Clinique • Take The Day Off Cleansing Balm • Cleansers

rated 4.3(430 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 tallwithglasses on 9/10/2014 11:56:00 PM more reviews by tallwithglasses

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is a great balm. It takes off all my makeup easily, including any sort of mascara. I like to use it as do face massage, and it's just right. There's no scent and no residue left after removing it. Love.
I don't like jar packaging, but it doesn't matter so much in this case.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 buytoomuchmakeup on 9/8/2014 6:43:00 PM more reviews by buytoomuchmakeup

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

HOLY GRAIL.
This product is just amazing. It cleans very gentely yet it's effective. My skin feels nice and smooth after using this, doesn't break me out, feels amazing on the skin.
I use this as my second step in my routine after I've pre-cleansed my face I follow up with this product and I can be sure that everything is removed from my face.
Wouldn't want to live a day without this.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 formika8476 on 9/7/2014 9:50:00 AM more reviews by formika8476

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

*HG* Highly recommended for oily skin and sensitive skin.

Recently confirmed that this is a must-have for me when I went without it for two weeks, relying on cetaphil and foaming cleanser. Within days, my skin started to feel scaly and bumpy, and I developed an outbreak of cystic acne on my chin. I haven't had a break-out in 15 years. It only took a few days back on the Cleansing Balm for my skin to feel baby-smooth again, and the zits are clearing up quickly considering they were pretty deep.

I have extremely sensitive, reactive, dehydrated, oily skin. For as long as I can remember, I've used long-wearing foundation to stand up to the oil, starting with Revlon ColorStay and ending with my favorite, MUFE Face & Body. Washing that off is not easy with a foaming, soap-based cleanser; I often had to wash twice to get the makeup off, which seriously stripped my skin. This Balm is thorough and gentle. I do use a gentle foaming cleanser or dove soap afterwards, but many have done well without this extra step.

***Major Bonus*** Since I started using this, my lashes are longer and have noticeably more body. I also seem to have grown a second tier of upper lashes. I know, amazing. I did not get this from the DHC.

*On cleansing oils*
I don't know how I got by before I discovered cleansing oil/balm. For the uninitiated, this is distinct from the oil-cleansing method (OCM), which calls for a straight-up oil like olive or coconut. The Cleansing Balm/cleansing oil is based on the same principle of like-dissolves-like : oils dissolve oils, water dissolves water (think of how much gentler and more effective an oil-based eye-makeup remover is than one that is oil-free). Unlike the OCM, though, the Cleansing Balm is engineered to dissolve in water as well, which means that after dissolving all the oil and makeup in the dry phase, it rinses clean once you add water, washing everything away. Meaning no pore-clogging oil particles. It does help to be fairly meticulous about using totally dry hands on a totally dry face in the beginning. I can't emphasize this enough. Blot your lips/eyes/nose right before if necessary; the technology just doesn't work as well if there's any kind of water when you first put it on.

*Compared to DHC Deep Cleansing Oil*
I was a longtime DHC deep cleansing oil user until one day last year, when I didn't feel like waiting for the mail...I'm thrilled that I gave this a shot, because as much as I like the DHC, I was getting annoyed with the mail-order-only aspect-- the waiting, the shipping charges, feeling like I had to bulk order to save on shipping, etc. The Clinique Cleansing Balm works just as well as the DHC in terms of gentle but thorough make-up removal, and I find that the solid form is easier to deal with (travels better) and more shelf-stable than the liquid-and-pump situation (I've had the DHC go off).
The DHC rinses to a squeakier clean, but like I said, the Clinique has done great things for my skin and my lashes -- without the hassle. I also think it lasts a bit longer b/c you have more control over how much you use.




4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Horxus on 9/2/2014 2:10:00 PM more reviews by Horxus

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I love this balm so much! It takes off all of my makeup (mascara included), doesn't burn in my eyes or break me out. It's not scented so that also might be plus for some people but doesn't feel very luxurious. Sometimes I use it with a flannel, sometimes I just wash it off with warm water ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* leavingthingsbehind on 9/1/2014 6:28:00 PM more reviews by leavingthingsbehind

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

A serious HG cleanser contender.

