Derma E • Hyaluronic Acid Rehydrating Serum • Treatments

rated 3.7(15 reviews)

Average Rating.3.7
Would buy this product again.73%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 2 of 5 yanyan262 on 1/30/2014 1:52:00 PM more reviews by yanyan262

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I found out about hyaluronic acid a few years ago and found that it's the best moisturizer for me, softens fine lines and minimizes the pores. I mostly use the Japanese brands like Hada Lobo. I found Derma E and gave it a try because in general I have more confidence in US made products. Alas, it did not hydrate at all. It made my skin drying even. Will not buy it again.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* scopingforyou on 11/4/2012 11:42:00 PM more reviews by scopingforyou

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

PROS: This feels wonderfully nourishing going on. Remember this is not a moisturizer. If you want a moisturizer on top of this, you still need to use a separate moisturizer. The price is right, especially if you get it somewhere like Vitacost. Paraben free. It has a smell that is from the Plumeria blossom. When I saw that in the reviews, I thought I would hate the product. The scent is somehow quite tolerable (and perhaps even enjoyable). That really surprised me because I normally hate floral scents, even in perfume. But it's mild and soft and fades very fast. Sort of plumps my skin up (as much as a product can) and helps with wrinkles. But I also use other moisturizer. I like to use this when I already get enough moisture from my spf lotion in the morning. But it would be great for someone who doesn't want a heavy cream but still wants to control flakes/dryness. Natural ingredients. Doesn't bother my sensitive skin.


CONS: As someone mentioned, it probably should not be in a clear container if it contains Vitamin C, which it does. But I don't keep my bottle near the sunlight, anyway. I think the cones in this might be clogging me.


ALTERNATES: I like the night cream version of this.


PURCHASING TIPS: I can get this cheaper through places like Vitacost.com

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 theanginator on 1/23/2012 2:31:00 AM more reviews by theanginator

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Relaxed   Eyes: Blue    

I purchased this after using a glycolic that made my face turn beet red and also super dry. I was drawn to the ingredients which included at the top of the list glycerin, sodium hyaluronate (the salt form of hyaluronic acid), and vitamin C as well as some other non irritating ingredients. Overall I really like this stuff. It's marketed as a serum but because it's water based it feels more like an ultra light moisturizer than a serum. I would have to say this isn't something that would work miracles as a stand alone but does pair nicely with a moisturizer if you're looking for extra hydration. The one thing I don't like is the clear packaging since it contains vitamin C which needs to be kept away from light. If someone had severely oily skin I could see how this would work well as a stand alone light moisturizer. I will definitely purchase this again if I continue to have dry skin.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 wobblejelly on 4/27/2010 10:44:00 PM more reviews by wobblejelly

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Black    

I've been using this for a month and like it so far. The pump dispenses just the right amt for my face. It is quickly absorbed and doesn't feel greasy.
Like the smell too. After using it for 2 week, I could see the effect, skins feels smoother and more pumped up.
But I would monitor for a while as sadly, most products I have used in the past always seem to lose its magical effects after a while (maybe its psychological). For the moment, my verdict is Yes I will buy it again.

Edited 10 June 2010. It's been 2 months since I used this. Still liking it so yes, I will buy it again definitely. :-)

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 luluthediva on 2/22/2010 12:03:00 PM more reviews by luluthediva

Age: 44-55   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

Although the price was dirt cheap on vitacost.com, I'm on the fence about buying it again. The pump works great but be careful the first time you use it, otherwise you'll get it all over the counter. 1-2 pumps is enough to cover my face and neck. This is the last thing I put on during my nighttime routine. Since I have oily skin, I've only used this product during the fall-winter seasons when my skin tends to become a bit dry. I've read that gels/serums are great for oily skin and cremes are good for dry skin. I like the fact Derma E doesn't use parabens of any kind. I'm just wondering if there is something else out there that I can use during all seasons.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* lchoe on 1/15/2010 8:57:00 AM more reviews by lchoe

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I was excited to try this natural line and I purchased this on iherb.com (very good website btw) along with the 1) DMAE-Alpha Lipoic C ester Creme and 2) Ester C Serum. This product was the least offensive of the 3.


