Paula's Choice Skin Balancing Pore-Reducing Toner

4.1

133 reviews

73% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 3.7

Price: $$$

Not tested on animals

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Butylene Glycol , Niacinamide , Adenosine Triphosphate, Anthemis Nobilis (Chamomile) Flower Extract, Arctium Lappa Root Extract , Hydrolyzed Jojoba Esters, Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein, Sodium PCA, Panthenol, Sodium Hyaluronate , Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate , Ceramide 3, Ceramide 6 II, Ceramide 1, Phytosphingosine, Cholesterol , Tetrahexyldecyl Ascorbate, Oleth-10, DEA-Oleth-10 Phosphate, Sodium Lauroyl Lactylate , Polysorbate-20 , Caprylyl Glycol, Hexylene Glycol , Sodium Citrate, Carbomer , Xanthan Gum , Trisodium EDTA , Phenoxyethanol


on 3/5/2015 10:26:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

I like this toner a lot, it doesn't sting or strip like other alcohol laden toners - so it's kind to my constantly dehydrated acne-prone skin. At the same time I don't feel anything magical happen, but in combination with other kind products it does keep my skin looking healthy. As others have said if you can fit in extra antioxidants at this stage, before your serums and moisturisers, that's a plus!!!

The other Paula's Choice products I use are the benzoyl peroxide treatments gels (both strengths amazing), the 2% BHA liquid (still undecided if this is the exfoliator for me) and the skin balancing cleanser (so so).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.



on 2/2/2015 9:45:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

I have used this toner in the past and recently added it back into my skincare routine. It is a clear water light liquid that I apply with a cotton pad. I use it twice a day, after cleansing and before any of my other PC's Clear products. It contains antioxidants, anti-irritants, and cell- communicating ingredients including niacinamide, so if you are sensitive to niacinamide, you might want to chose another toner. It is suppose to reduce redness and I do find that to be true. It is recommended for normal, oily, and combo skin. The reason that I added it to my routine is because I was looking for a light product to help with pore size and I also wanted the benefit of antioxidants without having to use a moisturizer, which I do not need since I have acne-prone, oily skin and I like to keep my skincare products to a minimum. It cost $20 for 6.4 oz. My skincare products are mostly Paula's Choice and sometimes Cerave. I am OSPW baumann and I need truly sensitive skin care products with no fragrance added. I am happy with the results and will continue to repurchase.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


on 11/10/2014 5:51:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Hazel

This is a fantastic toner. I havent used a toner in many, many years due to how harsh they usually are on my super reactive skin, but when I saw the ingredients (Niacinamide, antioxidants) I thought I would give it a go as an alternative to using creams/serums with Niacinamide in. It is very soothing on my skin, and since using it my skin is much more hydrated, I dont even need to use a moisturiser if I dont want to! My skin is also more even, and I havent had any breakouts from this. This is a great addition to my routine which I will continue to use.

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/21/2014 10:54:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I. Love paulas choice products and this toner has been a staple since it first came out though the packaging and formulation mat have changed. I alternate with skin recovery which is richer and i believe the pore reducing may clean makeup off a bit better. Off the subject ive been reading that a lot of you get promos and coupon codes. How do u do that? I am so poor right now and to top it all off last order i made somehow my skin balancing toner cap came loose and half my bottle was empty and i am not one to complain. Like i said i think paulas products are wonderful and a breath of fresh air.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 10/17/2014 12:37:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Honestly, I switched to Paula's Choice products for an odd but effective reason. We have hard water. Now when I say hard I mean you can see white flakes floating in our filtered drinking water, and I have to treat all our faucets/shower head once a quarter because they start to look like cave formations are forming on them. After a couple of years of dermatology visits and not seeing much success (and feeling suicidal from all the acne scars) I resolved that maybe my problems were just simply caused by the hard water. After some research and confirmation from my scientist husband, I discovered that a process called chelation can counteract the calcium buildup found in hard water. Products have been using chelators for years without my knowing it usually via a chemical called EDTA. Come to find out that Miss Paula knows this, too, and adds EDTA to many of her products for this very reason. The face soap and this toner both include EDTA and immediately cleared up my cystic acne and have kept it away for over a year now. You will have to peel these products from cold, dead hands (that is until we move out of this 150-year-old farmhouse and into our new home next year with the biggest, most expensive water softener money can buy...seriously though, I'll probably always use Paula's Choice because she's a brilliant lady). Just to prove (adecdotally, of course) how much these products work for me: I had to buy OTC crap when on a trip this summer, and within a couple of days I ended up with a couple of huge cysts. Grrrr! I was so mad, but now I know how to get rid of them before they leave any marks (a dot of Young Living Purification Oil).

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 9/24/2014 6:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I like a streamlined routine so I've stopped using a daily toner. It's still good to have the rest of the bottle on hand for those nights when I need to remove the last traces of stubborn sunscreen (great for that) or am too lazy to wash my face. This is gentle and non-drying, but not as rich as the Resist toner from this brand, which seems to break me out in milia. I didn't notice this "refining" much of anything (pores or otherwise) when I used it nightly.

I believe this formula has changed a bit over the years. It's now called "Skin Balancing PORE-REDUCING Toner". It seems less light than before, and has a slightly tacky finish, which does not really feel "clean" but not a big deal for me.


on 9/23/2014 2:53:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm

Hair: Red, Curly, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Not terrible, but not the best either. I have not noticed any dramatic improvements while using this is my toner, pores, or texture. It does not make anything worse though, which I cannot say for most other toners I have tried,. It removed dirt and oil, but left a residue behind and caused oil production

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 9/18/2014 8:36:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

A quite good toner, removes dead cells and dirt from my skin. Help balancing my oily nose and my dry cheeks. But there are a lot of similar item in the market that is cheaper and more impressive, so I'm not sure if I'll buy this product again.


on 8/26/2014 3:33:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This was moisturizing to the skin and not at all irritating, but I also saw no other benefit to it either. My oily skin felt like there was a film left on my skin. Maybe it was too much moisture for my skin? This was not balancing to my skin and did not help with the oil nor did I see an improvement in my pores either. I think this is a nice lightweight toner/hydrator for dry or normal skin. I think it would be awesome in a spray bottle in the summer, maybe put it in the fridge but this was not a good product to my oily skin.


on 8/6/2014 11:38:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

I've been using department store skincare for about 10 years and I decided to try Paula's Choice earlier this year. I was tired of paying so much for products that didn't work that well. With Toners, they often had too much alcohol in them and made me react. Initially I tried her Hydralight line, which is good if you have rosacea or combination skin. Now I'm using the Skin Balancing Line and I won't switch, it's amazing! This Toner doesn't have alcohol, it glides on smoothly and I've seen a difference in my skin. No reactions, just a good quality product with a good price tag.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top