LUSH • Aromaco Deodorant • Deodorants

rated 3.3(56 reviews)

Average Rating.3.3
Would buy this product again.53%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 Whitelily84 on 4/12/2014 2:13:00 PM more reviews by Whitelily84

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Blue    

I actuallly like this product, but it's not nice in use. I never had problems with any odors or excessive sweating. Since using aromaco I really need to use two products, I like a base layer of aromaco in the morning and reapply with Weleda deo. It applies nicer if wet, but it get very hard after every use until you just don't get any product on your skin. The best you can do is scrape a layer away. After that it works very wel. Unfortunately by scraping a layer a day you throw way too much product away. Considering that, the price is not that great.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 mamma30 on 3/18/2014 6:45:00 PM more reviews by mamma30

Age: 36-43   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

I so wanted to like this but I so hated it . In fact it's the first ever beauty buy that I have have thrown into the bin after the first day's use . I hate the smell for me it just smelt horribly bad , some reviewers like the fragrance but I did not at all . I probably would have persevered a bit longer if it had been effective . , however I smelt the horrid fragrance mixed with stinky BO on my clothes at the end of the day . I'm sticking with my lovely soapwalla deodorant !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 LenaPena on 3/14/2014 2:54:00 PM more reviews by LenaPena

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Used this fore some time now and I have no rash, irritated skin and it doesn't itch. I really like the fragrance it's not to masculine for me. What I do is hold it for a short time under running warm water and use it. Sometimes there are small hard parts in it but I just remove it with my finger or a spoon.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 jordynnia on 2/26/2014 11:15:00 AM more reviews by jordynnia

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I absolutley love Lush, but I will never ever buy this product again. I got it in the first place because I wanted a natural deoderant, i'm getting over putting things in/on my body that have all kinds of chemicals in them. First off, in my whole 20 years of being alive, I have never had a problem with sweaty underarms or any body oder. I just hardly ever sweat, and if I do it doesn't smell like anything but this product immediately made my underarms very sticky and kind of wet, which caused them to sweat almost constantly. And for some reason, the sweat stinks, after wearing it for only a few hours I have stinky and sweaty underarms. This deoderant did the 100% exact opposite of what deoderants are supposed to do. I only gave it one star because I enjoy the smell of the deoderant. But I do not recommend this to anyone who doesn't have any problems with their underarms and just wants a natural deoderant because it will make you sweat and stink. I'm very disappointed with this product.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FaceofMaleah on 8/12/2013 6:35:00 PM more reviews by FaceofMaleah

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Very Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Red, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This deodorant and I really weren't compatible at all. I bought a 100g chunk for $6.95 (if I remember correctly which is quite a nice price since most deodorants are under 45g and cost the same amount. I really did love the smell of the patchouli, as I adore earthy scents and I loved that it was a solid stick so no need to wait for it to try of having to worry about it melting. I wasn't a massive fan of the fact that Lush didn't provide any additional packaging and you just have to put the deodorant on using your hands which makes your hands quite...sticky for lack of a better word. So all this sounds great but now to were the real stuff matters....I didn't expect this to be an antiperspirant but I did expect some amount of odour control and within about an hour or applying it, my pits stank. I do sweat in excess but I do expect a deodorant to not allow me to go rank in an hour. The real dealbreaker for me though was that this deodorant gave me the most horrible red rash on my underarms. I did a bit of looking in to it and discovered that it was the baking soda in the recipe that did that to my underarms and a lot of other people had the same problem. Since so many people experience skin discomfort with baking soda, I am kind of surprised that Lush would include it as one of their ingredients despite its odour controlling properties. I've just started making my own deodorant at home now that doesn't contain all of those harmful chemicals and am having a lot more success. My boyfriend is absolutely in love with this deodorant but I personally do not recommend this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lewellenkelli on 7/14/2013 12:51:00 AM more reviews by Lewellenkelli

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

I've been using this deodorant for about a month and have used about 1/3 to 1/2 my 3.5 oz bar. This deodorant does not keep you from sweating, it might help a little but that's not really what it was made for. This is two keep you from smelling bad. It works, my problem is the to me the smell of the deodorant is almost as bad as my own B.o. A very herbal pachouli smell. Just not my thing. I've started laying it with lush coconut powder and it been a great combo. I believe I sweat more then the normal person and this combo keeps the stink and sweat away all day.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 keewee88 on 6/28/2013 12:09:00 PM more reviews by keewee88

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I've been looking for an aluminum-free deodorant option for a while now. I used to use one by Adidas, but I havent been able to find it in a while. I was finding that lower aluminum deodorants faded too quickly on me and the higher aluminum content irritated my skin. (not to mention that I hated the idea of using more aluminum.)

