Homemade Vitamin C Serum

4.4

165 reviews

89% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 4/22/2015 11:16:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Black

I started my foray into Vitamin C Serums with the OST/C20 Pure Vitamin C21.5 Advanced Serum - this was after I read rave reviews of their original C20 serum and they had just upgraded the formula to C21.5 (21.5% of Vit C and a non-sticky finish). I LOVED it - it faded my hyperpigmentation spot, and it cleared my acne up. The only downside (and it's a very small one I would say) is that my fingernails turned yellow from the serum (only the fingers that were used to apply). It got better once I made the effort to ensure any residue serum was washed off after application.

I decided to try making my own Vitamin C serum after I ran out of the OST/C20 - making your own is wayyy cheaper and I didn't have to wait 2 weeks to receive my replacement (I can't live without the serum in the mornings now). I have problems dissolving the Vitamin C powder entirely in the distilled water/rose water mixture that I use from Heritage Products. Anyone has tips of how to dissolve it completely without having to stir for an hour straight? I use 1 tsp Vit C with 3 tsp rosewater. I also add some glycerin. The first batch I did, I added too much glycerin and I hated it. Slippery, slimey and my sunblock would just SIT on top of the serum. Not a happy feeling. Half the amount of glycerin later, I'm much happier with the concoction.

Whether this outperforms the OST/C20, only time will tell. I have ordered backups of those (just because it's my Holy Grail and Wishtrend was having some crazy sale), but I do plan to use this home formulation inbetween.

I am thinking of adding Ferulic Acid - does it make any difference or justifiable difference for me to hunt the raw ingredients down? I live in Asia and it may be a tad of a hassle and not to mention expensive.



Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I just started doing my own DIY Vitamin C Serum, and so far so good! I use a 5% solution with 1/4th vitamin C powder from NOW solutions, 4 tsp distilled water and 3/4 tsp vegetable glycerin, also from NOW Solutions. I also got a few amber glass bottles from The Container Store, which were relatively cheap. I boiled and washed over my bottles, dropper, and measuring spoons with distilled water to get the tap out, and leave it to dry, before dissolving the powder into the water completely. I add the glycerin in last. It's been about 4 days of using this after I wash my face day and night, and my skin is smoother, plumper, and acne scabs peel off faster leaving brand new skin underneath...and that's only with 5%! Tomorrow I will be moving up to 10%, since i haven't experienced any stinging thus far. The only qualm I have is that the serum sort of rolls up or balls up when I rub it onto my face, and it gets all over my fingers. I've remedied that by just tapping it into my skin lightly...that seems to help some. Hopefully when I use less glycerin in the 10%, that won't happen anymore! I will update as I go up in dosage and report back with results when I get to 20%!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/7/2015 9:57:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Miraculous. Used on my hands and arms (whole body actually) and within 3 days the cooking scars are fading and my hands don't look old and wrinkly. Today is day 4 and I just use the vit c recipe withsome avocado oil or body cream on top - have used oils creams n specific treatments inc glycolic acid n nothing has made my hands look so good. My skin is also improving n there is less milia/bumpiness

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 2/17/2015 1:58:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This is the 3rd time I've made the C Serum - I use Kassey's 15% C and Ferulic Acid recipe (found here: http://www.skincaretalk.com/a/15-c-serum-with-tutorial - I omit the Optiphen, the polysorbate 80 and the xantham gum - I like mine thinner, and I just make fresh when it starts to turn)

The only thing I did different this time was I bought some ultrafine LAA from lotioncrafter.com, and it dissolved in less than a minute, as opposed to the "regular" LAA that took literally hours to dissolve! Seriously, if you are going to make this stuff, do yourself a huge favor and get the ultrafine LAA. I even tried putting the regular stuff in the food processor and pulverizing it, and it still didn't work nearly as well as the ultrafine (the food processor was my 2nd attempt - still took forever)

I use this in the AM under my moisturizer - it takes only a moment to sink it, and I don't even know it's there, but it does keep my skin brighter and firmer. And it's mondo cheap, plus you get the thrill of being a mad scientist! :D Love it to death.

