Aesop • Fabulous Face Oil • Skincare - Face

rated 4.3(24 reviews)

Average Rating.4.3
Would buy this product again.83%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 lauramvig on 7/23/2014 3:07:00 AM more reviews by lauramvig

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Love this! I have quite a few face oils but I use this one on the days I use my other Aesop products, it makes me feel like I've been at a spa.

Leaves skin lovely and moisturised, but not too greasy. Soaks in really well. Would definitely keep this around.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sweetfart on 6/29/2014 4:10:00 PM more reviews by sweetfart

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

1. How long have I used it? About two weeks now, as my sole day and night moisturizer.
2. Does it smell good? Nope. I would describe the scent as a cross between baby wipes and dead flowers at a funeral home.
3. What does it feel like? It is an oil, but immediately after applying it my skin did not feel like it had oil sitting on it. It kinda throws you off at first if you're used to other oily face oils that give you the greasy feel. At first, I thought I didn't apply enough but alas this stuff just isn't meant to give you the greasy feel. No shine at all, it almost looked matte. Weird. It's very thin.
4. Is it moisturizing? Good enough for my oily/combo skin, but if you have extremely dry skin with wrinkles I don't know if this will be enough for you. You might want a thicker face oil. I have problems with flakiness around the nostrils and this didn't really help with that. My skin did not feel *baby soft* when I woke up, like it does when I use Caudalie (which I don't like for other reasons), but it didn't feel rough and patchy like it usually does.
4. Does it improve skin? After the first few days of using it, I did indeed notice a smoother skin texture overall and my hyperpigmentation appeared calmer and less flared up. However, this was a difference that only I probably noticed. It was not drastic enough to give me porcelain skin. But yes, I did indeed see a difference. I will update this review if I notice more long term improvements. No breakouts with this.
5. How does oil control hold up during the day? Shockingly impressive. I almost gave up on the new face oil trend because I was using crappy cheap face oils that just made me greasy (i.e. any of the face oils at Sephora). But my face oil was regulated with Aesop, without having used a toner or serum beneath.
6. Should you buy it? If you can afford it yes but I wouldn't make it a priority in my budget because it didn't magically turn my skin perfect over night. I'll buy it again if I notice gradual improvements in my skin over time.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 allieong on 5/29/2014 11:53:00 PM more reviews by allieong

Age: 30-35   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Aesop Fabulous Oil is pretty fabulous.

Though I have been oil cleansing my face (as a 2 step cleanse) for the last 4 years, this is my first facial oil. Like many, I am initially skeptical of using oil on my acne prone face but now I am a convert. This oil is lightweight and it doesn't break me out, and for some reason I really like the scent.

I have been using this almost everyday for 3 months, and my normally congested skin is definitely clearer and should I get blemishes, they clear up rather quick. When used in the day, it kept my make up matte despite the sweltering heat and high humidity. Of cause this is not a miracle cure (but seriously what is?), I still get some congestions every now and then and it doesnt really fade my scars.

For night, I use about 3 drops as a serum before moisturing. For day, I mix in 1 drop into my day mosituriser or when I am using a tinited mosituriser, I use 3 drops & skip my regular day moisturer. If I have a blemish or a popped pimple, I will slather some oil over it. It heals much better & quicker than using a standard blemish gel. I know it is counterintuitive but it works.

Compared to many facial oils around, this is not cheap. But after using this for 3 months, twice a day almost everyday, it is only half gone. I think this is a great starter oil for those interested in adding oil into their skincare.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 emmab6756 on 2/21/2014 9:08:00 AM more reviews by emmab6756

