Thayers • Rose Petal Alcohol Free Witch Hazel • Toners

rated 4.2(421 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients


rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gandiko on 8/18/2014 10:33:00 PM more reviews by gandiko

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this because my skin likes both rose water and aloe, so it seemed like a no brainer. I'm going back to my plain old Cortas rose water though, a pain in the arse as it is to sterilise a spray bottle for applying it. I don't see the benefit of this over just plain rose water, and these are negatives for me:

-The bottle is a pain in the neck. I manage to spill toner every time I use it, I hate it.

- If you get this in your eyes or mouth, you're going to regret it. Granted, toner isn't for eyes or drinking, but plain rose water doesn't sting my eyes, and sure doesn't taste like alcohol mixed with earwax. If you even get some toner on your lips and it dries, and you then unfortunately lick them (even hours later), you're going to be walking around grimacing and people will think there's something wrong with you.

- My water turned an off-putting off-yellow colour after only a few weeks. I have no idea why, I kept it in the original bottle, and it doesn't get any sun...

TL;DR - I see no benefits over plain rose water, and this is more expensive, went stale faster, has more ingredients (increased chance of reaction) and it tastes awful. I'd give it a pass if I were you.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 paine724 on 8/15/2014 7:45:00 PM more reviews by paine724

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

If you ever need to purchase a toner, then this is the only one you should consider buying! It's absolutely incredible

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sweetzms on 8/11/2014 9:41:00 AM more reviews by sweetzms

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

If I could give this 0 lippies I would. This product is the worst. Right when I started using it my face broke out in horrible cystic acne all over. At first I didn't realize that it was from this product because its supposed to be natural, so I kept using it for a month and a half, and my skin kept getting worse and worse. Right as soon as I figured it out and stopped using it, no new cysts have developed and the current ones are healing. Too bad I didn't realize it sooner, because now I have dark red scars all over my face. I would not recommend this product at all to anyone with sensitive skin. Now I just use straight up pure rose water from the grocery store (Cortas brand- can be found in middle Eastern grocery stores or in the international food aisle in most grocery stores) the smell is a million times better and it leaves my skin so soft and bright.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 AnabelSahagun on 8/6/2014 1:57:00 AM more reviews by AnabelSahagun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

LOVE THIS!!! I have been trying to clear my skin from pretty bad acne for SO long, but even "best" stuff wasn't getting it done. I tried going all natural and eating super healthy and that only made a very slight difference. But the second I started using this toner, my whole face started clearing up pretty much immediately!!! I was in shock and SO excited to see this work magic! I've been using it for about 3 weeks and everyday my akin gets better and better! It not only completely cleans my face and makes it feel fresh, but it also kind of moisturizers it in a weird way. I HIGHLY recommend this product. Miracle worker on acne. AND it's such a good price for a lot of amazing roduct.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 treradical on 7/30/2014 9:43:00 PM more reviews by treradical

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy   Eyes: Blue    

I really wanted this to work out because of all the glowing reviews. However my face would turn red after I used this and I'm pretty sure it helped to make me break out, too. Would not re-purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 ChocolateBobka on 7/28/2014 6:18:00 PM more reviews by ChocolateBobka

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I really liked this toner at first and for those of you who don't care what you put on your body I'm sure you'll like it as well. However, I do my best to not use ANY chemicals (parabens, petrochemicals, mineral oil, phthalates etc etc) in my cosmetics and body products and Thayer's Witch Hazel Toner contain Grapefruit Seed Extract as a preservative. You can read more about it on this awesome website that catalogues chemicals (http://chemicaloftheday.squarespace.com/most-controversial/2010/1/27/the-truth-about-grapefruit-seed-extract.html). I am personally going to go back to using ACV (apple cider vinegar) as a toner. I don't want chemicals on my skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* imperiale on 7/8/2014 2:15:00 PM more reviews by imperiale

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Witch hazel has been without fail a fantastic toner for me, no matter what my age or skin condition, and Thayers is simply the best.
I love the clean feeling I get from it, the moisturising effect, the gorgeous smell, the natural ingredients, and the cheap price! My skin is so clean, refreshed, and my pores look smaller when I use it - it's one of those classic old-school skincare products that really works for me. I've used the original and the rose, and the cucumber and lavender are definitely on my list to try too.

The ONLY other toner that I've found as effective is Estee Lauder Perfectly Clean toner, but for the price, Thayers beats it every time.

I should note I have super dry, generally clear skin with hormonal breakouts. I have however, used this when I was younger and had oilier skin and found that it was just effective for me. I have repurchased, and I will repurchase again and again as I absolutely adore this stuff. HG for me! <3

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 sierramatilda on 6/30/2014 10:22:00 PM more reviews by sierramatilda

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Dark   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I'm currently trying to get my skin back on track after a negative experience with the oil cleansing method. I was previously using Proactiv for my skin and it was working perfectly, but I've decided that I want to try more natural methods of doing pretty much everything in my life and I started with the OCM. It started to break me out and at first I thought my skin was just detoxing and getting used to me switching over to a new routine, but it soon became clear that oil cleansing just wasnt for me.
Now I'm using St Ives Apricot Scrub (not all natural, I know) to get my skin clear again before I try something else. It's working really well and I just bought the Thayers Rose Petal Witch Hazel because toners have always aided in getting my skin clear in the past. This product isnt working for me at all. After I use the St Ives scrub, the bumps I have feel much smaller and I can tell that they will soon be gone, but when I follow-up with the Thayers, they feel instantly bigger (or back to the previous size) and I can tell that they arent going anywhere.
I dont know what it is about this product because toners usually do work for me. It's really gentle, doesnt burn at all and doesnt have a strong smell, I assume because it's alcohol free. I think I'm going to return this product and exchange it for the lemon astrigent by the same brand. Maybe the alcohol is what I'm missing in this product

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 cinders915 on 6/24/2014 4:34:00 PM more reviews by cinders915

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

Not sure why, it hurts and burns slightly each time I use it. Smell is lovely but maybe just not for my skin type?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AprilShowas123 on 6/16/2014 9:12:00 PM more reviews by AprilShowas123

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

One of my favorites for a long time. I love to throw a little in the face steamer, and it makes skin smooth & tones.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Thayers products

More Toners products