Weleda • Plant Toothpaste • Other

rated 4.5(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.5
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* allymack on 5/6/2012 8:48:00 AM more reviews by allymack

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Grey    

The first few times I used this product, I was so annoyed by its lack of foaming that I thought I would have to get rid of it before finishing. Eventually, it grew on me. This toothpaste leaves your teeth feeling incredibly clean, and I definitely noticed some whitening action going on, more so than with the typical Crest/Colgate drugstore toothpastes I've used for most of my life. The taste wasn't unpleasant, though I wasn't nuts about it.
There are a few cons though. For one thing, because it foams so little, I ended up going through a tube quite quickly, in like 2 or 2.5 months. And it's not cheap stuff. Also, when I took it on vacation, the metal tube got a crease in it that ripped, and I had to throw it out before totally finishing it (though there wasn't a whole lot left in the tube) so it wouldn't leak everyplace. The ripping may have had something to do with wear-and-tear from my travels, though. I will most likely re-buy, though I'm not sure it'll be a lifelong thing, since I'll probably eventually talk myself out of spending 2x as much on a product that lasts half as long.
UPDATE: I bought a second tube, and this one also ripped in a little over a month of use, even though I was being extremely careful to avoid creasing it (this is kind of hard to avoid with a toothpaste tube). I won't be purchasing again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 fancynancy on 5/3/2011 12:59:00 AM more reviews by fancynancy

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

This made my teeth feel very smooth and I like using natural products. It was just too sweet for my taste. I don't prefer to use it everyday and probably won't repurchase although in every other way I like it lots.
Update: I am reaching for this everyday, and one of my favorite things is the flavor! It's not too sharp and it doesn't bite. Just tastes clean and good.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marypap on 1/12/2011 8:28:00 AM more reviews by marypap

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This toothpaste is much better than Weleda calendula toothpaste.It foams,not a lot,but it does,the taste is good and the price is reasonable.What I like to all natural toothpastes I have tried is that it is very easy to rinse them off,contrary to all the conventional toothpastes that I used to use.Will buy this one again!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* zoomusicgrrrl on 9/19/2010 9:20:00 AM more reviews by zoomusicgrrrl

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I didn't really know what to expect with this one. The idea of a plant toothpaste made me imagine some slimy green chlorophyll-tasting gel, but actually it's brown coloured and minty. I like it, but not quite as much as I love the face-in-a-wind-tunnel freshness of the Weleda Salt toothpaste. I recently tried a conventional toothpaste after months of using Weleda's (my dentist had given me free samples of a new Colgate one for sensitive teeth). But I just couldn't bear the excessive foaminess - soapiness, almost - of the regular toothpaste. Weleda's toothpastes make my teeth and mouth feel genuinely clean and fresh, plus are gentle on my prone-to-driness lips. Conventional pastes, however, feel harsh and artificial in comparison.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 snowrabbit on 9/6/2010 1:58:00 AM more reviews by snowrabbit

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Other, Straight   Eyes: Brown    

I am in love with this toothpaste. Keeps my teeth clean and cavity-free (I honestly haven't had any cavities since using this toothpaste), although that may also be because I switched dentists. It also leaves a refreshing minty taste without the awful side effects, other toothpastes I've used leave my lips chapped/bitten but this one doesn't.
Will repurchase over and over. I'm already on my third tube!

Ingredients: Glycerin, Water (Aqua), Hydrated Silica, Chamomilla Recutita (Matricaria) Flower Extract, Krameria Triandra (Ratanhia) Root Extract, Commiphora Myrrha (Myrrh) Extract, Mentha Viridis (Spearmint) Leaf Oil, Mentha Piperita (Peppermint) Oil, Foeniculum Vulagare (Fennel) Oil, Algin, Alcohol, Escuun, Limonene*

*From Natural Essential Oils

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 tracygray on 8/4/2010 1:12:00 AM more reviews by tracygray

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

love this after flossing...very refreshing

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* felgoj on 6/18/2010 10:23:00 AM more reviews by felgoj

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Whitening? No. Which is too bad b/c I wanted to see some brightening of my teeth & they are too sensitive right now to deal w/bleaching.


But I like it anyway. At least it's a natural product.


I prefer toothpastes that are fluoride-free (thanks to my thyroid) & that don't taste like chemicals or killer mint. This one is gentle, mild, pleasant tasting, & effective. It leaves my teeth & mouth feeling clean but not overstripped. Its effectiveness is surprising for a non-foaming product.


I love the look & feel of this refreshing pink gel.


The metal tube packaging w/the twist off cap evokes my childhood memories of European vacations. (This product is made in Germany.) I remember mustard & ketchup coming out of tubes like this when I visited family in Austria.


To save $$ I purchased it from VitaCost.com for only $2.77 when I placed my last supplement order with them.


Although I would prefer an easy-to-use one-handed flip-top cap, I would nevertheless buy this toothpaste again. (Perhaps I can switch the cap from my old toothpaste tube instead, if it fits. I've done it w/other toothpastes before.)


UPDT 3/22/11 -
Not impressed. Stopped using.


    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChildOfTheMoon on 3/30/2010 6:13:00 PM more reviews by ChildOfTheMoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I discovered this toothpaste about 3-4 months ago and have to say I like it even better than my old favourite salt toothpaste (also by Weleda). At first it doesn't feel like it's cleaning properly- because it is so gentle without any harsh foam, but I assure you it does leave your teeth and mouth clean. I even noticed some slight whitening effect at first, even though this toothpaste doesn't promise any. It has safe, natural ingredients, it's vegan and it works- so I'm 100% pleased.
_____
From Weleda's site: "All Weleda toothpastes are suitable for vegans and are free from added fluoride, detergents, bleaches, foam boosters, optical brighteners plus synthetic colours, fragrances, flavourings, sweeteners, deodorants, emulsifiers, disinfectants and preservatives."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chloepoodle on 1/28/2010 11:24:00 PM more reviews by chloepoodle

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this based on the reviews listed here- I'm glad I did! This paste is gentle, cleans thoroughly and does not leave a vile chemical aftertaste or strange film. It works wonders on my sensitive gums and is a pleasure to use. I highly recommend this paste as well as the Ratanhia Mouthwash Concentrate which is also lightly flavored and soothes the mouth.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* malinen on 12/18/2009 4:01:00 PM more reviews by malinen

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

I have no idea why I didn't notice any whitening effect (that's why I bought it), but it's a very nice toothpaste. On the other hand, Weleda doesn't market this as having a whitening properties. This is how they describe it: "Clean teeth, care for sensitive gums and balance the normal functions of your mouth with this soothing tooth gel. It�s a gentle way to clean your mouth with natural silica and help reduce the buildup of plaque." and that's what it does. Not all products do what they claim...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Weleda products

More Other products