Alpha Hydrox Nourishing Cleanser with Microbeads

4.1

60 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Acrylates Copolymer, Alkyl Polyglycoside, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Glycerin, Sodium Cocoyl, Isethionate, Glycol Disterate, Sodium Laureth Sulfate, Cocamide MEA, Laureth 10, Peg-150 Disterate, Methyl Gluceth 20, Propylene Glycol, Glycolic Acid, Mannitol, Cellulose, Mica, Tocopheryl Acetate (Vitamin E), Retinyl Palmitate (Vitamin A), Acrylates/Ammonium Methacrylate Copolymer, Talc, Triethyl citrate, Titanium Dioxide, Red 30, Ultramarines, Hydroxypropyl Methylcellulose, Panthanol (Vitamin B5), Peg-7 Glyceryl Cocoate, Peroxidized Corn Oil, Soybean Oil, Sodium Hydroxide, Wheat Germamidopropyldimonium Hydroxypropyl, Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein, Xanthan Gum, Disodium EDTA, Diazolidinyl Urea, Methylparaben, Propylparaben


on 3/1/2014 12:15:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Red, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Move over CeraVe hydrating...

In fairness, I still love my CeraVe hydrating face wash but as calming and gentle as it was on me, I found myself breaking out because it just could not remove the makeup from my face. I wear a BB cream, mascara and sometimes eyeliner, and some powder and that's it, so it's not like I'm wearing a full face everyday. And if I was...forget about it.

The winter has been crazy here and I'm using a strong retinol (skinceuticals 1%) and Obagi blender so I needed something gentle yet effective. I've been very impressed with AH products in the past (used many of their AHA products and love their foaming face wash for summer oiliness/removal of sunscreen), so I went for this and got two since drugstore.com was having a 50% off sale on the 2nd purchase.

I think the beads are a little hoaky, but you could probably shake up your tube. I don't really notice them breaking or anything like it says, but the big thing is that when I tone there is NO makeup left on my skin and it doesn't feel stripped. My skin is clearing up and isn't being destroyed in the process. I am thrilled with this facewash and it's so inexpensive.

One small personal annoyance is that if you don't rub your hands together well beforehand, the gel kind of sticks to one hand more than the other and I feel like it's an uneven application. Easy thing to fix of course, but something I have to remind myself about.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/26/2014 4:48:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I was in the market for a nice, non stripping cleanser to use in the mornings while on retin-a micro, and sort of hoping that it might help with the flakies that are associated with tretinoin use. I also lean towards dehydrated and dull skin.

This cleanser is very moisturizing, not at all stripping...but unfortunately I found that it caused me to break out, even while using retin-a and a glycolic acid product. Really unfortunate, this is the first product of Alpha Hydrox's that I don't love.


on 8/12/2012 12:30:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

This and the Alpha Hydrox original foaming cleanser are the only cleansers I can use. These cheap cleansers are the only cleansers I have ever used that actually remove makeup without drying out my skin. I have been using the original cleanser for 10 years and the Nourishing Cleanser for 2 years. I order a one year supply from the manufacturer's website during one of their sales (BOGOF or BOGO for $1.99). I try to always have a tube on hand because Alpha Hydrox is impossible to find in the stores. The Ultas near me used to carry a small selection of Alpha Hydrox but they seem to have stopped carrying the line.

I have rosacea and my skin changes with the seasons. I can use the Nourishing cleanser year round without any skin issues. I tried switching up my cleanser a few times but the results were horrible. Either my pores got clogged and I got blemishes or I broke out into a rash. The microbeads are kind of useless, in my opinion. They don't seem to do much, but they don't hurt either. Unlike the original foaming cleanser, Nourishing cleanser does not smell like Elmer's glue. It's completely fragrance free, which is great for those of us who don't like fragrance in our skincare.


on 6/19/2012 1:00:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

i had cystic acne and very dry sensitive skin. i bought this cleanser out of curiosity because i was impressed with the alpha hydrox oil free moisturizer gel. i had been using ddf glycolic cleanser, scrub and toner. i ended up really liking this cleanser because it is not harsh on my skin (but i still require a moisturizer of course). the beads are supposed to pop when you rub your hands together before massaging it onto your skin. the cleanser is very thick and goopy but i like that because you don't have to use very much at all and my tube lasted me over 3 months using it 2x a day followed by the alpha hydrox toner. i rinse my face with water first, then massage a small amount of cleanser on my skin and use my olay pro-x brush. i find this works well for my skin needs.

my only criticism: i would like to see this in a pump bottle. i tried to decant it into a vacuum pump bottle but the beads clogged the pump and no cleanser came out- i totally should've seen that coming lol. i then decanted it into a small squeeze bottle for traveling and it worked well.


on 2/17/2012 7:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Bought this from ebay for a great price. Liked all the reviews I read on here, so I thought I'd give it a try. 1) Its a pretty small bottle. Won't last for a very long time. 2) All of the microbeads fell on one side of the tube during shipping and never "fell down" after being upright for over a week. I never got more than 4 microbeads in a quarter-sized amount (used it for about a week and a half). 3) Made my skin dingy & the texture was different. I attribute that to the texture of the cleanser itself...very strange. Liquid, but thick and almost goopy. Hard to spread around your face.

It wasn't terrible, it didn't make me break out, but I won't repurchase again. Still on the hunt for my HG cleanser!


on 10/23/2011 11:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is pretty much the only cleanser I'll use on my skin. I had a hard time finding a cleanser that washed all my makeup off but didn't dry out my skin, which is surprisingly hard to find. This one takes all my makeup off, but doesn't leave my skin tight and dry. It comes out in almost a gel form, and the microbeads are sparse (I don't think they do much). I bought this for 7.99 at Ulta and it's lasted me since summer (I'm still not done with it!).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/20/2011 12:32:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This review may be a bit premature as I have only used the wash once, but WOW! This face wash is already my HG!! For so long I have been unable to really clean my pores to the point that it looked like (and I thought) I had freckels, but after ONE WASH my pores were totally cleaned out. My skin feels very soft and smooth and I couldn't be happier!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/23/2010 2:45:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I just bought this from Ulta, which is the only store I can find Alpha Hydrox at. I love it! The beads are not meant to exfoliate, but to add hydration. I'm sure there are bad tubes out there where the microbeads are not effective, but I got a great tube! It leaves my skin soft and is helping to clear up my severe acne in conjunction with their 10% Glycolic AHA lotion! I've spent lots of money on products that don't work only to go to a product my mom used years ago!


on 12/17/2010 6:23:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This worked fine, but didn't impress me. It's a non-foaming gel with little red beads. The beads aren't plentiful enough to exfoliate, so I'm not exactly sure why they're in there. The scent is neutral and the formula is mild. Probably best for people with sensitive skin.


on 9/8/2010 11:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Other, Warm

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I liked the cleanser at first. Got my makeup off the first time, did not leave my face uncomfortable but very soft and nourished. Actually a good feeling since most cleansers leave me tight and stinging. The beads exfoliated and the color of the cleanser was cute too. After a week I noticed fleshy white bumps on chin that went away after I stopped using this cleanser. Not the beginning of cysts but clogged pores. Got to admit that I was disappointed.


Back to Top