Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

4.0

1682 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.


on 4/13/2015 8:59:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Dries any nail polish and makes it lasts for 6-8 days without chipping.



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Nice top coat.. It was a little thin and runny but I don't think that affected the quality but maybe made using it a little more difficult. I couldn't just throw it on real quick.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool

Hair: Red, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Violet

I picked up a bottle of this at Sally's in October and I've used about a quarter of it over various brands of polish. I honestly thought it was HG material until I did my Valentine's mani which included white. (I normally wear dark polish colors.) What the heck?! Within 36 hours, it turns peach! I tried it over two brands of glitter and two brands of white polish, and both times it turned the same color. I've seen a few people complaining about this now, and apparently it's a new development. I'll be picking up something else for over my pastels/whites and reserving this solely for dark colors. I'll only repurchase if it looks like this problem is resolved.


on 4/1/2015 2:50:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Seche Vite is definitely a product worth having. It's like magic - dries almost completely in just a few minutes! The brush, while round and narrow, is long and spreads out over the nail, making neat application much easier, and the finish is smooth and shiny. However, after you've had the polish a while it does become thick and gloopy, making application messier, and I find that if you use it often and regularly it takes a toll on your nails (I had to stop using it for a while because mine were getting dry and flaky). I'd definitely recommend it, but wouldn't use it all the time - save it for emergencies, like if you're using an old polish that stays tacky for an entire day, or when you're late getting ready to go somewhere and your nails won't dry.

Pros:
- Incredibly fast dry time
- Glossy, smooth finish
- Easy application

Cons:
- Short shelf life; goes gloopy after a while
- Dries out your nails if you use it too often


on 3/26/2015 6:13:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Nothing else comes close to Seche Vite. I've tried the Essie, OPI, Sally, Nails Inc, Out the Door, Dior et al. top coats and quick drying drops alike. Seche Vite is King. I've repurchased continually for the past four years and I can't see that changing.

I love this. It dries my nails within five minutes. Basically by the time I coat the last nail, the first has dried completely. Completely, as in I can go to bed, get a shower or wash dishes and my polish looks perfect - no more bed nails! This top coat changed my nail polish life. Which sounds insane and hyperbolic but it utterly true.

It is pricey (cheaper than Dior and OPI though) and it does goop up before I've ever finished a bottle (make smaller bottles guys!) and I repaint at least x2 per week. But I repurchase it anyway and I don't mind paying for it - it's far cheaper than a gel polish manicure and can be changed without any fuss or special products. A colleague asked if I was getting gel nails done twice a week. It's that shiny and glassy and perfect looking.

It covers up a multitude of sins in applying your polish. I find that even the cheaper brands and those semi-sheer prone to streaking colours look perfect with a slick of this on top. The other benefit is that if you have to use several layers, e.g. you MAC and your polish that needs 5 coats to be opaque, this top coat still dries to a perfect glass finish in minutes. And it lasts at least 5 days without chipping. I've managed 10 before, but that depends on the NP brand and I usually get bored and change a colour long before then. On the application process, follow their instructions. I've tried painting it on like a normal top coat and it can pick up colour and doesn't provide the same glassy perfect finish but it still does dry quickly and last for ages.

Nothing else I've tried comes close to Seche vite. I repurchase for myself, I've purchased for friends and family and I love love love this top coat. Whatever you're using now, try this; Seche Vite is better.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 3/15/2015 6:41:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Overall this is a very good product. It makes any polish dry very fast and makes it look very shiny. But....the smell is strong, it shrinks the polish and I had to throw it away with 1/3 still left in the bottle, as it was too thick to use. I know you can buy a thinner, but that's too much hustle IMO. I would buy this again but I still prefer SH Mega Shine.


on 3/8/2015 1:29:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I have an overlay on my natural nails & I bring this w/ me to the salon. It's a godsend b/c it dried so quickly & is so shiny. I wash my hands A LOT working in a restaurant & have my hands in cleaning chemical often & it does a good job of staying put. I would definitely keep buying.


on 2/20/2015 11:07:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Oily, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

Love this and glad I found this via Amazon. Only 5 dollars :)


on 2/16/2015 11:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Green

This stuff gets really hard and dries quickly, but other than that it's awful. I haven't found a polish yet that doesn't chip severely with this top coat. Within 24 hours the tips of my nails are showing, and there is usually several huge chips at the top and bottom. By the 2nd day the polish is coming of in sheets. Not only does it not stay on, but it also can really smear your polish as you are applying it. WTF?! Terrible purchase and even worse product.


on 2/10/2015 2:27:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

Fabulous!!! Super fast drying, imperfection covering and long lasting.
This top coat can turn just about any polish hard and shiny in a matter of mintues. Even not so fancy polish will last just like the expensive brands. I've even had some success in getting rid of air bubbles and smoothing out smudges.

The only negatives are 1) not available in most drugstores 2) bottom of bottle gets too thick to use, so there is some wasted product.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen



Top Rated Seche Vite Products

image

Dry Fast Top Coat

1682 reviews
Back to Top