Thayers • Rose Petal Alcohol Free Witch Hazel • Toners

rated 4.2(407 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.81%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 GidgetAH on 4/7/2014 12:40:00 PM more reviews by GidgetAH

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I have been using this religiously for about 6 years. This is my #1 beauty secret. The number of things you can do with this product is unbelieveable! I have used it in the following ways:

1) As an all around toner;
2) Mixed with clay and essential oils to create a DIY face mask;
3) When I used to make my own bath bombs, I used this hazel as my binding agent;
4) Used as a poultice to treat bug bites and rashes;
5) Used as a mixing agent to apply eyeshadow wet;
6) As a spot treatment for pimples;
7) Mixed with olive oil as a makeup remover; and
8) As a makeup setting spray.

It has never irritated my skin, I love it!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 klemon822 on 3/26/2014 12:28:00 PM more reviews by klemon822

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This product has SAVED me from my whiteheads. I've been working on my acne with natural remedies for a while now after going off the pill and prescription topical medications, and this toner has been the final kick my skin needed to really heal.

I use oatmeal and honey to cleanse my skin, then I apply this toner with a cotton ball, then I moisturize with Palmer's cocoa butter and skin therapy oil.

Thayer's Rose Petal Witch Hazel works great as an all-over toner that isn't drying (it also smells lovely), but I have also found it to be a miracle cure for my whiteheads.

When I see/feel a monster whitehead pop up, I just saturate a Q-tip with Thayer's Rose Petal Witch Hazel, and hold the Q-tip to the whitehead for thirty seconds to a minute. I often rub it gently and slowly over the pimple and surrounding area, and slowly I apply more pressure. I often repeat this process two or three times. Then I wipe off the remaining product with a dry end of a Q-tip. A minute or so later, I wipe it again, and the whitehead has suddenly become a small red bump. After ten or fifteen minutes, the redness has subsided and I am left with practically no bump at all. Usually within a few hours but always by the next day, my huge and irritated whitehead has been reduced to NOTHING. There's no scar, no pain, no oozing pus, no NOTHING. It's so simple and so fast. It has made all the difference in healing my skin, as a person with severe hyper-pigmentation.

Stop the scarring and the pain and the whiteheads that stick around for weeks and simply use this to bust down your pimples! It's a must-have in my arsenal now!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* auburngal on 3/24/2014 10:00:00 AM more reviews by auburngal

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Since my beloved Elizabeth Arden Hydrasplash toner was discontinued, I decided to try this one based on MUA reviews. Glad I did. It's gentle and smells wonderful. I use it for morning cleansing and after washing off makeup to remove the last traces CeraVe leaves behind. It's been gentle to my rosacea so far.

I like that aloe vera is the 2nd ingredient and witch hazel is further down, maybe the 4th or 5th ingredient (witch hazel can be too astringent for some people).

The packaging is good (I may try it in a little spray bottle): a flip-up cap reveals a tiny opening. The price is dirt-cheap: less than $8 for a 12 ounce bottle. The retro label is pretty nifty too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ashmaaa on 3/13/2014 11:42:00 AM more reviews by ashmaaa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Feels good to use this as it is alcohol-free and natural. Scent is pleasant. Packaging is just right, dispenses properly. But i find it slightly drying, perhaps it's the rubbing action (w cotton pad) that is irritating my skin. Much prefer my rose water n lavender concoction that comes in a spray bottle. Shall transfer once im out of that and update soon. Still would recommend this toner for the feel-good factor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Abraxia on 3/9/2014 7:54:00 PM more reviews by Abraxia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Other, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I've loved this Thayers toner since I was thirteen and had barely began experimenting with makeup/facial cleansing products. I'm now nineteen and still use this religiously, in fact it's the only thing in my skincare line all these years that HASN'T EVER changed, here's why I like it so much:


-I live in a desert climate, if I use any other toner apart from this one I can kiss my nice and soft skin goodbye. Why? Because it's free of any drying alcohol.
-This toner has absolutely no irritating ingredients in it, which is a massive plus as I know a lot of people have sensitive skin, so this will more than likely work wonders for you. The only issue I've heard with people having is issues with the witch hazel, if that's the case don't toss the bottle! Water the toner down with some good old plain water to distill the witch hazel even more.
-This toner is what I attribute to my amazing complexion. Iv'e never struggled with acne since I've been using this, ever. I have a lot of people compliment my complexion and I'm nearly positive the reason for me having such a great complexion is this toner.


Last recommendation:

If you are by some reason allergic to witch hazel don't use this! Instead I'd recommend using rose water (easily made yourself or obtained in a Middle Eastern marketplace) and baking soda by making a paste out of it and using it as a mask. You can also use plain rose water as a toner if you don't want to deal with the witch hazel in this.

I will continue buying this for the rest of my life, there's a reason it has a cult following!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 skuper on 3/2/2014 10:27:00 AM more reviews by skuper

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I get pimples that are "under my skin" after using this toner for the first time it right away drew everything to the surface and helped treat pimples with white heads along with toning my skin. It smells great and is alcohol free unlike most witch hazel products which is a plus.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deedsrho on 3/2/2014 4:38:00 AM more reviews by Deedsrho

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Other    

I have used the Thayer cucumber toner in the past but, I think the rose toner is by far the best out of the lot. I have sensitive dry acne prone skin as well as a cyst that forms from time to time and after using the rose toner is really calmed my skin and locked in moisture. After using the cucumber toner I switch to Nuxe - Gentle Toning Lotion with Rose Petals which is nice but very expensive (¥4,000 = $45.00) it worked well enough but I didn't really notice an improvement in my skin. I switch to thayers rose toner and my skin felt smooth and soft and also the redness from old acne calmed down. The price of thayers hits around ( ¥950=$10.00) which is amazing for the amount and the quality of the product. Still seeing improvements and I'd recommend this for the ladies and gentlemen with sensitive dry acne prone skin. Will buy for as long as they sell. (^ω^)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 tellmemorevn on 2/21/2014 12:40:00 AM more reviews by tellmemorevn

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

My skin is kind of prone to acne but not very sensitive. My skin got a crazy break out and got weaker after my effort to get rid of acnes. I used this toner because of positive reviews on MUA. However at the first use, my skin was very itchy and whiteheads pop up on my cheeks the next day. It was difficult to buy and it damaged my skin so i wouldnt recommend it

P.s my skin got much better when i use Clarins cleanser and lotus oil and stay away from makeup. Thanks god that those acnes disappear at least for now.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 arpinoj on 2/17/2014 10:09:00 AM more reviews by arpinoj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Simply amazing! First off the toner is a great price, especially for how well it works, compared to other toners.... It comes in a big bottle so you get a ton, smells absolutely amazing, and works awesome. I love that it is all natural too with no crappy fillers. Using it after an exfoliant helps to pick up any left over residue. For me, what I have noticed the most is that it has seriously shrunk my pores a ton! I love it and will def continue buying it :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Dimanta on 2/8/2014 3:58:00 PM more reviews by Dimanta

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Great toner, love it! Good price and does an excellent job. Does not break me out. My skin feels clean, fresh and smooth. Nice!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thayers products

More Toners products