Urban Decay Big Fatty Mascara


273 reviews

34% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals
Urban Decay is a Cruelty-Free Subsidiary.


on 8/5/2015 3:28:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Let me begin by saying, I bought this at Ulta during the week when it was on sale for $10.00 instead of $20.00, and then I received an additional discount on top of that. That is the only reason this mascara was ever brought to my attention.

When I purchased this, I wasn't really sure what to expect, as I have not had very positive experiences with Urban Decay mascara in the past. The Big Fatty mascara was something shy of amazing. It has a very weird, long, straight brush, I.E., not curved like many other mascara wands tend to be. It goes on very black and gives me a ton of volume and length. I do usually use Stila Major Lash before this through, as it doesn't do much for lash definition; I find that when used alone without a lash primer or defining mascara underneath it that it clumps lashes together. The staying power is average, it doesn't seem to bleed all over the place, but it's definitely not waterproof, and when it does get fairly wet it burns my eyes. That's no good. If I were to reprice this mascara, I'd probably price it somewhere around 12-13 dollars. 20 dollars is asking quite a bit for a mascara that requires so much work.

on 7/20/2015 7:33:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my HG mascara so I use it only on special occasions. It makes my lashes soooo long, thick and defined. All this, of course, if you put some of the mascara from the brush. What I don't like is the price so you can't repurchase it often.

on 3/31/2015 12:09:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I simply cannot believe all of the bad reviews for this mascara!?.... I haven't been writing reviews lately and am planning to sit down one night soon and leave my reviews for tons of products, but when I saw this product and the negative reviews it's getting I had to go ahead and leave my glowing review.

Ok, first off let me start by saying that I'm a mascara loving chic! I do not have the thick long lashes I wish for and I love false lashes but do not care for the hassle of applying them, so I only do so for special occasions. At present time in my makeup collection I have over 40 tubes of mascara, mostly high end, some mid and a few drugstore. I have Marc Jacobs, Tom Ford, Chantecaille, LaPrairie, Chanel, Dior, Bobbie Brown, Lancome, Clarins, Charlotte Tilbury, Benefit, Too faced, IT, Urban Decay, L'Oreal, Maybelline, Rimmel, etc.,etc.,..... there's many more, these are off the top of my head. You get the point, I'm a product junky and I have tried my fair share of mascaras. Taking into account all of the mascaras I have tossed out, given away , used up and or dried out tubes and considering that I'm 37 and been wearing makeup since I was very young, around 9 yrs old for modeling and fashion shows, it's very safe to say that I've tried over 100 types/brands of mascaras. This is one of my all time faves!! I am seriously shocked that more people do not love this...... guess it depends on what you look for in a mascara.
I like one that's thick, but not clumpy and not overly wet and messy. I use at least 2-3 coats and hate really wet thin mascaras, they take forever to dry and you can't recoat while still wet or they clump. They are messy to use and end up getting somewhere around my eye, meaning I now have to try and wipe it off without messing up my other makeup, as my mascara and lip are the last things I apply.... Ugh!! Great lash mascara would be a great example of this type, I really hate that mascara!!
My other faves are L'Oreal voluminous and DiorShow. I also love IT Cosmetics tightline mascara. I usually do a coat of tightline and then the voluminous and DiorShow, for me this makes perfect lashes. I have found though that this mascara can replace both the L' Oreal and Dior. It has the thick lash building quality of voluminous and the lengthening and separating quality of DiorShow in one. I love the big fluffy brush and it doesn't clump. I can use 2 good coats of this after using the tightline mascara and it seriously looks like I've put on false lashes, it adds that much volume and length to my lashes!
If you are going for the very natural look, then no...this isn't the mascara for you. When going for that look I just do 2 coats of the tightline by IT, so check that out if your looking in this direction, its great.
But, if you want BIG, thick, long lashes, you will love this!! If you really like L'Oreal voluminous mascara, then I highly recommend trying this, its like an upgraded version of voluminous with an even better brush!!!! :)

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

on 11/5/2014 11:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

It certainly gives eyelashes a bolder, fuller length, DARK BLACK appearance. It makes me look like I have false lashes on which I kinda love cause they are like WOW but then I sort of feel they look a bit too fake, borderline clumpy? Tricky...
It's a total pest to take off and I always seem to wake up with panda eyes even when I think I have got it all of at night.
I have dark blond lashes and this does completely coat them with no trace of blonde left.

I can't not love this mascara for the fact it instantly transforms my lashes but it is far from perfect. Will try to upload a photo - taken with just one coat no curling and just thrown on in the car!

on 10/31/2014 3:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wanted so badly to like this mascara, especially since I paid $20 for it. But sadly, I hate it. It's clumpy, it smears, and its so thick and heavy. I love urban decay but unfortunately this is a terrible product.