I was a bit skeptical about Aromaco, but got the associate to cut me a small piece (about $7 worth) and took it home.

And it works. I dont know why, i dont know how - but it works... I find that it goes on easier if i either leave my pits slightly damp after my shower or lightly wet the edge of the bar and always go 'with the grain' when applying. I've had no pain and honestly, i think the skin on my pits looks a bit nicer than it used to. I've been using it for a week and with my old deo, I would start to get a bit stinky by the end of the day if i didnt reapply. This week, despite 90°, high humidity, and long walks with my dog, i've barely noticed any stinkiness at all - and i've not had to reapply even once.

The patchouli scent is a bit strong - I didn't totally mind it, but my husband hated it... I've since purchased Lush's Coconut deodorant powder and layer that on top of the Aromaco and its perfect! No aluminum, no odor, no dirty hippy smell - wins all around!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Dengail on 6/26/2013 6:45:00 AM more reviews by Dengail

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

This worked ok to prevent odor for about 24 hours or a bit less. After that I could start to smell some breakthrough odor. Sometimes I shower in the morning one day and the next in the evening, and I need a booster during the day. I use a lot of Lush products and the scent goes well with all of them so I will probably try one of their other deodorants next time. Goes on clean and smooth the bar hasn't crumbled or anything, just not quite the strength I need.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 NMitchel on 6/25/2013 4:16:00 PM more reviews by NMitchel

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I am allergic to a lot of deodorants. I have used almost every brand / product out there, including that all natural crystal that you get wet and wipe under your pits. I also sweat rather heavily in the summer or when I work out, and really all I wanted was for something to cut the smell. Having tried almost everything in both my grocery store's regular and organic section, I decided to go to Lush.

I explained my problem to the SA and she recommended Aromaco for me. The block I got was 110 grams and just under $8. The scent was a little strong and at first my mum didn't like it, she's not a huge patchouli fan, but I got it anyway. Once I purchased it I instantly ran to a washroom and put it on. It's been a week now and I have not had any reaction to this, I am over the moon. On top of this the scent isn't that strong once you put it on (and my mum said it smells a lot better on me than by itself) and it lasts all day and through a workout. I am in love, I will definitely be repurchasing this.

I keep my block in a ziplock container and also with some saran wrap and it hasn't dried out on me, it also does not feel painful at all to put on.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* galai_curryqueen9830 on 3/4/2013 12:32:00 AM more reviews by galai_curryqueen9830

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I was curious and was looking for a natural/paraben/aluminum free deodorant so I popped by LUSH. The SA was kind enough to give me a sample block for free just to try out. At first, I didn't think the scent was too bad, but after applying it after showering, I realized how strong the scent is. It's not a pleasant scent either unless you have a very distinct taste for strong fragrances. Apparently the witchhazel in this is suppose to minimize pores, which may result in sweating less - making this an anti-perspirant.
I applied this after I showered, on clean skin and after 5 minutes, it still feels like my underarms are kind of sticky. My fingers definitely got sticky from rubbing the product into the skin. Obviously this didn't go onto my skin as smoothly as other regular stick deodorants would because this is in the shape of the block. Also, this dries out if left lying around and so I would recommend storing this in a ziploc bag which makes it kind of inconvenient. On my first spplication, some bits broke off as I was applying it so that's kind of annoying too since a little goes a long way.
PROs:
- paraben & aluminum free
- acts as antiperspirant because of witchhazel

CONSs:
- expensive $6 for 100g
- smells too strong
- kind of sticky feeling
- dry pieces break off
- dries out if left open in the air
- hard to get, not every mall has a LUSH

I definitely will not be purchasing this.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Deodorants products