Hourglass • Sheen Reflective Lip Gloss • Lip Gloss

rated 4.3(18 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SusanMary on 4/13/2010 12:44:00 PM more reviews by SusanMary

Age: 44-55   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like the Hourglass products I have and after reading the great reviews here, I decided to try a gloss. I bought the one that is a bright, sheer coral (I don't remember the name). The color is beautiful, but this has to be one of the worst glosses I have ever used.

It is so thin that I could not get any consistency in color on my lips. It ran over my lip line and I generally do not have problems with bleeding. It came off in about 2 minutes.

I tried using it alone, over a pencil, over a lipstick and over a pencil and a lipstick and it continued to just be an over-priced really thin gloss. There is no way this is worth $28 - it was returned to Sephora.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chrystelica on 3/3/2010 1:05:00 PM more reviews by chrystelica

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

At first look, I wasn't completely impressed with this gloss. The color 'Truth" was a GWP from Barney's beauty event. However, the wear and sheen is amazing. It has a light vanilla scent, and goes on evenly and doesn't transfer to other parts of your lips throughout the wear.
The color isn't amazing with my complexion, it is a sheer, peachy-pink (a little more peachy than I would like) but it is very sheer and glossy, and lasts a long time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Kayelle on 6/21/2009 1:50:00 AM more reviews by Kayelle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have this gloss in Search, a mauve pink that's natural-looking and very pretty (and may be a discontinued color?). The formula of these glosses is great: moisturizing, buttery, long-lasting, and neither sticky nor greasy. Hourglass has seldom disappointed me, and Sheen gloss is on my repurchase list.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mrsloliver on 3/9/2009 10:31:00 AM more reviews by mrsloliver

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best gloss I own so far(and the most expensive). Saw it at my sephora's "favorite glosses" section.It was so pretty that I just couldn't let it go, but the price kinda scared me a lil. The bf ended up getting it for me cuz he saw me swooning over it like a crazy woman. So glad he did..love this gloss. Very creamy. Goes on like a dream with or without lipstick underneath. The color I have is in imagine, a beautiful peachy-pinky-orangey-nude. The glitters are so fine they aren't glitters but microparticles that gives it a slight matellic shine. Very sophisticated! The smell resembles coconuts and those summer-themed lotions, which is lovely imo. Not unbearably sticky. The packaging is very pretty and slick, makes me happy just having it in my purse. May not be an everyday shade to some but definately a nights-out one:) one lippie off for the high price tho.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ForgetfulDebbie on 10/7/2008 3:42:00 PM more reviews by ForgetfulDebbie

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This may very well be my HG lipgloss! "Opulent" is an excellent way to describe it! Even when I haven't scrubbed my lips to make them smooth, this stuff makes my lips absolutely flawless! One would think that it would have to be a thick, thick layer to accomplish that, but it isn't. The brush applicator allow for excellent, precision application. Although it isn't advertised as a "color stay" product, it wears remarkably well and is thoroughly comfy. It's available in range of sophisticated, user friendly shades. Even if you can't get it at your local Sephora, I'd strongly recommend that you go online and get yourself some!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 OldEnuf on 10/7/2008 3:36:00 PM more reviews by OldEnuf

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Ah I can see why these are touted to be the creme de la creme of lipglosses! I don't think I've ever used a more opulent lipgloss! I do have my favorites, but it seems as if almost all the shades are user friendly. They brush on beautifully and have an incredible smoothing effect. The gloss is deep and full and oh so pretty. Never sticky and I've yet to see a trace a trace of it on my teeth (something I absolute despise when it occurs....ewwww). It also seems to last for hours. My Sephora constantly runs out, so I'm forced to buy online, which is why I've tried so many shades. Interestingly, I've yet to find one that I'd consider unusable. Pricey for a lipgloss, but imho, well worth it. Do check it out!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* proximitythe53rd on 8/6/2008 5:21:00 AM more reviews by proximitythe53rd

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm another person who got the sample of "Imagine" from Sephora, and was quite impressed.
It took me a while to get around to wearing this, because it looked like a sort of apricot color which usually doesn't look that good on me ... but this one actually does. It's a very shiny gloss, but the color is actually quite natural looking. The texture is smooth, and very slightly sticky, though still sort of creamy. It seems to last well, and stay in place. Imagine is actually a great MLBB shade.
The gloss has a light coco scent, which is nice, and not annoying at all.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 love2makeup on 7/10/2008 3:45:00 PM more reviews by love2makeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

LOVE LOVE LOVE this gloss! I bought the shade Verse... the perfect nude lip gloss. Looks great alone or over a nude lipstick. The texture is PERFECT... not sticky, not goopey, no burning plumpers, just a long lasting smooth finish gloss. I will be trying more colors soon !!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 charmressa on 6/4/2008 1:30:00 PM more reviews by charmressa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I received a sample of "Imagine" yesterday with my Sephora purchase, and this stuff rocks! I usually use MAC Lipglass, but I will purchase a full tube of "Imagine" once I run out of the tester. I find that after a while, most lipglosses with any sort of sparkle/iridescence to them get gritty, but this one has stayed smooth for hours. Stickiness factor is non-existant. Feels more "firm" that sticky.

Update: The longer the product sits in the tube after opening, the "stickier" it gets.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lilmisslainey on 6/4/2008 12:08:00 PM more reviews by lilmisslainey

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I tried this in Imagine and Ignite. Ignite is a little more brown based and Imagine is a little more pinky. They are both SOOOO unbelieveably gorgeous. Nicely moisturizing and decent staying power. It is not sticky at all and doesn't tear up your lips when you rub them together. Some glosses (mac lipglass) feel like they are siting on top of the lip, but these feel like they are part of your lip. LOVE LOVE LOVE.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Hourglass products

More Lip Gloss products