Tarte • Provocateur Mineral Powder • Pressed Powders

rated 3.9(67 reviews)

Average Rating.3.9
Would buy this product again.74%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sonicRED on 1/3/2014 1:07:00 PM more reviews by sonicRED

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is the only pressed powder I've ever really liked. I have very dry skin, so I usually stick with liquid foundations and concealers. However, recently I've been using the Too Faced BB Cream (more of a thicker TM) and it leaves my skin a little too shiny. I like to buff on a thin layer of this all over my face to set and mattify my face. It works quite well. I definitely don't get full coverage, but my face is much more even without looking as though I'm covered in makeup (my combination skin type - super dry w/ acne scars and acne - makes it very difficult for most foundations to sink in and look natural). I bought this with the Amazonian Clay foundation, which I totally hate, so if you have dry skin like me, I recommend working this with a more dewy foundation. It took me awhile to realize I actually liked this product because it depends a lot on what you're wearing underneath it.

This product is more around 4.5 for me - not HG status, I can live without it, but when I have it, I tend to use it everyday and it gets the job done. I only use vegan cosmetics and prefer cosmetics without all the crap (parabens, SLS, etc.), and this fits the bill.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 leh529 on 3/31/2013 12:15:00 PM more reviews by leh529

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I love this powder! I use it over Tarte Bb primer & concealer. It is very sheer so it doesn't provide great coverage on its own. It doesn't break me out which is a rare thing. It keeps my combination skin fairly matte. The price is a bit steep but one compact has lasted me over 6 months now of almost everyday use. I will continue to buy since I really love Tarte products!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 strouperin on 3/20/2013 3:23:00 PM more reviews by strouperin

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Very sheer coverage. It's a little lighter once it's applied to my skin so I would get a shade darker next time. It's not something I would use alone, but to reduce shine throughout the day or to set a liquid makeup or tinted moisturizer, it would be good!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* gc2011 on 3/5/2013 3:17:00 PM more reviews by gc2011

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

So far, this is my favorite PP ever.

Light to medium flawless finish, excellent color match (I use Fair) for my fair, pink-y toned skin, little to no oxidization, and STAYS PUT without feeling heavy and cakey.

I use this in conjunction with the Amazonian Clay foundation and it's the best my skin has ever looked (with makeup). I have extremely sensitive skin and I have no problems whatsoever with this.

I'm to the point where when it comes to my foundation, PP, and moisturizers, I am not willing to deviate and try new stuff if I have a regimen that works and delivers results. This product definately fits the bill.

I wish I could just buy refills for the powder, but that's just being picky. I also do not like the sponge it comes with - picks up way to much product and then doesn't deposit it correctly. I like the white round drugstore sponges for this job.

Pricey but I think the quality is better than my Physician's Formula, which I'm having a harder and harder time finding in my shade.

Highly recommended.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* miafrush on 1/18/2013 12:40:00 AM more reviews by miafrush

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a nice soft and light finishing powder. I am giving it three stars because it does not give any coverage and I was expecting it to be more if a foundation powder than a translucent powder. It is cruelty free and comes in a cute sleek compact but unfortunately my complexion just needs more coverage.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 missbrightside08 on 11/29/2012 10:57:00 PM more reviews by missbrightside08

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I love this pressed powder because it works, it stays on my face all day and prevents it from getting oily, and I know its actually good for the skin (unlike MAC). It has SPF 8 which helps, too. I use it to set my concealer and BB cream makeup. The packaging is super cute! The powder puff it comes with is complete crap though, don't use it! You must apply this powder with a fluffy powder brush for a flawless finish. (The included powder puff gives a cakey, uneven application.) Its really pricey at $30 but I think its worth it because its good for the skin and it does its job.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 cinders87 on 11/26/2011 7:35:00 PM more reviews by cinders87

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Red   Eyes: Green    

I've used drugstore brands forever. I recently bought the estee lauder double wear line including their pressed powder. It made my skin itch and burn...as have some other drugstore products. A saleswoman at Sephora recommended tarte. I read reviews on this powder & purchased. It sets my foundation and feels super soft. No irritation! I love it. I am far from a makeup expert, but I love it!!

I would like it if they sold it in a different compact. I will be buying refills for $20 instead of repurchasing the powder with the packaging.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 catcoastal on 10/22/2011 1:40:00 AM more reviews by catcoastal

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Update: This review applies to the mineral bronzing powder--I put it in the wrong category! Anyway, I received a free sample of this with Sephora points. I LOVE it and will definitely repurchase. I apply it as a blush (normally don't wear blush), and it looks really nice, natural but flattering. I have very light skin and was worried that it would look too dark or artificial, but this shade (Park Ave Princess) is just awesome. Thank you, Tarte, for producing a product that will become one of my beauty staples. I've never tried this brand before, but based on this I will look at its other offerings.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 HeyAlyssa on 7/1/2011 3:25:00 PM more reviews by HeyAlyssa

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Tan   Hair: Black, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Besides the somewhat cheap-looking package, I really love the powder. I understand the package can seem somewhat odd but Tarte tends to make their packaging out of recyclable and earth-friendly materials so I completely understand it.

The powder is great for daily wear and a natural looking finish. Don't expect heavy coverage! I'm not a fan of the applicator it came with so I use a small kabuki brush. My skin tends to be dry (I suffer from eczema) but with proper facial moisturizer, it's perfect.

It is pricey but it's lasted me well over 6 months and thats from me using it almost everyday.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 Amber814 on 6/30/2011 4:57:00 PM more reviews by Amber814

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I didn't like this powder at all. I like the packaging though! It is too sheer and doesn't provide any coverage! They don't have a huge selection in color either =( For $30 I thought it would have been better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Tarte products

More Pressed Powders products