NYX • Jumbo Eye Shadow Pencil - Milk • Eye Shadow

rated 4.2(575 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.85%
Ingredients


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* KatieRoxx on 12/16/2014 7:37:00 PM more reviews by KatieRoxx

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

As I work through NYX products, I'm finding them to be either fantastic or kind of duds. This one, despite the rave reviews, was a dud for me. But at least it was a very cheap dud. At $4.50, I picked it up for 50% off when I purchased an NYX powder blush (which, fortunately, was not a dud). I got this to try it out as a shadow base, and I also had read some of the reviews on here were people with dark circles were saying it was as good, or better than, many concealers and corrector creams to cover up dark circles. Not so… at least not for me. My skin is not oily. It runs normal to dry. Milk Shadow Pencil just did not apply creamy or spread smoothly at all. I have pretty fair skin, but as a corrector for dark circles, this did not help hide the dark circles and just showed up wayyyyy too stark white under my eyes. I tried it as a shadow base for some colors that were not particularly bright (a very pale dove grey and a slightly shimmery platinum shadow). It did not seem to make the shadow adhere any better. I'll give it another shot as a shadow base for some very bright colors I just purchased and see if it helps those colors pop at all, but it takes a lot of effort to get it to spread smoothly and by that time, it's almost as if you have wiped half of the product off your lid. But for $2.25, if it doesn't work, it's no great loss. Although I have not done it yet, this also looks to be a pain to sharpen. I wish this was an automatic, but if they offered it that way, the price would likely go up.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 geekymakeup on 11/21/2014 11:06:00 AM more reviews by geekymakeup

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

This is a great product for hardly any money. It glides on smoothly does not pull or tug on the eye. It blends in smoothly. I use it in the corner of my eye to give me the wide open refreshed eye look. Make sure to purchase the NYX sharpener since it is very difficult to find a sharper for this eye pencil.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Andi2010 on 11/7/2014 11:37:00 PM more reviews by Andi2010

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

NYX Milk is quite the cult product and has certainly proved useful in my make-up collection. It's not a daily product for me as I find even with a good primer when used all over the eyelid as a base colour my shadows tend to be creased quite moderately by the end of the day.

Makes a great inner corner highlight and if used with a light hand makes a good lower eye liner to perk up tired looking eyes, though you just want to feather it on as it's quite a thick pencil and has a tendency to gloop in lower lashes if you are not careful.

These pencils last for ages, will sharpen with any jumbo sharpener, the lids do crack quickly though for the price its not a big deal. I think anyone would find Milk to prove useful in their collection.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kbam17 on 11/1/2014 8:52:00 PM more reviews by kbam17

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Through a lot of trial and error I've found that this is an indispensable part of my make-up kit. I use it daily on my dark under eye circles to counteract the depth of color as well as for a matte brow bone highlight. When I venture into colorful shadow territory or want my shimmers to really pop, I also use this on the center of my lid. In short, Milk is amazing. My only gripe is that the cap cracks too easy, but it's a small annoyance for an otherwise awesome product. Also – as a tip – when using it on your lid try to use a light hand and sheer it out well otherwise it will likely crease slightly by the end of the day.

Pros:
* intensifies shadows used on top
* alleviates dark circles (when used under concealer)
* very creamy
* easy to apply
* decent amount of product
* great price point

Cons:
* cap breaks easily (I fixed with masking tape)
* not clear that it needs to be sharpened (I almost broke it trying to twist it up)
* needs larger sharpener

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 marissaxx98 on 9/19/2014 9:00:00 PM more reviews by marissaxx98

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

With all the hype this product has received I expected it to be my new HG eye shadow primer/base. Well, it is definitely not that. I wear makeup from 6am to 9pm and I would like it look at least somewhat decent by the end of the day. With this product my eyelids are a creased mess by 3pm. So disappointing! I really, really wanted to love this but it just doesn't do a good enough job for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 xKandixRaverx on 8/17/2014 4:34:00 AM more reviews by xKandixRaverx

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I picked it up, thinking it would be a good cheap base for my neon eyeshadows. It creases quite a lot even if I use a primer (Urban Decay Primer Potion, if it helps). It does a good job of brightening up the inner corners of the eyes and lining the waterline though. 7/10. Would purchase again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Laurenloveslife08 on 8/16/2014 10:32:00 AM more reviews by Laurenloveslife08

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I absolutely adore this product!!!! It's a soft white that makes a perfect base and for me it was really easy to blend. It's a fairly reasonable price too. Although its hard to sharpen once the tip starts to wear down it still works just fine. I love using it as a base and along my waterline it just brightens things up so much! Defiantly going to repurchase:)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 mscourty on 8/14/2014 5:50:00 PM more reviews by mscourty

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

Great product for such a low price! I use it as an eyeshadow primer and a highlighter on my brow bone The only downside I've found is that it can be a mission to find a sharpener big enough!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 akPhilly on 7/30/2014 3:31:00 PM more reviews by akPhilly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Seriously a must have for any makeup kit, at a fantastic price! This product is so versatile. I've used it for so many different things-as an eyeshadow base, which it's fantastic under bright colors & really makes them pop (though I wouldn't suggest using it just on it's own as a base as it may crease-over eye primer it won't though), to line my waterline, & I've also applied it with an eyeliner brush, then layered eyeshadow over it to create a colored winged liner look. I've also even used it as a base to make lipcolors-I'll just apply it to my lips, then apply a pigment or eyeshadow over it. You can literally have any lipcolor you want then. Which I love-I see all these fantastic looking crazy colored pastel & bright lipsticks lately but don't wear colors like that very often, so now I don't have to spend any extra money on lipsticks I may only use once in awhile. It glides on easily & has a nice creamy texture.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 foxbaby on 7/16/2014 11:41:00 AM more reviews by foxbaby

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I love love LOVE this product! I think the packaging is attractive, and the product is really nice quality for the cheap price. It's like a large white crayon I've wanted this for the longest time and never got around to ordering it until a few weeks ago. I ordered mine from the Ulta website for about $2.

Pros:
- cute packaging
- highly pigmented
- doesn't break the bank!
- multiple uses
- good consistency
- easy to apply and blend
- long lasting

Cons:
- none!

USE ON THE WATERLINE:
I'm a huge fan of the dolly eyes look, or using a white shadow/liner on the bottom waterline in order to make the eyes appear larger. I have gone through my fair share of white eyeliner duds and this one is anything but. It is highly pigmented and easy to apply. And if you're like me and not used to a larger pencil, it is easy to blend out so it doesn't look like you put wayyyy too much on by accident (even though you did). If you're looking for a more subtle, natural look, this pencil also has a nice brightening effect when applied to the inner corners of the eyes.

USE ON THE EYELID:
This is a useful product in the way that it can be used as an eyeshadow primer as well as an eyeliner. When used as an eyeshadow primer, I feel that it stays/works better if you have already applied foundation or another primer on your lids. The white pigment helps to intensify the colors of the eyeshadows and also helps them last longer. Worth it!

Overall, I give this product 5 lippies and I will definitely buy this again!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More NYX products

More Eye Shadow products