most deliciously scented shampoos I have ever tried!
Unfortunately, besides from being mild and slightly controlling the amount of grease, it was worthless for its main purpose: calming and healing the itchy scalp. I finished the bottle and the eruptions remained there, untouched and still hurting. Perhaps if you don't have such a bad case of scalp irritation it would work, but for the more severe ones save your money for something more effective. The one that really worked for me was La Roche-Posay's Kerium Extra-Gentle, which would cost about the same (around 13) and doesn't smell so good (it's just a standard neutral scent) but I can assure you it gets the job done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Klorane products

More Shampoo products