Head and Shoulders Sensitive Care

3.9

31 reviews

80% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Active Ingredients: Pyrithione Zinc (1%) (Anti-Dandruff). Inactive Ingredients: Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Sodium Lauryl Sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Zinc Carbonate, Glycol Distearate, Dimethicone, Cetyl Alcohol, Polyquaternium 10, Fragrance, Magnesium Sulfate, Sodium Benzoate, Ammonium Laureth Sulfate, Magnesium Carbonate Hydroxide, Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Extract, Benzyl Alcohol, Sodium Chloride, Methylchloroisothiazolinone, Methylisothiazolinone, Sodium Xylene Sulfonate, Anthemis Nobilis Flower Oil, Tocopheryl Acetate.


on 9/13/2014 10:25:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Doesn't seem to dry out my hair like other sls base shampoos do, feels gentle on the scalp yet effective at removing hair product



on 5/16/2013 4:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

When I met my boyfriend he had big dandruff problems, and not even special shampoos helped. On top of that he also seemed to loose quite a lot of hair - there was always 3-6 hairs on his shoulders. I thought the problem might have been both because of the dandruff and because the other shampoos he had used might have been "too strong". He used this for about 3 month before the dandruff went away, and he also stopped loosing hair.
.
Remember, I'm talking about a GUY using this. He has short hair. This shampoo makes his hair fluffy, yet manageable. I would definitely recommend this to guys, as long as they don't mind the melon smell :P


on 8/11/2012 3:33:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Why oh why did I bought this shampoo. I have very sensitive scalp with SD sometimes. I hoped the pyrithione zinc would be good to solve my problems with dermatitis and scalp acne.
I haven't used shampoo with silicones for years and now I know why, this is so loaded with silicones, that it makes my hair very coated, flat and limp.
Besides that my scalp becomes very itchy, the shampoo is loaded with sulfates (even sodium lauryl sulfate!), I think that's why.
Will not use and buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/19/2012 5:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Blue

The absolute best for my sensitive scalp. It's the only shampoo I've tried which effectively removes dandruff, keeps my hair oil-free (for up to 3 days!) and doesn't irritate my skin. Thankfully, it's also the cheapest one I've used. Of course that means it's full of baddies like SLS, alcohol and mineral oil, but when it works this well I just can't bring myself to care.
The only reason I gave it a 4 instead of a 5 is due to its colour-stripping powers - my dyed hair fades very quickly when using this :(

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This product worked great for me when I started realizing that my hair was too thick and too dry to be washed every single day, so I stopped and began washing it 2-3 times a week. My oily scalp did not react well to this, and began itching and flaking like crazy. This was the first shampoo to stop the irritation, it worked the first time I used it. However I did use the 2 in 1, not the plain shampoo, because I found that this alone was drying enough to my hair. Also works well to remove any oils/build up in your scalp.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2011 8:30:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the best shampoo that i've used yet. My hair was falling out so badly, but this was the only shampoo in the Head & Shoulder line that helped controlled it. It's also quite moisturizing so i sometimes don't use conditioner afterwards. Not to mention that it took care of my dandruff/dry scalp problem. LOVE IT.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/7/2011 8:20:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

I don't use the 2 in 1, ever, for any brand, because like others have said, it causes build up - not worth saving the 2 minutes to me. I never have had build up using this shampoo alone. I also use H&S conditioner but the smooth and silky one..
My scalp, very reactive to anything, has a scab that won't heal even though I try different things, I have even tried baking soda and vinegar because I have been trying to go all natural. Not so easy, I didn't realize till after trying to wash my hair with baking soda which made my hair fall out?? how much H&S is my HG.
I hadn't dyed my hair for 3 years up until last month, and my hair has always faded quickly so I'm not sure if the shampoo will even make a difference. My hair is super long and thin strands but lots of it and I rarely get it cut but that's just because I don't have split ends, not sure if that's because of Head and Shoulders but I've been using it for years. Well besides the random impulse buy of other shampoos and I still come back to Head & Shoulders.

My BF used to use anything on his hair even Fructis (which I hate for my scalp) but after trying H&S he won't use anything else! The other shampoos just sit there in case we run out of this stuff which works awesome. I think it is expensive like everything else when it's not on sale but if I get the P&G brand saver coupon I can get it for 3$ a bottle at the drugstore or Safeway.
I took a lippie off because of how P&G does animal testing, which I didn't know up until a couple of months ago.. another reason I tried to go all natural. Alas I am back to using H&S. The ingredients I don't understand are also another reason for the 4 lippies, but I love the smell of it!
Update - I don't use H&S anymore, it makes my hair fall out.


on 6/13/2011 1:59:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

I've been using this shampoo for years, its been the only anti dandruff shampoo for me that actually works, plus when my scalp starts getting itchy this relieves it. I use it almost every night and if I switch to another shampoo I start getting little flakes again so this is definitely a staple for me. Its also reasonably priced and is in most stores so easy to find to. Took one lippie off though because it does lighten hair colours quickly.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2011 2:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I have an itchy, flaky, sensitive scalp and it is hard to find a good shampoo that doesn't exacerbate my problems. I bought this based on the reviews here, and I am not disappointed! I've tried H&S shampoos in the past, but they were drying and didn't work so well on keeping the flakes away. I've used this twice, and so far my scalp is 99% itch and flake free! It's not drying, and smells quite pleasant. So happy to have bought this!! Especially the price, as it was on sale for a large size at Shoppers for $6.99.


on 2/25/2011 4:38:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I'm a redhead - so I have sensitive skin, but this doesn't cause much irritation to my scalp at all. My scalp does hurt after I take out my pony tail, then again I've been using this shampoo everyday so it is to be expected. It got rid of all my dandruff and added a LOT of volume to my hair. My hair has more body, is softer, and shinier. This shampoo has, ironically, also cleared up majority of my bacne. This is definitely an amazing shampoo and I'm so glad I found this product.




Back to Top