Orly • Bonder Rubberized Basecoat • Top/Base Coats

rated 4.1(277 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Grey3 on 1/28/2015 8:44:00 AM more reviews by Grey3

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I have weak, brittle from psoriasis, nails and a few of them peel as soon as they grow. So I have been desperate to find something that will keep my nail polish on, and looking good for more than 2 days at best.
I have tried base coats, top coats and treatment stuff as well as gentle polish remover, but alas my nail polish still chipped or peeled right off within a day or two.
I have been relctant to try Orly rubberized bonder due to the price in the UK, and all the failed other items I have bought, but decided, after doing some research and reading many reviews from various sources, to give it a go.

Well.... THIS STUFF IS AMAZING !

Before writing this review I have had my polish on for a full 7 days and the results are astonishing:
9 nails are totaly intact with no chipping and apart from root growth look immaculate. The 2 seriously peeling nails developed "slight" chipping at the ends last night after I washed all my makeup brushes. But no were near as badly as they normaly would be. I cant remember ever having nail polish on this long looking this good.

Having read all those reviews I did learn it is best to use a base coat with this stuff as it can stain, so following is what I tried for this experiment:

Essie Fill The Gap - Ridge Smoothing Base Coat
Makeup Revolution nail polish - Devil Inside
Sally Hansen Diamond Shine - top & base coat

Also, as per some reviewers suggestions, I coated over the tips of my nails as well as on top, to get a really good seal.
I have just removed my polish and there is no staining on my nails at all.
It is a large bottle, which will last a long time.

I hope this helps anyone with the same nail problems as me, and I would highly recommend trying Orlys Rubberised Bonder as it has really does work :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 VendettaV on 1/27/2015 6:23:00 PM more reviews by VendettaV

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Love it. I couldn't make a manicure last more than a day and a half without horrible chipping but Bonder fixed that. I'm pretty hard on my nails. I still refresh my top coat (Essie good to go) every 2 days as usual but with Bonder I have been able to go much longer without chips than before. I get about 5 days chip-free on average, with just minor tip wear. Big improvement, will definitely rebuy.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 astrianna on 1/11/2015 10:23:00 PM more reviews by astrianna

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first product that has inspired a review from me. I absolutely LOVE it. No other base coat has made polish stick like this one does. Usually my nails chip or peel within 12 hours but with this I have had my manicure last as long as five days without needing a touch-up. Definitely an HG product. This with any nail colour and the Seche Vite Quick Dry Topcoat makes for a pro looking manicure.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tinkerrbelle on 12/10/2014 1:19:00 AM more reviews by tinkerrbelle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS:
- Improves wear time slightly
- Attractive new packaging + rubber handle

CONS:
- Liquidy, floods the nail
- Does not prevent staining
- Orange tint contrasts too much for those with very pale skin and tints sheer pale polish shades
- Stains my nails slightly orange from the tint

I prefer Orly Nail Defense Base Coat. Its completely clear and untinted. It seems to prevent staining better than Bonder and strengthens my nails at the same time. It has the ingredient Toslyamide/Formaldehyde Resin in it which hardens and strengthens my soft bendy nails noticeably in a single use. After 2 - 3 weeks of Nail Defense I find my nails are so much longer and stronger. People with already hard nails might prefer Bonder but if yours are soft and weak Nail Defense can work wonders.


*****
P.S. For those concerned about seeing "Formaldehyde Resin" on the back of nail polishes like Opi and Orly. Don't worry about this as it is Formaldehyde RESIN and it does not release any of the dangerous Formaldehyde GAS at all. (The only thing in polish you need to watch out for is "Toluene", which is in Seche Vite products, I use them but sit beside an open window while polish is drying). RESIN is not dangerous and hardens nails beautifully. A few people will find they are sensitive to Formaldehyde Resin so they will want to avoid strengtheners but it is not poisonous/linked to cancer/birth defects of linked or in any way comparable to the safety concerns surrounding Formaldehyde GAS.

The dangerous form of Formaldehyde to watch out for is actually called "Methylene Glycol", in "Brazilian Blowout" or "Keratin Straightening" Treatments. Check the back of your ingredients list. If it states methylene glycol THATS Formaldehyde Gas legally hiding under a different name so you don't see it. When the methylene glycol contained in Brazilian/Keratin Hair Treatment is heated during processing it changes form and releases dangerous Formaldehyde GAS which goes straight up your nose and into your bloodstream.

Its not your nail polish you need to worry about. The danger is hiding in those beautiful hair straightening and de-frizzing treatments. Oh, and there is even more formaldehyde gassing into the air of many homes leaking out of that cheap furniture made of treated pressed wood, new building materials and new paint in many peoples homes. Stick to solid wood cribs and toxin free paints for a new nursery if possible.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Spacebarscandybars on 12/8/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by Spacebarscandybars

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I'm very disappointed with this product. I really wanted to like it because of all the great reviews but it looks like I'm in the minority that this product doesn't work for. It actually makes my polish chip faster than it would without it. My nails chip after one day, or even sometimes after a few hours. I've tried everything to make this stuff work. Waited a couple minutes after applying, not waiting at all, nothing makes it work. I guess I'll just accept that this base coat just doesn't work for my nails, which is unfortunate. This is actually the first base coat I've ever tried, looks like I'll have to take my chances with another one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ponyskin on 11/28/2014 2:21:00 PM more reviews by ponyskin

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'll never use another base coat again! Got a tester of this in a beauty advent calendar last christmas and I was amazed at how well it worked. My manicure just doesn't look or last the same without it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snowwgirl on 11/7/2014 7:38:00 AM more reviews by snowwgirl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

Game changer for me Why did I wait so long to try this? Turns almost any polish into a long wearing, chip resistant one. HG for me.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MadameButterfly on 11/7/2014 5:16:00 AM more reviews by MadameButterfly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

A must have product if you do your own manicure. I get zero staining and peeling when I use this base coat. I remove my polish with pure acetone and my nails feel healthy and are strong and hard, thanks to this product. When I don't use this base coat, over time nail polish starts to make my nails peel. A no brainer! Go and buy it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Hogwartshonorstudent on 11/1/2014 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Hogwartshonorstudent

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Love this so much!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lozzie88 on 10/26/2014 9:34:00 AM more reviews by lozzie88

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

It's official, I'm in love! I've found my basecoat soulmate, and it is the Orly Bonder. I had been hesitant to buy this since a) it has mixed reviews, where some say it stains and peels easily, and b) it is $19.95 in Australia. I'm so glad I caved tough, it is really helping my polish last (I'm lucky to get 2 days wear with any other combo I do). It goes on smooth and dries almost instantly, and then allows polish to go on top so smoothly and straight away. I have even using Seche Vite as my top coat with this for reference. If your polish chips easily and you think you've tried all else, do yourself a favour and try this!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Orly products

More Top/Base Coats products