Aesop • Fabulous Face Oil • Skincare - Face

rated 4.2(21 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.80%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 emmab6756 on 2/21/2014 9:08:00 AM more reviews by emmab6756

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love facial oils for massage and rehydration over night and usually use the Clarins Blue Orchid oil, which I love. This one is far more expensive so it was a treat to try it and so far there are pros and cons. Firstly I hate the smell. To me the juniper is extremely strong and blended with the jasmine it is quite overpowering in a bad way. Smell is a personal thing though so others may love it. It is a very lightweight oil that doesn't feel heavy and greasy. 4 drops seems like the right measure for me. Initially I do get a red face on application with a slightly warm feeling...I am aware this is possibly a mild allergic reaction :( It does calm down though and I have noticed my skin has a lovely texture since I started using it. No break outs. The packaging is gorgeous, very decadent. I bought mine from the counter in Selfridge's and found the staff to be pretentious and rude. Overall I think it is a nice product but won't be repurchasing as it is outrageously expensive and I do not feel it is worth the extra cash above the Clarins.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 2/14/2014 2:42:00 AM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Such a pitty this oil didn't work for me!
It smells nice ( a bit overpowering in the first minutes). It has a luxurious feeling. It hydrates my skin and makes it plump and glowy BUT it gives me pimples and irritated skin!
You should try it , maybe it works for you.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dizzychick1973 on 1/26/2014 7:07:00 AM more reviews by dizzychick1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Smells gorgeous and feels nourishing on the skin...I love using a couple of drops after my nightly serum in a pat pat motion, followed by moisturizer. My skin feels calm and beautifully hydrated in the morning. A bottle has lasted me over 3 months and I think it's an absolutely brilliant skin saviour, especially in drier months. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 boredtotears1 on 12/17/2013 5:14:00 AM more reviews by boredtotears1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this - the store assistant advised me that it would be good to mix with another moisturizer to give it a boost but I like it on its own - it sinks smoothly into the skin & leaves a matte finish- a little goes a long way. I've yet to use it long enough to see any long term benefits however..
A little pricey however , although Aesop is a lot cheaper in Australia where the brand originates from.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlemissmagic on 10/28/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by littlemissmagic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love facial oils, but at the beginning, I didn't love this. It didn't sink in as quickly, and in the morning, my skin didn't feel matte, just heavy. But then, I changed my application technique, and now I really love this product.

First, I take 3 drops onto clean fingers, and I rub them between both hands. I then press my fingers, depositing the oil on my forehead, nose, and cheeks. Using my fingers, I really massage the oil, spreading it from the centre of my face outwards and upwards, across the bridge of my eye brow, then down the sides of my neck under my ears. Basically, I'm trying to drain my lymphatic system. I make sure not to pull at my skin; with enough oil, my fingers glide on my face.

Immediately, redness has gone down, and the finish is matte. When I wake up, my skin feels soft and rested.

I love the ylang ylang aroma. I love the small, dark-glass pipette bottle that closes tightly, making it perfect for travel. It's such a pleasure to use this oil, but as I'm experimenting with different facial oils, I'm not sure I would repurchase. I have sensitive, oily-combination skin and after using this product for a year, I can definitely say that this is a great product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dianaphamfatale on 8/15/2013 4:54:00 AM more reviews by Dianaphamfatale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this oil. It's very lightweight but also quite moisterising. I've been using this daily and I feel like my skin tone is evening out and it's getting rid of redness around my cheeks. It's a lovely complex oil, BUT it's a little overpriced. It's so expensive. Some of my friends swear on rosehip oil, so I might give that a go before declaring my love for this product.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miele2007 on 5/2/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by miele2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

So far, so good. The ingredients remind me of a cross between an oil regulating product such as Decleor's Hazelnut & Ylang-Ylang oil and a more moisturizing one like Rodin. It seems to be the best of both worlds. My skin isn't breaking out, and yet it feels more hydrated than when I was only using the Decleor. The price and bottle are neither Whole Foods crunchy nor Barneys chic. It really does seem to be the Yin Yang of face oils! EDIT - It did break me out after all. I wound up giving it to a friend and have been using the Tatcha Camellia face oil, which, thankfully my skin adores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* juliaesands on 3/3/2013 5:40:00 AM more reviews by juliaesands

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I'm on my second bottle of this oil and I love it. It's wonderful just after a facial scrub, applied on slightly still-damp skin, followed up by the Camellia Nut cream from Aesop. My skin can't take heavy moisturizing because I do begin to break-out even if I have generally drier skin and the discovery of oils has been marvelous (argan oil is a staple, as is coconut oil, etc etc) - if you're interested in trying oils and would like to begin with something that has a lighter texture, I do recommend this Aesop oil!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* xtinahb on 9/17/2012 11:20:00 AM more reviews by xtinahb

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was looking for a moisture boost to use in the winter and received 3 days worth of samples (I used for night and day). I happen to love the fragrance and the texture is rich and moisturizing, rather than greasy. Patted onto my washed face then applied my normal moisturizer on top and indeed my skin felt soft and supple and more hydrated. The downside are the small whiteheads that appeared 3 days later around my mouth and cheek area. I'm disappointed since it did effectively hydrate, but no product is worth breakouts to me, even small ones. Will not purchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 becky_stokke on 2/8/2012 9:57:00 PM more reviews by becky_stokke

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Fabulous oil. It has saved my skin many times over. The glass bottle is a pain, but if you don't travel it is dealable with. The product more than makes up for it. If you have dry skin, then I heartily recommend this oil. I'm on my fourth bottle!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aesop products

More Skincare - Face products