Pureology • Antifade Complex ThickeningMasque • Treatments

rated 2.9(17 reviews)

Average Rating.2.9
Would buy this product again.47%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 eyesopen33 on 6/25/2012 7:35:00 PM more reviews by eyesopen33

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This is an awesome product that truly delivers. I literally only use just a pea-sized amount as more will make your hair very dry looking but still very full. You need to mix this with a good conditioner in your hand BEFORE applying, so if you're getting bad results with this product, you should try this method. This is not a conditioning product by itself.
I can go to bed with my hair wet and wake up with awesome body and soft hair. It looks like I just blow dried it or something upon waking. I mix it with Redken All-Soft conditioner in addition to some purple conditioner that also helps tone down my highlights. The combo works for me. I also wash with Infusium Full Body Shampoo before using this product. In CA humidity it holds up nicely the next day. I love this product and Purelogy did an excellent job in formulating it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 thejennifermonster on 5/18/2009 3:12:00 PM more reviews by thejennifermonster

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal   Hair: Red   Eyes: Hazel    

I had really high hopes for this product. While I can tell that my hair feels thicker after using it, my hair also looks and feels really greasy. Even when I use just a tiny amount I get the same results.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Armanestra on 6/23/2008 8:44:00 PM more reviews by Armanestra

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This is a really fantastic product!!! Just remember to use a SMALL amount, which is about a pea size of it. Forget what you think about when you hear the word "mask!" Emulsify it on your fingertips, leave it on for a few minutes then use conditioner. Anything larger than a pea size will weigh your hair down because of the volcanic ash.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kelah on 1/28/2008 3:37:00 PM more reviews by kelah

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Another way to use this product (which works for both my daughter and myself; we both have somewhat oily scalps, and neither of us have real short hair): spread that pea-sized amount on fingers, then work into only the top of your head, into the scalp and out a couple inches. Then apply conditioner to the rest of the hair.
What it does (at least on our hair): stops oil from forming on scalp, or dries it up (have no idea which), so that you can go longer between shampoos, or be extremely athletic 10 hours straight and still have bouncy hair that night. At the same time it gives me a lot more volume on top of my head, more than any other product I've tried.
I can see it could be very drying for some types of hair though. I have to keep the product away from the hair ends or it makes it like straw.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ilovenoise on 10/27/2007 3:40:00 PM more reviews by ilovenoise

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

I use this on some of my clients who have really thin hair, it's good for a quick fix and works best with short hair. After the treatment, your hair will feel kind of gritty due to the ash in this product, but after you style your hair you see noticeable difference. This is a great product if you need to use it occasionally to make your hair appear and feel super thick, but after one shampoo the results will fade.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmandaPandaPSC on 10/5/2007 1:30:00 AM more reviews by AmandaPandaPSC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Nice smell, great concept, and I like how it heats up. What I don't care for are the cones. Why do they feel the need to add two cones to this?
My hair: long, fine, thick, striaght & prone to oiliness. I applied this 1 inch from my scalp, down to the ends after using the volume shampoo. I let it sit for a few, rinsed, then applied the volume conditioner. The result? My bangs looked like they needed to be washed again (parts looked dirty & stringy). So, I washed them (not with Pureology), this time they looked fine. I tried applying the masque to my bangs again and then rinsed. After I blow-dried them again, they looked like they did after the first time I washed them & used the masque. Now that my hair is dry, it's completely lifeless, limp & stringy...all over except near my part (where I didn't apply the masque). So, I'm pretty sure the masque is the culprit. I may try it again, using dif. S&C, and only apply it from the neck down. If it's any better I'll update

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 anneantoon on 8/13/2007 4:50:00 PM more reviews by anneantoon

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I use and like the Pureology Nanoworks Shampoo and Conditioner products. So I figured I would like this treatment as well. I bought an enormous tube of it on ebay (it was a great price) and tried it immediately. I followed the directions and used only a very small mount of the product. Well, it didn't do anything for my hair and my scalp broke out after using it. So I threw the tube away. I didn't dare give it to a friend in case it did the same thing to her. But I will continue to use the shampoo and conditioner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 lipglassaddict on 7/15/2007 3:50:00 AM more reviews by lipglassaddict

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I have been waiting to review this( I have been using this for over a year on and off). I am very picky about what I use on my hair and will spend $$$ if the product works. This is a very unusual product. The owner of the salon I go to says people either love or hate it, depending on their hair type. This has a similar effect on my hair as Aveda Pure Abundance Potion(but the Aveda is applied during styling). Both products include silica, so maybe that is why. Most volumizing sprays/gels/mousses actually weigh my hair down. My hair type: healthy, never been colored/chemically treated, but somewhat porous. I seem to have a lot of hair, but it is fine and very wavey, but quite flat on the top. This product usually works very well on me. I look as if I have almost 2x the hair if I use it in a certain way!
Here is how I got it to work for me after several tries. As someone said below, this is NOT a conditioner! I mix this w/ my Pureology volume condtioner at the same time and leave both in for several minutes before rinsing. If my hair is feeling dry or stripped from frequent washing, I load up on a heavier conditioner to mix w/ this. I only use a very SMALL amount(pea to nickel size; it's very concentrated!). I also start applying a couple of inches from my scalp and I go lightly on my ends. Since my ends always seem dry & more porous, they seem to absorb more of this and feel too coated. I rinse very thorougly. I can immediately feel the difference in my hair. If your hair is like mine, you may need a little leave-in condish on the last few inches of your hair. Blow-drying seems to really help increase the volume. If I use too much and not enough condish w/ it, I do get the straw-like feeling and tangled mess that others have noted. This can also happen if I use this on consecutive shampoo days. I think this takes a couple of shampoos to be fully removed. When I use it according to the specifications above, my hair has never looked thicker in my life. people have asked me what I did to my hair to make it look so full. I love that this does not make me hair greasy/dirty as so many other products do on my hair. It gives my hair a lot of "heft." The only other volumizing product that I find works well is the Aveda Potion. The Pureology mask is my favorite because the results last and does not give me as much as a dirty matte roughed-up appearance that some other texturizers do.
I can see why this would not work on all hair types. It does have a "restructurizing" effect on hair and your texture will probably feel very different. This works wonders on my hair if I'm careful to use it properly. Try a sample before you buy. I took off only 1 lippie just because of the tricky application and it probably isn't suitable for all hair types.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 pinkspatzi on 6/3/2007 6:40:00 PM more reviews by pinkspatzi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I was so excited to find this for a reasonable price on ebay; however, my excitement was short-lived. This product made my hair so disgustingly clumpy that I could barely get a comb through it right out of the shower. Not only that, it made my hair look dirty, greasy, and dull. Yes, it did supply some volume, but my hair felt "moldable" - like I could form it into shapes and it would almost stay! Gross! I'm so disappointed, I normally love all of Pureology's products. I will only use their shampoos and conditioners. Guess I need to keep looking for a decent volumizer...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Tootsie123 on 4/28/2007 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Tootsie123

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

You might as well dump a full ashtray on your head...maybe i used too much, maybe i didn't use enough conditioner, but after 20-30 minutes of trying to comb out my hair, which felt like straw...i jumped back in the shower and rewashed my hair. Only thing I liked about it was it has a nice fragrance.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Pureology products

More Treatments products