Farouk CHI • Chi Silk Infusion Reconstructing Complex • Styling Products

rated 4.2(601 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.79%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sterlingK on 1/9/2015 4:12:00 PM more reviews by sterlingK

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Other    

The product itself isn't terrible, my hair didn't get damaged while using it (I heat style somewhat regularly) but I didn't maintain the softness and shine that other heat protection serums give me (marrakesh oil or cherry bomb). The scent is awful imo, like men's cologne, it's way too strong. I expected more because I had heard such good things and it was rather expensive. Would not repurchase.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wendymac on 12/29/2014 10:11:00 AM more reviews by wendymac

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I have used this product for years now and would be lost without it!! My hair is naturally thick and course, which is true for most redheads, and this completely transforms the texture of my hair. It hydrates, smooths, silkens and seems to lighten the weight of hair. I have tried 'replacements but they simply do not measure up. I will not blow dry my hair without this product. If u have dry, coarse, unmanageable hair try this and be forever hooked!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 BBTheMohican on 12/22/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by BBTheMohican

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I really don't know what to say about this stuff....I ABSOLUTELY LOVE, LOVE, LOVE THIS STUFF!!! I have been faithful to this product for over years now. However, every now-and-then, I would find myself trying out new products and nothing would compare! I use mines as straightening treatment prior to flat ironing my hair (place a quarter size all over dry hair and flat iron). The product is light-weight, non-greasy, and it smells amazing! Chi silk infusion has never let me down and worth every penny! Highly recommended Silk Infusion for ALL HAIR TYPES!

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 rocknrepublic on 12/17/2014 12:36:00 AM more reviews by rocknrepublic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I used to love this product but now I know, what I really loved was the original formula. I was not aware they had change formulas when I bought my second bottle.

What I loved about the original formula was that it added shine and made my hair feel soft and silky. Now, the current bottle I have with the changed formula, still does all those things except it does not make my hair as smooth as the original. However what I really despise about the new formula is that I've noticed after blow drying my hair with the Silk Infusion applied to damp hair, it leaves small white residue on the ends of my hair! I don't know how this is because the serum is clear?? But it makes my newly washed hair look dirty again and it especially looks bad because I have black hair so the residue really stands out and is noticeable. It's so disappointing. I never experienced this with the original formula. I don't know if I just bought a bad bottle or if it's just the new formula altogether but I'm absolutely not buying it again. I wish they kept the original formula.

I'm currently using Living Proof Satin Hair serum and it's not my HG but it does the job for now. Not a fan of the smell though.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* librarian_girl on 10/17/2014 10:23:00 AM more reviews by librarian_girl

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have a love/hate relationship with the Chi Silk Infusion. I adore what this product does for my hair and detest the scent. I use this on wet hair before I blow dry and on dry hair as needed before and after flat ironing. I end up with unbelievably soft, swingy hair. While my hair never stays perfectly straight no matter what I do, the Chi Silk Infusion does a noticeably better job of keeping my hair straighter than other products like it, especially in wet and/or humid weather. I also notice fewer hairs in the brush and on the floor since this provides nice slip. I do find using this on day two or three hair does weigh my hair down pretty significantly.

But I really, really dislike the fragrance, which I find powerful and long lasting. To me this smells like bad menís cologne. Every time I apply this to my hair I relive being stuck in my college dorm elevator for 10 floors with guys drenched in Polo. The scent is so strong and persistent, it might prove a deal breaker for me. If I canít find something that performs as well as Chi, Iím going to have to do some soul-searching about the scent.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 charmy27 on 10/12/2014 5:54:00 PM more reviews by charmy27

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I really like this product! It makes my hair so soft and shiny .. It also really helps with the spilt ends.
I got this at shoppers drug mart .. My boyfriend paid $32 CAD which I thought was a bit much for such a small bottle. When I got home I took and shower and put this in my hair before I blow dried. I really am not too fond of the smell, it smells like old men deoderant or something. But I put it on and it immediately made my hair softer. I blow dried and straightened and my hair always looks fantastic now. It would be nice if this had a pump on the top and then it could help me from putting too much in my hands. Don't put it on dry hair or it will look disgustingly greatly. I will have this repurchased.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Dreamer731 on 8/7/2014 9:38:00 PM more reviews by Dreamer731

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been hearing lots of great things about this product for a few years now. I always wanted to try it, but in my opinion it was too expensive. I recently spotted the 6oz bottle of Chi Silk infusion on sale at my local supermarket so I finally decided to give it a try. I applied it to my hair prior to blow drying and it works fine at adding shine and smoothness, but I don't think it performs any better than any other drugstore hair serums that I've tried. I also can't stand the smell of this stuff it smells exactly like men's cologne. Bottom line I think this product works well, but I think many drugstore brands work just as well for a fraction of the price.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 innese on 7/14/2014 2:29:00 PM more reviews by innese

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is a must protein treatment for severely damaged or bleached hair. My hair is both and, of course, if I mistreat my hair it breaks off, it's rough and impossible to comb. This really helps restore my hair's condition, it "plumps" it and makes it manageable and shiny again, reduces signs of damage like frizz and dryness and dramatically improves it's health, almost like I never had anything done to it. It also helps protect from heat damage and makes my hair dry straighter which cuts heat exposure time. This is an incredibly effective protein treatment, though I'd like to try bio silk and joico as well because of their lower price, so I might not repurchase right away. Keep in mind that protein treatments are not moisturizing and they might even be drying so if you experience dryness make sure you also use a moisturizing product like a hair oil or lotion. I find the combination of this, hair oil and regular protein masks to be a winner routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 miaow94 on 6/22/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by miaow94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

hands down the best hair oil i've used!! i like to switch between different hair products but i always come back to this one. i can maintain my unruly frizzy curly/wavy hair with this product really well. It helps fight humidity so my hair remains frizz free during the day. I've used other hair oils before from garner, those are nice too they keep your hair smooth and silky looking but the effect doesn't last long compare to chi. however, i would avoid putting this product anywhere near your scalp because that could easily lead to grease strands and i'm sure no one wants that! so only apply on the midway and ends of your hair and style away. it will leave you with silky long lasting frizz free hair! the smell is slightly like cologne but it fades away in a bit so that's not biggie:) took 1 lippie off because the mouth of the squeeze bottle could get a bit messy.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JCS772 on 5/27/2014 8:41:00 PM more reviews by JCS772

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Love this stuff. Love the way it smells, love its slip and love the way it makes my thick, wavy and frizz-prone hair so silky. I use it on damp hair and with a little blow-drying, it works great for smoothing. Alternately, if I pull it back in a chignon and let it dry naturally, it unfurls as beach waves.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Farouk CHI products

More Styling Products products