MAC Prep + Prime Lip

4.1

180 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/24/2015 1:48:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

My muse - Mary Kay TimeWise Age-Fighting Lip Primer helps tomaintain the soft, smooth and supple appearance of the skin thanks to Sunflower Seed Oil. Additionally, this lip primer also contains antioxidants that help protect the skin from the effects of free radicals generated by the environment :). Info about some others lipstick primer is here http://www.peaklips.com/best-lip-primer-ever/



on 8/11/2015 9:52:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Ok, I was really skeptical of this thing. It looked like some weird hot glue gun stick in a lipstick case and I was like, "That's way too much to pay for some weird looking vaseline glue."

But this thing works.

I was given one as a sample when i purchased a ridiculous amount of Mac lipsticks, and let me tell you when I was done I went back and purchased three more, as if they were gonna stop making them (yeah, seriously, I'm too impulsive), but once you try this, you'll be hard pressed to find something better unless you remember to use lip balm daily.

Now normally I scrub my lips with sugar and honey beforehand, but in an emergency (accidentally forgetting date night and getting a reminder 15 minutes before I'm due at the restaurant) I just smear this stuff on, and then wait an agonizing 45 seconds before slathering on my lipstick.

Despite the look of vaseline/glue stick, the texture is more 'giving'/pliable. It has some some oomph to it, as it it's notable when you put it on your lips and you can feel the coating, but it goes away pretty quickly when it dries.

I really dislike how this thing looks, but i can't fault the formula or the job it does.

This is not the best anti-feathering tool available, but you can get away with not using a lip liner as this does help prevent some bleeding (SOME, like if you drink half a cup of coffee, not the whole coffee).

This stick lasts you ages, and ages, and ages, so be hygienic and keep it clean or else it will start getting icky, and the formula starts getting more 'greasier' (as it contaminates, formula breaks down due to bacteria) and you won't get such a good primer out of it.

You can apply this over your already applied lipstick then go over it again, no need to wipe off your lipstick and start anew if you have dry lips but do note lipstick colour stain is not easy to get rid of from the actual stick itself.

Anyway. That's it.

Invest in this thing, there's lots of lip primers and conditioners, but this thing does what its namesake says: PREP. The prime is probably for marketing, because there's a lot of primers (for your face, eyes, even your eyelashes) but this is a prep tool. A good one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 6/28/2015 3:53:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I bought this, not knowing what to expect for a lip primer. Turns out, I love it! Especially with lip glosses (as I rarely wear lipstick). I wear lip gloss everyday. The MAC's Lip Prep+Prime smooths out the fines lines of my lips and the dry mini patches to let the gloss glide over my lips effortlessly and flawlessly. Plus, it holds my gloss longer throughout the day and it doesn't run neither. I absolutly recommend this lip primer, it is great and it makes my lips feel hydrated. I own the NYX Lip Primer in Nude and I by far prefer MAC's lip primer.


on 6/17/2015 12:41:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

Okay, this is AWESOME. It makes those impossible lipsticks possible to use. It helps me to glide my matte lipstick (Ruby Woo) and stays in place for the whole night. The price is comparable to other brands but I am not going to try others because this one got me deeply.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 5/21/2015 8:33:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I will not, can not, ever try another lip primer as long as Mac continue to sell this product. My matte lipsticks glide on effortlessly now and smooth. My lipliner goes on smooth. My Mac lipstick use to fade after 30 minutes before I discovered this product. I used this lip primer and my flat out fabulous retro Mac lipstick at 2:40 this afternoon.Here it is going on 7:25pm and yes...my lipstick is Still on virbrant and intact and not cracking. Omg. I just ate a homemade meatball sub and cinnamon roll and hot tea and yessss honey....my lipstick is Still on. It's amazing I never seen anything like this. The primer goes on silky like a chapstick. After 60 seconds it becomes more solid and concentrated and non sticky.still my lips feel hydrated 😕 without regular chapstick underneath. Then I apply my lipstick and my lipstick goes on so smooth and my matte lipstick dont have that crusty crack head look. I'm so happy with this product. For its performance, I don't think 16 is a lot I think it's cheap it's that good trust me.

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.


on 5/4/2015 3:00:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Great lip primer if like me you love matte lipstick but find them too chalky and drying on the lips. The smooth clear stick provides just enough 'slip' to allow easy application of the matte lipstick without compromising the finish or the lasting power ( which is forever with a Mac matte!). I adore a matte red lip but hate the dry feeling on my lips so this primer has solved the problem at last. I haven't tried it with other formulas as I don't feel it's necessary.....but for a matte lip, it's essential!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 4/5/2015 9:58:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Blue

Pros:
Last about 6 hrs before lips feel/look dry and wrinkled under lip pencil and satin lipstick
Color lasts all day
Smells great
Feels really hydrating

Unsure:
If it stops feathering since I have a pretty aggressive plan of attack for that already
Doesn't seem too fill in lip lines as much as SA claimed it would

Cons
Price
Hasn't broken on me yet but I can see how it could
Feel like I could be a bit more product for the price.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 4/2/2015 2:41:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I find that this works, but only when paired with the right lipsticks -- and when that happens, it WORKS. For example, if I wear it under my NARS Anita, it makes it look crinkly and weird. But, wear it under my Kat Von D super-matte Studded Kiss lippie and it makes it wear sooooo smoothly and ups the lasting power by hours.

I wouldn't consider this a must-have item, but I like this product because it helps me wear lipsticks that normally would be too fussy, etc. It *really* helps with the WnW matte and MAC Amplified lippies I sometimes have issues with. So I justify this purchase by telling myself a lot of stuff I've bought and disliked weren't a TOTAL waste... (lol)

Anyhow, I'll echo the other reviews: apply this, and wait until it's just a bit tacky to go in with the lipstick. If you wear it alone, it really smoothes out lips -- not like a balm (though it can be moisturizing) but like a face primer.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 3/12/2015 5:01:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Must have for use under matte lipsticks. Makes lips velvety smoothe and listick lasts all day. No chipping or dry look to lips. To be used with daily lip exfoliator

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 3/5/2015 12:32:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

im really unsure what this is actually ment to do i guess its like any other primer ment to smooth the base and make product last longer so thought i shall try it after it being a "top" mac product but for me it does nothing.


Popular Lip Treatments


Baby Lips Lip Balm
Baby Lips Lip Balm
1541 Reviews
Prep + Prime Lip
Prep + Prime Lip
180 Reviews
Beeswax Lip Balm
Beeswax Lip Balm
3622 Reviews

Top Rated Lip Treatments



Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top