Marcelle • Gentle Makeup Remover for Sensitive Eyes • Eye Makeup Remover

rated 3.9(38 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.68%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 andies6 on 7/21/2013 9:25:00 PM more reviews by andies6

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is my go to makeup remover since I have started wearing makeup pretty much. When we are young for some reason we love waterproof makeup as if it's supposed to be a better deal, and this is seriously the only bad boy capable of doing the job.

It's easy to remove make up if you wash with water, dry your face and use a make up remover. There isn't much make up left to remove except perhaps foundation and the residue of black everywhere. So usually other make up removers can do a decent job. So what happens when it's waterproof? Seriously this guy does it. I swear by this make up remover for 10+ years now at the least.

I have tried other make up removers by clinique and of course the 'legendary' drugstore brands. I want to switch over as I actually find the bottle expensive as opposed to the other reviews I am seeing! It's pretty much $14 after taxes and last me never more than 3-4 months. That's after blotting a cotton pad only three times. Which is great with the bottle screw top. Originally the bottle screw top was flimsier and easier to open up (danger when traveling!), then they had some push down/open one and tons was being wasted,... now they are back to the screw top but the whole entire cap is screw top so it;s super secure!!

I stock up like a mad woman on this make up remover when traveling as my job requires lots of make up and I can't trust some brands overseas. So the cap is amazing cuz I don't have to worry about it leaking in my zip loc bag like it used to. Now it never leaks, ever.

Also, this isn't oily. I remember when I first started using it that the recommendation on the bottle or somewhere said something like rinsing/splashing water with face at least 15 times until it feels like you actually got rid of the remover. Otherwise you just volunteered to use an oil based moisturizer. But for removing make up this is much needed! All those years of eye make up - no one should be rubbing their eyes so hard.

So far I have not found a cheaper alternative but it works and products I swear by have been tried and tested in all scenarios possible.

Also - to add, a very big, big deal for me. This make up remover doesn't sting my eyes at all and I have very sensitive eyes. On another note, what's even more amazing is I can actually remove make up while wearing my disposable contacts without any sting or problems after rinsing! Now that's magic if there was ever an emergency I had to switch make up over for my job. Just goes to show how gentle it is but a tuff worker.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* amanda23 on 2/2/2013 12:46:00 PM more reviews by amanda23

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I was not pleased with this product. I bought this because it specified that it was for sensitive eyes and it claimed to be Canada's No. 1 eye makeup remover. This was extremely oily. I woke up the next morning with the beginning symptoms of a stye and later on in the day noticed I had produced a small whitehead in my undereye region(sexy). When I stopped using this, it went away. I haven't gotten a stye in over 10 years and I'm pretty sure it was from this. Just too heavy and oily

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Vickysweetie on 12/30/2012 9:35:00 PM more reviews by Vickysweetie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I actually love this product, it does leave an oily feel after you use it, but it goes away quickly, it works really well, and I do recommend.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 Iamsheherazade on 6/28/2012 11:27:00 AM more reviews by Iamsheherazade

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I’ve used up one bottle of the two I purchased on a 2 for 1 special offer at my local drugstore. Here is my routine: I take a cotton square and soak it with the remover then swipe my eye, I then take a fresh square and repeat on the other eye. I repeat this for both eyes again (essentially using it twice on each eye) and find it still does not remove all my mascara. I find it does sting a bit and leaves me with a greasy residue. I then have to use a cold cream style product to clean up the rest of my mascara.

Note: Currently using Maybelline Plush to give you an idea of the type of mascara…. I digress, to get to the point - my review is I do not recommend.


*.-~*´¨*¨`*•~-.¸-Iamsherazade-,.-~*´¨*¨`*•~-.*

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Jennlw5 on 4/1/2012 7:33:00 PM more reviews by Jennlw5

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I was given this free from Elle Canada when I was chosen to blind test products for their readers choice awards. So they had the label covered so I had no idea what I was using and after 1 week I have to say I was unimpressed. This was so greasy, it was like an oil slick and it was irritating as well, also I found it didn't remove makeup as well. The one I did like in the blind test was Nivea eye makeup remover for all skin types.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ReenOma on 12/1/2011 12:17:00 PM more reviews by ReenOma

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I only got this for 5 dollars and it works great, takes make up off really easily.

Easy and really affordable.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 rachelmariew on 4/27/2011 4:37:00 PM more reviews by rachelmariew

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I am sooo happy to have found this! I was so close to forking out $34 (seriously?!) for Lancome Bi-Facial eye mu remover, when I found this gem at Walmart for $12!! This is almost identical to Lancome in every way. It takes off all my eye makeup with little effort. Highly recommended!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 babymia647 on 12/19/2010 5:49:00 AM more reviews by babymia647

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

Well I used to love this product...they changed the packaging recently(the formula too I'm sure). Now this is burning my eyelids so bad!! My eyelids still dries because of that!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 anibee on 10/12/2010 1:07:00 PM more reviews by anibee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have the old packaging so it's nice to see they added the newer pop top. Marcelle have been showing up in drugstores lately and is readily available. this can go as cheap as $12 at 5 fl oz compared to MAC Gentle Off eye&lip makeup remover which is $21.50 at 3.4 fl oz.

It does leave a film after using it.

I has zero scent and not dyes are added for colour and has similar ingredient to MAC's

Marcelle
AQUA/WATER/EAU, CYCLOMETHICONE, PARAFFINUM LIQUIDUM/MINERAL OIL/HUILE MINÉRALE, ISOHEXADECANE, HEXYLENE GLYCOL, BUTYLENE GLYCOL, CAMELLIA OLEIFERA LEAF EXTRACT, GLYCERIN, CUCUMIS SATIVUS (CUCUMBER) FRUIT EXTRACT, SODIUM CHLORIDE, HYDROCHLORIC ACID, DMDM HYDANTOIN, LAURYL METHYL GLUCETH-10 HYDROXYPROPYLDIMONIUM CHLORIDE, SODIUM METHYLPARABEN, POLOXAMER 188, DISODIUM EDTA, PEG-4 DILAURATE,

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 k_styler on 9/18/2010 9:01:00 PM more reviews by k_styler

Age: 25-29   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This has been my number one eye make up remover for over 5 years. I have tried many brands and kept finding that most didn't do a great job at getting it all off and many stung my eyes! I found that with other brands I had to rub and rub and rub. Awful for your eye area! I used to use Lancome Bi-Facil eye make up remover and it was wonderful but pricey. Marcelle Gentle Makeup remover gets everything off easily and is made for sensitive skin! It does not sting my eyes and I don't have to sweep my eye area multiple times. I love this product because my eye area is left completely clean. There is new packaging out and I don't like it as much as the old screw off cap. The new package has a pop up lid and I find that I squeeze out more. I use this product in the mornings on the end of a q tip to perfect any eye liner or brow pencil lines. With the new packaging I am wasting more to squeeze it onto the q tip. This is minor, and my only disappointment.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Marcelle products

More Eye Makeup Remover products