Bobbi Brown • Extra Spf 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm • Tinted Moisturizer

rated 3.7(207 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.61%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 dawnlois on 1/16/2015 1:54:00 PM more reviews by dawnlois

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Ok - just bought this originally last week. I went against Paula's (Begoun) advice and bought it anyway - I turned 50 last year, I use Retin A and glycolic acid products, and I regularly do mandelic acid peels - so my skin is dry. I use buckets of sunscreen, rich moisturizers and facial oils, so I keep it under control, but as for makeup - forget it. At least as far as any kind of foundation goes, it all looks like spackle, and gets dry and flaky throughout the day, unless I put lots of oil underneath it - then it gets greasy. Not so - drumroll, please! - with Bobbi Brown Extra SPF 25 Tinted Moisturizing Balm!! For me - pure heaven. Rich and buttery feeling, glides on and blends in like a dream, is a PERFECT color match (Light), and looks beautiful all day long - like I'm not wearing makeup at all. Contrary to what some others say, I think it definitely has a bit of coverage - just enough to make skin look perfectly even. It wouldn't cover blemishes and the like, without a bit of extra concealer. However, it's absolutely marketed as a tinted moisturizer,which was really never meant to have full coverage.I feel moisturized all day, as well. After I bought it (ahem) I thought I might want to check the MUA reviews in more detail - and I have read that this product is being discontinued. I ordered my first jar from Nordstrom's - and about ten minutes ago I ordered a second one from the Bobbi Brown website - just in case. I've not been specifically told by anyone that it's being discontinued - maybe the company has changed that plan! I hope so, because it just doesn't happen very often that I find any kind of foundation-like product that I'm happy with, and I really like this. I rated it 1 lippy for price - Good God! Fifty six dollars! But I will surely buy it again, presuming nothing weird happens, like all of a sudden my face turns into one big pimple, or something like that! And, of course, I live long enough to use up the 2 jars I already have! LOL! Speaking of jars - I stopped at Ulta and picked up a couple of small sample pots and decanted some product into them, so I'm not constantly sticking my fingers into the jar. The packaging is gorgeous and definitely vanity table worthy and I don't have any problem with that. This product would be hard to package any other way - you could never squeeze it out of a tube, way too thick. Smaller jars are a very minor inconvenience for me - and easier to carry with you during the day or for travel.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 sydore on 11/3/2014 4:55:00 PM more reviews by sydore

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry   Hair: Silver   Eyes: Blue    

I have no business writing a review because I just purchased this today and have been wearing it for only seven hours. However, I think that, so far, it is terrific for someone who is of a certain age with dry skin who wants a glowy natural look. This evens out your skin tone, moisturizes and gives you sun protection. It is not a foundation, but I have reached an age where foundations scream "makeup!" on my face.. I had this applied by a knowledgable sales person at Barneys NYC who applied it over moisturizer, which gives you an idea of how dry my skin is. Now, hours later, I still look moisturized, not greasy as some have said, and improved. I thought it worthwhile to review this today because I learned that this is being discontinued. I was fortunate to get the last light to medium jar in the store. So if you are a user or are curious, try or buy while you still can. Just my luck to find something at the very last minute.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* henrysmom on 10/27/2014 3:06:00 PM more reviews by henrysmom

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Silver, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Just saw another review and remembered that I didn't review this. I am probably a member of the target audience for this product, I am 55 with dry skin and don't need a lot of coverage. I didn't really mind the jar, it feels heavy and significant and am pretty careful about cleanliness with my cosmetics. I didn't even mind the smell, which is strong. Some people called it lavender, but it reminds me of a Dr Hauschka product, only stronger. The texture was creamy and felt very good going on. Coverage was very minimal, although it did sort of even out some of my coloring; it would not be for someone who had anything to hide. However, I only used it four times and returned it because it looked waayyy to greasy for me. I don't mind dewy, but this was over the top and didn't absorb into my skin even over time. I ended up using powder to control the shine. You know a product isn't for you when your husband tells you your skin looks better without it. I think this would be good for someone with very dry, and I mean verrryy dry skin, or someone who lives in a very dry climate, but for those of us with only "dryish" skin, it's way too much. Too bad. Returned it and am trying the BB cream now.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* julia178 on 10/27/2014 2:36:00 PM more reviews by julia178

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I liked the concept of this product - a balm with SPF that provides some coverage and leaves dry skin dewy and pampered. I had a generous sample which I used up. While this balm was pleasant to use and felt good upon application I found some negatives that will prevent me from buying this.
Pros:
- Good color match for my light skin tone NW10/15, I used Extra Light
- Creamy/buttery consistency, easy to apply
Cons:
- I have dry skin with a normal t-zone and this product looked dewy for the first few minutes, but then greasy and shiny
- I did not feel like this product was really "moisturizing"
- Coverage was not even, product seemed to "slide"
- Jar packaging, while elegant, is not sanitary and destabilizes the sunscreen
- Essential oils in this product are potential irritants, would prefer less scented product
- High cost

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 saggies on 10/27/2014 1:44:00 PM more reviews by saggies

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

The colour was good but it made my skin very shiny so it looked like I had oily skin which I don't have. I had to use powder which defeats the whole object of a tinted moisturiser. The bottle was easy to use in the beginning but had to use an ear bud to get it out when it was nearing the bottom. It did last a long time but I did alternate with other products because of the shlep of having to powder after application.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glitteradi on 8/29/2014 6:20:00 PM more reviews by glitteradi

