La Roche Posay Effaclar K

3.8

218 reviews

74% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

(Salicylic Acid 1.5%) Aqua, Isonoyl Isononanoate, Propylene Glycol, Dimethicone, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, PEG-100 Stearate, Glyceryl Stearate, Salicylic Acid, Octyldodecanol, Zinc PCA, Sodium Hydroxide, Retinyl Linoleate, Ammonium Polyacryldimethyltauramide/Ammonium Polyacryloyldimethyl Taurate, Capryloyl Salicylic Acid, Xanthan Gum, Cetyl Alcohol, Pentaerythrityl Tetra-Di-T-Butyl Hydroxyhydrocinnamate, Fragrance


on 5/27/2015 12:38:00 PM

Age: 56 & Over

Skin: Other, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

I have been using this product for several years now and can say my spots and breakouts have diminished a great deal. I am in my mid 50s and I believe a lot of my breakouts are
Inked to product overload. I often get spots back in the same place and regular use of this product has reduced/eliminated them considerably. I still have to be careful but my sensitive skin does not react to this cream. I only ever use it at night time so cannot comment about wearing foundation after this has been applied. It is a staple in my beauty care.



on 5/16/2015 8:18:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Warm

Hair: Black, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I love this product...it totally keeps my breakouts at bay...and improved the texture of my skin overnight after I squeeze pimples.


on 5/5/2015 9:02:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

After consulting with a LRP rep who happened to be at the drugstore when I was searching for something to treat my adult cystic acne I bought this on her recommendation. My first impression was "how on earth do I get the product out of this tube?!" I was twisting the cap and nothing! Squeezed the tube so much in the frustrating process of trying to get the product out that when it finally opened it oozed all over the place. Pure chaos! Then the smell... What is that smell? It's not fresh, it's bizarre! But all that aside this product works! I'm not so sure I'd buy it again as I've found the Effaclar Duo more to my liking but it does smooth the skin as advertised. Consistency is very light and a thin fluid that absorbs quickly and doesn't leave a film on your skin. I do love LRP Effaclar products.


on 5/2/2015 10:21:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Other

Bad product


on 4/27/2015 12:05:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

Looove this acne cream!! I use it every night on my problem areas which are my chin, lip area and forehead. This helps bring the clogged pore up to surface so I can pop them. My face has never been better!!! Bumpy skin? Clogged Pores? Gone. I've repurchased this product. I have the Canadian version so ingredients may differ from US/UK.


on 2/17/2015 7:45:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Other, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

It has a light consistence and it's not too moisturising. During cold weather it quite dries the skin. I find it more appropriate during summer time. It also doesn't mattify too well. When I wake up in the morning my skin is pretty oily. I will not buy it again!


on 1/20/2015 8:24:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Black

I really love this product! I am a man who has a very oily skin and sometimes I have breakouts in my face and in my back. I started to use this product last year and I observed that my skin was less oily. This product helped me to control the sebum and the acne of my face.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

I'm in my early twenties and I've had some skin issues these last two years. (especially in the T-zone)
Nothing serious, but I have to say, the morning I wake up and I don't have any blemishes on my face, probably is the best day of the month.
I started using Effaclar K around the same time my friend (with much better skin) bought the product, and we both have had enlarged pores ever since. We thought it was part of the process: open up the pores, purify them, close them again. Only problem is... They didn't close at all.

The product seems good at first, lightly scented, good packaging, helps dry out the blemishes when you use it only on the specific area. I use it around my hair line because most pimples pop up in that area, and I have the feeling it helps prevent them, but the downside to it all is: my pores are much more visible, especially on the nose and under the eyes. I feel like my skin ages 5 years since I started using it. (It has been over a month now, I strongly regret having used it this long.)

I would strongly advise not to put it all over your face, especially when you don't have any major problems.
Oh and by the way: this is NO moisturizer, don't be mistaken!

Good luck with finding the perfect product! I am yet to find the 'one'.


on 12/30/2014 6:55:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I'm a sufferer of adult acne with breakouts constantly on my right jaw line. I'm a fan of most of the Effaclar range particularly Effaclar Duo Plus (European version) and Effaclar cleansing gel. I started using Effaclar K when E Duo Plus had cleared up the spots on my jaw line. I though this product would be more moisturising. I usually apply it after I spray cleansed skin with LRP thermal water while the skin is still slightly damp. It doesn't moisturise well. It absorbs well but my skin never feels refreshed after it so I usually apply a small bit of regular moisturiser on over it but only in areas that I don't break out like forehead and across my nose and cheeks.
The small isn't great but not bad either. It's kind of chemically. I hate the packaging. Don't know why LRP insist on using the stupid metal tube. They should switch to the same materials they use for E Duo Plus. Overall I'm not sure about this. Since I'm in my mid 30s I'm afraid of products that will over dry my skin but yet I'm so prone to breakouts I can't use anything that's too moisturising. My routine will do for the time being at least.


on 8/7/2014 6:57:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Effaclar K is a product I always have to hand. It's inexpensive for such an effective skin treatment and I find that the tube contains a decent amount of product - I only need a small amount for each application as it spreads thinly and evenly. The smell is not unpleasant but is rather chemical-y...I would prefer it with no fragrance.
I have found that it helps to diminish the appearance of my milia and gives me smoother looking skin. I always apply sunscreen over the top and would avoid using this if I were travelling to a hot climate, for example, as the gentle exfoliating ingredients will sensitise skin over time.
I am keen to try more LRP products!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Popular Treatments (Face)


Sudocrem
Sudocrem
142 Reviews
Lemon Juice
Lemon Juice
398 Reviews
4% Hydroquinone
4% Hydroquinone
15 Reviews
Back to Top