Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat

4.0

1709 reviews

76% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS

Butyl Acetate, Toluene, Cellulose Acetate Butyrate, Isopropyl Alcohol, Trimethyl Pentanyl Diisobutyrate, Butoxyethanol, Dimethicone, Benzophenone-1.


on 7/27/2015 7:17:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love the look of gel manicures, but the expense/high maintenance/acetone removal, etc. does not appeal to me. Since I do not have the discretionary income to allow for frequent salon visits, I usually do my nails at home. So I was looking for a super shiny top coat that emulates the look of a gel manicure without the expense or commitment. Thatís what led me to Seche Vite.

In researching Seche Vite, I noticed the reviews were dichotomous ó there are those who absolutely adore SV, and those who experience horrible peeling, shrinkage and chipping. Realizing that MMV from person to person, I decided to try it for myself, knowing I could always return it if the results were unsatisfactory.

The first time I tried SV, I experienced some minor peeling on the edge of a couple of my fingernails about three days into the manicure. I got in the habit of applying Vaseline on my fingers bordering my nail beds to assist in cleaning up any polish mistakes. So the next time I used SV, I decided forego the Vaseline and experienced no peeling whatsoever. A little Vaseline must have obviously contaminated the polish during the first go-around ó thatís all I can think of.

Moving forward, I have been using SV together with the SV base coat and I have had stellar results. My nails do not chip or wear until about a week into the manicure ó and after a week or so, youíre looking at a polish change, anyway. It also seems to buff out any polish errors and as such it delivers a very professional-looking finish ó as close to salon perfect as I can get while doing my nails at home.

And yes, it dries in a flash! From my experience, it dries in a couple of minutes and you can safely perform low-impact tasks within fifteen minutes after doing your nails.

So far, Iíve pretty good luck with SV. I use as directed and I apply over wet polish, etc. Again, results may vary from person to person, but I believe itís worth a shot for anyone looking for a shiny, professional-looking top coat.



on 7/18/2015 1:03:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

I keep repurchasing this item over and over again. It has completely changed my nail game. Love it!

Had to give it 4/5 due to the smell though. Must always use it in a ventilated area!


Age: 44-55

Skin: Normal, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Love this top coat . i was a manicurist for 20 years and this is by far one of the best top coats.


on 7/14/2015 4:35:00 AM

Age: Unknown

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

best top coat I've ever used. strong chemical smell but it dries so quickly and smoothly. definitely a must have


on 7/6/2015 11:04:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Positives:

-Very quick to dry

-Leaves a shiny finish that makes it look like I've had my manicure professionally done.

Negatives:

- I also face the shrinkage issue, which I absolutely hate. :( For certain colors, it is possible to avoid painting Seche Vite to the edges of the nail, and that prevents a lot of shrinkage (though it still happens at the nail tip). But for light nail polish, like white, this is not possible, as not painting to the edge of your nail makes the mani look messy.

- This top coat tends to "brown" on the nails after about 3 days of wear. This is not a huge problem on darker colors, but again, on light nail polish, it's very obvious and ugly.

- The smell is extremely pungent, which makes me feel really uncomfortable about breathing it in.

So overall, I'm not a fan of Seche Vite top coat. Would not repurchase!


on 7/5/2015 10:27:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I got this as a gift and I didn't use top coats prior to this one.
The nice thing about this product is that it gives the polished, shiny finish. The fast drying formula is great too, for some like me who have no patience. The downside is (I don't know if this is a common problem with other top coats) that it peels and chips after couple days. I have had instances where a whole color peeled in the shape of my nail. This happens with or without base coat and regardless of what polish I use. It's strange.

If you're like me and don't really care about longevity of your nail colors, I guess this product is okay, because it does look nice and neat for a day or two. But if you want it to last more than couple days then you might find this quite annoying.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

Since I live in Texas, I always have issues with getting polish to dry, especially in summer. I bought this on a whim at Target and I was super impressed. No lie I can touch my nails after about 5 minutes and start using my hands after about 10-15 minutes with no dents.
It does shrink so I have weird gaps on the sides of my nails no matter what I do and that bugs me. And after you get about halfway through the bottle the formula gets all weird. I had to put polish thinner in it to even make it usable. I will continue to use it until I find another quick dry top coat that dries as fast and hopefully is cheaper.


on 7/1/2015 1:54:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

they had sample sizes of seche vite at sally's so i decided to pick one up to try before buying the real thing. at first i was kind of irked by the fact that you have to apply it over wet polish (something i am totally not used to, plus this means it can't be used for touch-ups), but the application is actually pretty easy. you just need to drop a big glob on your nail and push it around with the brush rather than stroking your nail with the brush like you would with a normal top coat. it also seriously cuts down on my manicure time because you don't have to wait for your last color coat to dry, and seche vite dries really quickly. my usual topcoat takes ~30 minutes to be completely dry; seche vite is probably like 15. although seche vite lasts pretty long without chipping or fading, my usual topcoat does last longer. all in all i prefer my normal topcoat, but since it's been discontinued i will start buying seche vite when i run out.


on 6/28/2015 1:05:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I have used this consistently for five years. It is a wonderful product that gives the look of gel shellac nails without the time commitment, cost and damage to nails.

It applies thickly to give good coverage and protection to nails. Dry to touch within ten minutes and can continue my day without worry that it will chip, smudge or have wrinkled sheet marks overnight!

I use with OPI products and havs limited chipping by day 5 and still looking pretty good by day 7 (new manicure time!).

Definitely recommend.


on 6/28/2015 12:40:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Blue

Gosh, I love Seche Vite. I bought this top coat mainly because it's fast-drying; I'm really impatient with waiting for my polish to dry. I tend to do thick coats of polish, and even when I feel like there's just globs of polish on my nails, Seche Vite has them totally, completely dry in about an hour. I couldn't believe it the first time I used it.

Another bonus is the added shine. I noticed it most when I used Seche Vite over a holographic polish that I had used several times before. It made the holo noticeably stronger because of that shininess. Even over cremes, the shine makes your nails look SO GOOD.

The only thing I would mention is that the smell is pretty strong. As soon as you open the bottle, it hits you. I would only call that a deal breaker if you're really sensitive to the smell of nail polish in general.


Video Reviews & Tutorials

My top 5 fave beauty items, right now - Seche Vite dry fast top coat by Denim Vixen

Product Wars - Episode 13 by fionaman

Quick Tip: For Seche Vite Lovers by fionaman



Top Rated Seche Vite Products

image

Dry Fast Top Coat

1709 reviews
Back to Top