Klorane Soothing Shampoo with Peony Extract for Irritated Itchy Scalps

3.4

22 reviews

59% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

water, sodium laureth sulfate, disodium cocoamphodiacetate, cocamidoprophyl betaine, paeonia albiflora root extract, citric acid, fragrance, imidazolidinyl urea, panthenol, piroctone olamine, polyquaternium-10, propylene glycol, red 22


on 2/1/2015 8:17:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I wanted to try a different shampoo for my dandruff / seborrheic dermatitis issues. Sometimes my scalp is fine, but sometimes it flares up, and I'm tired of the medicinal/yucky smell of traditional shampoos. Plus, I'd read some reviews that the different ingredient, piroctone olamine, had helped some people with hair loss/growth issues. I have thin temple areas. So I tried the Klorane. It does smell great, very floral, but it doesn't linger long. I tried using it without a conditioner and of course my hair felt dry. I used a conditioner the next time, and my hair was fine. For some reason, my hair starts to get greasy less than 24 hours later. I'm hoping my scalp is adjusting to the different shampoo and it won't continue. We'll see…
I've only been using it for a week so I don't have any input on hair regrowth. It has helped keep any issues from flaring up so far.



on 1/16/2015 12:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Grey

I use this shampoo after my T-gels and other AWFUL smelling medicated shampoo. I have scalp psoriasis, so I have to use the medicated shampoos after a flare up. This masks the smell and helps remove the plaque buildup. I understand how people can say this is very dry but I usually follow up with an intense moisture recovery conditioner after to give my hair bounce. This is a great shampoo!


on 7/4/2014 7:25:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

I could go either way with this product. On one hand, it is very watery for a shampoo and I have to use quite a bit of it to feel like my scalp is clean. On the other hand, I do think it is gentle and it smells really delicious. For the price and the small quantity that you get in the bottle, I do not believe this to be a good value product. There are many other shampoos that I am perfectly happing using.


on 4/25/2014 10:39:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Unlike most reviewers for this product, I bought this shampoo for the scent and not its advertised soothing properties. My scalp is pretty normal but gets dry during the colder months when I tend to crank up the hot water during my showers. As a result my scalp gets drier than normal but not super flaky or anything. Sometimes my scalp itches from using SLS based shampoos but when I switch to sulfate-free I notice a difference.

This is a nice shampoo but the scent is VERY pungent. I'm not sure how soothing a shampoo can be if it's so strongly scented? After I use this shampoo, my bathroom smells like a potpourri bomb exploded in it. If you like strong florals, this may not be an issue for you. I wanted to like this shampoo since I like peonies and the pink color was too pretty to pass up, but I prefer Klorane's almond and flax shampoos over this one.


on 8/20/2013 10:48:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

My scalp can sometimes become irritable but is not always a problem. I wanted to try this shampoo for the soothing properties and also because it smelled so beautiful. Unfortunately it dried out my hair - I found it to be incredibly harsh to the point that I was finding loads of hair breaking off after washing with it - and it actually made my scalp itch! - the exact opposite of what it claimed to do. Unfortunately I had to throw it out without finishing. A big disappointment.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/25/2013 6:05:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I love this shampoo!

I have psoriasis on my scalp which can get terribly dry itchy and sore. My hair can get a bit oily at the roots and always needed washed every two days at most , I tried this product when none of usual shampoos were cutting it and my scalp felt soothed from the first wash.

It has a nice floral scent and is in a handy flip top bottle.

It is a bit more expensive than brands like dove but I find i only need to wash my hair every third day now so a bottle lasts me ages.

I have fine hair which can be very flat when just washed and be difficult to style, when i use this my hair has a bit more volume.

I ran out recently and my scalp flared up again quickly. I wish it was a bit more widely available but ive used several bottle of this now and am still very happy with this product

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2013 12:36:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I am shocked by my strong dislike for this shampoo. Beautiful packaging usually wins some points from me, but not this time. It doesn't bubble up at all, and the lack thereof doesn't seem to produce any perceptible benefits to my hair. For the same price, I'd rather get Bumble & Bumble or Fresh.


on 3/13/2013 10:44:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Soothe and calms my itchy & acne scalp when I had problem with my scalp a few years ago. At the same time, I have eczema skin so I must use natural / organic product without SLS (which causes my eczema flare up).

I was under a lot of stress back then so I needed to calm my scalp. When the scalp is itchy and has acne, the inflamed hair follicles will cause more hair falling. After using 3 bottles of this, my scalp calmed down and now I am back to normal.

I also used Avalon Organics Teatree shampoo in between. Now my HG is Avalon Organics Teatree shampoo and I believe either Klorane or Avalon Organics is good enough for itchy/acne scalp problem.


on 1/18/2013 4:09:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Klorane products are hit or miss for me, and unfortunately, this one is a miss. It smells like roses to me, which I do not like the scent of. It cleans my fine hair well and rinses clean, but something in this makes me shed a lot. At $18 for 13 ounces, it's not cheap, either. Disappointing.


on 1/14/2013 12:03:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This shampoo worked really well for me.

I was having problems with a very dry, itchy, and flaky scalp (it was, seriously, gross). I figured I'd try this Klorane shampoo for its soothing properties after having tried various dandruff shampoos that didn't work and seemed to irritate my head even more.

I no longer want to scratch my head off. The flaking has stopped. It cleans reasonably well and leaves my hair soft (I have thick, short-ish hair, color-treated hair), even when I don't use conditioner.

A nice bonus: it smells really nice. It's very floral and girly (duh, peonies!), but a nice change from the medicinal tar smell of T-Gel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
397 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
328 Reviews


Top Rated Klorane Products

image

Dry shampoo

209 reviews
Back to Top