MAC #190 Foundation Brush

4.2

448 reviews

77% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 5/21/2015 1:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I'm a big - BIG - fan of so many MAC products, really. This was one of my first MAC brushes I ever bought. At first I thought it was great and loved using it.

Since then, I have bought the Sigma Taperd Kabuki brush and the MAC 132 Duo Fibre Foundation Brush and I use those two all the time.

This brush has stood up over time - like it barely looks like it's been used, but I do take pretty good care of my brushes.

As others have said, it doesn't blend all that great, it's a really stiff brush - which I didn't realize until I bought the other two. Plus I wear liquid foundation every single day, so duo fibre brushes seem to blend a little more naturally than this brush does. It's ok if I need a heavier foundation look but over all, it's definitely not my go to and if I lost it I would be upset because brushes are an investment, but I think with the experience I now have I would choose a duo fibre over this type of foundation brush as my go to brush.

I hate giving MAC bad reviews because so many of their products I love, but I guess you really can't win them all right? If you're looking for a great blending brush, I strongly strongly recommend Sigma's kabuki brushes (any of them, but specifically the tapered one) or MAC's 132 - it looks small but it does an amazing job!!! I use MAC's Studio Fix Fluid or Studio Sculpt, for reference.



on 5/20/2015 8:23:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

NO NO NO!!!!! Dont get the good reviews. Seriously if you have experimented with brushes like me, you'll realise why this is so bad. Please don't waste your money! This is one of the worst brushes you can use! I have no Pro's for this and that is so rare for me.
The cons!
1. DOES NOT BLEND any foundation, just sits on your face
2. Quite hard
3. STREAKY
4. Expensive for what it does
5. BAD to cover any scars
6. Has a greasy feel
If you want a flawless base and are looking for a good brush i recommend these!:)
1.RT expert face brush
2.Beauty Blender
3. Wayne goss foundation brush
4. Tarte airbrush finish bamboo
I hate doing bad reviews but i just don't want you to waste your money and regret the buy like I did.
Hope this helped guys x


on 5/20/2015 7:07:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

its over rated and isnt that great, obviously its made from horse hair so its going to be pricy but i have normally oily skin and it made my skin look 10x oiler then usual using the brush and the mac foundation, not a fan so i use it for my contouring and hightlight sometimes

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/3/2015 5:20:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

This is a review for the travel size 190 which I received in a Limited Edition brush set many moons ago.

I've used this for years and it's never failed me. However, because of the shape of the brush head, I primarily use this if I'm looking for a fuller coverage (most often for nights out, special occassions etc) as it can be easily built up without causing any aggrivation. The only downside to a fuller coverage (as with all foundations) is that it becomes more obvious on the skin. That said, this tool is very versitle and can achieve any coverage from light/medium to full. It simply depends on your brush technique. As such, this is a great brush for folk with drier skin because you are gently swiping the tool across the skin rather than buffing/stippling it in, therefore avoiding any flakey microexfoliation.

Let's break this down and make it easy:

PROS
Good tapered brush shape meaning delicate areas are easy to cover/reach
Does not irritate dry patches as only a steady one-way-sweeping motion is necessary. No buffing required so microexfoliation is at a minumum. Gentle.
Allows for a coverage that can be built up from medium to full without any aggrivation
No seperating on the nose as far as I can tell
Easy to wash and very durable - I have had mine for approximately 9 years and it still looks as good as new.
Looks chic and professional

CONS
I find foundation gets soaked up in the brush, thus wasting product.
VERY expensive (far too expensive) but given it has lasted 9 (if not 10) years, perhaps the expense is worth it?
Thinner/smaller brush head (than the likes of the Sigma F80) and as such, it takes longer to apply a layer of foundation as you have to be more precise. Up to personal preference whether this bothers you or not. (Generally more time consuming - not ideal if you are in a rush for work, etc.)
Because you are essentially painting the product on, it can occassionally feel like it is sitting on your skin a little and is, as such, more obvious that you are wearing a foundation. Not a problem, you just have to watch how you apply it. This would be the same for any brush of this type though.


on 6/8/2014 6:15:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Black

I bought this and a Bobbi Brown within a short time frame. This brush offers mediocre results compared to the BB. Besides, after the first week of use and cleaning with soap and hit water, it lost softness and became brittle, while the BB can be washed without any problem.

After a month, this brush started to give a streaked result and I could not manage to clean it properly. I am disappointed, as I bought a couple of other MAC brushes and I do not have any problem with them.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 5/30/2014 8:41:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Other

Eyes: Brown

I didn't actually buy this brush by itself since I bought my MAC brushes by set which actually costs probably a couple of hundreds less as a set rather than buying them all individually. I honestly don't like using paddle brushes for applying foundation as to no matter what brand it maybe or thick and meaty the brush may be, it'll always leave out streaks on your face which is clearly something that no one would set as a goal. However I've been using this brush for a lot of purposes just not foundation. You may use it as a brush for applying primer especially if the paddle brush is synthetic or like what I've been doing lately, I've been using this brush to go over my foundation with a sheer-light coverage concealer just to make that triangle highlight from under my eyes to my cheeks which it's perfect for that because you don't get streaks at all since the concealer is sheer and it won't move your foundation since it's already clung onto your skin unless you use a heavy hand which you're not supposed to be. It's basically more of a large primer/concealer brush in my opinion. Rather than a foundation brush


on 3/13/2014 2:24:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I love this brush!!!
It makes easier to apply foundation, more smooth and even skin. Better than apply by fingers or sponge.
I can't live without this brush. It might be so expensive but I can tell "it is worth!"
It's expensive but it can be stay along with you for many years.

Must have item for anyone who loves foundation.


on 12/30/2013 9:00:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I bought this after reading a couple of reviews, and because I needed a new one. It is absolutely not a cheap brush, even in overpriced Norway this brush was expensive: I paid $65/£40/€47/NOK400 for this! It is totally not worth a quarter of the price... It gives a terribly streaky result and sucks up half of the product ~ even after watching a bunch of tutorials from MUAs and ordinary youtubers this gives the same, terrible result! I was super disappointed, after all... So many people say this is great - well, to me, it wasn't! I'd much rather buy the Real Techniques Expert Face brush and the Core Collection!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/6/2013 2:15:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I use this brush for liquid foundation and concealer. It blends smooothly and evenly with no streaking. The bristles are soft and haven't shedded so far. I wash the brush after every use with a gentle, fragrance-free soap and it's just like new every time!


on 8/28/2013 6:39:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Initially I thought this brush was just barely adequate for applying foundation, but after I purchased better brushes, like the 187 duo fiber, my opinion of the 190 immediately changed. I realized that the duo fiber brush was doing a much better job with regard to application and blending of foundation. No more streaks! It also was taking a lot less time, time that I had sadly wasted in trying to get an even application with the 190! My190 brush remains unused in addition to my perfectly useless 136 Blush Brush which is far too large for blush application. I have found that the small duo fiber 130 brush does an awesome job of applying blush! The 190 foundation brush and the 136 blush brush are my two least favorite Mac brushes. (After reading some reviews on the 190 I have decided to attempt to put it to use for the application of my concealer. I don't know if it will work for this purpose, but it's worth a try.)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Popular Makeup Brushes


Stippling Brush
266 Reviews
Buffing Brush
117 Reviews
Blush Brush
239 Reviews
Powder Brush
119 Reviews


Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

94 reviews
Back to Top