MAC • Brush Cleanser • Misc Beauty Tools

rated 4.4(518 reviews)

Average Rating.4.4
Would buy this product again.88%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 Sophiecola on 1/27/2015 6:01:00 PM more reviews by Sophiecola

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I'm not the type of person to use such a high end brush cleaner because i think there are other things that can do the job but let me tell you THIS IS AMAZING! I've heard people say "ohh it doesn't work", "you need to use specific way to clean the brushes" Well that depends. This product does wonders for any type of cleaning, wether you are doing a rough and long needed wash or just taking off excess, it actually depends on what you use it with. If your brushes are 100% dirty you should definitely put a lot of product in a glass and dip your brushes. Slowly wipe them on a cloth or what ever (smt that dust and hair wont stick to it) until everything is out. Just don't leave your brushes standing to dry, lay them down. If you don't need such a big job, put some liquid on a wipe and rotate the brushes on it clock and counter clock wise. It cleans so well, so effective and your brushes really do look new.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Blondebeauty2 on 1/17/2015 3:58:00 AM more reviews by Blondebeauty2

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I liked this product for awhile but I started having small breakouts and finally contributed it to this cleanser. This isn't a cleanser for a deep clean, this is for a temporary/disinfectant clean. I've noticed that some ppl definitely use this product wrong and it could potentially lead to some breakouts. I only used this product maybe once a week, along w/cleaning my brushes with soap and water and still suffered some breakouts. I honestly wouldn't recommend this particular product, as there are many other better cleaning products on the market. I truly think some ppl are just obsessed with the Mac line..no matter if it's good quality or not.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 Ckliki on 1/16/2015 11:57:00 PM more reviews by Ckliki

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I have probably gone through about 5 of these bottles. Back in the day when I was die hard Mac everything. Mac can do no wrong, and everything they touch is golden nuggets. Plus side is they can at least be accumulated towards the Back to Mac program. I think I would probably get about 2 months out of this bad boy, if that.

I find that more of this cleanser went down the drain than onto my brushes. I also really felt like it didn't clean the brushes as much as it could have. I could re-wash a brush with a regular bar of soap and the bristles would come up cleaner looking than using this cleanser. I don't know what that says about the soap I am using or what, but damn... for this price I would assume this brush cleaner would you know... clean my brushes.

From their website: "This one product will clean, disinfect and condition the brush fibers so that brushes will last longer. It is convenient to use and is specifically designed to extend the life of high quality brushes. Brush Cleanser leaves your brushes smelling fresh and clean, and helps shorten their drying time"

I don't know about these claims of faster drying times this was not a feature I noticed. I know this is a liquid product so the packaging is standard to that, however I don't really prefer this size, it was big and took up a considerable amount of space in the cupboard.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dinosaurseatghosts on 11/24/2014 10:55:00 PM more reviews by dinosaurseatghosts

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight   Eyes: Green    

I just got this today. I'm absolutely awful at cleaning brushes, so I really enjoy this. I just put some on a paper towel and rub my brushes in it. Works beautifully :) I haven't tried deep cleaning with it but soon I will.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Realpinkollie on 11/10/2014 4:15:00 PM more reviews by Realpinkollie

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This product is really good. I have use it a few times on my brushes and it still is alot left. Mutch product and its cheep as well. My brushes gets clean and it feels fresh. I will buy this product again when its finnish. If you are looking for a good brush cleaner this is the one.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shelly_82 on 11/8/2014 6:50:00 AM more reviews by shelly_82

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Great for cleaning brushes quickly. I constantly use my MAC 187 stipple brush for blush and thought the 'white' of the brush would be forever pink...but this cleaned it back to white with a couple of swipes on a clean tissue.

It's also great for when I want to use the same brush for different products consecutively (such as my 217 for painterly as a base color on the lids followed by using it for shroom on my brow bone) as the brush dries instantly following using this brush cleanser.

Long term I probably wouldn't recommend it as your sole brush cleaner as it smells of alcohol and would likely dry out the bristles. But as a quick brush clean I highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 CatherineElizabeth90 on 10/27/2014 2:46:00 PM more reviews by CatherineElizabeth90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

Really liking this so far. Saves deep cleaning so often and I find it quite well priced. As has been mentioned previously, would prefer a spray cap or maybe have an alternative spray lid. But it's not a problem for me seeing as I just tip a little into a mini spray bottle anyway.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ckb on 10/22/2014 8:19:00 AM more reviews by ckb

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

Great for a quick removal of color. It smells highly of alcohol. I feel like this dries my brushes out. Don't think I'll buy this again, but it does serve its purpose as a temporary brush cleaner.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FakeLashes on 10/22/2014 7:41:00 AM more reviews by FakeLashes

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Good for spot cleaning, but not for deep cleaning. The packaging is also a little inconvenient, MAC should put this in a spray bottle but this you can easily do that yourself. I like it but it's not something that I must have it does take the color out of the brush so you don't have to use separate brushes for everything but for deep cleaning it's better to wash your brushes with a baby shampoo!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 jennc91 on 6/18/2014 4:44:00 PM more reviews by jennc91

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Great product! I only buy this brush cleanser for inbetween shampooing. This is meant to spot clean/disinfect brushes, since people should shampoo their brushes twice a month tops. I use this cleanser every 3 days, since I have acne prone/oily skin. I also love how you can recycle these for "back to mac"! I wish mac would use a spray bottle instead, so it wastes a lot less product.

How I use:
-I sometimes transfer this product to a small spray bottle
- spray the brush (obviously) & swirl the brush head around on a clean white tissue. I repeat until their is no more trace of makeup left in my brushes.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Misc Beauty Tools products