Paula's Choice All Over Hair & Body Shampoo

3.9

130 reviews

67% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.5

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Sodium Laureth Sulfate (mild detergent cleansing agent), Cocamidopropyl Betaine (mild cleansing agent), Lauryl Glucoside (mild cleansing and lather agent), Butylene Glycol (slip agent/water-binding agent), Laurdimonium Hydroxypropyl Hydrolyzed Wheat Protein (water-binding and anti-static agent), Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, (plant conditioning and water-binding agents), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter) (conditioning agent), PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate (surfactant), Polyquaternium-10 (conditioning/detangling agent), Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice (water-binding agent), Trisodium EDTA (chelating agent), Citric Acid (pH adjuster), Phenoxyethanol, Chlorphenesin, Benzoic Acid, Sorbic Acid (all preservatives and stabilizers).


on 7/25/2014 9:56:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I HAD THE SAMPLE. THERE WAS NOT ENOUGH FOR MY HAIR AND BODY SO INSTEAD I ONLY USED IT ON MY SCALP.
This is fine if you have an oily scalp like me . Based on my hair type and my experience with this I doubt it will help people with a dry scalp. (Let alone anything like dandruff but it doesn't advertise that anyway.) It would be nice to have a wider selection but if you have oily hair and scalp this is worth a shot.



on 6/6/2014 8:18:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Oily, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

While not every PC product works for me, this one did quite beautifully. I used up two sample pockets in one wash. My hair felt soft, clean and manageable. I pre-conditioned very lightly with a little argan oil overnight and some coconut oil in the morning. I do that each time I wash my hair. But I kept the preconditioning especially light this time to see what the product would do more or less on its own, and did not use conditioner afterwards.

Loved the result. My hair is thinning and either very curly or wavy depending on the weather, the shampoo, and other variables. I let it air dry and ended up with springy tight curls- they looked good. I was worried about tangles but got none.

I like the ingredients and cruelty-free policy...it's why I checked out PC in the first place.

I gave the sample packet a 5-star, because I saw nothing wrong with it- I can't comment on the shampoo bottle yet. I couldn't leave it blank (I tried). If the site allows updates, I'll go back and comment on the bottle packaging when I get it.

I do want to go back and get the bigger bottle but definitely don't love the price. Combined with the shipping ($9) it comes to nearly $24 for not that much shampoo. The website offers free shipping with $50 purchase, and I have been trying their skincare lines hoping to make up the difference. I need a moisturizer spf, but haven't had much luck so far. I posted a review on one of the PC skin care items I tried,

I do absolutely love the shampoo though, and I will get it in a few weeks even if the s/h doesn't come down. I plan to alternate it with my 100 percent pure shampoo (the glossing kind)- that too worked like a charm and I'll post a review of it later.


on 9/26/2012 2:00:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

My skin and scalp have become really sensitive as I've gotten older. I can't use most salon or drugstore hair products because of artificial fragrance and preservatives like methylisothiazolinone. And I can't use most natural cosmetics because of the fragrant essential oils. I've had nice results with Paula's skincare products the past year, so I thought I'd try this shampoo even though it contains sulfates.

This isn't nearly as moisturizing as most women would need it to be. (Who doesn't color, highlight and/or straighten their hair and thus need extra hydration?). The old formula used to have shea butter and other great emollients but this new formula definitely wasn't hydrating enough on my lightly highlighted hair. And I don't think the $15 price is justified given its very basic formulation.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/24/2012 7:43:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I so wanted to like this, but it left my hair dry, lank, dull, and at the same time, greasy. A rating of 2 only because it's paraben-free.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 12/8/2011 9:14:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I've been using this for two months now and am really liking the way is cleanses gently. I have eczema and cannot use scented body products without the eczema becoming red, inflamed and oozing. I also cannot use body products containing color additives and most plant oils commonly found in body washes break me out. Paula's H&B Shampoo works great for me. I can use it on my hair and need no conditioner--granted, my hair is chin length, fine, and not heavily damaged, but still dry from coloring my hair in the past. I can use this as a body wash without irritation--in fact, my skin feels calmer and without itch or irritation than with the Dove sensitive skin body wash I had been using. The Dove wash also seemed to be leaving a coating on my skin, and this does not. I can also use the H&B shampoo on my face and in place of bar soap. For me, this is a game changing product. I also used it to wash a new tattoo, keeping it clean while not overdrying it. It worked perfectly for that. You can buy travel size packets of this, another feature I really like, because it minimizes the amount of bottles I have to pack for a trip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 12/1/2011 11:11:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Very good product, especially for the body. The only reason it gets a 4 instead of a 5 is that it doesn't give my oily hair as much body as I get with shampoos like Prell or Suave Daily Clarifying. My hair feels clean and soft, but a bit limp.


on 8/10/2011 10:32:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

WHAT IS IT? A detergent-based fragrance-free colour-free mild body/face/hair wash with mild emollients.

HOW DOES IT WORK? Excellent and this is wonderful for those of us who live in areas with hard water as the mild detergents allow this to rinse clean without residue even in very hard water.

The emollient content permits this to clean well without being overly drying.

PRICE: 13 USD for 600ml

WOULD YOU BUY AGAIN? Absolutely - best body wash and has the added benefit for working well for those of us who swim frequently and require something that is both gentle but also capable of removing chlorine

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 8/8/2010 6:02:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

I absolutely *wuv* this product! After dying my hair red for a few years I decided to go back to my blonde natural self. Obviously, that required quite a large amound of irritating and drying products. Withing a few days though, my hair was again in perfect condition. So I can definitly say that it works wonders for both coloured hair (the red, which is a tough colour) and for quite dry hair. I am trying out different (read: cheaper) products now. But if nothing suits me, I would definitly repurchase!


on 7/29/2010 10:22:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I found this body wash/shampoo to be very (very) drying. My skin would itch after using it and looked slightly flakey. Paula's Choice has an excellent returns policy, so I sent it back and got a full refund. I've since returned to my LRP Lipikar cleanser and my skin is fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 5/24/2010 11:14:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I've been using this product for a few years and I'm very happy with it. As a shampoo, there's never a build-up. As a body wash, it cleans thoroughly. I love it for travel because I can put it into a small container and use it for hair, face and body. Perhaps someone with dry skin and/or scalp wouldn't find it moisturizing enough, but for me, it's great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Shampoos


Shampoo
397 Reviews
Shimmer Lights
327 Reviews
Shampoo
179 Reviews
Baby Shampoo
328 Reviews
Back to Top