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.


on 1/22/2015 2:32:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I cannot believe I am just now hearing about making my own vitamin c serum!!! As soo. As I read all the reviews (and I do mean all of them), I ran out to get some vitamin c powder to whip up a batch as I already had all of the other ingredients. I added carrot seed oil, lavender and geranium essential oils to it and OMG!! I saw a difference after the first use and now 4 days later I cannot believe the difference this has made in my face! At 37, I was getting laugh lines that stayed even after I was done laughing or smiling and they are almost completely gone after 4 days using a 10% serum!! I can't wait to see what happens when I up the dosage in a few weeks!! I will NEVER be without this again!!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 1/10/2015 4:01:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I used to buy NuFountain C20, which was very good, but now I've been making my own vitamin C serum for years. I store it in an amber glass bottle in the refrigerator and my recipe remains stable for at least 2 months. Here is my mixture:
3/4 teaspoon ascorbic acid (NOW vitamin C crystals)
2 Tablespoons Thayer's alcohol free witch hazel with aloe
1/4 teaspoon vegetable glycerine (NOW)
Dissolve vitamin C crystals in witch hazel. Must dissolve completely! I usually have to use the end of a spoon to grind the crystals a bit to help it dissolve.
Add glycerine and stir.
Pour into amber glass bottle w/ dropper and store in fridge.
I think the addition of the witch hazel instead of distilled water is what preserves this serum for so long.
Works just as well as nufountain for a fraction of the cost. I can't imagine paying $$$ for Skinceuticals when the ingredients are sooo cheap.

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.


on 1/9/2015 1:50:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

For my DIY C serum, I use l-ascorbic acid powder from Garden of Wisdom with aloe vera juice in a ratio of 4 parts aloe to 1 part powder. I store the mixture in an amber glass dropper bottle and make a fresh batch every 4-5 days.

TBH, the DIY serum does not give me results that are as dramatic as an HE serum such as Skinceuticals.

However the DIY serum is a fraction of the cost. IME, Skinceuticals oxidized before I could get through half of the bottle, which is why I did not repurchase.

I have been using the serum 5 times a week for 3 months and have noticed that my skin tone is more even, acne scars have faded by 50% or more and small sun spots seem lighter in color

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 12/24/2014 11:27:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have been making my own vitamin C serum for well over a year now. I use the L-ascorbic fine powder from Lotion Crafters, and distilled water. I have worked up to 20%, and my skin tolerates it well. I have however developed yellow/orange fingernails from using this solution! I have been careful that it does not touch the nails, but they are all discolored regardless. I connected with a doctor on-line that had written an article/researched the use of topical vitamin c (Dr. Pumori Telang-Saokar) and he confirmed that this staining is from the serum. He advised me to wear gloves when I mix and apply it, and that over time the staining would fade. We will see. Has anyone else had this side affect? Please respond if you have.

thank you

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 12/7/2014 7:11:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

***************Why only me*********
I am so disappointed right now. After using this product my skin turned 2-3 shades darker. I was not planning to get tan. I don't need tan because I already have warm complexion. Glycerin made my skin looks shiny/greasy. What's up with that? I made my toner with distilled water 2-3 teaspoon, 1/8 tea of vitamin c powder, 1 tea spoon of glycerin. I made fresh batch every week. It would look fine when I applied this toner at night but in the morning after cleansing my face would look darker? I got summer tan in winter which I don't appreciate.

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.


on 11/13/2014 9:23:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I make this as a toner - ascorbic acid and distilled water, which I allow to dry and follow with an oil that contains vitamin e and other goodies. I've been using it for five months, starting low and building up to 20% or a bit less vitamin C. I have sensitive skin but haven't really had any problems with sensitivity. The toner lasts a week but not longer kept in a dark place.

It's not the magic wand I was hoping for, nor can I swear its not doing anything. After about six weeks use, it seemed to me that my skin looked firmer. I'm at a time of life when my skin should be deteriorating rapidly and its not. Perhaps that is as a result of this regime.

Nothing you put on your skin makes as much difference as eating and sleeping well but i will definitely continue to use this.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Retin A
528 Reviews
Nerium AD
70 Reviews
Sudocrem
136 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
14 Reviews


Top Rated No Brand (DIY or homemade) Products

image

Epsom Salt Bath

109 reviews
image

Sugar

249 reviews
image

Ice Cubes

42 reviews
image

Oatmeal Mask

202 reviews
Back to Top