Sally Hansen • French Manicure - Sheerly Mauve • Polishes

rated 3.2(10 reviews)

Average Rating.3.2
Would buy this product again.60%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 Octobercutie888 on 11/12/2012 11:34:00 AM more reviews by Octobercutie888

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I use this on my toes and i notice alot of bad reviews of the product and i don't see why. Alot of people might be applying it wrong i add the white first and then the mauve coloring. If you put it to thick it will come out goopy and bubbly. Love Sally products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 jill28 on 3/2/2010 9:21:00 AM more reviews by jill28

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Blond, Straight   Eyes: Blue    

This french manicure set can look really great...but you have to do it right. I've tried this product several times in different ways tryign to find how I can get the best result.
**I've noticed from other reviews here that people seem to be applying the polish first and then putting on the white tip, but you should be doing it the other way around.


Here's the steps I use to get the best results:


1. Apply a clear coat to nails (I do not use the Sally Hansen clear coats because they are very bubbly)


2. Use stick on guides and paint on white tips. Note: Do not layer on a lot of white nail polish because it makes it really obvious you did it at home with a guide. A nice thin layer is all you need.


3. Peel of stick on guides only when the white tip is COMPLETELY dry. You take the risk of messing it up if you do not wait.


4. Apply the sheer nude polish that came in the package, use two coats if desired or if you find it streaky, but mine looked great after one coat.


5. Wait until completely dryand then apply clear coat (Again, I don't use the Sally Hansen clear coats because this is where I got a lot of bubbles that made my nails look horrible.)


This lasted me a good 4 days before I had even a little chip. Very impressive! But I take off 1 lippie because it's very hard to perfect :)
Hope this helped!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 yymoz on 6/7/2009 11:56:00 PM more reviews by yymoz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This products is terrible!! I was looking to buy something a little more long lasting than the pen by Sally Hansen for manicured nails but geez how wrong was I by getting this product. The colors are really nice and thought it would give a natural appereance of manicured nails. I was totally wrong. I first applied the pinkish color and right then I knew I had made a bad purchase. The consitency of the nail polish is very thick and leaves a very streaky look. If you try to give it another coat it looks even worse. The white tip applicator is ok not too bad but I don't know what they made these products out of, glue???? they're very thick and not worth buying. The only good thing about this product is the clear nail polish.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 blueirisjazz on 8/4/2008 1:54:00 PM more reviews by blueirisjazz

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I really don't like this product. I bought it because I can't do French manicures without little stick on guides, so it seemed convenient to buy the polish and guides together. But there's one big problem: the nail polish is terrible! Sally nail polish usually isn't that bad, but this one was watery, the brush was too small, and went on horribly unevenly. I'd recommend getting the stick on guides separately, and then using sally hard as nails or other polish instead. I won't be buying this again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Gabriel679 on 10/18/2007 1:06:00 PM more reviews by Gabriel679

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

I like this polish set- the colors are sheer and nice, and go on easy- but I am going to not use the guides anymore- they leave a ridge of white pen polish on the nails and look weird, as well as smear the color at times. Really, with the pen, it's pretty easy to do (with a little practice) on your own with no guides. I also don't always use the base coat- it seems to make my nails take longer to dry- but that's just me.

Not as good as a salon manicure, but a heck of a lot cheaper.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 kayoi on 9/23/2007 9:11:00 PM more reviews by kayoi

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

Last time I was in the drugstore I found a Sally Hansen french manicure KIT It comes with a bottle of top/base coat, a bottle of the sheerly mauve and then the white part comes in a pen. The pen worked really well. I've only used it twice so I'm not sure how long it'll take to dry out but it made it so easy to get a straight line. They give you those stupid white strips too but honestly it was easier without it. Definitely worth trying.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 wy_nike on 11/28/2006 4:49:00 AM more reviews by wy_nike

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

i got this in sheer romance as a gift. it's alright really. using the strips to get a french manicure isnt easy, and when i remove the strips (those stickers that came with the nail poloishes), it leaves a ridge of hardened polish between. which is ugly. and a straight giveaway that these nails werent done by the professionals. so.. i'd rather pay someone to do my nails for me. but when im low on budget, i'll use this set, but without the strips. i find that it looks better that way. but u have to have a pair of steady hands, of course! so my nails only look nice from afar. haha~ =)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 chillywilly7992 on 9/23/2006 9:43:00 PM more reviews by chillywilly7992

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

My aunt game me a french manicure with this same polish, and I liked it so I decided to buy it so I can do them more often. Overall, I think it's very nice, execpt one thing. Not long after I bought it, the white tip polish started to get very thick. Now its clumpy and thick. It hasn't even been a year yet. But overall I'll prolly buy it again. I also love the sheerly mauve color, its wonderful!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Kahani on 12/13/2005 10:46:00 AM more reviews by Kahani

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

First off a disclaimer: Sally Hansen is an overpriced and pricey brand here in Malaysia - or at least for Malaysians. I wouldn't have been so pleased with this set if I had not bought it on sale at a hefty discount. However, the quality IS higher than most of the other drugstore nail polishes.



Now, here's how I made this French Manicure kit work for me.



1. Because I'm Asian, Naturel Mauve, although a really pretty colour, was too pale for me and made me look anaemic.So I painted a thin sheer layer of Sally Hansen's "Pure Putty" (another fave shade of mine), creating a wash of natural pink that looks amazing on my hands. Let dry.



2. Then I applied the nail guides (yes they do work! But I'll admit that Sally Hansen's are the first I've tried that work) making sure I followed my natural nail curve and pressing down firmly especially on the edges of my nail.



3. I then applied Naturel White at a slant from the outer corner towards the middle of the nail. I let dry, then touched up the middle. (If you try touching up when the white is still wet, the middle streaks).



4. Let dry completely. Remove the nail guides. Voila, perfect!



5. Yes, the Naturel Mauve shade is too opaque and it streaks, so I thinned it down until I could apply a sheer, streak-free wash. This mutes down the contrast between the white and the pink, making it look more natural and polished. I got this idea from a manicurist who used Essie's Mademoiselle in the same way.



6. Allow to dry completely and apply a top coat. I usually wait a day before applying another layer protective top coat.



Hope that helps!



    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beauty_junkie_04 on 4/19/2005 10:17:00 AM more reviews by beauty_junkie_04

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

If this polish were a little more sheer, it would be a nice French manicure color. But it's a bit too opaque and thick to give a "natural" appearance to nails.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No




More Sally Hansen products

More Polishes products