Revlon Super Lustrous Creme - Black Cherry 477

4.1

124 reviews

79% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

Package Quality: 4.1

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS



on 8/27/2015 7:51:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

Made a trip to a CVS in LA just to get this (we don't have this shade in Australia). Disappointed. It swatches so beautifully on the web, IRL it's quite patchy and runs outside my lip lines.

Revlon lipsticks are a real hit when they're a hit, middling when they aren't. This isn't horrible, its just not what I thought it would be. Might be better with a matching lip liner, and serious blotting and setting. I bought MAC Diva in the same US trip (we do have MAC in Aus, it's just extremely overpriced here), I think I will stick with that as my go-to dark lip colour.

On the plus side, the swatch of Rum Raisin on this page looks really good, might have to check that out (:



on 7/29/2015 9:52:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Its... okay.

I wanted a really vampy, dark, statement lipstick to wear for my birthday. As i knew i wasn't going to be wearing this sort of shade all the time i though't i'd go for a cheaper dupe shade of MAC.

It was really hard to put on at first, for example if you go a little bit out of line you can tell drastically and because its so dark you have to be really careful you don't get it all over your face by having it on your hand or touching your lips. Plus it came off really easily, and once it started coming off it looked pretty gross.

I wouldn't buy this again.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Blue

Really disappointed in this lipstick. Normally I love the super lustrous lipsticks from Revlon (i.e. Primrose) but this one was a total dud. It is such a gorgeous color, a deep vampy wine color. However. This is one of the patchiest lipsticks I have ever come across. I found it was very uneven in application and you had to layer it quite a bit to get that deep vampy wine color. It was also very uncomfortable to wear on the lips. Thumbs down from me!


Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I am a lipstick noob so take my review with a grain of salt.

The Black Cherry 477 was the first lipstick I ever bought for myself, because before I tried this one out, I didn't really see the need for my thin lips to be tinted darkly. But I was persuaded by my friends to get one and by the saleslady at the department store to purchase this because it was on sale.

I loved this very much at first. The sexy plum made me feel so attractive that I used it almost everyday. But what was most annoying about this lipstick was that, since it's cream-based, it latches onto your teeth very easily after you smile. By the middle of the day as well, the color nearer the inner parts of my lips have faded, and I look like I didn't know how to put lipstick on. So whenever I DID use this again, I make sure to blot and set a lower layer with powder.

I use this over bright red lipsticks or when I just want to tint my lips because I'm into purple tones more than I am with strong pinks and scarlets. I'd definitely buy myself another tube when I run out!


on 5/14/2015 1:13:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse

Eyes: Brown

I've never found the perfect product. This includes lipsticks. IMO there a great products though, and this has been one for me. The shade is versatile when it comes to skin tones, I was introduced to this by a friend who was about as cool/pale as you could be, where I have a more gold/olive and neutral tone. It worked for us both. It's also versatile in the way that it can be worn sheerly as a stain or fully for a total opaque look. Although the color is very different depending on how thickly it is applied.
The color lasts. In fact it stains the lips. One medium application lasts for me through eating and drinking and talking for about 3-4 hours. As a stain it lasts all day with maybe 1-2 reapplications.
I did not find that it dries my lips out at all. I got this for less than six dollars at Walmart, a great deal.
CONS: Unless you have a lot of time to spend being a perfectionist, a liner is probably a requirement. The product does not feather, per se, but it is such a drastic contrast between your skin and the shade that any places 'outside the lines' are very apparent.
I've also found that for me a lip brush is needed as it does a better job than direct from tube or finger application.
To me the product is far worth it for me and the cons are not a big deal.


on 5/6/2015 8:09:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Green

i love the color of this lipstick, but it is always so patchy. it takes forever to apply properly because it is both heavily pigmented and very dry. you might as well buy wet n wild "cherry bomb" instead because it is pretty much the same thing for half the price.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 4/6/2015 1:03:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Everyone keeps saying how patchy this is and how quickly it fades. I agree that it doesn't apply too smoothly, but many lipsticks with this much pigment don't. What I always end up doing is blending it out with my fingers after one layer and then applying another and doing the same until it's as uniform as possible Then I'll blot it with tissue, which gives a a matte finish, and it lasts pretty well throughout the day and eating and it does not transfer. This does get drying after a couple hours though, but not nearly as bad as Ruby Woo is, so moisturize prior and after. I'm pretty sure any skintone can pull off this color and have it be flattering as it's not as dark as it apprears in the tube


on 3/22/2015 3:22:00 PM

Age: 44-55

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

Awesome color--if you love deep plums this is a definite. Wear it a ton, like the coverage and it's nice and creamy.

ETA: I've been wearing this a few days now, and if you like rich plum colors, this one is great. It doesn't dry my lips, it goes on opaque and smooth, it has a nice gloss to it, and it just straight up looks great. Color is probably my favorite of all the lipsticks I own right now.


on 3/21/2015 1:12:00 AM

Age: 18 & Under

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Grey

FAVORITE EVER! Don't know why people are saying it's patchy, mine is super smooth and opaque. It's really creamy so of course the staying power isn't revolutionary but I always use a good lip liner underneath whenever I wear lipstick anyways so it helps to maintain color and shape. Beautiful color, hate the packaging though, looks cheap and always looks like the lid is missing cause of the clear top.


on 3/18/2015 1:42:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Hazel

Extremely patchy. I tried this over a freshly exfoliated and moisturized lip: that's when it was worst. Then I tried it over a fully covered with lipliner crayon lip that as much more of a hot pink/red: that was almost as bad. Then lastly I tried it over a fully covered lipliner pencil that was really dark and then it looked kind of passable. Honestly, I don't suggest this at all. Get a lipstick that will stay on your lips. You can't even press your lips together with this without completely smudging the lipstick and making it even more sheer. It's opague in spots and sheer in others. I have no idea what they did wrong with this.


Recommended for Medium Skin



Back to Top