Unlisted Brand • Jovan - Woman • Fragrances

rated 4.3(20 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.95%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* valmont32677 on 5/18/2014 6:53:00 PM more reviews by valmont32677

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

OMG!! Nauseating & gross!! I have the worst headache. I bought the one lone bottle I saw at kmart & I am far from a perfume snob but this is just "not good." Jovan Satisfaction is 1 of my fave perfumes & Musk is alright, but "this" I was expecting something different, I guess, I bought it without smelling it 1st & it does NOT work on my body chemistry! :/ I hate giving negative reviews, it pains me greatly. (I would give this a negative 0 if there was such a thing!!). Sooo glad this is working for other folks. I will keep my Jovan Satisfaction instead :) :) :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 JenJenofAz on 12/6/2012 9:25:00 PM more reviews by JenJenofAz

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I usually destest chypres, as much as aquatics, but Jovan's Woman, is FANTASTIC! It's a warm, spicy, woody fragrance. LOUD and STRONG when first applied, but dries down VERY nicely! Somewhat sexy! I also find it to be a bit powdery. Maybe that's why this chypre works, when so many others failed. On another site, they listed this as a fragrance containing spices, such as nutmeg and coriander; orange flower, ylang ylang; in an amber base. I smell a bit of patchouli? Unique and classy! TOTAL FAV! Would love to have a lotion and powder! LOVE THIS! Anyway, purchased my 2oz. bottle at Walmart, for $13 and it was SO worth it because this smells quite expensive for something found at Walmart! Oh, and it lasts ALL day! I applied this lightly, to my wrists and neck, in the morning hours, and could still smell it in the evening! Really, for drugstore fragrances, JOVAN does it best!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* tessture on 6/23/2012 5:18:00 PM more reviews by tessture

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Goes on as a classic chypre, with green notes, powdery stages and a total return to the 1970s. Then it dries down through that powdery green stage into a lovely soft green incense that is gorgeous. At the very end of the day, there's a resinous note as well. Lovely and somehow doable. It doesn't smell as dated as I would think.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Wyrmiax on 5/7/2011 4:49:00 PM more reviews by Wyrmiax

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm a fan of chypres from way back, so when a Walgreen's ad offered to "find a fragrance to suit your personality!," this is the one I tested. Lots of patchouli and oakmoss in this one (maybe more moss than in some high-end scents these days!). Reminded me a lot of Paloma Picasso, and a little bit of Prada. If you like either of these, but don't want to pay department-store prices, definitely check this one out. Hey, check it out, anyway. I've been impressed by the quality of all the Jovan classics. They're definitely your best drugstore deal.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lindam on 11/19/2010 9:30:00 PM more reviews by lindam

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Silver, Wavy   Eyes: Brown    

What a blast from the past!

I had heard how great this was and stumbled on it at Walgreens. I was 18 in 1972 when it first came out and it is a lot like the fragrances of the time. Chypre, leathery.

It has great sillage. A day later I can still smell it faintly and it like a 2nd skin.

Might have to go back and get the lone bottle that is left

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mindynguyen27 on 4/1/2010 4:09:00 PM more reviews by mindynguyen27

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

i got this perfume in satisfaction bc i smelled the sample in a cosmopolitan magazine and omg it smelled sooooo good and sexy! i had to go out and buy it! the best part is its only 18.00 and the smell lasts! i usually use estee lauder, elizabeth arden, lacoste, dior..etc.. but this smell is especially unique! i usually change out my perfume but ive been wearing this everyday since i got it...i love it! the packaging is ugly but who cares.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 alpharabbit on 3/2/2010 11:32:00 AM more reviews by alpharabbit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Other    

Oh, where have you been all my life Woman? I have had this scent in the back of my mind since the 70's when I must have smelled it on my mother's friends. I finally purchased it after looking everywhere, and its just perfect, warm, not too sweet, smooth, and comforting. Love it, now on to the next conquest...

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* highrise on 1/5/2010 11:11:00 AM more reviews by highrise

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I was on a Jovan kick recently, and stumbled on mentions of this one, from 1978 I believe but long discontinued. I like hunting for vintage perfumes on ebay, and lucked into a great deal on 5 purse-size sprays of Woman.
I'm biased - a chypre addict, with nostalgic memories of the late 70s. This sounded totally up my alley, but I'm still worried buying unsniffed - I've had scents that sound note-perfect come out all wrong on me.
Not this Woman! Right away I get the marvellous sharp/powdery chypre *poof* that dissipates fairly quickly - and upon the drydown, I can think of no other way to describe this but 'adult'. Lots of depth and reach, resinous, nestles beautifully into skin. Warm, woodsy and clean, it is old-fashioned in the best possibly way. Makes me feel sexy and somehow, home.

Many, many thanks to the MUAers for a fantastic discovery!

NB: Have also found it available on the FragranceX website, luckily - I will definitely need more of this lovely stuff!

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* youdroppedabalmonme on 7/26/2009 11:12:00 PM more reviews by youdroppedabalmonme

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Brown    

Hurrah! Huzzah! MUA has once again steered me to a fabulous "forgotten" scent that I wouldn't otherwise have tried. I thought I would look up the reviews on this frag after seeing a few bottles of it at local drugstores, with the intriguing '70s-style lettering on the fugly brown plastic cap. I wanted to see if it was worth a $15 gamble. And oh, baby, it was!

The minute I smelled this, I realized that THIS was the mysterious "empty bottle of Jovan perfume" that my mom used as a sachet in her purse 30 years ago. I used to open the empty bottle and sniff deeply, enjoying the juxtaposition of dry chypre and soft, clean florals that made it smell
like "pure womanhood" and total glamour.

The stuff still is amazingly magical after all these years; with much chagrin I must admit it's a much better chypre on my skin than Aromatics Elixir or Paloma P. or Knowing, for a third of the cost. (For those needing a more contemporary comparison, it's like Kate Moss' "Kate" scent meets amber.) With most true chypres I have to suffer through phases of "cat pee" or "funky jasmine" or "aldehyde blast" before I get to the lovely woodsy forest beneath, but not here. **24 hours later** OMG, it is heaven! Heaven, I tell you! All day long a delicately sexy, woodsy, fresh scent emanated up from my shirt and delighted me. HG, and great value. $15 for a 2-ounce spray bottle. **1 week later** That's it, I have found "my" chypre. Bless you, Jovan.

12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 LizzardVanReptile on 7/11/2009 7:35:00 PM more reviews by LizzardVanReptile

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I'm going rate this all 3's, because I haven't smelled it since high school, when Man and Woman became available in the interlocking bottles (they were so suggestive!). While my memory of these scents is positive, it's ancient...

I do seem to remember, however, reading in women's magazines at that time that these fragrances were made with pheromones, which could account for why Woman continues to have such an effect on the men according to the reviews here. I can't find anything to support this on the web, but you can find some great tacky 70's advertising here on YouTube:





2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Fragrances products