A jar of this lasts 2-3 months of everyday use with a cleansing cloth, it is a real pleasure to use. Keeps my skin clear, blemish free and radiant and not too dehydrated.

I scoop a half a tea spoon amount of product, warm it up in my hands and massage all over my face and neck taking off sunscreen, makeup and the city dirt in the process. I have experimented and smeared it all over my eyelids while wearing contacts (crazy, I know - normally I remove my lenses first, then take off my eye makeup with a bi-phased eye makeup remover separately before I proceed with the rest of my face) and it took off all my waterproof eye makeup (NARS eyeshadow primer, cream eyeshadow, liner etc.) without making my vision blurry or any stinging. I am using a tubing mascara so with a warm, moist face cloth it is a one step cleanser and makeup remover. Love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 8/29/2014 9:50:00 PM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This stuff is ok it doesn't remove all my makeup though especially my mascara. For the price it should be taking it all off. That being said my skin feels good after using it and I don't break out.
I'm going to try the body shop one next and if that one doesn't work out ill stick to garnier nutrise cleaning oil. Which works very well and much cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 runty on 8/16/2014 11:17:00 AM more reviews by runty

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This balm removes every last trace of my makeup, including liquid liner and mascara. I use a very small amount, warm it in my hands and then apply to dry skin. I love massaging it over my face and watching as my makeup melts together and turns grey! I wash it off with warm water and a Mario Badescu cleanser, and it's like I never had anything on my skin. It's pricey in Australia ($55) but I would never want to be without it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 taygete05 on 7/25/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by taygete05

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

A little goes a long way with this balm. It can feel a little greasy on my fingers, but feels soft on my face. I like to steam my face with a hot washcloth a little bit along with this balm, and it's never irritated or clogged my fairly sensitive skin.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* outdoorsgal on 7/24/2014 1:27:00 AM more reviews by outdoorsgal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Other, Warm   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I first used Clinique skincare years ago because it was highly touted in magazines and it was reasonably priced. Of course I'm referring to the 3 step skincare and you bet it irritated my skin beyond belief. I swore off any Clinique cleansers until now.

I switched to a physical sunscreen and I realized that I needed something extra to remove this along with my makeup.
I'm very wary of the oil cleansing method as my skin is sensitive to anything heavy or oily. I've tried jojoba oil and argan oil and the result was the same - breakout city.

So I decided to try the Take the Day Off Cleansing Balm and I'm very pleasantly surprised. My skin has no problem with this texture and I haven't experienced any breakouts since I started using this. (what a relief)
I don't use it to remove eye makeup as I can't use anything oil based for my eyes. (prone to styes)

I take a small bit of the balm and massage it all over my face before rinsing with water. There is no lather but rather a white sort of film that results when I use water.
I follow up with my regular LRP Toleriane cleanser to remove any traces of the balm and this seems to be the key for me to avoid breakouts.

My skin feels clean but not stripped afterwards and my complexion overall looks much better now that I'm thoroughly removing all makeup.

For reference, I'm normal to combo (slightly dry in the winter and slightly oily in the summer). Plus I love that this balm is fragrance free which I like as my skin can't tolerate anything with fragrance.

If you're sensitive to natural oils but need something to pre-cleanse makeup, give this a try.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Phoebeeats on 7/19/2014 9:55:00 PM more reviews by Phoebeeats

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I love this stuff. It is one of the few things I am faithful to, and always have a spare.
At night I rub a small amount on dry skin, then I rinse with warm water and follow with Philosophy Purity, which is probably not necessary. It takes everything off, including heavy duty sunscreen. I do use a separate eye makeup remover (not Clinique) because this bothers my eyes. Really, I don't get it because it's fine for my sensitive face and neck.
It's great for travel. I just scoop it in to a smaller container and it's so much easier than other oil cleansers.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Clinique products

More Cleansers products