Aveeno Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser

3.8

499 reviews

70% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.9

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water, Glycerin, Cocamidopropyl Betaine, Decyl Glucoside, Ppg-2 Hydroxyethyl Cocamide, Polysorbate 20, Peg-16 Soy Sterol, Citric Acid, Feverfew Extract, Soybean Protein, Sodium Cocoyl Amino Acids, Sarcosine, Potassium Aspartate, Magnesium Aspartate, Phenoxyethanol, Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate, Butylene Glycol, Sodium Coco Pg-Dimonium Chloride, Phosphate, Sodium Citrate, Tetrasodium Edta, Methylparaben, Xanthan Gum, Ethylparaben, Butylparaben, Propylparaben, Sodium Hydroxide


on 5/19/2015 12:09:00 AM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

This cleanser is so nice. Feels like washing with a fluffy cloud. Actually does feel calming on the skin, makes my face feel really soft afterwards. I only ever like to use it in the morning or on a day when I didn't wear sunscreen/ makeup because I doubt its abilities to fully clean my face since it does feel like washing with air....but I could be wrong because I noticed a lot of reviewers said its amazing for makeup removal. I was scared to try this because the matching moisturizer which I tried a couple years ago burned the hell out of my face. No such reaction with the cleanser-whew! I find this very very gentle. I wish I didn't seem to accidentally inhale it all the time while rinsing though-lol-don't know what that's about. At least it doesn't taste bad!



on 5/18/2015 10:51:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Repurchased many times. I love this for removing makeup or just for cleansing. It makes my skin feel smooth afterwards & helps me remove face/eye makeup. It's very gentle.


on 4/22/2015 2:46:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Other, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Other

With having super sensitive skin I was reluctant to try Aveeno. In the past didn't react well with my skin. The ultra-calming foam cleanser was pleasantly surprising then! It cleaned my skin very well, perhaps a little strong in my case, my skin would feel tight. Though I personally like the tight feeling, because then I know its clean, but then there's overall dryness that follows. My skin would pink up a little in the T-zone afterward. But I found the calming cleanser to much much much more gentle than a wide majority of other OTC cleansers I've tried. I hope the pump is more durable, however, next time. A week after purchase the pump didn't function properly. All together though I would use this cleanser again


on 2/26/2015 5:27:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

So I don't know why I haven't reviewed this cleanser since I guess it's a HG status for me. I've been using it ever since I got off Clinique's disgusting 3 step system, which has been about 2 years now. I tried switching to two different cleansers: CeraVe's foaming cleanser and First Aid Beauty's cleanser... both of which dried out my skin. I have SUPER sensitive skin, especially when it comes to cleansers. My skin can sometimes be a little dehydrated so that may be why they dried my skin, since they were a little too foaming. Even though this cleanser foams, it's very gentle. I don't see how this could strip anyone's skin. Even though I have some oiliness, I feel like this helps to effectively remove the "bad" oils from the morning or night. Honestly, I have been trying to find a better one just because but I'm too afraid since I've tried switching two times now and my skin was like NOPE. I've actually used Boots expert foaming one as well, and my skin was fine with it but I think this one is much more soothing and makes my skin softer.

Basically, if you have sensitive skin that's easily irritated or stripped, this would be perfect. Is the best option for oily skin? Probably not, but it works for me. I have not noticed any break outs from this cleanser. I just get hormonal breakouts and do struggle with mild acne anyways. I would recommend trying this. It's definitely one of the best at the drugstore. I think this and CeraVe's are probably the best as far as the ingredients list goes at the drugstore.

There are hardly any fragrance free options either at the drugstore, this is like one of probably six or seven that are truly fragrance free. I think I'd really be heartbroken if they ever discontinued this. The only con is that this probably does not effectively remove heavy makeup but I don't mind because I don't wear makeup. Overall, if you're in the market for a gentle cleanser, this is definitely worth a shot. It's not the most glorious cleanser, but it works for me and if it's not broke don't fix it! :)

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 2/23/2015 8:23:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I can't live without this face wash! I have very sensitive, acne prone skin. I also have PCOS, so I get hormonal acne frequently. Diet changes have cured most of that, but I definitely still get breakouts when my hormones fluctuate around that time of the month! Well I have tried just about every combination of cleanser, cream, moisturizer, spot treatment, mask, etc. there is...this is the BEST cleanser I've used yet. I stuck with cetaphil for awhile after giving up on all medicated products (I'm allergic to benzoyl peroxide and salicylic acid never seemed to truly help). But then I got brave and tried this, and I'm so glad I did. It doesn't dry my skin out (even cetaphil can do that to me in the winter). It helps significantly with breakouts. And it washes off all my makeup without leaving my skin feeling dry or tight. If I even miss using this once and use some other cleanser I pay for it the next day with new breakouts. So now I always make sure I have a bottle around! It is $6.77 at walmart, so that can't be beat for being such an amazing product for me. I can't praise this stuff enough!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 2/14/2015 11:09:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This was an okay cleanser, but for oily skin it may not clean as thoroughly as you would like it to. I used this when my skin was on the irritated side and I wanted to use a product that would not strip my skin nor cause additional breakouts. This did a fair job at that. Now that I have shopped around for better products, I think that I have found better foaming cleansers that will not irritate my skin but that also help to manage acne (L'Occitane's Angelica Lemon Foaming Cleanser does a great job at that without stripping the skin). This is a decent drugstore buy in a pinch.


on 1/24/2015 7:23:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I like to experiment with different cleansers, but this one didn't do it. It was good, don't get me wrong, it just wasn't the best. The product feels very good after a long day with the foam, but the rest of the night my mouth will taste like it.


on 1/19/2015 10:03:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This product is fragrance free which my skin likes. Although, I do not think that this product does a good job taking off a full face of makeup I do like to use Aveeno Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser in the morning to start my face fresh and clean. It did not irritate or cause my sensitive, rosacea skin to be red or irritated.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I have sensitive skin and thought Aveeno Ultra-Calming Foaming Cleanser would be a good choice for a cleanser.

No break outs, but cleanser is drying to my skin. Face felt tight and dry after washing my face with this. I wash my face twice before bed. Want to make sure all makeup is removed. Cleanser did do a good job with removing makeup.

Will not repurchase. Need a cleaner that is calming and non-drying.


on 12/8/2014 3:46:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

This Cleanser was very drying, on my combination acne prone skin: My cheeks and upper face were tight and flaking after using this for a few days. I had to return it.

Pro: It does remove makeup, if you are on the oily side it may be good.

It's not irritating, no fragrance, or dyes.

I used to use their discontinued green foaming cleanser to remove makeup with no issues, but this formula is drying.


Back to Top