American Beauty • Perfectly Even Natural Finish Foundation • Liquid

rated 4.1(98 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 JessicaGio on 2/22/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by JessicaGio

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

This is actually my first time in years getting back to foundation. I chose this foundation just because I happened to have a coupon for Kohls but also I was drawn by the "warm" or "cool" skin tone options. "Light Warm" was what looked to be the best fit for me and I am really pleased with the coverage and smooth effect of this foundation. A little goes a long way and it holds up very well through out the day and I am really pleased with what a match I was able to get with my skin tone. This is a little pricy but not outrageous and because a little goes such a long way it seems like it will last me for quite some time.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EmilyJoell on 8/24/2013 10:32:00 AM more reviews by EmilyJoell

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

If you have oily skin this stuff is not for you. It slides right of your face and doesn't have the best coverage. Do not recommend.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 mfgrape123 on 8/4/2013 3:44:00 PM more reviews by mfgrape123

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This product has a yellow tint to it, even in the cool tones. I also found that the foundation itself more sits on top of the skin, enhancing lines, instead of blending seamlessly. It doesn't offer much coverage on its own, but when paired with a matching powder it covers a decent amount of discoloration. Don't try it on zits, though. It just makes them look worse.
I like that it comes in a glass bottle, it looks better than plastic and sort of justifies the price. But I wish it were a pump bottle. That'd make it much more sanitary.
all in all, I think that $19 is too much to pay for a mediocre product in a cute jar.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 beautyofthewest on 7/5/2013 4:49:00 PM more reviews by beautyofthewest

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Olive   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I loved this foundation for a while but I just found something better in a drugstore for a lower price. This makeup leaves a natural finish except that is comes off SO easily. It does not last very long and it is difficult to blend because it is so sheer that it is hard to put it in one spot. I recommend flower about face foundation from Walmart. It is comparable to this one except the drugstore one is so much better with a built in primer and leaves a natural finish too.
I am not getting paid to advertise that one but I find it to be similar and longer lasting.

Overally I do not recommend American Beauty foundation because it is not long lasting and too sheer for my acne prone skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ExoticAlbino on 5/24/2013 5:07:00 PM more reviews by ExoticAlbino

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

This is almost a dead on dupe of Urban Decay's Naked Foundation but for a fraction of the cost. I own both & the texture/finish/wear are extremely similar. Unfortunately, I'm not a fan so this doesn't thrill me.

I have problematic skin that tends to look cakey with make up quickly. This foundation sort of looked like a mask on me. It's "demi satin" finish is supposed to look natural, which I'm sure it does, just not on me.

I like the buildable coverage. But that's pretty much the only nice thing I liked about this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Sk8rGurl on 3/13/2013 7:10:00 AM more reviews by Sk8rGurl

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I love love love this product! I wear a light/cool and it is so light and makes your skin look smooth but doesn't look like you have foundation on, and thats a good thing! The only problem with me on this product is i'm wondering how long it lasts and if i should change my primer to make it lasts longer? Anyways great product!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shomaq on 3/12/2013 12:16:00 PM more reviews by shomaq

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Grey    

Being a make-up artist for about 20 years, I have to say I absolutely love this foundation. Having tried foundations from Chanel Vita Lumiere Aqua to Loreal's True Match...I have to say I keep on going back to this foundation. It's not too heavy, quite light, give a beautiful sheen to the skin. Not greasy or too dewy at all. It feels fabulous. There aren't too many shades but its good enough. The price is quite fair as well. I have to say its a fantastic foundation...definitely something that I use and carry in the makeup box...favorite HG foundation.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* deliberateangel on 11/24/2012 2:56:00 PM more reviews by deliberateangel

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I bought this at Kohl's and really like it. I think it's light coverage and has a dewy finish. I have the color 5 light-medium dark. It's a little light for me but the next darkest color is way too dark. The colors are pretty limited with this foundation.
It has a very slight perfume smell that dissipates quickly.
It is pretty moisturizing and comes off easily if you touch your face. Other than that it can last 6-8 hours before I need to touch up. This doesn't irritate my sensitive and dry skin and leaves a very nice glow.
I get many compliments when I wear this. I was told my skin looks luminous.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 riesz on 11/14/2012 11:44:00 AM more reviews by riesz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this foundation. I have very pale skin with yellow tones and most drugstore or less expensive makeup is too dark, too pink, or both.

I have oily skin with acne scarring and redness on my face but just a light layer of this foundation evens my skintone and minimizes my scars. I still use concealer on some spots but I'm so happy to be able to apply my makeup much quicker now that my foundation is doing its job!

I don't use primer and notice my skin looking shiny after 2-3 hours. I use a touch of powder and I'm good to go for another 2-3 hours. I've worn this makeup for 10 hours straight and it still looks good.

Just have to bug my mother to send more from the USA! :)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 hlittle on 10/13/2012 9:07:00 PM more reviews by hlittle

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I do not usually give reviews on products. But this foundation is excellent. It is light, doesn't clog pores, medium coverage, and does not break me out. I am very fair with pink cheeks and the fair warm is perfect. I have not seen any oxidization and it seems to last all day for me. I use Photo Ready Perfecting Primer by Revlon and I set it with L'oreal translucent hydraperfect powder. I use the Sonia Kashuk flat top synthetic brush to apply my foundation, it makes it look natural.This is my HG for sure. The bottle will last a very long time therefore it is well worth the money to me. I feel like this is comparable to my Urban Decay Naked foundation with slight more coverage. The only thing they need to improve on is the bottle, it needs a pump. Definitely a product to try out, you won't be disappointed!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More American Beauty products

More Liquid products