Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Toner • Toners

rated 4.1(124 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 jhenley on 8/6/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by jhenley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using department store skincare for about 10 years and I decided to try Paula's Choice earlier this year. I was tired of paying so much for products that didn't work that well. With Toners, they often had too much alcohol in them and made me react. Initially I tried her Hydralight line, which is good if you have rosacea or combination skin. Now I'm using the Skin Balancing Line and I won't switch, it's amazing! This Toner doesn't have alcohol, it glides on smoothly and I've seen a difference in my skin. No reactions, just a good quality product with a good price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/27/2014 9:44:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was unsure how this felt on my skin as it gave my skin mixed reactions.I immediately felt a tingle wich I assumed was the water evaporating off of my skin.Another time using this though my temples became irritated upon applying this and yet everywhere else it felt soothing. I've applied this again since then and it has not irritated my skin again and has actually felt quite soothing.
I had guessed that this was for combination skin as it is under the:'Skin balancing line's; so I applied it to areas of my face that felt dry but the directions don't specify this on the label it says 'normal oily combination'. The labels confuse me and I wish they would clarify more often.
This has a lot of niacinimide I am unsure of how much percentage wise is in here but I think it will be enough to increase the fatty acids in the skin. The sodium hyaluronate cholesterol and ceramides will make dry skin feel better and the butylene glycol and glycerine will retain most moisture. In theory the peptides included in here will instruct the skin cells to improve.
If you have acne be careful about applying this over it. I don't have any sciencetific proof to provide but I notice that sometimes when I apply niacinimide products over my acne it meddles with it. This is just my experience though so if this doesn't happen with you than disregard this.
Ultimately it gave my skin mixed reactions and I had certain concerns for myself . Rating it solely on my experience I would have rated it as average. Then I realized not everyone is going to have the same expiriences as me and from a formulated view it is up to par- thus the good rating.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* devildoll133 on 7/10/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by devildoll133

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking for a way to improve my already good skin, and after ordering samples from Paula's Choice, I was sold. I am used to using only toners with alcohol, so this one is new to me. The first time using it was weird, because it felt...a little greasy going on, but once it dries, it leaves a nice clean finish. This toner is supposed to balance your skin out in the long run, so I'll be watching my skin, but I can already tell it does "something" to my skin, positively spoken. I'm excited to see long term results as I suffer from combination/oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Project25 on 4/25/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by Project25

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this toner as I was "tweaking" my skin care routine, it was too much for my face and made it irritated. I was upset I had bought a big bottle and would be wasted so I started using on my neck, chest, arms, underarms and all I can say is wow! My neck and décolleté look amazing! My armpits are lightening up and are much smoother. This is the best "body toner" ever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 ke1125 on 4/14/2014 3:08:00 PM more reviews by ke1125

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Tan   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I was really excited to try this product because I read on Paula's website that this toner did not contain harsh ingredients. I have oily skin and I decided that this toner would be a good way to try a different less aggressive approach to reducing pore size and toning my face since I usually use products that contain alcohol and/or salicylic acid. I usually use witch hazel as a toner and I have liked it ok, but I figured trying something different wouldn't hurt. I used Paula's skin balancing toner for about a week and for some reason I was starting to develop some red bumps on my forehead mostly. It was very strange for me to have this sort of reaction because I have the least sensitive skin EVER. I have never had a reaction to anything in my entire life! I don't know what happened but I guess there is a first time for everything. I really wanted to like this toner because as I mentioned, I was excited to try something that had milder ingredients and no alcohol in it. When I went back to my witch hazel my skin went back to normal. Also, the bottle says it reduces pore size and I never really saw a difference in my pores. Maybe if I had used it longer I would have, but I couldn't keep using it due to the bumps I developed.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Burma76 on 2/15/2014 6:42:00 AM more reviews by Burma76

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Love this toner. Like the previous reviewer I recently left it out of my routine for a while. I found the red marks from acne took much longer to fade so this is back morning and night! It removes makeup traces and adds a little moisture with some good antioxidant ingredients.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Pheebie on 1/21/2014 3:56:00 PM more reviews by Pheebie

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

UPDATE
I've used this toner daily for years. Recently I began to wonder if it was necessary - was it really making a difference in my skin? Well, after a hiatus I can honeslty say that yes, this is necessary and it DOES make a difference. Sometimes I guess we need to go without in order to realize how good we have it. After one week of re-introducing this into my daily routine, my skin looks like it's waking up, becoming more even-toned, clearer, and dare I say - a bit radiant? (I follow this with Paula's Choice 2% BHA Skin Perfecting Liquid. I think of these two products as my 'Dynamic Duo' - they are non-negotiables, essentials, must-haves . . . you get the idea.)
While it's true that Paula's prices have increased over the years, I find the price point to be fair for the exceptional quality and amount of product. And let's be honest: what hasn't increased in price over the years? It's simply a matter of inflation, so I don't hold that against her.

Original Review - 8/1/2006
This is a great toner. It makes my (oily) skin feel so clean, fresh and soft, and I especially like that it doesn't contain any alcohol. After I've washed my face and removed my eye makeup, I'll apply this over my entire face, with a cotton ball, including around the eye area. No irritation whatsoever, and because of all the good ingredients, I really feel like I'm doing something nice for my skin. :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 gimchi on 1/8/2014 2:25:00 AM more reviews by gimchi

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I hope my skin would love this toner but apparently it's not. I have acne-prone, combination- more to oily skin with some white and blackheads. Regimen: Steifel Acne Aid Cleanser, astringent (that contain alcohol and wish to change to better toner), Paula's BHA 2%, La roche posay SPF 50, face powder.

I ordered the sample and soak it to cotton pad and pat to face. It has the Gel-like texture and i experienced the burning sensation. My face become very oily and enlarged my pore instead on the next morning. I did not have break out from this toner. i wont purchase it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 glamgirl31 on 1/1/2014 4:18:00 PM more reviews by glamgirl31

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This toner is by far the best I've ever used on my combination/dry skin. It has no alcohol, which is drying to skin. Every other toner that I've used in the past that is alcohol free left a sticky residue on my skin. This toner soaks in, giving my skin the drink it needs after cleansing. I love that this has niacinamide in it; I attribute this ingredient to my skin's clarity recently. Every time I place an order for anything PC I order a bottle of this. I don't ever want to be without it! As far as the pore reducing claims I haven't noticed a change in pore size but I didn't expect it either.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Tsats on 12/26/2013 1:29:00 PM more reviews by Tsats

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I have to carefully choose when to use this. My combo sensitive skin is sometimes very oily, sometimes very dry. So...

Cons:
-I stings in my face, so I have to apply very gently, ideally without a cotton, and only when my face is not very sensitive
-It sings more around eye area, so I avoid it there most times
-It is not enough during winter

Pros:
-It does help removing makeup traces, unlike other toners
-It helps regulate shine/dryness in my face in humid climates or during spring/summer
-It moisturizes lightly

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Toners products