LUSH • Caca Rouge Henna • Hair

rated 3.6(86 reviews)

Average Rating.3.6
Would buy this product again.69%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Tinytot23 on 2/5/2015 12:45:00 PM more reviews by Tinytot23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have used Lush caca rouge henna a good few times now and I love it! The first thing I'd say about henna is that it smells. I wouldn't say it's a bad smell but it's definitely potent and earthy but bearable. The next thing, it's time consuming and Messy! You'll need old clothes and to cover your floor when applying. Personally, I grate 2 squares of henna so that it's fine, pour in boiling water and then stir it into a yoghurt-like consistency. Pop it on and wrap in cling film and after that I wear an old hat and leave it to soak in for 5 hours. It's great to do on a lazy day! I won't lie, rinsing it out takes some serious elbow grease but the result is totally worth it! It leaves my hair super soft, shiny and brings out beautiful warm copper, auburn and red tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 pinkpeppered on 1/27/2015 12:02:00 AM more reviews by pinkpeppered

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

Huge tip to all you ladies:
If you want something equally effective, way cheaper, much less messy, easier to use and easier to customize, go to your local Middle Eastern, Halal or South Asian store and buy henna for hair there. Some good brands are Jamila and Noorani. Lush is ripping you off!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Bareburre on 1/21/2015 7:31:00 PM more reviews by Bareburre

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

My go-to when my hair needs a color boost, some spunk or I just need a change. Henna, unlike chemical hair dyes, acts like a varnish. This means more shine, prettier fading when the colour gets worn(in my case fading starts after at least 4-6 weeks) AND happier hair! I use 2 squares on my short-ish but THICK hair, so it's really worth it for me. The smell can easily be dealt with by adding lemon, ginger, coffee or red wine(yup!). Or just use one of the Lush shampoo bars when you rinse. After the first time, you'll learn how to minimize the mess and how thick or thin you want the mix to be. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 EmmaNoelle on 1/8/2015 6:20:00 PM more reviews by EmmaNoelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This product is presented beautifully in a patterned brick and smells lovely - I don't know what everyone is talking about with the horrible smell, it smelled like incense to me. However, I'm not exactly impressed with the results. I read that the colour comes out differently if you leave the henna uncovered, so I left one test strand exposed to and covered the other one in layers of cling film. I left the henna in for six hours before I rinsed it out. When I dried it I expected it to leave me with an auburn shade, or at least a red sheen. I was left with nothing on both strands. Sure it conditioned the strands I applied it to, but if I hold my test strands against the rest of my hair I can't see a difference. I won't be using the rest of the block. I don't mind so much as it was more of an experiment, but I don't think I'll be buying LUSH henna again in a hurry.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 TheMaisha on 9/7/2014 11:45:00 AM more reviews by TheMaisha

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

You're better off using henna from your local indian shop. This henna only acted as a hard to wash out deep conditioner

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LemurLover95 on 9/1/2014 7:04:00 AM more reviews by LemurLover95

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Okay, I will start by describing what my hair used to be like, before I joined the Lush universe. Six months ago, my hair wasn't in a brilliant condition. It used to be really crunchy, frizzy, and used to get ridiculously knotty. It had only ever been dyed once (two years ago), and I never bothered with heat styling. I suppose I didn't know how to look after my mouse-brown, wavy hair.
Now, when I dyed my hair that one time, I wanted to go auburn-ish. However, as we all probably know, chemical boxed red dye is notorious for fading away rapidly, so I didn't bother again. However, I got bored with my mouse colour. By April, after establishing a new Lush hair care regime, my hair was a lot better (I use Curly Wurly, Jungle, R&B and H'Suan Wen Hua for the record), and I came across the henna when I went to get more Jungle. Curious. I'd never heard of henna hair dye before! But this was more than just a curious hair dye for me. I've been trying to reduce my palm oil usage, and avoid anything that's been tested on animals like the plague, so I knew I couldn't miss it.
Now, the product. I won't sugar coat anything by saying that this stinks, and it's a mess. However, it makes for a very relaxing day- I leave this on for five to six hours (in fact, I've got some on my head now!), and you can use those hours to unwind and treat yourself. It looks like your head's had an unhealthy episode (I'll leave it at that), and it's a pain in the butt to wash out, but the results are so worth it. I don't use just boiling water- I use a big bowl of very hot, extra strong, sugarless and milk free tea to melt the henna as I've read that tea is excellent at bringing colour out. I also add cinnamon, wrap my head in several layers of clingfilm, and put on a heavy woolly hat or wrap a big towel around my head.
Before I used the henna, I never really got that many compliments for my hair. Some, but not many. However, now I have lots of people complimenting my hair, calling it beautiful, and asking what I use to look after it (even my nurse insisted on playing with it when I was having a blood test!). Gone are the days of random tangles, and looking like I've been electrocuted. Now my waves are shiny, soft, an everyone likes playing with it. The colour is incredible, too. It's a lovely, deep, rich auburn colour which can look cherry red in some colours. After you've used the henna a couple of times (henna never completely goes away, it layers up so every time you apply it, you'll get a more vivid colour), the fading is very slow.
Top marks, Lush!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SapphireRoses80 on 8/21/2014 8:07:00 AM more reviews by SapphireRoses80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've used henna in my hair and on my hands for decades and can honestly say never experienced so much waste of product as I did with Lush's caca rouge henna. The consistency right off the bat is too dry even after adding heaps of boiling water to it. I paid $27 for this but in the process of putting it on, you lose about $15 because it's getting flung on the walls, floor, toothbrush, toothpaste, mirror, outlets, and anywhere else you can think of. Maybe this product is more fitting for Dexter since he's always got plastic sheets laid out everywhere. My mom has been also using henna in her hair for the past 40-50 years and she happened to be over while I was doing this and knew this was crap the second I showed it to her after mixing it. The actual application is more difficult than it needs to be, after sectioning off my hair, getting an even application is impossible because the henna flakes off. I left this on for 8 hours and slept with a bag on my hair and a towel on my pillow. When I got in the shower to get this out, I felt like I was washing dirt, blended mulch, and twigs out of my hair. It took me 4 times to wash this out. As for the color, I have dark brown/black hair, it made my grey hairs golden brown. Added a bit of shine and a little bit of reddish brown color. I'm giving it 2 stars for at least adding a little color and intriguing my senses to try something different. I will not repurchase this and will stick to to my own henna concoction I've been doing for years.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Stella1002 on 8/12/2014 9:12:00 AM more reviews by Stella1002

