Thayers • Rose Petal Alcohol Free Witch Hazel • Toners

rated 4.2(438 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 megananne on 2/22/2015 1:56:00 PM more reviews by megananne

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

In my opinion toner isn't hugely neccessary, but if you're going to be adding one to your routine, I recommend this one. I'm always looking for more natural beauty products, so I ordered this from Amazon for a decent price. It make my skin appear less red and my pores seem tighter, which is great. I struggle with acne so I always feel like I'm rolling the dice when adding a new facial product but this doesn't break me out at all! I also have dry skin around my chin and cheeks from using benzoyl peroxide and the aloe vera in this helps keep that in check. I give this product 4 stars because it does create shine in my t-zone which I normally don't experience :( Not oily at all, but weird and reflective that looks oily from a distance. Using it sparingly and applying powder seems to help though. Overall, it does a nice job at making my skin look and feel healthier, cleaner and more moisturized. Would purchase again, but wouldnt be willing to drop more than the $8 I spent on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Laurelwood on 2/3/2015 7:00:00 PM more reviews by Laurelwood

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not really sure what this toner is supposed to do, but it definitely smells nice. I like that it has witch hazel in it yet no alcohol. I might try the cucumber one next time but I'm still not fully sold on exactly what this stuff does..

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* brooke2010 on 1/7/2015 11:42:00 PM more reviews by brooke2010

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

BEST toner I've ever used for so many reasons! It's really cheap first of all. Second, it makes my skin so soft and so clean. I swear it really gives me a super porcelain skinned look. Third, it has a nice cooling effect that is really soothing. But my favorite thing is the smell! I love rose scented things, it's actually one of the reasons why I wanted to try it. Highly recommended for my fellow oily skinned people!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Haesunie on 12/29/2014 10:21:00 PM more reviews by Haesunie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried multiple toners, from Korean brands to Neutrogena ones. I like this one. It's not harsh and it has a rosy smell (sometimes it gets too much but I can deal). Used about 4 bottles now and I'll probably stick with this one. It's about 8 dollars, but sometimes, vitamin shops have sales on it for buy 1 get 1 half off. YES PLEASE. That's when I stock up. I use it. Got my sister to use it. *thumbs up*

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ratten1996 on 11/8/2014 10:41:00 PM more reviews by Ratten1996

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Heavenly smell of rose,can be overwhelming after awhile. Packaging is kinda vintage and cute.

It's soothing,give this refreshing feeling. Other than that,nothing much,have no effect on pores or whatever. I have normal skin, no major flaws,so I stick to this for almost a bottle.

Until one day, I decided to soak it in cotton pad and pat on my face like a mask,it made my face burnt like crazy,even my eyes tear from the irritation. Removed it immediately and my face were red.After some research,I found out excessive witch hazel on face is the cause for this. I still like this toner overall, cheap and mild, but maybe will look for something more effective.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 ninajae on 10/24/2014 6:32:00 AM more reviews by ninajae

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I bought this as i have been searching for alcohol-free toner and one that is as natural as possible. It works great, but not that much tho. It does make my skin smooth and I feel fresh afterwards. I have to say I love applying it on my skin. However, after using it for a while, I think it doesnt make any difference to my skin, aside from the fresh and clean sensation. It does nothing to my super huge pores :(. I will buy the original one after I have finish the rose one, just to try different flavor.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 isleofesa on 10/14/2014 1:09:00 AM more reviews by isleofesa

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I enjoy this product but I honestly cant tell the difference between this and regular witch hazel. It smells lovely and I usually find it on sale at Vit Shoppe. Besides witch hazel is sort of expensive anyway so why not spring for the fancy kind?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 imminentfate on 10/13/2014 3:20:00 AM more reviews by imminentfate

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

TL;DR: WITCH HAZEL IS BAD FOR YOUR SKIN. If it tingles, it is IRRITATING YOUR SKIN! Especially if your skin is DRY, SENSITIVE, and/or ACNE-PRONE. Throw this product out immediately!!!

I fell for the whole Witch Hazel hype and I thought it was great that this didn't have alcohol because alcohol irritates and dries out the skin. I liked the way this toner felt because it left my skin feeling tingly and squeaky clean and I thought that the redness that I got after using this was good because it meant that my acne was being dried up. I was so wrong. I was browsing Paula's Choice one day and I stumbled upon the revelation that witch hazel is actually a skin irritant, and tingling and redness are BIG signs of irritation! I immediately stopped using this product (I had been using it for a year or so) and I noticed a clear improvement in the texture and redness of my skin. Bottom line, please throw out any and all witch hazel products you have!!! Also, note that even if this product does NOT make your skin tingle and turn it red, it is still irritating it on the molecular level.. it's just that the level of irritation is lower so it's not visible to you. Please do not sacrifice your skin!!!!!

ALSO this is a little tangential but when I was using this product I absolutely loathed the packaging, everytime I travelled this product would leak HORRIBLY (good thing it's cheap otherwise I would have been so mad) and I eventually had to order a new bottle just for travelling that I could afford to lose a quarter of without running out of toner halfway through my trip. Oh and I had to store it in a ziploc bag everytime. Not worth the effort!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 therose12 on 10/12/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by therose12

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Silver, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

YES...I love this! I believe in the 3 steps of facial care, but because I have super sensitive skin(Rosacea), I have had a problem doing step 2(toner). I have been using this for about 2 years now and just love it.
It got rid of any trace of foundation left behind and makes your skin feel clean and fresh. The 12 oz. bottle last a very long time and the price is under $10.00.
A must have in your beauty regiment...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS on 10/5/2014 6:17:00 PM more reviews by MsAzNqTpRiNcEsS

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

smells amazing! I use this after washing my face to get every drop of makeup off. Big bottle, affordable and doesnt dry out my skin

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thayers products

More Toners products