Pro Activ • Renewing Cleanser • Skincare - Face

rated 3.7(81 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 123jasmine4 on 4/6/2014 4:57:00 PM more reviews by 123jasmine4

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I'm really acne prone and I have dry/combo/normal skin, my skin type changes a lot honestly haha but it's mostly normal now.
This cleanser, has saved my freaking life. It literally keeps my face break out free 24/7, unless it's that lovely time of the month where i sometimes get one pimple but is always gone a few days after.
It clears and prevents breakouts, doesn't dry me out/add extra oil. This cleanser is my babaaaaayyyy. <3
If you can ever buy this cleanser seperate from the lotion and toner, do it! even if you don't want it send it to me hahaha.
Oh and if anyone knows where I can buy this separately instore or online, please say except for amazon & ebay. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LizzyBerry on 4/3/2014 5:20:00 PM more reviews by LizzyBerry

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Proactive served me well throughout high school, I really only used this cleanser and cover girl foundation and that's all that was on my face for years. I'm 24 now though and I'd say around 19 or so I started having large, painful cystic acne on my chin and sides of my chin every month. I know it's hormonal and adult acne which sucks. I am on ortho tri cyclen birth control too which has helped some but not cleared up everything. Proactiv was good throughout high school because I guess all my pimples were surface level? So the BP in the product could work on those but BP never gets deep down into the skin like AHA acid cleansers will. BP also dries your skin out like crazy, so as you get older and your face decreases oil production you just find yourself super dried out. This is what started happening to me.

Right now I'm on Dermadoctor's Ain't Misbehaving line (their AHA cleanser and acne serum) and so far I really like it. It's suppose to be great for adult and hormonal acne and doesn't dry my skin out at all! Also I find proactiv to be kind of expensive for the quality. The large renewing cleanser is like $30 and my Ain't Misbehaving cleanser is $27 and you get more product. I buy at Sephora too so whatever doesn't work for my face gets returned and I get my money back. I'd definitely suggest Dermadoctor if anyone has had similar experience with their skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 DrizzyRissy on 12/22/2013 10:26:00 PM more reviews by DrizzyRissy

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have never had "acne" before just a pimple once in a while but they were BAD. I would get an inflamed pimple that would last forever. I tried prescriptions and OTC acne washes but they didn't help and my pimples were just as bad. I had seen so many proactiv commercials but I never ordered it bc I didn't want to sign up for anything.
I finally noticed that they sold it at kiosks in the mall and I picked up my first kit and from what I can remember, I had no drying or peeling (my skin is normal to oily) and my pimples went away after a few weeks. I did not like the toner or repairing lotion and just used the cleanser. For over 2 years I have never gotten another pimple of any type and if I did it was bc I ran out for a few days or forgot it somewhere. It gave me my skin back and I was so confident!!

Recently I had a rash from a sketchy face wash pad I used when I left my proactiv at school and treating it like a breakout, I over used the cleanser and ended up making my skin extremely dry to the point where my forehead looked like plastic! I ended up having contact dermatitis and not breakouts so using so much proactiv cleanser and globs of repairing lotion (which I rarely use) made my face a nightmare. I ended up getting breakouts from the irritation but I didn't give up on proactiv just eased off of it.

I currently only use it at night to keep my breakouts away but BEWARE if you use too much of the cleanser you will do more harm than good. People with dry sensitive skin should use it with products with moisturizers and emollients. I use Boscia Soothing Cleasing Cream in the morning and I love it! The combination of the two makes my skin clear and hydrated. I recommend proactiv to people suffering from bad breakouts but those with very dry skin should probably stay away.

For anyone saying the ingredients are harsh clearly doesn't know what they are talking about. I took time out to look up each ingredient and none were harmful or irritating. You can find out for yourself on Paula's Choice website where they rate ingredients from poor, average, good and best. The cleanser's ingredients were in the best and good categories.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 beth2009 on 11/6/2013 8:08:00 AM more reviews by beth2009

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

THIS PRODUCT LEAVE BEHIND A FILM ON THE SKIN, WHICH TO ME FEELS OILY.. I DO NOT LIKE THAT FEELING WETHER ITS SUPPOSED TO HELP ME OR NOT, DOES NOTHING TO HELP WITH OILYNESS WHICH WE NEED. I DONT SEE ME BUYING AGAIN, I LIKE THE TONER AND THE LOTION, BUT DONT LIKE THE CLEANER.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Memoriesin on 10/12/2013 12:28:00 PM more reviews by Memoriesin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

This is good, using this alone is already enough to control acne. Dont use the 3 step system, the toner is too strong and the repairing lotion is very comedogenic, it can cause cystic acne.

Using the renewing cleanser is already enough, after you wash your face with this, you dont have to put on anything else, the cleanser's BP will protect your face throughout the day.

Great product but hard to get this bottle alone, many places do not sell the cleanser alone...

Dont be afraid that your skin will get hooked onto proactiv, your skin will get hooked on to literally any acne fighting ingredients, such as salicylic acid and BP.

UPDATE (3 months): never been happier with this cleanser ever!! It has completely cleared my face dramatically and left my face a radiant glow all the time. So awesome!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Pay17 on 8/18/2013 5:49:00 PM more reviews by Pay17

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Blue    

Very good, I like how's it's got these little scratchy things in it that totally make my skin feel cleaner. I do like this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Cosmetics4Ever on 12/19/2012 4:46:00 AM more reviews by Cosmetics4Ever

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

This is my all time favorite cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Rebecca753 on 12/4/2012 12:17:00 PM more reviews by Rebecca753

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I used this for years and it worked great when I was younger. Now I prefer to separate my benzyl peroxide and mechanical exfoliating products, I use neutrogena acne cream and simple face scrub and I get the same benefits with less irritation and a lower price. It also doesn't make sense to put benzyl peroxide into a product that you only have on your face for a minute or two, then rinse off. I know pro activ has a benzyl peroxide cream as well, but it seems redundant. I also use alpha hydrox lotion for the glycolic acid component and I feel like it is a better version of proactive.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Charligurl7 on 10/11/2012 10:42:00 PM more reviews by Charligurl7

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

All I have to say is..... Thank you PROACTIV! I have been going through hormonal acne for about 5-6 months now, and I have tried everything to get rid of it, with no avail. Finally, after much debate- I decided to try Proactiv. I wasn't a huge fan at first because I was concerned on what I had read on how your skin can get "addicted" to this product. I dont even care if my skin gets addicted now, because its something that actually works!!!! I do not use the 3-step system though, because my personal opinion is that there are better products to use with this cleanser. (I use DermaDoctor Aint mis behavin' acne serum, and Philosophy Take a Deep Breathe moisterizer- MORNING. and Juice beauty Blemish Serum with St Ives Colagen Moisterizer @ Night. SPOT TREATMENT is Kate Somerville Eradikate and its the best ever.) Its WORKING!!! Just my opinion... and I've tried nearly everything!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 stargirl114 on 8/30/2012 10:52:00 PM more reviews by stargirl114

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

This product is overall great. I love the 2.5% BP in it and even though BP in cleansers isn't as helpful as a BP cream or gel this product definatly helps my acne. I use this cleanser every night because twice a day is way to harsh for my skin and causes it to flake and peel. I love the exfoliating beads that aren't too harsh and don't feel like theyre ripping your skin apart. It did break me out at first but now it in conjunction with the acne.org treatment keep my acne away. The only reason I say I wouldnt buy this again is because I absolutly hate the smell. I can't stand it and I feel like it lingers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pro Activ products

More Skincare - Face products