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Man, did I have such high hopes for this product! But I guess when you have expectations you're just setting yourself up for disaster, right?

I purchased the Lush Caca Rouge at the mall closest to my house, and having known almost all the employees it was not a hard decision to purchase this product. They alerted me that my hair would be a vivid reddish color and I was SO stoked!
I went to the register and paid, $27, which was extremely steep for henna! Being an experienced henna extraordinaire (and by that I mean I've henna'd my hair every 4 months for the past few years) I was shocked at the price! But no matter, I was sure it would turn out great.
So I went home and followed the directions to a tee. Weird directions at that, double boiler seemed completely unnecessary. I applied the henna and waited 2 and a half hours, which is the longest I've ever let henna process. I washed the gritty, slimy goop out of my hair (henna isn't normally gritty, and the cocoa butter made it slimy and run down my neck constantly.)
To my disappointment my hair had turned maybe a shade darker! That's all! My already naturally highlighted brown hair was just an all around brown color. Man was I upset!
But I will say my hair was very soft! But that's only after 3 washes required to get all of the gritty residue out from my tresses.
All in all, I would NOT recommend this product for someone who is looking to naturally and chemically free trying to change the color of their hair! I've had way, way better luck with $2.99 powdered henna from my local middle eastern/Indian grocer! I think I'll just stick with that from here on out!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 chixxle on 7/27/2014 7:33:00 PM more reviews by chixxle

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this henna twice now and it worked pretty well both times. I have dark brown, almost black hair with orange ombre on the ends. I use three blocks every time for my medium length, fine hair and it always ends up being too much. I do this pretty late at night and just sleep with it on. It can get pretty uncomfortable but pain=beauty. The first time I used it my hair felt soft and the rusty orange ends because BRIGHT orange and the rest of my hair got a red tint in the sun. If you can get past the discomfort, mess and washing it out then I would definitely try this product out.

EDIT: About 3 months after using this henna it seemed like it had completely come off. I was bored with my look and decided to get some dark blonde highlights.I went to my usual stylist and told him that I had used henna a few months ago. He said it would probably be fine since the Henna is natural but he would watch my hair. Apparently while my foils were in to bleach my hair they were getting extremely hot due to a chemical reaction. He said luckily there was no damage but I was also in the salon for a lot longer than I had hoped. The henna would not come out of my hair and he had a very hard time getting the orange out of my hair. It wouldn't go completely blond at the ends of my hair but I was fine with it. Overall I'm extremely disappointed in the quality of Lush's henna.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jessicafrankie on 6/21/2014 12:05:00 PM more reviews by jessicafrankie

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    


Lush's henna was incredibly hard to prepare, and involved putting hot waxy paste into my hair, which was incredibly hard to wash out. I followed the directions to a T. You have to keep the mixture hot like the directions say because I found that unless the mixture was annoyingly hot, it would start to re-solidify and start to break my hair as I was putting it in. after putting it in, it sort of solidifies again on your head like candle wax would do. This made washing it out incredibly long and tedious. The worst part is that after I had washed it out, there was only a slight tinge to my naturally medium blonde hair! I thought that because my hair light colored and natural (not dye or anything), that it would be a nice bright color, but instead it looked like I had gone swimming in orange coolaide and was left with a slight hint of it stained in my hair. I thought it was something I did, so I went back to the Lush store, and the girl told me to try again and leave it in longer, so I bought some more, and did exactly what the girl told me to, and alas still the same effect! It wasnt even darker! I gave up after spending way to much on this useless product (twice!), and bought some "body art quality" organic powdered henna from an online store after I googled "body art quality henna for hair". When I did this stuff, there was no heating, no block of waxy henna, and no hair breakage when I put it in. This stuff had to be made the night before with water and lemon juice, and set over night, and it was a bit goopy, but man did it work! I went from a tinge of orange to red-crimson hair! I'd say skip the Lush bar and go straight for the real deal because after reading alot online, it seems that you should not mix conditioners or oils with your henna because it blocks the color from sticking to your hair. This makes sense to me bacause Lush did leave my hair feeling soft (albeit a bit waxy/ oily), and the regular powder henna did not leave an oily residue. I'd use henna if I had the desire to get a good conditioning treatment with a tinge or orange to maybe go overtop of naturally red hair, but otherwise, just go for the undiluted powdered henna.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Hair products