MAC Prep + Prime Lash


106 reviews

71% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$


Water\Aqua\Eau, Copernicia Cerifera (Carnauba) Wax\Cera Carnauba\Cire De Carnauba, Stearic Acid, Glyceryl Stearate, Polyisobutene, Silica, Polyvinyl Acetate, Aminomethyl Propanediol, PVP/Eicosene Copolymer, Isotearic Acid, Tocopheryl Acetate, Lecithin, Pantethine, Panthenol, Hydroxyethylcellulose, Lauroyl Lysine, PEG-8 Beeswax, Simethicone, Caprylyl Glycol, 1,2-Hexanediol, Nylon-6, Phenethyl Alcohol, Disodium EDTA, Potassium Sorbate, Chlorphenesin, Chloroxylenol, Phenoxyethanol, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891)

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I wanted to try a mascara primer because they always tend to smudge on me or i want it to last long, and also to prevent flakes. I saw this on the website and figured i can give it a go because at first i wanted to get UD subversion, but its a bit pricy and i wanna check out cheaper primers that are also good quality. This one is. I got the last one available at a mac counter. The saleswoman raved about it when i asked her how it was. So i decided to buy it. She told me i can put it on to wear overnight as i sleep to condition the lashes. I can totally tell a difference. Nice and soft and strong. Also makes my mufe extravagant smoky eyes mascara looking 2x better than it did before the primer. Longer and thicker with less smudging. Although the brush could be a bit thicker like subversions to apply more product evenly on the lashes, and instead of the 1-2 swipes the mac counter girl advised which it barely coats them, it takes several to do the job. Pleased with it so far.

on 6/27/2015 12:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

This was a waste of money and did nothing except clump my lashes. I usually get good results with mascaras that have a rubber wand, like Max Factor False Lash, or chubbier wands and my lashes aren't really short so if you have similar experience, don't waste your money on this primer.

on 4/6/2015 7:06:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Mascara primer looks not very necessary for someone but actually its very important. There is a difference when I apply this. After using it, I apply max factor false lash effect. It whitens lashes a little bit, I think after applying the mascara, lashes becomes darker. And also it helps mascara to improve its volume. I will definitely buy it again.

on 3/22/2015 6:17:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

This stuff is amazing! I have full, but quite stubby lashes. I brush this on, let it dry and the put my mascara on. I'd reccommend a light hand with it, but if you put too much on, a lash comb does a good job at de-clumping.
I'd reccommenf this to anyone!

on 1/7/2015 10:01:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Green

Eyelash curlers don't work on my lashes. They are too fine, delicate and straight. This primer enables me to get some curl from my mascara and reduces flaking.

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Love love love this primer.

I use this as my BROW GEL! as it has a softer, movable consistency but holds the hair in place all day and creates a fuller, healthier looking brow.

After running this through my brows I add some to my lashes and let it sit - and any mascara, particularly a tube mascara, on top creates full, LONG lashes that do not smudge or transfer.

In addition to aesthetic advantages, P+P Lash also has conditioning benefits that are noticeable as well.

HG product, for sure.

on 7/26/2014 5:36:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

One of the worst lash primers I've ever tried. It goes on extremely thick and heavy, did nothing to make my lashes look thicker or longer. They just looked stubby and weighed down.
Lash primer is something I use every day, without it my mascara would smudge within a couple of hours. Mascara always used to smudge on me no matter what until I discovered lash primer. I've tried many different ones and my favorites are Lancome, Clinique, and Origins. Because in addition to making my mascara last all day, a good lash primer will enhance the appearance of my lashes as well. Longer, thicker, fuller, fluffier- all of those things. MAC's Prep + Prime Lash did keep my mascara in place for me, but that was all. It made my lashes look terrible.
I didn't care for the heavy formula or the weird, spiral pattern on the wand. The combination of the two made for a super-thick application that was not pretty or flattering.
Will stick with Lancome Cils Booster in the future (my HG!). Won't buy this again.

on 4/3/2014 7:39:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Kinky, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I've used this since I was 16. I'm now 26. That's how much I like it. I have quite thin, short, sparse lashes and using this gem gives me a false lash effect in conjunction with my Bourjois Ultra Glamour Ultra Black mascara.

Put simply - it does what it says on the tin - preps and primes your lashes to their fullest volume and length prior to mascara application. I can't live without it and for that reason alone, will continue to repurchase. I tend to buy top ups in duty free as it costs a tenner which is fabulously reasonable. A tube lasts a long time too so you do get your moneys worth. Top product, MAC. Love.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

on 11/25/2013 8:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Black

I only discovered the existence of lash primers about a year ago, when I was shopping in a Japanese variety store and saw it in the eye make-up section. Being Chinese, I have very straight and rather short lashes (and not that many!!), so applying a primer makes all the difference.

After reading all of the positive reviews here, I thought I'd give this a go, since the Japanese one I was using has been discontinued.

Have used it once and absolutely love it. I curl my lashes beforehand, apply about three coats (let it dry for about 10 seconds btw coats), then let it dry a bit more before applying my everyday budget mascara.

In terms of lengthening and thickening, this product is on par with the cheaper Japanese version I was using. However, where this product excels is the way it coats your lashes to ensure a really smooth application for the mascara. Even after applying several coats of mascara (which I like to do), the separation is amazing compared to cheaper versions.

Since this is my first application, I've yet to see any changes to my lashes, but anything more to what it already does will be an absolute bonus!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

on 9/14/2013 12:50:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Dark, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Many people debate wether or not a lash primer is necessary in their makeup routine and i think it definitely isn't. With a high end mascara, you can achieve the same fullness and lenght with 2 or 3 coats. BUT what this primer does is serve as a protective coat between your lashes and the mascara. Since i have started using this, i have noticed less breakage and my lashes have grown longer as a result. I would definitely repurchase because it truly comes out the same since you will use up your mascara much faster if you don't use a primer; not to forhet the added bonus of longer natural lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Back to Top