No Brand (DIY or homemade) • EXTRA VIRGIN Coconut Oil (All brands) • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.5(868 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.90%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 ksdjfklsdjf on 1/27/2015 11:05:00 AM more reviews by ksdjfklsdjf

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

I will forever and always love extra virgin coconut oil. It is such a versatile product. Not only is it healthy internally, but also has many benefits externally. I mainly use this for my hair and skin. I put this on my hair twice a week before bed and then put my hair up in a bun and sleep with it overnight. In the morning I use my regular shampoo to wash it out and also use my conditioner, even though I could probably skip conditioner on the days I use this, but I still use it anyway (slightly conditioner obsessed). This keeps my hair in excellent condition. It is one of the few oils that can penetrate the hair shaft to nourish it completely.

I also use this to remove my eye makeup at night. The eye area is very delicate, so I find it important to use natural moisturizing products and not anything chemical based. After I remove the eye makeup I put a little extra around my eye area and keep it on overnight just to nourish that area and keep it youthful. I also put a little on my neck, lips, legs and hips before bed. This helps to keep my skin super healthy and moisturized. I love how it is all natural, nourishing, anti-aging and extremely affordable because this stuff lasts forever! For my facial skin, I recently purchased Rosehip Oil because coconut oil on my face was too thick and seemed to clog pores. I will write a review on the Rosehip Oil once I've used it for a while. However, for practically everything else coconut oil is my go-to!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 K20602D on 1/22/2015 7:24:00 AM more reviews by K20602D

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium Brown   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have been working on the same tub of raw organic coconut oil for at least three years now. I have cooked with it, used it as a facial moisturizer (really bad idea - I broke out horribly and had horrendously clogged pores), a body moisturizer (also bad idea because it never really soaked in completely - left oil stains on my clothes & any other fabric my skin touched), and as a hair treatment. For the past two years I have only been using it as a pre-shampoo treatment & as a heat protectant when I flat iron my hair. I use half a table spoon from my scalp to my ends and leave it in my hair overnight. It protects my hair from the stress/damage of the washing/blow drying/flat ironing that I do the following day. After I wash & blow dry my hair I use another half table spoon from scalp to ends. I then blow dry my hair for another 30 seconds to make sure the oil is evenly distributed through my hair, finally I flat iron my hair. My hair is longer, stronger, shiny, and always fresh. I don't have breakage anymore and maybe once in a blue moon do I see a split end.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* raluko on 1/22/2015 6:45:00 AM more reviews by raluko

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I`ve been using this as a moisturizer for my body after baths/showers and I absolutely love the way it works. It`s a little hard scooping it out of the jar, but it melts at body temperature really well and sinks quickly into the skin with a nice massage. The only thing I am not crazy about is that I end up smelling like a dessert, but hey, to get good skin without using bizarre chemicals, it`s totally worth it. Will try using it as a hair mask, as some of the users on here have done.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* aessop on 1/22/2015 6:34:00 AM more reviews by aessop

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I use 1 1/2 tspns of this in my hair before shampooing. No its not alot but i dont want to be a grease ball or struggle to wash it out. I warm up the oil in a separate boil of warm water and then massage into my scalp and ends. I comb it through to make sure it gets evenly distributed and either sleep with it overnight or put my hair up in a messy bun or french braid during the day. I find that I get the best results if I leave it in for most of the day. After that I just shampoo my hair once with a sulphate free shampoo and silicone free conditioner. I do this twice a week. I've noticed that my 2c/3a curls are more defined since I started using coconut oil. Also i can't be sure if this is a fluke or not, but my hair is falling out less in the shower when I shampoo. I'm talking about half the quantity of hair.I would love to hear from other reviewers to find out if they're experiencing the same thing.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Chrisofia on 1/8/2015 1:12:00 PM more reviews by Chrisofia

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Looking for a natural facial cleanser and moisturizer, I started washing my face with honey and moisturizing with coconut oil. My face it typically dry, and not particularly sensitive or acne-prone. For the first few months, the combo was great. Then, just before my brother's wedding, I broke out in a rash and whiteheads. I immediately stopped using the coconut oil and honey, but I continue to get whiteheads any time I use a moisturizer (3 months later). I am convinced it was the coconut oil that ruined my skin. It is amazing how having bad skin can ruin your self-esteem. I would do anything to back in time and never have use coconut oil for my face. Beware!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 wiwi45678 on 1/2/2015 11:20:00 PM more reviews by wiwi45678

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My holy grail facial moisturizer, deep hair treatment, chapped lipbalm, and cuticle treatment. I go through entire bottles of coconut oil because it is dirt cheap, has no additives, and literally changed my face and hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Fabulousblonde on 1/2/2015 7:56:00 PM more reviews by Fabulousblonde

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I use this after cleansing. Its a great moisturiser and leaves my skin soft in the morning. It has helped keep my skin in good condition.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SilvaEgle on 12/31/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by SilvaEgle

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

BEYOND AMAZING!! I can't get enough of coconut oil. The amount of uses it has is insane. Living in Colorado it's so drying; I need constant moisture. I could not imagine my life without it! I use it to make all natural products, as a lip moisturizer, on my split ends in my hair, as lotion after a bath, on my face where I get dry patches & SOOO much more. My fiancÚ's a chef, he cooks with it!! Coconut oil is the bees knees you need it in your life now... Go!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cyens on 11/13/2014 7:26:00 PM more reviews by cyens

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I love coconut oil! I buy cosmetic grade coconut oil, I use it in my homemade cold press soaps and homemade lotion. Perhaps you need to use cosmetic grade on your skin, no cooking grade, this i why so many people got reaction. Also, I make sure is cold press virgin coconut oil, not solvent extraction, which is full of not so good stuff.
I use this on my body, mixed with shea, cocoa, almond, olive and/or argan oil, then I add my own essential oils depending my needs. Most of the time its lavender, geranium, grapefruit, sometimes rosemary, I just change it up each time.

This stuff is amazing! I haven't used store bough lotion in over 10 years, I just make my own. I used to have really bad dry skin and psoriasis, and now its all gone. Store bough lotion is full of crap, even highend stuff, the main ingredients are always just water, mineral oil and silicons, and the actual good oils are listed last.

PS: I don't use it on my face, only on my body, for my face I use jojoba oil.

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 racistpretzels on 11/13/2014 6:15:00 PM more reviews by racistpretzels

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I just don't get it. This oil is supposed to be one of the most comedogenic and worst for acne, but somehow, MIRACULOUSLY, this stuff is great on my skin. I have had TERRIBLE acne in the past and my skin is definitely acneprone, but I have been using coconut oil for over a year and it always leaves my skin soft and helps my breakouts. This "strange" occurence almost leads me to believe that people are just using too much oil on their face. I can definitely see this causing breakouts when you use too much.

All I do is take a MINISCULE amount, probably less than 1/8 of a teaspoon, rub it into my fingertips/palms, and pat it onto my face fresh out of the shower (after I've sprayed apple cider vinegar as a toner).

Sometimes I like to try new facial moisturizers but I always end up coming back to coconut oil and it never fails me. Not only do I use this on my face, but it makes for a great body oil fresh out of the shower, and I use it in baking, stir frys, etc. Just a great versatile product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More No Brand (DIY or homemade) products

More Lotions/ Creams products