Christian Dior • Eau Sauvage edt • Fragrances

rated 4.6(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.6
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Koll on 11/23/2013 2:11:00 PM more reviews by Koll

Age: 30-35   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

Class in a bottle. My Dad bought me this when i was 21 & ive worn it ever since It is NOT a Unisex fragrance its a Masculine Smell & in my opinion the modern mens aftershave cant touch This Dior Classic. I wouldnt have the likes of Armani Code & Gucci for nothing !!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dioraddict84 on 11/12/2011 12:10:00 AM more reviews by dioraddict84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

This is one of my HG colognes. It's an older, mature scent. Not any guy could wear it. It is elegant, spicy, citrusy, all in one. Very refined and one of a kind. It has some of my favorite notes: musk, lemon, vetiver, amber, sandalwood. Classy!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* GlamDiva on 10/11/2011 1:49:00 AM more reviews by GlamDiva

Age: 56 & Over   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Other, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I've had a love/hate relationship with Eau Sauvage over the years. Back in the 1970s, it was considered an edgy scent for women to wear, a lemony crossover fragrance. Cristalle was all the rage then as well. I love many lemon and citrus fragrances, and crossover fragrances, but there's something in Eau Sauvage that isn't quite right on me. I like it about 1/4 of the time and dislike it the rest of the time. Every few years I pull it out and try again, with the same iffy result. Eau Sauvage seems to me more masculine than unisex. Despite my long interest in Eau Sauvage, I will leave it to the European men, and enjoy wearing other citrus fragrances instead.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Melloney on 6/20/2010 11:21:00 AM more reviews by Melloney

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I love this fragrance - it's for men but I definitely would wear this. Classically citrus zing .

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* karelin7 on 5/22/2009 11:41:00 PM more reviews by karelin7

Age: 44-55   Skin: Oily, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Mom kept a bottle of this in the bathroom when I was growing up. When I wanted to feel (and smell) adult and sophisticated I'd slap it on. Now, as a middle-aged fragrance head, I went to Sephora today to try it. The bottle and, more important, the smell, are as I remembered. It is the perfect citrus fragrance. It is also a perfect fragrance. Everything balances. A big blast of lemon that soon dries down to a lemon-inflected herbal scent that maintains a perfect balance between the bitter and the sweet. Rosemary, jasmine, and god knows what else. And the Roudnitska trademark: an animalic something or other that anchors the fragrance and serves as a reminder: "this is worn by a person, and it's as alive as its wearer, and to be alive means always to be of the flesh, with the fact that the flesh can sweat, the flesh can rot, the flesh is always at war with the corruptions of aging and stinking and dying." In Eau D'Hermes the reminder is integral to the scent. In Parfum de Therese its subtle, as it is here. It's a bit like what Guerlain famously said about how he put the smell of his mistress's bottom into every perfume. Eau Sauvage has the lurking basenote of the flesh at its naughtiest. But as a fleeting reminder. Anyway, you can own an Original Roudnitska for $50. Can't wait to try Diorella.

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* dictatorprincess on 7/20/2008 7:29:00 AM more reviews by dictatorprincess

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

My husband got a deluxe sample of this and did not like it (he is currently in an Armani Code phase), so I promptly ganked it. I am a sucker for bergamot and green. Eau sauvage is light, inoffensive, and slightly old-fashioned. Like a previous reviewer says, it smells a lot like Diorella. Eau Sauvage should be marketed as Unisex- like the Bulgari tea fragrances and Eau de Cartier. I really enjoy this and keep my sample in my purse, it layers well with a lot of my POTDs, like Cristalle or no 19, or Hermes Un Jardin en Mediterranée.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CombatWombat on 4/14/2008 11:49:00 AM more reviews by CombatWombat

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Oh, if only my partner would actually wear this! Eau Sauvage is the most optimistic-smelling scent I have ever encountered. All it takes is one spritz (or splash from a decant, in my case) to feel that everything is suddenly okay, that it always was okay, that summer is coming soon, the water will warm, the local sports team will finally triumph and this year I'll actually get a tan. While I wouldn't call this a comfort scent, I find it very reassuring - it is old-fashioned in the best possible sense, and reminds me of my grandpa's house on the Cape, juniper bushes and sandy feet. That said, Eau Sauvage is also very sexy, and while I'd happily wear it myself, I really would prefer that N wear it. Sadly, he only applies the ES I gave him when he goes out with his labmates, and breaks out his jealously-guarded Burt's Bees Bay Rum whenever I visit. In classic clueless male form, he thinks he's doing me a favor. Everyone should have a significant other who wears Eau Sauvage.

As an odd little side note, this scent to me evokes the early '60's. Now, I will freely admit that I did not live through the '60's, and no, I don't even remember the '80's. But the sense of optimism in the face of challenge, of polite dissonance, of impending and massive change on the horizon speak to me. I've now seen several comparisons drawn between this period and the current national sentiment, which are only heightened by the much-evoked Camelot-Obama connection. Yes, it's a stretch, but surely I'm not the only one who finds Eau Sauvage subtly and surprisingly relevant?

