Paula's Choice • Skin Balancing Toner • Toners

rated 4.1(130 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Catlove on 10/21/2014 10:54:00 PM more reviews by Catlove

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I. Love paulas choice products and this toner has been a staple since it first came out though the packaging and formulation mat have changed. I alternate with skin recovery which is richer and i believe the pore reducing may clean makeup off a bit better. Off the subject ive been reading that a lot of you get promos and coupon codes. How do u do that? I am so poor right now and to top it all off last order i made somehow my skin balancing toner cap came loose and half my bottle was empty and i am not one to complain. Like i said i think paulas products are wonderful and a breath of fresh air.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennhaw on 10/17/2014 12:37:00 AM more reviews by jennhaw

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Honestly, I switched to Paula's Choice products for an odd but effective reason. We have hard water. Now when I say hard I mean you can see white flakes floating in our filtered drinking water, and I have to treat all our faucets/shower head once a quarter because they start to look like cave formations are forming on them. After a couple of years of dermatology visits and not seeing much success (and feeling suicidal from all the acne scars) I resolved that maybe my problems were just simply caused by the hard water. After some research and confirmation from my scientist husband, I discovered that a process called chelation can counteract the calcium buildup found in hard water. Products have been using chelators for years without my knowing it usually via a chemical called EDTA. Come to find out that Miss Paula knows this, too, and adds EDTA to many of her products for this very reason. The face soap and this toner both include EDTA and immediately cleared up my cystic acne and have kept it away for over a year now. You will have to peel these products from cold, dead hands (that is until we move out of this 150-year-old farmhouse and into our new home next year with the biggest, most expensive water softener money can buy...seriously though, I'll probably always use Paula's Choice because she's a brilliant lady). Just to prove (adecdotally, of course) how much these products work for me: I had to buy OTC crap when on a trip this summer, and within a couple of days I ended up with a couple of huge cysts. Grrrr! I was so mad, but now I know how to get rid of them before they leave any marks (a dot of Young Living Purification Oil).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 frippery on 9/24/2014 6:33:00 AM more reviews by frippery

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Other, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Other    

I like a streamlined routine so I've stopped using a daily toner. It's still good to have the rest of the bottle on hand for those nights when I need to remove the last traces of stubborn sunscreen (great for that) or am too lazy to wash my face. This is gentle and non-drying, but not as rich as the Resist toner from this brand, which seems to break me out in milia. I didn't notice this "refining" much of anything (pores or otherwise) when I used it nightly.

I believe this formula has changed a bit over the years. It's now called "Skin Balancing PORE-REDUCING Toner". It seems less light than before, and has a slightly tacky finish, which does not really feel "clean" but not a big deal for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Spiralunix on 9/23/2014 2:53:00 AM more reviews by Spiralunix

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Not terrible, but not the best either. I have not noticed any dramatic improvements while using this is my toner, pores, or texture. It does not make anything worse though, which I cannot say for most other toners I have tried,. It removed dirt and oil, but left a residue behind and caused oil production

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 silviasandy on 9/18/2014 8:36:00 PM more reviews by silviasandy

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

A quite good toner, removes dead cells and dirt from my skin. Help balancing my oily nose and my dry cheeks. But there are a lot of similar item in the market that is cheaper and more impressive, so I'm not sure if I'll buy this product again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lushlife505 on 8/26/2014 3:33:00 AM more reviews by lushlife505

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This was moisturizing to the skin and not at all irritating, but I also saw no other benefit to it either. My oily skin felt like there was a film left on my skin. Maybe it was too much moisture for my skin? This was not balancing to my skin and did not help with the oil nor did I see an improvement in my pores either. I think this is a nice lightweight toner/hydrator for dry or normal skin. I think it would be awesome in a spray bottle in the summer, maybe put it in the fridge but this was not a good product to my oily skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jhenley on 8/6/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by jhenley

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I've been using department store skincare for about 10 years and I decided to try Paula's Choice earlier this year. I was tired of paying so much for products that didn't work that well. With Toners, they often had too much alcohol in them and made me react. Initially I tried her Hydralight line, which is good if you have rosacea or combination skin. Now I'm using the Skin Balancing Line and I won't switch, it's amazing! This Toner doesn't have alcohol, it glides on smoothly and I've seen a difference in my skin. No reactions, just a good quality product with a good price tag.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Eire1 on 7/27/2014 9:44:00 AM more reviews by Eire1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Red, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was unsure how this felt on my skin as it gave my skin mixed reactions.I immediately felt a tingle wich I assumed was the water evaporating off of my skin.Another time using this though my temples became irritated upon applying this and yet everywhere else it felt soothing. I've applied this again since then and it has not irritated my skin again and has actually felt quite soothing.
I had guessed that this was for combination skin as it is under the:'Skin balancing line's; so I applied it to areas of my face that felt dry but the directions don't specify this on the label it says 'normal oily combination'. The labels confuse me and I wish they would clarify more often.
This has a lot of niacinimide I am unsure of how much percentage wise is in here but I think it will be enough to increase the fatty acids in the skin. The sodium hyaluronate cholesterol and ceramides will make dry skin feel better and the butylene glycol and glycerine will retain most moisture. In theory the peptides included in here will instruct the skin cells to improve.
If you have acne be careful about applying this over it. I don't have any sciencetific proof to provide but I notice that sometimes when I apply niacinimide products over my acne it meddles with it. This is just my experience though so if this doesn't happen with you than disregard this.
Ultimately it gave my skin mixed reactions and I had certain concerns for myself . Rating it solely on my experience I would have rated it as average. Then I realized not everyone is going to have the same expiriences as me and from a formulated view it is up to par- thus the good rating.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* devildoll133 on 7/10/2014 9:44:00 PM more reviews by devildoll133

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I was looking for a way to improve my already good skin, and after ordering samples from Paula's Choice, I was sold. I am used to using only toners with alcohol, so this one is new to me. The first time using it was weird, because it felt...a little greasy going on, but once it dries, it leaves a nice clean finish. This toner is supposed to balance your skin out in the long run, so I'll be watching my skin, but I can already tell it does "something" to my skin, positively spoken. I'm excited to see long term results as I suffer from combination/oily skin.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Project25 on 4/25/2014 12:12:00 PM more reviews by Project25

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I got this toner as I was "tweaking" my skin care routine, it was too much for my face and made it irritated. I was upset I had bought a big bottle and would be wasted so I started using on my neck, chest, arms, underarms and all I can say is wow! My neck and décolleté look amazing! My armpits are lightening up and are much smoother. This is the best "body toner" ever.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Paula's Choice products

More Toners products