Unlisted Brand • EXTRA VIRGIN Coconut Oil (All brands) • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.5(854 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Ninamw31 on 8/18/2014 7:24:00 PM more reviews by Ninamw31

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I buy my coconut oil from trader joes. I love it and I use it for everything - seriously. even my children know if someone has a scratch or bug bite or dry skin, whatever, put coconut oil on it! I love to rub a little bit in my hands and smooth down my hair after I flat iron, it makes my hair so smooth and shiny. a little bit goes a long way! I have also used it on my skin for a moisturizer for face and body. no issues with body but for the face it can break me out a little. I had a rash on my face due to an allergic reaction and I applied coconut oil liberally on my face before bed and when I woke up the rash looked 10x better and I only had a couple small pimples in the following days. that is to be expected though when applying a thick layer of heavy oil on my face though :) coconut oil is a cure all and I love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* DKER on 8/17/2014 9:11:00 AM more reviews by DKER

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I like this for my hair, using a teeny dab on the ends under my styler when they are really dry, or to protect them from pool water before I swim, or sometimes just coating my hair with it, doing a run or workout, them washing it out. My guess is anyone who doesn't need conditioner every time after shampooing will hate this on their hair and find it too greasy. I can't use it on my body except for my legs, it triggers sd flares.

As for cooking....you must use it in food that goes with coconut flavor! Then it will be nice. If you use it in chocolate cake it will be chocolate coconut cake. It goes nicely with any dishes that involve pineapple or mango too. Coconut flavor just won't go with things like chicken Parmesan or pork chops with rosemary and garlic! You get a more refined coconut oil that has been deodorized of the coconut flavor for those cooking purposes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aznmnkygrl808 on 8/17/2014 5:52:00 AM more reviews by aznmnkygrl808

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I am now a believer of coconut oil! I purchased the La Tourangelle's unrefined virgin coconut oil for about $10 at Target.

I originally bought this because i started getting small bumps around my Knees and on my upper thighs aka keratosis pilaris. I wanted to try out home remedies first before heading to the doctors. Coconut oil was the #1 remedy that I found online.

When I first bought the bottle, it was white and solid. Ever since i started using it, the oil has remained liquid. I live in Hawaii and it's pretty warm so maybe that has something to do with it??

I wanted to test this out before writing a review. I honestly 110% can say now that my keratosis pilaris is gone. I used coconut oil on the dry patches for about 2-3 weeks right after the shower, every single night.

I also use this for dry patches that I randomly get on my face and eyelids. I've been researching other way to use coconut oil and I'm excited to try them out. If I ever do run out of this product, I would definitely repurchase! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* flamencovixen on 8/11/2014 12:48:00 AM more reviews by flamencovixen

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've used coconut oil both as a hair treatment and to remove makeup/sunscreen.
I'm not fond of it as a hair treatment even though I know that this is what it's commonly used for. I just find that it leaves my hair greasy even after washing it. In my experience, I've had to wash my hair three times to get the greasiness out.

My preference is to use coconut oil to remove my makeup and sunscreen. I just scoop a bit onto my palm and then rub my palm together to warm it up so that it liquefies, then I massage it onto my face. I wipe my face with a baby wipe (the Kirkland brand baby wipe from Costco) to remove the dirt. The coconut oil is a cheaper and natural alternative to oil cleansers that I have purchased and I am quite happy with using it. A jar of this oil lasts me a long time. I don't mind that it is solid in room temperature - it actually makes it easier to travel with (less likely to spill/leak when it's in solid form than when it's liquefied).

I've read that coconut oil is comedogenic but I have had no problems with break outs when using this as an oil cleanser.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* spaflam on 8/1/2014 10:21:00 AM more reviews by spaflam

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Cooking, Beauty, Massage and topical applications.
Very versatile - be sure to get pure food grade if you plan to ingest it.

Good for saponification and topical aromatherapeutic (carrier) purposes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* yjanney on 7/25/2014 10:52:00 PM more reviews by yjanney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I use the Trader Joe's brand. I've used coconut oil for 2 purposes so far:

Hair Mask - combine equal parts coconut oil and jojoba oil and apply to dry hair. Wrap in a towel or cover with shower cap and let sit at least 30 minutes, then wash and condition as usual. This was really messy, but it made my hair super soft and shiny. However, it did make my hair a touch greasy for the first day. Easy and fairly inexpensive.

Body Moisturizer - combine about 4 T. coconut oil and about 1/2 teaspoon grapefruit essential oil and store in a flip-top bottle. This stays in liquid form for me if I keep it in the bathroom. It's not only moisturizing, but the grapefruit EO is supposed to be beneficial in detoxing the body. I like to dry brush, shower, and then apply this moisturizer while still damp. Leaves my skin soft and smooth. Again, easy and fairly inexpensive.

Have not begun to cook with this yet, nor have I had the courage to try oil pulling or the oil cleansing method, but they're all things I'm curious about.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 MakeupManiac5699 on 7/19/2014 3:39:00 PM more reviews by MakeupManiac5699

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I use the NOW brand, I believe. I had a stubborn and scaly dry patch on the skin below my jawline from an allergic reaction to a face cream. Nothing seemed to be able to fix it, until my father recommended coconut oil. It took only a weak to heal the noticeably red patch and it gave me soft, smooth skin in the process. I now use this as a spot treatment for dry skin at night and to condition my eyelashes (I can already see significant growth, by the way!). All around amazing product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glamguru on 7/16/2014 2:37:00 PM more reviews by glamguru

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I am a convert to the coconut oil craze! I lightly apply a layer of it to my face and body immediately after the shower and sometimes at night before I go to sleep. My skin has never been softer and I don't break out at all. I have tried the oil pulling, teeth whitener thing and it worked as well. So far I have been using the Nutiva brand.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 flappergirl35 on 7/13/2014 1:14:00 PM more reviews by flappergirl35

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I love coconut oil. I've been using it in my cooking, and really enjoy the flavor and health benefits. I especially love what it did for my fine, damaged, color-treated shoulder-length hair.

Last night, I put it on the ends of my hair, wrapped it in a bun and left it on for an hour. I put it in as a solid, but it immediately melted into my hair, and quickly absorbed in. I avoided my scalp area, because I usually have an oily scalp. After the hour was up, I shampooed and conditioned my hair as usual, blow-dried and added a touch of Argan Oil spray by Organix.

My hair was left feeling soft, shiny and I even had beachy waves in it! I woke up this morning, and my hair was beautifully shiny, not dry, brittle and straw-like. It certainly didn't feel greasy at all.

After trying a number of different hair masks, I've discovered, thanks to MUA, that coconut oil is very beneficial to the hair. I will continue to use once per week, to maintain the softness and shine.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shutterbug07 on 7/6/2014 9:27:00 PM more reviews by shutterbug07

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

In order to prevent dry and split ends, I apply virgin coconut oil to the ends of my hair before washing my normal conditioner out in the shower. I haven't yet figured out the best way to store it, as it is quite cool and solidified in the bottle, but may mix it with some other oils in the future and that might help.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Unlisted Brand products

More Lotions/ Creams products