Olay Sensitive Skin Foaming Face Wash

4.0

512 reviews

75% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.0

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Water , Glycerin ,Sodium Myristoyl Sarcosinate, PEG-120 Methyl Glucose Dioleate , Sodium Lauroamphoacetate , Aloe Barbadensis Leaf Juice , Polyquaternium-10 , PEG-150 Pentaerythrityl Tetrastearate , Glycol Distearate , Sodium Laureth Sulfate , Cocamide MEA , Laureth-10 , Disodium Lauroamphodiacetate , Sodium Trideceth Sulfate , Citric Acid , Disodium EDTA , Phenoxyethanol , DMDM Hydantoin. 6/25/12


on 8/4/2015 11:20:00 AM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Grey

Not bad. Not the greatest, but not bad.
Obviously, I appreciate the 'sensitive skin' aspect, as many products tend to break me out (even some labelled as being for 'sensitive skin'). I get no irritation from this. Really no scent, maybe if anything a very mild 'clean' scent.

This however, I find does not clean 100%, beyond the surface skin. I find it really does not remove makeup very well. I often have to go back over with a cotton round and my Boots sensitive skin toner and I still see makeup on the cotton round. And yes, I use plenty of cleanser and foam it up a while on my skin and rinse it really well. It just, for me, ime, just gets the very surface of the skin. Also on hot humid days here (we are in the dog days of Summer here), I find the same thing happens on days that I wear no makeup, I still get oil/dirt appearing on the toner-applied-cotton-round after using this.

I am thinking this will be great for Wintertime, when my skin needs a gentler cleanser. I just often do not feel like my skin is completely clean after using this. But, bear in mind, I tend to be oily, too. So I think if you've got dry or combo skin, this might work really well for you. I will keep it and use it for the Winter, because I have been having trouble finding cleansers in the Winter that do not dry my skin out. Also, as I said, I appreciate that this does not irritate my skin (or nose) and does not break me out. So, I am okay to 'need' a toner or a separate cleaning scrub afterward with this. Some days, you just have to up the cleansing routine, anyway!!

That all said, I marked no, I would not re-purchase. I will stick with my Boots Sensitive Gentle Cleansing Wash, which, imo and ime, removes makeup better than this and removes oil better than this, and does not irritate my skin (although, in the Winter, the Boots even seems a little 'too harsh' for me..ahh, it is a catch-22 situation, sometimes!!!)

I did give it 4 stars because I see potential with this and I appreciate a product that truly does not irritate the skin as it claims being for sensitive skin. Not a bad cleanser, just not the greatest!! I guess maybe it is hard to be for sensitive skin and yet still get a deep-down clean..? But in this day and age, it should be possible, right..?



on 7/30/2015 7:30:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Update: I spoke too soon (original review below). Apparently my skin had a 3-day honeymoon with this product, then on day 4 I woke up with rashy-looking skin and tons of whiteheads and clogged pores. There is a feeling of the cleanser not washing completely off, so I'm guessing the film/residue it left behind clogged my pores and gave me pimples. Sad, since the product is cheap, gentle, and easy to use. Still, I can't give a good rating to a product that causes breakouts.

Original review: I purchased this product a week ago after looking for a gentle face wash that would still remove makeup and seeing a lot of positive reviews on here. And wow, I'm so glad I did! This face wash is gentle, has no fragrance that I can detect, comes in convenient squeezy-tube packaging, is cheap (I paid $3.99 USD at Fred Meyer), and a little seems to go a long way. I have sensitive, acne-prone skin and after using this for a few days my skin is calm and soft and even has fewer breakouts! I'm guessing my old face wash was irritating my skin too much, so I feel silly for not having tried this sooner! My face is definitely happier now. :-)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 7/17/2015 4:24:00 PM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This is my staple face wash. I have acne prone skin that gets irritated with many products, so I was looking for a gentle facewash to use with my Clarisonic Mia to take off the full face of makeup everyday without irritating my skin. This easily takes it right off, and you really do feel clean and refreshed after every wash. It doesn't hurt to try, especially with it's amazing price. About to go buy my third!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Acne-prone, Medium Brown, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I have acne prone skin and I wanted a product that wouldn't dry out my skin or cause any break outs . This product works great. It feels like lotion on the skin and has no scent . I wear full coverage makeup almost daily and with a good amount of this product it takes it all off without scrubbing . Overall I like this product.


