Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(423 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 taygete05 on 7/25/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by taygete05

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A little goes a long way with this balm. It can feel a little greasy on my fingers, but feels soft on my face. I like to steam my face with a hot washcloth a little bit along with this balm, and it's never irritated or clogged my fairly sensitive skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 7/24/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I first used Clinique skincare years ago because it was highly touted in magazines and it was reasonably priced. Of course I'm referring to the 3 step skincare and you bet it irritated my skin beyond belief. I swore off any Clinique cleansers until now.

I switched to a physical sunscreen and I realized that I needed something extra to remove this along with my makeup.
I'm very wary of the oil cleansing method as my skin is sensitive to anything heavy or oily. I've tried jojoba oil and argan oil and the result was the same - breakout city.

So I decided to try the Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm and I'm very pleasantly surprised. My skin has no problem with this texture and I haven't experienced any breakouts since I started using this. (what a relief)
I don't use it to remove eye makeup as I can't use anything oil based for my eyes. (prone to styes)

I take a small bit of the balm and massage it all over my face before rinsing with water. There is no lather but rather a white sort of film that results when I use water.
I follow up with my regular LRP Toleriane cleanser to remove any traces of the balm and this seems to be the key for me to avoid breakouts.

My skin feels clean but not stripped afterwards and my complexion overall looks much better now that I'm thoroughly removing all makeup.

For reference, I'm normal to combo (slightly dry in the winter and slightly oily in the summer). Plus I love that this balm is fragrance free which I like as my skin can't tolerate anything with fragrance.

If you're sensitive to natural oils but need something to pre-cleanse makeup, give this a try.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Phoebeeats on 7/19/2014 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Phoebeeats

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. It is one of the few things I am faithful to, and always have a spare.
At night I rub a small amount on dry skin, then I rinse with warm water and follow with Philosophy Purity, which is probably not necessary. It takes everything off, including heavy duty sunscreen. I do use a separate eye makeup remover (not Clinique) because this bothers my eyes. Really, I don't get it because it's fine for my sensitive face and neck.
It's great for travel. I just scoop it in to a smaller container and it's so much easier than other oil cleansers.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Pealion on 7/10/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by Pealion

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

This cleansing balm is my absolute favourite balm. Ever. EVAH!

Itís so gentle, fragrance free, and effective - it leaves my skin feeling clean, but not stripped. I tend to use this as my first cleanse to remove makeup and SPF and then go in with a different product for the second cleanse (I have so many!) depending on how my skin feels on any given day, but it also works just as well if used for both first and second cleansing steps.

Iíve tried other balms and so many of them have irritating plant oils in that really sting my eyes (Iím looking at you REN!) but this one doesnít and removes eye makeup with little fuss (although I remove eye makeup with micellar water these days anyway). Also it emulsifies well and as a result is easy to remove completely (again something I havenít found with all balms Iíve tried).

The jar packaging doesnít bother me too much, and I donít think the firm texture of this balm would work well in a squeeze tube anyway. However, I do make sure I wash my hands before I dip them in the pot, Iím quite religious about that! I think the jar is lovely too Ė I love the colour of the pot and the shiny lid Ė Iím not generally fussy about packaging being pretty, but I do enjoy this jar.

It has absolutely no discernable scent, which personally I love (I can do without cloying fragrances on my face, thanks!) Ė and has a lovely smooth, silky, yet kind of grippy, texture, great for facial massage and it feels so lovely it really encourages you to really work your fingers over your face.

I find that you donít need much of this at all to do the whole face, it spreads nicely, so a tub lasts me months and months of daily use.

Really canít find anything to dislike about this balm, and Iíve repurchased several times now and will continue to do so.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chooky12 on 7/8/2014 8:09:00 PM more reviews by chooky12

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I'm really enjoying this cleansing balm. I don't usually wear heavy makeup, and I find this removes everything, rinses easily and leaves my skin feeling clean, but not striped. I would probably like it even better if it had a fragrance (but then I'm not usually sensitive to fragrance).

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dundada on 7/2/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by dundada

Age: Unknown   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

So far I'm really liking this cleansing balm and I'm never tempted to buy Clinique's skincare ever because it all sounds so harsh most of the time and I barely look at their makeup.

My skin is oily, sensitive and acne prone and this balm is smooth, soon becomes a rich yet light oil on my fingertips and feels fine when I apply it to my face when I'm wearing makeup and when I massage the balm all over. I use a washcloth/flannel with hot water to wipe this off and I don't feel any film-y residue left behind and I feel clean. This doesn't seem to make my acne flare up or trigger any allergies at all.

I use this as the first step in a double cleanse when I'm wearing makeup along with, at the moment, Sunday Riley Ceramic Slip cleanser which foams a little bit but in the mornings sometimes I still like to use this cleansing balm after I use the Ceramic Slip cleanser as that cleanser is slightly drying and tightening because the Mirena coil I'm using has dried up some of the moisture and oil on my face sadly. It make me feel much more comfortable after that also.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Eustace on 6/12/2014 5:10:00 PM more reviews by Eustace

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really enjoy using this product. I don't use it to remove eye makeup, as I think it would be too greasy and interfere with my lenses but it's great on my skin. It melts into the skin nicely as you are massaging it in, and then washes off quickly and easily. You are left with soft, clean skin and no greasy feel. Although the jar is plastic it is still pretty enough to be left out on the vanity. I have not experienced any skin reactions to using this balm and I especially enjoy using it during the winter months.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Tygerlilee84 on 6/11/2014 5:39:00 PM more reviews by Tygerlilee84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I was on the fence at first with this product. It worked pretty well but didn't get my mascara off which is always a problem because I always wear waterproof. Then I let it sit on my face for just long enough to change clothes, and poof! All my mascara was gone. Now I'm a believer. I love this stuff soooooo much now. I was using caster and jojoba oil to clean off my eye makeup but it was so hard to get the oil off and I'd get those little white oil pockets on my face. With cleansing balm, I put it on my DRY face (I used to wet my face first but it works so much better dry) and let it sit, then was with my usual cleanser, currently LUSH herbalism. No liquid makeup remover stinging my eyes or pulling out eyelashes. I'm about half way done and I got it 3 months ago so you don't need much and it lasts a while. And compared to other cleansing balms, it's so cheap.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ac29 on 5/30/2014 3:50:00 PM more reviews by ac29

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this for over a year now and it's my go-to when my skin's acting up or when I'm wearing a lot of makeup. I use other cleansers but get nervous if I don't have any of this in stock. I normally scoop a bit (more than pea size but not too much), massage onto dry skin, let it sit for a couple seconds, then clean off with a washcloth.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 dem7201 on 5/20/2014 10:32:00 AM more reviews by dem7201

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I have bought this product 3 times now, so I feel confident in my review. I love the way this takes make up off. I pre-cleanse with the balm and then cleanse with my age appropriate cleanser. I feel this allows the beneficial ingredients in the targeted cleanser to have a better opportunity to work their magic.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products