Carol's Daughter • Hair Butter • Hair

rated 3.4(70 reviews)

Average Rating.3.4
Would buy this product again.54%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 ZaBreeNah on 5/31/2013 1:00:00 AM more reviews by ZaBreeNah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

Great for moisturizing dry ends, almost none-if any-artificial chemicals in the ingredients, small $11 tub would last a long time!
This product is great for applying a bit on the ends. As with any oil based product, it's best to avoid putting on too much all over your hair, which did happen the first time I tried this, resulting in super greasy hair (I was overzealous and excited when I got it and put on waaaayyy too much all over my hair). It's fantastic in moisturizing my mostly straight, slightly wavy, frizzy ends when they become dry. When I apply too much of it from midway of my hair down to my ends, some of the product (probably the shea or cocoa butter) would dry up and I'd end up having one or two tiny clumps of hair which were easy to detangle and I didn't experience breakage of hair because my hair wasn't in knots, a piece of hair would just be a little stuck together where the product hardened. So just avoid putting on too much! I wouldn't repurchase because after I finish this tub I'll just buy the oils by themselves which is cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Malela9 on 2/16/2013 12:53:00 PM more reviews by Malela9

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I love Carol's Daughter. I have thick, unmanageable, color treated hair. I have 2 daughters with thick hair as well. We all love Carol's Daughter. We are all Caucasian, but this line is for everyone. I am the only one in the family that uses this product on my over processed hair. I wish she would put it in a tube, instead of a jar. It would make application easier. I think the smell is more like an Origins smell. I only use this in the winter /summer when my hair is really dry. It will bring your hair back to life! Give it a try! It is so reasonably priced, what do you have to lose?

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Fresha on 3/29/2012 8:38:00 PM more reviews by Fresha

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Black    

Someone mentioned vomit...there is a sort of essence of vomit after my hair dried. This smells nice in the jar, the natural oils are discernible. Upon application I could smell patchouli/sandalwood, which I assume comes from the parfum which is not listed on the website, but listed on the package. The ingredients are the same otherwise. The fragrance can be found between vit c and rosemary oil on the jar. None of the oils listed smell like this. My hair is almost dry and it now doesn't smell like much. When I sniff closely it doesn't smell clean, but very lightly sweet with a hint of oily vomit. It is difficult to describe, but quite gross.
To add to that, it has left my 2c Polynesian hair larger than ever. This seems to have enhanced every little kink in my wave. I look like (a frizzy) Troy Polamalu in that Head and Shoulders commercial. My hair doesn't look wavy/curly it just looks HUGE and fuzzy.
If my the stench goes away and if this somehow makes my hair gorgeous by morning, I will keep this and report back. EDIT: I returned this. I tried it twice and wasn't able to get past the smell. I don't like patchouli anyway, and the dry down still had a hint of vomit,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Journey03 on 1/4/2012 9:53:00 PM more reviews by Journey03

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a good hair product that would deliver shine, softness, sheen and conditioning qualities and I believe I have found it. I have relaxed, color treated, thick, coarse hair and it always looks fried or super dry. I went to sephora today and the SA pointed to this line. I have never tried it before so I decided to get the small jar for $8 instead of the larger one for $17. A little goes a long way and it made my dry, thirsty tresses super soft and shiney. I don't know if i like the smell but either way it works so i can get over it. It worked great when I flat ironed my hair and didn't make it look greasy or weighed down. Will repurchase the large one once i run out of this one.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 MizzLadyRob on 5/29/2011 3:18:00 PM more reviews by MizzLadyRob

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

This is a good moisturizer, nothing spectactular though. And for the price it needs to be spectacular. I am all about putting money back into the community, but I should not get squeamish buying a jar of mouisturizing cream. I wasn't terribly disappointed with it, but I wasn't overly impressed either. I have tried a lot of stuff and it seems the cheap simple stuff gets the job done without buyer's remorse. And the smell is very strong. It gives me "glover's mane in floral" that junk is strong! I think this is a product hype. A few celebrities talked about it, a couple of "gurus" on YouTube now everyone has jumped on the bandwagon, well I'm off of it. Back to the health food store to grab a jar of coconut oil and shea butter.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 truepeace72 on 5/17/2011 2:23:00 PM more reviews by truepeace72

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Kinky   Eyes: Brown    

I recently purchased the CDHHB because I needed something to do my twists with as the season changes other than the product I typically use. I used this product when CD was just a start up company and I really liked it. It was pretty moisturizing and gave my twist great hold. Unfortunately, it seems that the product as been reformulated since the days when she was making it in her kitchen. I am struggling with the smell and it did a decent job with moisturizing but nothing to write home about. I will likely use it as an alternative to my staple cream that I use for twists/twist outs. This product doesn't have much glycerin in it so it's useful when I don't want too much moisture in my hair when doing twists on stretched/blow dried hair.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* snoopy68 on 5/12/2011 9:38:00 AM more reviews by snoopy68

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I'm riding the fence on this product. . .bought this the other day at the salon after I received a very fun and funky assymetrical haircut. I have dry, frizzy hair even when my hair is cut short. I like using a hair creme to smooth things out, plus define the ends of my hair, so I thought I could get 2 products in one. Plus the fact that this product is all natural, was an extra added bonus. I am forever on the search of great hair creme.
The smell to me is like patchouli, which I kind of like. I haven't noticed anything strong or funky, as per the other reviewers. I use a very, very small amount of this product on wet hair and NOT on the scalp. Once my hair is dry, I use a tiny bit more on the ends for definition. This product so far is ok. Sort of expensive, but with the amount that I use this should last practically forever.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 loristitt on 12/15/2010 6:54:00 PM more reviews by loristitt

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I really wanted to like this product, but I just wasn't all that impressed with it. My hair is fairly curly and I expected this to weigh it down, but it really didn't. It also didn't moisturize the way I expected it to. It just seemed to coat my dry hair and add shine to it, but I didn't notice any improvement in actual moisture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NatanYah on 4/27/2010 10:11:00 AM more reviews by NatanYah

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Relaxed   Eyes: Brown    

I've tried many of CD's products. It seems they all have an intolerable smell and are not effective in keeping the hair moist and nourished for very long. I really wanted to like this. I use it in my little girl's hair for twist and braids and it doesn't do what I need it to do (moisture, nourish, shine) for the price. More money down the drain.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miriamb on 10/19/2009 4:26:00 PM more reviews by miriamb

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

This smells nice, works and not too expensive. However I am looking for something that will moisturise even more.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Carol's Daughter products

More Hair products