on 5/23/2015 10:19:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Packaging / Pricing - Not the prettiest packaging, but for the price it was functional. No issues with the pump. Good enough.

Product - I tried this product based on the high MUA and Paula's Beautypedia ratings. For 2 months, I used it to wash my face. It worked well to wash off makeup and was gentle enough on my very sensitive skin (Eczema), however it has one major disadvantage. It stung my eyes badly, which resulted in red/dry eyes. So, although it met my basic expectations of cleansing my skin gently, sore eyes are not worth a re-purchase.


on 5/11/2015 1:58:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I was looking for a gentle cleanser that would bring back the softness of my skin bc the last cleanser I used (Neutrogena Stubborn Acne Cleanser) dried out my face out so badly even though I have oily skin. My skin was flaky and rough. It looked terrible. Then I saw this on Paula's Choice with a high rating. I bought it and immediately loved it because my skin was no longer rough and flaky after I used this cleanser. However, it didn't rid my moderate acne which I didn't expect it to, but I think it clogged my pores on my forehead. I used this cleanser a little over a month and it really is gentle, but because it clogged my pores, I won't be repurchasing this. Btw it stings when it gets in your eyes :x


Age: 36-43

Skin: Sensitive, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

All time favorite cleanser. It is one of the least expensive facial cleansers on the market, especially if you are using coupons and stocking up during sales. It does a great job of washing off all my makeup. It leaves my face feeling clean, but not stripped. After washing with this my skin feels clean, but not tight and dry. I used to have very frequent, or constant, acne breakouts before discovering this face wash. I tried so many harsh face washes, toners, astringents, etc., that were marketed for acne prone skin. I think they all exacerbated the problem. This cleanser is just perfect. It cleans, but does not irritate.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.


Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I bought this based on the frequent recs from the skin care board. However I neglected to recall in my previous trial and error that I discovered glycerin does not agree with my skin. For me it clogs me like the dickins and makes a mess of my face. This cleanser is no exception, with regular use I get blackheads and all forms of clogging. If you do not have a glycerin issue, this really is a lovely gentle basic cleanser. It is always mentioned on the SC board and the other reviews speak for its praise also.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/17/2015 4:34:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I love this face wash, I have been using it for a year. I've got sensitive skin with what I'm pretty sure is mild rosacea, acne prone, dries out easily but can get oily too when out of balance or when using the wrong products in the sticky, hot summer months. For awhile I used creamy washes because lots of stuff would leave my face feeling tight and end up drying it out. Even the supposed holy grail Purpose Gentle cleanser for sensitive skin left my face feeling tight. So many foamy cleansers leave my face feeling like that. With some creamier ones I tried, I felt my face would feel oilier by the end of the day or become more prone to blemishes. But not with this Olay one. And my face is still left feeling clean. It's like a perfect balance that gives me the benefits of both the foaming and cream types. It's because glycerin is a top ingredient - my skin seems to love it. ( I noticed that though with other products before even trying this cleanser.) Plus, I use it to clean around my eyes in the shower and don't experience stinging. It's fairly cheap as well.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.


on 3/28/2015 11:24:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

This cleanser is AMAZING. For years I've been looking for a good one for sensitive skin, constantly looking at reviews, and I finally found this one.It cleanses your face, leaving it smooth and radiant. It won't affect your face negatively in any way whatsoever.TRY IT, best one out there trust me.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


Back to Top