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I really love facial oils for massage and rehydration over night and usually use the Clarins Blue Orchid oil, which I love. This one is far more expensive so it was a treat to try it and so far there are pros and cons. Firstly I hate the smell. To me the juniper is extremely strong and blended with the jasmine it is quite overpowering in a bad way. Smell is a personal thing though so others may love it. It is a very lightweight oil that doesn't feel heavy and greasy. 4 drops seems like the right measure for me. Initially I do get a red face on application with a slightly warm feeling...I am aware this is possibly a mild allergic reaction :( It does calm down though and I have noticed my skin has a lovely texture since I started using it. No break outs. The packaging is gorgeous, very decadent. I bought mine from the counter in Selfridge's and found the staff to be pretentious and rude. Overall I think it is a nice product but won't be repurchasing as it is outrageously expensive and I do not feel it is worth the extra cash above the Clarins.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* cherryme on 2/14/2014 2:42:00 AM more reviews by cherryme

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Such a pitty this oil didn't work for me!
It smells very nice though a bit overpowering in the first minutes but it goes away. It has a luxurious feeling, rich. It hydrates my skin and makes it plump and glowy BUT it gives me pimples and irritated skin! So it is not for me.
You should try it , maybe it works for you!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dizzychick1973 on 1/26/2014 7:07:00 AM more reviews by dizzychick1973

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Smells gorgeous and feels nourishing on the skin...I love using a couple of drops after my nightly serum in a pat pat motion, followed by moisturizer. My skin feels calm and beautifully hydrated in the morning. A bottle has lasted me over 3 months and I think it's an absolutely brilliant skin saviour, especially in drier months. Love it!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 boredtotears1 on 12/17/2013 5:14:00 AM more reviews by boredtotears1

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I really like this - the store assistant advised me that it would be good to mix with another moisturizer to give it a boost but I like it on its own - it sinks smoothly into the skin & leaves a matte finish- a little goes a long way. I've yet to use it long enough to see any long term benefits however..
A little pricey however , although Aesop is a lot cheaper in Australia where the brand originates from.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 littlemissmagic on 10/28/2013 2:30:00 PM more reviews by littlemissmagic

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I love facial oils, but at the beginning, I didn't love this. It didn't sink in as quickly, and in the morning, my skin didn't feel matte, just heavy. But then, I changed my application technique, and now I really love this product.

First, I take 3 drops onto clean fingers, and I rub them between both hands. I then press my fingers, depositing the oil on my forehead, nose, and cheeks. Using my fingers, I really massage the oil, spreading it from the centre of my face outwards and upwards, across the bridge of my eye brow, then down the sides of my neck under my ears. Basically, I'm trying to drain my lymphatic system. I make sure not to pull at my skin; with enough oil, my fingers glide on my face.

Immediately, redness has gone down, and the finish is matte. When I wake up, my skin feels soft and rested.

I love the ylang ylang aroma. I love the small, dark-glass pipette bottle that closes tightly, making it perfect for travel. It's such a pleasure to use this oil, but as I'm experimenting with different facial oils, I'm not sure I would repurchase. I have sensitive, oily-combination skin and after using this product for a year, I can definitely say that this is a great product.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Dianaphamfatale on 8/15/2013 4:54:00 AM more reviews by Dianaphamfatale

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

This oil is wonderful and it really does clear up and decongest your skin. I haven't tried many other oils, but I'm sticking to this so far. It works for me, and I love it. It doesn't break out, and is great for sensitive skin. I may be a little expensive, but if you can afford it, then go for it. I'm on my second bottle!

Also, note - you're not going to notice improvements straight away. I only started to notice how great and different my skin looked after 3 months of using it. It takes time, like most good things.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miele2007 on 5/2/2013 10:39:00 AM more reviews by miele2007

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

So far, so good. The ingredients remind me of a cross between an oil regulating product such as Decleor's Hazelnut & Ylang-Ylang oil and a more moisturizing one like Rodin. It seems to be the best of both worlds. My skin isn't breaking out, and yet it feels more hydrated than when I was only using the Decleor. The price and bottle are neither Whole Foods crunchy nor Barneys chic. It really does seem to be the Yin Yang of face oils! EDIT - It did break me out after all. I wound up giving it to a friend and have been using the Tatcha Camellia face oil, which, thankfully my skin adores.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Aesop products

More Skincare - Face products