MAC • Prep + Prime Lip • Lip Treatments

rated 4.1(166 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.77%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 verseau213 on 12/3/2014 3:54:00 PM more reviews by verseau213

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I had this odd problem of not being able to get my lipsticks to cover my lips in the center of my mouth where my lips meet. I couldn't fix the problem with new application techniques, blotting, etc. I bought this stuff, and my lipstick now covers my entire mouth and lasts several hours longer than it did before. It also makes mattes much more friendly to apply. I will continue to repurchase, I just hope MAC doesn't decide to up the price of this product too.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kiyoshi001 on 11/12/2014 7:48:00 AM more reviews by kiyoshi001

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

It's good even better with MAC lipsticks. The only issue is the price it goes for more than $20 in Nigeria. It makes the colour really pop regardless of your lip colour. It lasts longer and even after wiping my lips with a tissue I could still clearly see the lipstick colour for hours.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 nainz on 10/29/2014 8:26:00 AM more reviews by nainz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

YES YES I would definitely buy this product again and again. I don't know how my lipsticks would go on my dry lips if I didn't have this. Vaseline or regular lip balms just doesn't do the job.
Highly recommended to everyone.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 MichPaon on 10/6/2014 12:20:00 PM more reviews by MichPaon

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

I was a little nervous trying this product because MAC lipstick usually dries out my lips, but this product didnít dry them out at all instead it moisturized my lips! It also kept my lipstick from running or getting on my teeth! It did help my lipstick stay on for a bit longer but nothing extraordinary. It also kept my lipstick looking even on my lips because sometimes only certain parts of my lips will begin to fade and then it looks really bad! If you have dry lips I would defiantly suggest this product for you, if you are looking for something that stays all day and donít have dry lips, I would try a lip stain.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dias14 on 5/20/2014 2:12:00 PM more reviews by Dias14

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

It has changed my life...
I have lots of Mac's matte and retro matte and they all looked terrible in my mouth. Gorgeous shades, of course, but they didn't look good, super dry and with "lipstick crumbs.. After the prep+prime, they look perfect... I didn't get the same result with other lip balms... This primer is different, it seems like it was made to wear with matte lipsticks...
As I am a creamy lipstick type of girl, now I can wear the matte colors, whithout the feeling that my lips are dry, about to crack!
I'm super happy with it... It's expensive but worth it...because now I can use lots of lipsticks that I love but looked bad on me... Now they all look gorg!

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 beautysign on 3/21/2014 5:22:00 PM more reviews by beautysign

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

£12.50 in the UK for this so it's not unreasonably expensive and it works wonders for anybody with dry lips. It works great under mac lipsticks (obviously) but also well under OCC lip tars, and other lipsticks. It stops lipstick from feathering and makes your lips look smooth. Some people say lip primer is just a glorified lip balm , but that is not the case with this.

Because i've got dry lips I exfoliate them first with a lip scrub, then apply lip balm , then blot that off, apply mac prep +prime and whatever lipstick and my lips don't go dry or start flaking.

Does it keep your lipstick on longer ? It gives the lipstick something to grip onto but it won't stop it from transferring . However the finish it gives to your lips is exceptional .

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1017 on 3/9/2014 5:19:00 PM more reviews by 1017

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Yay, it's that good. Didn't want it to be as it cost a bit, but yes it is. I save this for when I really want my lips to last or my color to pop. Since it is expensive, I don't use it too casually. But yay, it is that good, it does make a difference, it is worth it.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 whiteparfait on 2/15/2014 3:40:00 PM more reviews by whiteparfait

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

When I opened the primer it "popped" out. A shame but I can live with a broken primer. Doesn't really bother me. The primer is just perfect. Makes my dry lips look fantastic. BUT it doesn't do anything to make my lipstick last.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sage6o4 on 1/27/2014 10:23:00 PM more reviews by Sage6o4

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

Bleh. I had high hopes for this, seeing as everyone else here seems to love it... I bought it for the sole hope that it would help my lipstick last longer... But it didn't. I applied as suggested, waited a minute or two before putting my lip colour on (I use only MAC lipsticks) but nope, still faded in the same amount of time it would've without the primer. I liked the smooth feeling it gave my lips but that was about it. Did absolutely nothing to improve the appearance of my lip products, and as I previously mentioned, nothing for increasing lasting power or feathering either. I have a friend who's worked for MAC for years and asked her about this product, she told me it was developed for mature women who have lip lines that need filling, or women who wear lots of matte lipsticks and need to create a barrier between their lip colour and their lips. I would imagine that this would work well for women who have very dry or problematic lips that need some TLC, since that's what it was created for. However, if you don't have any problems with your lips that need correcting, skip this. I love MAC, and really wanted to like this, but after using it for a solid 3 weeks and seeing no difference when using it, it went back to the store.

11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wixter on 1/16/2014 1:43:00 PM more reviews by wixter

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This primer works so well to prolong the wear of my lipstick. I love using this under matte or satin lipsticks, and this works especially well under OCC Lip Tars. I find that they last a lot longer and go on smoother. It also acts like a balm. Matte lipsticks can sometimes look and feel drying, but when I use this primer, my lips look and feel smooth and moist.

It does have a slightly plastic smell, but it dissipates on the lips. It then has a slight vanilla smell. I haven't tasted this, so I can't talk about taste.

What I don't like about this primer is that the stick broke so easily! I only keep this at home, so I was surprised when I opened the tube one day and half of the stick was broken off! I don't twist the stick all the way up when I use this, just up enough to cover my lips, so I was really surprised to see it has broken. I just smooshed the broken piece down and it works fine now, but I am definitely more careful with it. MAC, you really need to fix this! I know that I'm not the only one who has had this problem.

I'm definitely going to re-purchase this primer. It works unlike anything else. I can't use lipstick without this!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lip Treatments products