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have really been wanting to try this ever since I sae the makeup artist Lisa Elridge using this on one of her tutorials for mature women. Due the amount of the negative reviews here, I wanted to get a sample first becuase here we dont have the option of returning cosmetics. I have the shade light and it is slightly too dark for my NW 20 skin. It also feels like no other product I have tried. I did not use any moisturizer under this and you certainly dont need to becuase the testure is like butter. it feels a little bit hard until you take it in your hands where it melts down and it sure felt like oil when I was applying it. It feels very greasy and yes it leaves your skin glowy but becuase it was so greasy I felt that I need to set it and of course after I set it, it was no longer dewy. So basically this product feels heavy, does not provide much coverage but after you set it with powder it makes your face look cakey. The lavender smell is quite strong but I was not able to smell it all the time, only when I applied it. It did not irritate my skin but next day I found a couple of new pimples so this might just be too much of greasy side for my skin.
EDIT> Tried this again and I love it on my winter skin. So flattering I looked at myself in the mirror after a day at work and I looked best I ever did. Then went to purchase it and found out they discontinued the darn thing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Nancygia on 4/6/2014 9:44:00 AM more reviews by Nancygia

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

I bought this in extra light, since this was the lightest shade Sephora had. I have dry, dehydrated cheeks and an oily t-zone so I was hoping to use this strictly on my cheeks. I like the extra moisturizing balm, so I thought this was going to be good for me. It isn't. It seems to sort of sit on top of my skin, it doesn't cover anything, and it makes my skin really greasy. This may account for the poor lasting power--4 hours at most.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 clairerenee on 3/25/2014 2:01:00 AM more reviews by clairerenee

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I was really hoping to like this cream as it has spf25 and bobbi brown generally has exc pale shades. However, I found the scent overwhelming and wondered if it would make my somewhat sensitive skin react. It didn't but I found the scent totally unnecessary. I also found the balm too greasy for my t zone though as I expected the color was very good. Would not buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* jarona on 3/8/2014 5:27:00 PM more reviews by jarona

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

After reading the reviews from women over 50, I am now thoroughly convinced that I am a freak of nature because as dry and arid as my skin is, this did NOT do anything for me. I was expecting tons of moisture, hydration, glow. Instead I got drier, cakey, and a dull looking finish. I should have stopped at the scent of menthol. Since when does menthol equal moisture? You know..it really really bothers me when the word "moisturizing" is misused. I want something that will literally glide onto my skin and smooth the rough spots a bit. Granted, mature skin isn't youthful skin--but a darn good Balm or foundation can help. My review has two lipsticks because the color was actually a great match (light) so there was a glimmer of hope there. I will see if I can exchange this for Bobbi Brown's moisturizing foundation but we'll see. I may just give this to my daughter. Very, very disappointed!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* pinkishbrown on 2/23/2014 10:53:00 PM more reviews by pinkishbrown

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I will openly state that I work for this line, so please take that into consideration.

However, I recognize that some products are not that great, and some are "meh" and some are just awesome. This is the latter.

I am constantly trying to make my clients feel lit from within and like they are comfy in their own skin. I'm not much of an "artist" but I love my clients and want them to feel gorgeous. The best way I can do that, for my skill set, is to beautify their skin. I want them to have gorgeous skin...even if my "smokey eye" skills need more work!

This product is super moisturizing and "whipped" in feeling; like the consistency of a really decadent chocolate mousse. It goes further than many similar tinted moisturizers, both in coverage and especially in moisture. A little goes a long way.
As described, it does have SPF, which is awesome. Other benefits:
-this product would easily sub as a moisturizer (i.e. you won't need any other moisture) for most dry skin types. If you are truly scaling and flaking, then you might need to exfoliate and then heal with something from a derm, etc. Everyone else, including women who love to really baby their skin with moisture....is ideal for this product. So, in one way, you are saving $$ by not getting a separate moisturizer.

-this product is amazing for more mature skin. If you are younger and possibly more oily, this might not stay as long on you. If you are more dry, and especially if you are dealing with wrinkles....this is the BEST product. It plumps up your skin, leaves a healthy glow and dries a little so you don't feel too wet when it sets in.

-the colors are different from typical BB colors. They go in Alabaster, Extra Light, Light, Light to medium, Medium, Med to Dark, Dark, Rich (maybe also "Deep" IIRC). Because this is more sheer, it really is not the end of the world if you have to go one shade lighter or you can't get what you feel is a "perfect" match. This is a sheer coverage, so it's workable. I like to apply with a brush, but some probably prefer clean fingers. I never leave brush strokes, but if that happens, stick with using clean fingers.

- the spf is high enough to be used in a sunny situation! Like...at the beach, pool, etc. Once again, eliminating an extra product.

Other tidbits:
* the packaging is gorgeous and elegant. A nice sized glass pot with durable lid. Some may not like the pot style, but i love it. If hygiene is an issue, you can use a small scooper to put some on your hand and use that as your palette.
* the cost is not bad for the fact that it's long-lasting, smells amazing (oh yes), and can sub for up to 3 different items in your bag.
* this would be a great option for those who want to ease into foundation at an older age....maybe they are concerned with looking spackle-y. This will achieve a glowy, luminous, dewy/radiant effect. I used it on a woman who quite literally was jumping up and down in my chair, LOL....she was like PLEASE let me have this product. I couldn't get her to calm down until she had it in her hands, LOL.

Enjoy if you decide to give this a try!

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Bobbi Brown products

More Tinted Moisturizer products