The texture of this product was fine (unlike the disgusting goopy, home brewish texture of the vitamin C creme and serum) and I always like a sanitary pump application but I found this product absolutely INEFFECTIVE. My skin did not feel any extra moisture after using this so I promptly returned this.


The only effective Hyaluronic Acid Product I have found is from Cosmedicine. Cosmedicine uses a patented Sodium Hyaluronate Crosspolymer (holds 4,000 - 5,000x its own weight in water) vs. Hyaluronic Acid which (supposedly) retains up to 1,000 times its weight in water. I have tried a variety of Hyaluronic acid products and I found none of them showing any improvement in my dry skin except for Cosmedicine's products (Private Nurse to be specific).


I am Korean, 43 years old. I have combination skin (dry in winter, slightly oily in summer however very prone to plugged pores and occasional breakouts). I use: Natura Bisse, Perricone MD, Jurlique, Jan Marini, Cosmedicine, DHC Olive Oil Cleanser, and MD Forte Cleanser II & III.

9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* inneroracle on 11/3/2009 9:37:00 AM more reviews by inneroracle

Age: 36-43   Skin: Sensitive, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I bought this after buying the baby quasar power pack. I was going to use it before using the baby quasar. I also used it at night a few times. I think it is a good product. It goes on the skin after cleansing, and it sinks in. It is very light. No complaints. I think it would be too light for me as an overall moisturizer though.

As soon as I get more advice about what to use/what order/how to use my Jan Marini, this product, baby quasar, clarisonic and "what not to do's", I will probably incorporate this back into my skincare routine.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 karen137972 on 8/22/2009 3:18:00 PM more reviews by karen137972

Age: 44-55   Skin: Normal, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

One of those items that just collects dust on my vanity. I used this for about three months at night and there were no noticeable results. Waste of $$$$$

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 tthurmond on 6/30/2009 5:58:00 PM more reviews by tthurmond

Age: 36-43   Skin: Acne-prone, Tan   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

FYI - This is actually called Derma E Hyaluronic Acid Hydrating Serum.
I've been using this for about ten months now and will continue. I had read it can be used alone for oily/acne prone skin and can be paired with a moisturizer for non-oily skin. I bought this to help plump the areas of my face where there are acne scars, but it is so much more: I use it as my daily moisturizer in the a.m. and in the p.m. and whenever i need a little soothing hydration after a glycolic peel or when the Retin A causes me to peel. . . Great stuff!

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* bmichlig on 9/26/2008 12:01:00 PM more reviews by bmichlig

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Warm   Hair: Red, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Green    

I just got this to try to deal with some flaking form my retin A cream and to help soften fine lines around my 40 year old eyes. I had read reviews here and at drugstore.com lamenting that this product balled up on the skin, thus interfering with makeup application and whatever other product you might apply on top. I tried this first at nght, so as to avoid any balling up issues. It worked great - my skin felt very soft and hydrated and comfortable. When I work in the morning, I was quite surprised to find that although my face felt dewey, it was not oily or shiny at all. I'm such an oily girl, this is a serious rarity, even my RetinA makes me oily!

Anyway, I applied this the next morning with caution, worried that it would ball up. I applied this over bare skin that had been exfoliated, cleansed, and toned with dermE papaya soy milk toner ( a freebie from drugstore.com, with my derma E order). It slipped right into my skin, didn't feel greasy at all. Tentaively I applied my Lorac Oil Free Neutralizer (an HG product for me!). Usually I mix the Neutralizer with my sunblock, tinted moisturizer or serum because it can be hard to blend on its own. Strangely, even though there was quite a bit of drag on my skin as I smoothed the Neutralizer around, the HA serum really held its own. No balling, no creasing. I then was able to apply my creme compact fdtn (Nixie oil free perfect finish in red neutralizer 1) with my damp beauty blender, and it all just came together seamlessly! No creasing, no balling, and such wonderful long wear WITH OIL CONTROL! I'm usually shiny by noon - nothing fixes that, n mattifier has ever produced results enough for me to finish the product. I'm just a shiny girl, that's it. But this combo was nearly miraculous - my skin was fresh looking, unshiny, and FLAKE FREE! even at the end of the day, when I washed it all off.

I'm hooked - I love the dermE Hyaluronic Acid Firming Serium - it's a great price, too, for the quantity.

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Derma E products

More Treatments products