MAC Eyeshadow in Mystery

4.5

105 reviews

85% would repurchase

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

Package Quality: 4.2

Price: $$$

INGREDIENTS



Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

I used to use brow pencils and they always gave me a dark painted look, and I could never get the brows shapes equal. then I started thinking probably i should get a black matt eyebrow powder When I went to Mac I asked for a black matt shadow and he casually asked me if I am going for a smokey eye and when I said I want it for my brows he suggested not to go for black for brows as it will look very harsh in day time and suggested me to take this one

I tried it and immediately loved how naturally it gave me the defined brows

The packaging is absolutely excellent because it slipped out of my hand countless times and it never spilled out of the pot, not even little powder came out of the pot.
Absolutely love it and I am pretty sure this will be the first Mac pot which I will be using everyday without switching between products.

money well spent!



on 3/2/2015 9:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Acne-prone, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

After reading reviews and seeing tutorials where this is used as a brow filler, I went to my MAC store to check it out and see if it would be a good color choice for me (I have very dark brown hair and my eyebrows are a very cool dark brown). When I asked the SA if Mystery would be a good choice, they looked horrified and said Mystery would be way too dark to be used for my brows. I went ahead and bought the color anyway because it was a beautiful cool-toned brown with the slightest bit of plum (I'm such a sucker for plum tones!). They were right - this would have been way too dark for my brows, but it makes the most lovely liner and outer V color. So beautiful! I purchased Concrete for my brows. In comparison, Concrete is a bit lighter. Both are cool-toned browns, but Concrete has a bit more grey where Mystery leans slightly purple. I basically rotate between Mystery and Handwritten to line my lower lid. Mystery is much cooler and more grey, and the plum/red tones are much more obvious in Handwritten.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 1/13/2015 5:37:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Normal, Other, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

I use this as an eyebrow filler. Matches perfectly and doubles as a shadow


on 8/14/2014 9:48:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Green

Love this one. I use it a lot. It's pretty dark and needs to be blended properly, but it's an amazing brown!


on 3/18/2014 4:19:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

This is a great eyeshadow for everyday use. I use it as a liner, in the crease, to define under the lower lashes and in the outer corner. It is also a nice base under cool toned shimmery shadows such as satin taupe. I don't find it chalky at all. Would definitely buy again.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 3/9/2014 9:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Other

Eyes: Brown

I actually use this to fill in my eyebrows! I have very dark brown hair and I found the Mac 'Concrete' eyeshadow to be too light, so I went to a Mac stand and asked what colour would be better and I was recommended 'Mystery' which was a bit darker and warmer. Wow, I absolutely love it! I have naturally bolder eyebrows and I love that style, so I just use my Mac angled brush or my Real Techniques brow brush and I sweep some of the Mac Mystery eyeshadow through my brows to make them bolder and give them more shape. It looks great and it's super easy! I don't know how using eyeshadow to fill in brows fares for people with thinner eyebrows, but if you have naturally bolder eyebrows or you like that "model on a runway" eyebrow look: 1) Use a Mac eyeshadow in the right colour for you (they have great pigmentation and staying power), 2) Apply it in your brows with a Mac or Real Techniques angled brush, 3) Sweep some Wet & Wild clear brow gel through your eyebrows in an upwards motion (only $2 and works better than anything from Sephora), and there you go, an easy brow look!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.


on 10/6/2013 7:38:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Normal, Fair, Warm

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Hazel

I use it on the outer V, crease or as a liner. An alternative for black for very fair complexions. Satisfactory pigmentation, a bit chalky, as expected for being a satin, just dust off any excess and you'll have no fall out. The greyish, plummy undertones compliment my hazel green eyes.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.


on 9/27/2013 9:57:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral

Hair: Black, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

At first glance, this is a deep brown shade... but when you put in on your eyes... that's when the magic happens. It actually has hints of grey and purple hues in it as well. I paired it with "Purple Pedigreed" from MAC and it makes my green/blue eyes DOLLAR BILL GREEN!!! they go fantastic together, or alone, Mystery is a fantastic crease shade for a dramatic eye look :)

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 9/14/2013 10:36:00 PM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Medium, Neutral

Hair: Brunette, Other, Fine

Eyes: Green

For reference: Green eyes, medium-dark brown hair, NC/NW 25ish- neutral to warm skin tone, combination skin, sensitive.

I've heard many others mentioned that purple brings out green in eyes. However due to either feeling tired or allergies, purple tones make my eyes look tired or red. The woman at the MAC counter suggested Mystery. I love this color. It looks like a very dark brown with a hint of plum, neutral to cool tone. If I wear Naked Lunch and apply Mystery to my outer V, I can definitely see the hint of plum. Wearing these too colors brings out the green in my eyes. If I wear a peachy-gold color on my lids and Mystery on the outer v, I see more of the dark brown. That is what I love about this color. This color does not make my eyes look tired or red. A definite repurchase.

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.


on 8/24/2013 8:31:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Tan, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Other, Other

Eyes: Blue

I find this is a shadow one can do literally just about anything with. It's a gorgeous chocolate brown with a purple undertone. I usually use this on my brows!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated MAC Products

image

Deelight

42 reviews
image

Matte - Saddle

95 reviews
Back to Top