MAC • Prep + Prime Lash • Eyes

rated 3.9(99 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.71%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 mka87 on 4/3/2014 7:39:00 AM more reviews by mka87

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I've used this since I was 16. I'm now 26. That's how much I like it. I have quite thin, short, sparse lashes and using this gem gives me a false lash effect in conjunction with my Barbara Daly (tesco, brilliant) mascara. It preps and primes your lashes - does what it says on the tin, and I will continue to repurchase. I tend to buy top ups in duty free as it costs a tenner which is fabulously reasonable. A tube lasts a long time too so you do get your moneys worth. Top product, MAC. Love.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sallyekong on 11/25/2013 8:13:00 PM more reviews by sallyekong

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I only discovered the existence of lash primers about a year ago, when I was shopping in a Japanese variety store and saw it in the eye make-up section. Being Chinese, I have very straight and rather short lashes (and not that many!!), so applying a primer makes all the difference.

After reading all of the positive reviews here, I thought I'd give this a go, since the Japanese one I was using has been discontinued.

Have used it once and absolutely love it. I curl my lashes beforehand, apply about three coats (let it dry for about 10 seconds btw coats), then let it dry a bit more before applying my everyday budget mascara.

In terms of lengthening and thickening, this product is on par with the cheaper Japanese version I was using. However, where this product excels is the way it coats your lashes to ensure a really smooth application for the mascara. Even after applying several coats of mascara (which I like to do), the separation is amazing compared to cheaper versions.

Since this is my first application, I've yet to see any changes to my lashes, but anything more to what it already does will be an absolute bonus!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Nene2012 on 9/14/2013 12:50:00 PM more reviews by Nene2012

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Other    

Many people debate wether or not a lash primer is necessary in their makeup routine and i think it definitely isn't. With a high end mascara, you can achieve the same fullness and lenght with 2 or 3 coats. BUT what this primer does is serve as a protective coat between your lashes and the mascara. Since i have started using this, i have noticed less breakage and my lashes have grown longer as a result. I would definitely repurchase because it truly comes out the same since you will use up your mascara much faster if you don't use a primer; not to forhet the added bonus of longer natural lashes.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shrines on 7/12/2013 11:01:00 PM more reviews by shrines

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have been wearing this under mascaras that normally leave me with black all under my eyes. This has totally changed that. Today I ugly cried wearing this with False Lashes Waterproof (normally creases after 45 minutes IME) and it didn't even move. 10/10 impressed.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* stls on 4/3/2013 6:11:00 PM more reviews by stls

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I really like this primer, recently repurchased for the third time!
Consistency is creamy and applies easily. Adds volume and length, definitely upgrades any mascara and you don't have to layer a million times to get fabulous lashes.
A tube lasts many months and it's relatively innexpensive. I'm not sure if it's the best out there but it's a good one for sure!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bloodymerry52 on 3/12/2012 2:36:00 PM more reviews by bloodymerry52

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I never apply mascara without using this first! I can totally tell a difference! I think I get more volume/length using this than if I used only regular mascara. I've told all my friends to try a lash primer before mascara and they love it! I only use one coat, then let it become tacky, about 1-2 minutes, then apply mascara. People often ask if I'm wearing false lashes!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 zoegirly on 3/1/2012 12:26:00 PM more reviews by zoegirly

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is a fantastic product... Much better than other primers ive tried. I have sensitive eyes and this doesnt irritate my eyes at all. Started using it 4weeks ago on the upper lashes. Ive got long, but rather thin/medium lashes, but this makes them even more longer and I dont need a curler more. I sleep with the primer on at night since Ive discovered that my lashes are begining to grow thicker, longer and stronger after using it in 4weeks. I mean REALLY longer. like 1-2mm specially in the outher corner. This is a primer, but somehow it has make my lashes grow. And the best thing is that some of the lashes are no longer straight out (Ive got asian eyes) but the curl up...

Highly recom it. But use at lot.. Ive use the top of the lashprimer to put alot of product on and after the brush...

Crueltyfree makeup - Thanks MAC

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 katrinasmom on 2/26/2012 11:09:00 AM more reviews by katrinasmom

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Black    

I have tried several primers. MAC prep + prime is one of the better ones. It does make my lashes look longer. I also use the Lancome primer a lot, but this one is cheaper. I will purchase this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mrshighlander07 on 2/19/2012 9:27:00 PM more reviews by mrshighlander07

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Tan   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I have the typical pointed, straight down, Asian eyelashes. So my perspective of this primer is a daily must-have! When I first tried the Mac Prep and Prime Lash, I hated it!! I hated it because it made my lashes drag down even lower and made my lashes clump up...but I was 15 at the time and didn't know better.

I stumbled upon this product again when I had scored a deal from Mac recently; buying a kit with the price of two mascaras. I got the Zoom Lash, Prep & Prime Lash (both in full sizes), a travel eye make up remover, a pencil eyeliner, and a case to go with it! I began experimenting with it and slowly adding it to my daily routine.

My application of this product:
After I have done my eyeshadow, I would curl my lashes and apply this product. Right away, I would add my face primer, concealer, and powder. I re-curl my lashes and finally add a my 1st coating of mascara. Then, I would slightly define my eyebrows and re-curl my lashes. If I would like an extra "oomph" to my lashes, I add a 2nd coating and then add eyeliner.

In conclusion of my type of lashes, I would have to curl my lashes at least 3x. And with using this product, it has made my lashes stay curled & up for the whole entire day!! The pros of the Prep and Prime Lash: it has made my lashes thicker and stronger, it holds my lashes...actually till the next day, and I have that "Ooo-La-La" lashes without having to using fake lashes on top of them!

The con about this item is that it still does drag down my lashes and if you use too much of the product, you will clump up your lashes!! With using this product as well, makes it harder to take off my eye make-up. And honestly, the Mac Eye Make-up Remover that came along with the package does not work with taking my make-up off!! So I have simply converted to using Vaseline to take it off. Other than that, it takes time and practice to keep using this product that has become a Holly Grail for me!

P.S.
Hope my review helps!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 glamglamglam on 2/1/2012 11:37:00 PM more reviews by glamglamglam

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I was using the white part from L'oreals Double Extend mascara as primer, and that was great, so I didn't feel a need to buy this. Also, when I went to the MAC store, the saleslady asked me if I was using a primer and I said yes, so she told me not to bother. She was so wrong! I really really really like this, it's so great. I have a lot of volume so I always go for mascaras that give length (Lancome Hypnose Doll Lashes or Lancome L'Extreme) and this primer makes the length even better. It also gives volume, which I'm ehh about because I really don't need too much of it, but sometimes that's good because mascara forumals can be quite thin. I will definitely repurchase and it's really not so expensive, it cost me around 20 dollars. I think it's completely completely worth it.

EDIT: Terrible; only added volume (which I do not need) and just made my mascara look clumpy. L'Oreals Double Extend Primer works so much better for me. Will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Eyes products