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Gimferrer on 11/28/2007 6:14:00 AM more reviews by Gimferrer

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

Created in 1966 by Christian Dior


BASE - Amber, Musk, Oakmoss


MIDDLE - Carnation, Coriander, Jasmin, Orris, Patchouli, Sandal,


TOP- Basil oil, Bergamot oil, Cumin, Fruit Notes, Lemon,


I buy it for my Husband so I can use it myself ;-)

This is a classic. I guess it's up to personal taste. I am not keen on floral and strong parfumes and I love Unisex with scent of citrus on them, fresh and clean.

The Design it's super retro I love it , on a day when I wear a suit I like this or even when I wear a Night dress to make it not sooo sweet this gives jusr the right balance.

GORG !

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Sherrie11 on 5/7/2007 11:10:00 AM more reviews by Sherrie11

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I love Eau Sauvage. I actually prefer Diorella, as it's a bit more femme. But these two scents are so similar that they are like twins with so slight a physical difference between them that you would only see it when they're side-by-side. I bought Eau Sauvage for my husband, but he never wears it so I don't think he likes it. I think it is intoxicating, so I wear his. When it runs out I'll probably return to Diorella. It's my favorite summery floral/citrus scent. But Eau Sauvage is magnificent. Men or women can wear it. It's mellower than Eau d'Hadrien, which is also a woody based citrus, and more complex. Not to be overlooked. :-)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Mr_Mellow on 12/3/2006 11:20:00 PM more reviews by Mr_Mellow

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I'll start out by saying this is one of my all-time favorites (this means it is in my Top 30 fragrances bar none, men's, women's or unisex). This bergamot, lemon, basil, cumin and fruity noted top-note scent is strong and fresh. In fact it was the first of many "Cool-Fresh" scents that ever came onto the market. Eau sauvage has allot of floral stuff in the middle notes like jasmin(synthetic sadly), carnation and orris plus some subtle patchouli and sandal, and then a weak basenote of musk, amber and oakmoss. This scent has been around from the middle 60s and I've loved it since it first came out.

This was the favorite finish to my youthful haircut ritual (twice a month every month since my eleventh birthday). I went to a classic British barber who lined the mirrored shelves and counters of his shop with hundreds of scents from Creed, Yardley, Acqua di Parma, Pinaud, Stephans, Shulton, Mennen, Victor and Caswell and well as imports from France, Germany and the Caribbean. Eau Sauvage was always a brisk, go-get-'em kind of scent and it seemed well loved by the refined women of my little town. Actually Eau Sauvage got me into allot of trouble as a 12 year old, as it attracted the attention of females from 10 to 30 years old.

In addition this fragrance has been a favorite of ladies who steal a splash from my bathroom counter, even given the other unisex choices of Eau de Cartier, Lime Sec, Aramis Original or Aramis Life, Dorian, Aqua di Gio, Vent Vert, Myrurgia's 1916 and Flor de blason (don't you just love Myrurgia's stuff), Halston's Z-14, RSPB Lavender, Alliage, Hawaiian Blue (a super herbal), Old Spice and a whole array of Floris' men's and unisex scents (2nd choice of females just trying something out). I say "A splash", but the reality is that women who are 30ish or older try a few dainty spritzes while those 29 and younger seem to enjoy bathing in Eau Sauvage. This scent "fires you up" or "get's you going" and it doesn't matter if that means going out to do something or just staying cuddled up to "do nothing". Whatever you are "doing", "not doing" or just revelling in, Eau Sauvage makes you want to enjoy it to the fullest.

In spite of the fact that this scent isn't the longest lasting fragrance a man can use (try Alliage, Bulgarian Rose Oil, or Trailing Arbutus for scents that will breathe delicious aromas from you for hours and hours), Eau Sauvage is wonderful. It works in moderation, with liberal application or even re-applied every few hours to "freshen you up". It was the first it's kind and it's still a standard by which many citrus fragrances are measured (Aramis Life just about reaches or surpasses it). Even Dior's own Eau Sauvage Extreme is not as good as the original. Ladies, you should try Eau Sauvage EDT as a full body rub to feel how totally invigorating it can be. Best of all this scent can be layered successfully. With a light application of pure frankincence and myrrh oil or a benzoin/civet/castoreum base, Eau Sauvage layers fantastically on top for a very long lasting, sensual and intoxicating mixture that will last all evening, all night and still make you feel super-charged the next morning.

Perhaps I'm raving. Perhaps the citrus-y strength of Eau SSauvage gets into my pores and into my blood and deep into my soul. If there be magic in fragrance then this is it for me. It works as a tonic for me now the way it did when I was 14 years old and I used this as an Eye-Opener, helping me to face the big world of adulthood. There is a reason this stuff still sells by the gallon. It's just that good. I recommend it for everyone of every gender and every age. It like citrus electricity in a bottle. Can I speak my appreciation in a louder voice ? Only if I dare to wake the heavenly spirits themselves. I've seen Eau Sauvage work its magic on me and many women who've used it too. It could be magical for you.

16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Christian Dior products

More Fragrances products