Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

4.1

137 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol , Niacinamide , Adenosine Triphosphate, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract , Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate , Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate , Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol , Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate , Polysorbate-20 , Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol , Sodium Citrate, Carbomer , Xanthan Gum , Trisodium EDTA , Phenoxyethanol


on 7/5/2015 4:11:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I am sensitive to many chemicals and ingredients, so I buy and give/throw away more products than I'd like. It often takes several uses before I know how I will react, so I just keep searching. I also have OILY yet SENSITIVE skin, which is a skin type many brands ignore completely.

I use Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner to avoid clogged pores in the summer months, switching from my more usual RESIST WEIGHTLESS TONER. I simply don't need (will break out from using) moisturizer except every 2-3 days at the peak of winter dryness, but using PC Toner once per day provides me with sufficient moisture to keep up with the slight cheek dryness that I'm gaining as I age. And I'm over 40!

When I found myself using Beautypedia and finding the reviews fairly accurate and helpful, I finally gave in and ordered some of the founder's own "Paula's Choice" skincare products to see if they would work better than the drugstore brands with which I started my experiment.

To this day, I use drugstore cleanser (Cerave or Cetaphil), but I found the Paula's Choice toner and especially the BHA exfoliant to be well worth the price and effort of ordering online.

I've been reordering Paula's Choice RESIST Daily Pore-Refining Treatment 2% BHA consistently for about a year now, and alternating toner types during that same period. That's a record for me. I don't think I've ever stuck with any product for this long.

While my skin has always been pretty good, I continued to suffer from occasional pimples into adulthood. Typically, I would have one or two at any given time somewhere near my hairline or (most common) on the back of my neck under my long hair. Now that I use this exfoliant daily (at least once, but often twice daily), I rarely get even a single pimple. I do still have occasional blackheads on my nose or tiny whiteheads on my chin (invisible except when peering intently into a magnifying mirror) but even those are barely noticeable and a significant improvement over what my skin clarity before.

Customer Service is fantastic. Samples are available for all products, and returns are easy when I've tried something that didn't work out. That alone is saving someone sensitive like me money over the ostensibly cheaper drugstore options.



on 7/4/2015 3:12:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is a great toner, I've been using it for about a month and it really does prepare your skin for the following products (aha/bha exfoliant, serum, moisturizer) by balancing the pH level. One time I accidentally used bha without toning since I confused the bottles because I got distracted, and it stung, something I'd never experienced before with the BHA 2% liquid exfoliant by paulas choice using it after the toner, this just comes to say how important it is to use toner. This one has great ingredients which makes it unique.

if you want 10$ off a purchase on paulas choice use this link if you want: https://goo.gl/2s7eM6


Age: 36-43

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Great product.


on 5/25/2015 5:40:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

Helps giving me an acne free face. It's my favourite toner among others that promise to make my pore looks smaller


on 3/5/2015 10:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this toner a lot, it doesn't sting or strip like other alcohol laden toners - so it's kind to my constantly dehydrated acne-prone skin. At the same time I don't feel anything magical happen, but in combination with other kind products it does keep my skin looking healthy. As others have said if you can fit in extra antioxidants at this stage, before your serums and moisturisers, that's a plus!!!

The other Paula's Choice products I use are the benzoyl peroxide treatments gels (both strengths amazing), the 2% BHA liquid (still undecided if this is the exfoliator for me) and the skin balancing cleanser (so so).

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/2/2015 9:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have used this toner in the past and recently added it back into my skincare routine. It is a clear water light liquid that I apply with a cotton pad. I use it twice a day, after cleansing and before any of my other PC's Clear products. It contains antioxidants, anti-irritants, and cell- communicating ingredients including niacinamide, so if you are sensitive to niacinamide, you might want to chose another toner. It is suppose to reduce redness and I do find that to be true. It is recommended for normal, oily, and combo skin. The reason that I added it to my routine is because I was looking for a light product to help with pore size and I also wanted the benefit of antioxidants without having to use a moisturizer, which I do not need since I have acne-prone, oily skin and I like to keep my skincare products to a minimum. It cost $20 for 6.4 oz. My skincare products are mostly Paula's Choice and sometimes Cerave. I am OSPW baumann and I need truly sensitive skin care products with no fragrance added. I am happy with the results and will continue to repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2014 5:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is a fantastic toner. I havent used a toner in many, many years due to how harsh they usually are on my super reactive skin, but when I saw the ingredients (Niacinamide, antioxidants) I thought I would give it a go as an alternative to using creams/serums with Niacinamide in. It is very soothing on my skin, and since using it my skin is much more hydrated, I dont even need to use a moisturiser if I dont want to! My skin is also more even, and I havent had any breakouts from this. This is a great addition to my routine which I will continue to use.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 10:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I. Love paulas choice products and this toner has been a staple since it first came out though the packaging and formulation mat have changed. I alternate with skin recovery which is richer and i believe the pore reducing may clean makeup off a bit better. Off the subject ive been reading that a lot of you get promos and coupon codes. How do u do that? I am so poor right now and to top it all off last order i made somehow my skin balancing toner cap came loose and half my bottle was empty and i am not one to complain. Like i said i think paulas products are wonderful and a breath of fresh air.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2014 12:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, I switched to Paula's Choice products for an odd but effective reason. We have hard water. Now when I say hard I mean you can see white flakes floating in our filtered drinking water, and I have to treat all our faucets/shower head once a quarter because they start to look like cave formations are forming on them. After a couple of years of dermatology visits and not seeing much success (and feeling suicidal from all the acne scars) I resolved that maybe my problems were just simply caused by the hard water. After some research and confirmation from my scientist husband, I discovered that a process called chelation can counteract the calcium buildup found in hard water. Products have been using chelators for years without my knowing it usually via a chemical called EDTA. Come to find out that Miss Paula knows this, too, and adds EDTA to many of her products for this very reason. The face soap and this toner both include EDTA and immediately cleared up my cystic acne and have kept it away for over a year now. You will have to peel these products from cold, dead hands (that is until we move out of this 150-year-old farmhouse and into our new home next year with the biggest, most expensive water softener money can buy...seriously though, I'll probably always use Paula's Choice because she's a brilliant lady). Just to prove (adecdotally, of course) how much these products work for me: I had to buy OTC crap when on a trip this summer, and within a couple of days I ended up with a couple of huge cysts. Grrrr! I was so mad, but now I know how to get rid of them before they leave any marks (a dot of Young Living Purification Oil).

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2014 6:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I like a streamlined routine so I've stopped using a daily toner. It's still good to have the rest of the bottle on hand for those nights when I need to remove the last traces of stubborn sunscreen (great for that) or am too lazy to wash my face. This is gentle and non-drying, but not as rich as the Resist toner from this brand, which seems to break me out in milia. I didn't notice this "refining" much of anything (pores or otherwise) when I used it nightly.

I believe this formula has changed a bit over the years. It's now called "Skin Balancing PORE-REDUCING Toner". It seems less light than before, and has a slightly tacky finish, which does not really feel "clean" but not a big deal for me.


Back to Top