Paula's Choice • All Over Hair & Body Shampoo • Shampoo

rated 3.9(129 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 nyxy on 6/6/2014 8:18:00 PM more reviews by nyxy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

While not every PC product works for me, this one did quite beautifully. I used up two sample pockets in one wash. My hair felt soft, clean and manageable. I pre-conditioned very lightly with a little argan oil overnight and some coconut oil in the morning. I do that each time I wash my hair. But I kept the preconditioning especially light this time to see what the product would do more or less on its own, and did not use conditioner afterwards.

Loved the result. My hair is thinning and either very curly or wavy depending on the weather, the shampoo, and other variables. I let it air dry and ended up with springy tight curls- they looked good. I was worried about tangles but got none.

I like the ingredients and cruelty-free policy...it's why I checked out PC in the first place.

I gave the sample packet a 5-star, because I saw nothing wrong with it- I can't comment on the shampoo bottle yet. I couldn't leave it blank (I tried). If the site allows updates, I'll go back and comment on the bottle packaging when I get it.

I do want to go back and get the bigger bottle but definitely don't love the price. Combined with the shipping ($9) it comes to nearly $24 for not that much shampoo. The website offers free shipping with $50 purchase, and I have been trying their skincare lines hoping to make up the difference. I need a moisturizer spf, but haven't had much luck so far. I posted a review on one of the PC skin care items I tried,

I do absolutely love the shampoo though, and I will get it in a few weeks even if the s/h doesn't come down. I plan to alternate it with my 100 percent pure shampoo (the glossing kind)- that too worked like a charm and I'll post a review of it later.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* EcoPretty on 9/26/2012 2:00:00 PM more reviews by EcoPretty

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

My skin and scalp have become so sensitive as I've gotten older. I can't use salon or drugstore haircare products because of artificial fragrance and preservatives like methylisothiazolinone. And I now can't use most natura cosmetics because of the fragrant essential oils and their components like limonene and linalool. Because I've had nice results with Paula's skincare products the past year, I thought I'd try this shampoo -- even though it contains sulfates.

This isn't nearly as moisturizing as most women would need it to be. (Who doesn't color, highlight and/or straighten their hair?). The old formula used to have shea butter and other nice moisturizing ingredients but this new formula was drying for me. This would be a decent shampoo during the summer, on normal or oily hair, but definitely wasn't hydrating enough on my lightly highlighted hair. And I don't think the $15 price is justified given such basic ingredients

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 momominky on 4/24/2012 7:43:00 PM more reviews by momominky

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I so wanted to like this, but it left my hair dry, lank, dull, and at the same time, greasy. A rating of 2 only because it's paraben-free.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* firesyren on 12/8/2011 9:14:00 PM more reviews by firesyren

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this for two months now and am really liking the way is cleanses gently. I have eczema and cannot use scented body products without the eczema becoming red, inflamed and oozing. I also cannot use body products containing color additives and most plant oils commonly found in body washes break me out. Paula's H&B Shampoo works great for me. I can use it on my hair and need no conditioner--granted, my hair is chin length, fine, and not heavily damaged, but still dry from coloring my hair in the past. I can use this as a body wash without irritation--in fact, my skin feels calmer and without itch or irritation than with the Dove sensitive skin body wash I had been using. The Dove wash also seemed to be leaving a coating on my skin, and this does not. I can also use the H&B shampoo on my face and in place of bar soap. For me, this is a game changing product. I also used it to wash a new tattoo, keeping it clean while not overdrying it. It worked perfectly for that. You can buy travel size packets of this, another feature I really like, because it minimizes the amount of bottles I have to pack for a trip.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* CobraRose on 12/1/2011 11:11:00 PM more reviews by CobraRose

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Oily, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Very good product, especially for the body. The only reason it gets a 4 instead of a 5 is that it doesn't give my oily hair as much body as I get with shampoos like Prell or Suave Daily Clarifying. My hair feels clean and soft, but a bit limp.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* avironneur on 8/10/2011 10:32:00 PM more reviews by avironneur

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

WHAT IS IT? A detergent-based fragrance-free colour-free mild body/face/hair wash with mild emollients.

HOW DOES IT WORK? Excellent and this is wonderful for those of us who live in areas with hard water as the mild detergents allow this to rinse clean without residue even in very hard water.

The emollient content permits this to clean well without being overly drying.

PRICE: 13 USD for 600ml

WOULD YOU BUY AGAIN? Absolutely - best body wash and has the added benefit for working well for those of us who swim frequently and require something that is both gentle but also capable of removing chlorine

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Alasse on 8/8/2010 6:02:00 PM more reviews by Alasse

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I absolutely *wuv* this product! After dying my hair red for a few years I decided to go back to my blonde natural self. Obviously, that required quite a large amound of irritating and drying products. Withing a few days though, my hair was again in perfect condition. So I can definitly say that it works wonders for both coloured hair (the red, which is a tough colour) and for quite dry hair. I am trying out different (read: cheaper) products now. But if nothing suits me, I would definitly repurchase!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* skincareman on 7/29/2010 10:22:00 AM more reviews by skincareman

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other, Tan   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I found this body wash/shampoo to be very (very) drying. My skin would itch after using it and looked slightly flakey. Paula's Choice has an excellent returns policy, so I sent it back and got a full refund. I've since returned to my LRP Lipikar cleanser and my skin is fine.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Deanna2 on 5/24/2010 11:14:00 AM more reviews by Deanna2

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this product for a few years and I'm very happy with it. As a shampoo, there's never a build-up. As a body wash, it cleans thoroughly. I love it for travel because I can put it into a small container and use it for hair, face and body. Perhaps someone with dry skin and/or scalp wouldn't find it moisturizing enough, but for me, it's great.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 joy18 on 5/10/2010 5:22:00 AM more reviews by joy18

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love this as a shampoo for my seven month old!!! She had eczema on her head and it was always cracked and oozing(!!) plus her scratching didn't make things any better. After using this for two weeks her head has almost completely healed and she hardly scratches it anymore! I use the body butter and body lotion along with this so I'm not sure if this is helping or not, but it's not irritating my babies' eczema and that's good enough for me.

I did try using this on my own hair once and I found that it didn't lather nicely at all. I know that lather doesn't play any part in how clean your hair gets, but I personally like having it there. Plus my hair didn't feel any cleaner or softer than when I used my regular shampoos. But since I didn't buy this for myself it's not that big of a deal and I'm giving it five lippies anyway. If I were to use it, I would only use it as a body wash but that's just my personal preference as I know some have had great results from using this as a shampoo as well.

As for the problems with the pump...after reading all the comments and reviews on it I decided against ordering it. Instead I use a Body Shop pump (the one you can buy separately) and it works beautifully.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Shampoo products