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I hate that they changed the brush/packaging for this! The original big fatty had the CUTEST tube and gave me long and voluminous lashes. The new formula flakes (and i don't have issues with flaking often) and that added with the brush makes this similar quality to drugstore mascaras (except i can find better drugstore mascaras). If UD ever goes back to the original brush i would DEFINITELY repurchase.

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

I saw the brush of this mascara and the name and instantly thought 'this is for me'.
It lives up to it's name. Big Fatty. It gives you long lashes, that are jet black and bold. It separates them well and really gets onto each individual lash. This was the first 'higher end' mascara I bought and It's what started my high end make up obsession because I was so happy with this.
Christmas day I got this as a gift and that morning when i applied it for the first time I finished applying and thought "wow my lashes look great", my family give me many compliments and someone even asked if I was wearing false lashes. I only applied 2 coats and it was perfect.
This product has now dried up but I've used it since Christmas Day until March, so that was understandable, It wasn't going to last forever, and I would of thought it unhygienic to carry on using it any longer anyway.
For 15 from a higher end brand for a lot of good quality product this is one of my all time favourite make-up products. I'm planning on re-purchasing because I miss it so much.
When I bought this the packaging was pretty because it was black and purple and white, but now they've changed it to a hippy themed package I hate it, but that doesn't effect the product, so I will buy it again sometime next week, I'll just put it to the back of my dressing table.

on 5/25/2014 7:08:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This mascara smears so bad! Within a couple of hours I have black smear under my eyebrows! Not to mention it is expensive but I wouldn't use it if it were free. Unusable, so I am going to return it to Sephora.

I love UD eyeshadow, but this mascara is terrible.

on 5/8/2014 3:55:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is the best mascara I've used in a long time. I got a tiny sample of it at Sephora and couldn't wait to try it this morning. I put two coats of it on the right eye and two coats of Tarte's Lights Camera Lashes on the left eye. There's no doubt that Big Fatty gave the best coverage with one coat and even better with two coats. It's the clear winner. They are both fabulous and put all my others to shame including Dior and Chanel. I am so glad I finally got a Sephora membership because these products are so superior to the drug store brands.

So many reviewers didn't like the fact that there is no cuff to catch the excess mascara but you have to scrape the brush against the edge of the tube opening and then you get the right amount. I don't mind having to use extra care applying when the results are this spectacular. Isn't it better to have lots of product to work with, instead of a dry brush that you struggle to get anything from?

For me, this is what mascara should be.

I have no idea whether the full sized mascara would perform as well as this sample, but I am going to buy one when I use this up.

Update June 3, 2014: My tiny sample is almost gone and it is still the best mascara I own. Even drying up in an almost empty tube it is the best one in my collection. I am afraid the full sized tube will not perform as beautifully as the sample - which has happened to me with other products. And I have to use up my other, substandard, annoying mascaras. But this is the one. Almost holy grail to me. Why? Long, lush, full, natural but better, no flakes, no smears, no clumps, nothing wrong with it at all. It works the same whether brand new or almost all gone. It transforms the eyes from no lashes to Elizabeth Taylor. Lashes, not spider legs. Don't fret about the brush or anything else. Just work with it. You'll get the lashes.

PS This is better than Tarte's product, which I returned. It can't even compare.

Update June 16: The tiny sample tube was finally used up, and I will rebuy this once I've used up all my other current favourites.

Update Aug 4/15: This was discontinued when I tried to rebuy it, at least at my local Sephora. Too bad. It was a stunningly good mascara.

on 4/18/2014 5:16:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Big Fatty is one of my faves! I can see this mascara not working for some people, the brush is huge and the formula is pretty wet and the tube sucks. And it sucks bad. The wiper doesn't wipe off nearly enough product. I end up scraping the sides of the brush on the tube before I apply. As long as you remove all the extra product first, the results are great. I love the big brush and don't have any problems with application. Big Fatty gives my lashes incredible volume and thickness and a little extra length. I have been blessed with very curved natural lashes that I don't curl so I can't comment on how well it holds curl. It also doesn't flake or smudge on me, I don't use it on bottom lashes though. One of the biggest pluses for me is the size of the tube .51 fl. oz. That is a ton of mascara! Almost double the amount of many other brands. I apply my mascara very heavily and usually can burn through a tube in 2 months, but Big Fatty lasts twice that long. This is a definite repurchase for me.

Top Rated Urban Decay Products



143 reviews

Vice 2

45 reviews


331 reviews

Half Baked

197 reviews
Back to Top