Artdeco Eyeshadow Base

4.2

122 reviews

78% would repurchase

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

Package Quality: 3.8

Price: $$

INGREDIENTS

Ingredients:C11-13 Isoparaffin,talc,cera microcristallina(microcrystalline wax)Mica,PVP/hexacene copolymer(VP/hexadecene co-polymer),polyethylene,Tocopheryl acetate,Bisabolol Propylparaben,triclosan,propylene glycol,BHT,Ascorbyl palmitate,Citric acid,glyceryl distearate,glyceryl sterate,parfum(fragrance)benzyl benzoate,linalool,butylpheynlmethylpropional,Hexyl cinnamal,Benzyl salicylate,Hydroxycitronellal,CI77491(iron oxides)CI77492(iron oxides)CI77499(iron oxides) CI 77891(titanium oxide)


on 8/21/2015 10:22:00 AM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

This is the first time I'm trying it out and so far I only have to say is that it's very hard to blend the eyeshadow once you apply this. It makes it streaky. Also, it is glittery. However, I have quite oily eyelids and this is the first time I'm trying a primer and it keeps my eyeshadow stay put quite well. The main downside - very hard to blend the eyeshadow on top of this base.



on 5/1/2015 8:13:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brunette, Other, Other

Eyes: Brown

Best eye primer I've worn! It stays all day and doesn't crease. It enhances A LOT the pigments in most eyeshadows. Very smooth texture, easy to apply. The packaging is also very practical.


on 5/1/2015 3:50:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Curly, Fine

Eyes: Green

It is an average primer, based on price i may even say good but it smells like a dish soap and therefore every time i use i,t i feel like i expose my eye lids something extremely noxious chemical substances.


on 1/15/2015 8:35:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Dry, Olive, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Other, Other

Eyes: Green

This is a very neutral eyeshadow primer. The texture is very smooth and shadows stay in place all day.


on 10/7/2014 12:33:00 PM

Age: 30-35

Skin: Combination, Medium, Warm

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Okay, this has been the first day of my experiment with Artdeco eyeshadow base. It is a good value, the pot and the packaging is great, does not take much space and is easy to use. It does what it says - it is a base for an eyeshadow. Now, I always divide these type of products into 2 categories - eye primers, and eyeshadow base. This one is the second, which means the eyeshadow still gets into my eye crease and it looks really oily after I have had my makeup on for a good 10 hours. This has never been the case with Urban Decay though (I used to have the same make up with UD for about 12-16 hours and it looked like I have just done it). To tell the truth, this one does not work with my extra oily eyelids unfortunately. So I guess I will have to switch back to UD. First will try the Avon eye primer, it is also a good price - let's hope it does the job better. :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


on 8/27/2014 3:06:00 PM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium

Eyes: Blue

This is almost as good as Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer and Too Faced Shadow Insurance. I gave it 5 stars nonetheless because it's cheaper and because I do like the packaging - it's very easy to get out even the very last bit of the product. I don't care much for the shimmer it contains, but fortunately the shimmer does not show if you use it with matte eyeshadow. It makes the eyeshadow much more vibrant and helps it last pretty much all day (if it's a good eyeshadow). If you find it to be very dry, you probably got a bad batch. I've gone through 3+ jars and they always lasted me over a year without drying out.


on 5/12/2014 12:52:00 AM

Age: 25-29

Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm

Hair: Black, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Black

Wow...i like this product. I found the product is just as good as Smashbox Photo Finish Lid Primer except Artdeco is much more affordable. It really does what it claims, the eye make-up stays on the whole day without creasing and when i get home from work, it still looks the same just like when I applied in the morning. It's a must have for everyone who wears eye make-up!


on 4/4/2014 11:47:00 AM

Age: 36-43

Skin: Combination, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine

Eyes: Hazel

I used this some 7+ years ago and I liked it, so I bought it again last year when I saw it in a store.

It's still ok, but I'm giving it a low rating because the quality certainly decreased since all those years ago. After 2-3 months of use, it dried and became a sticky texture that it's close to impossible to work with, while I remember the older product lasted me 2 years!

I still have a bit less than half left and I'll probably have to throw it away and buy something else.

Not buying this again.


on 3/10/2014 7:43:00 PM

Age: 19-24

Skin: Dry, Fair, Not Sure

Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine

Eyes: Brown

I realized that most eyeshadows don't stay on long enough to last the day, so I looked for an eye primer, and the lovely people at Douglas (a beauty store in Europe) recommended this. It is seriously one of the tiniest beauty products I have ever seen, but boy, does it work.

I start off with foundation over my entire face, including my eyes, then use the ArtDeco Eyeshadow Base. You press your finger/brush into the teeny tiny pot (I use my finger) and a slightly creamy, almost translucent, shimmery powder transfers to your finger, which you then dab onto your eyelids. I also use this on my brow bone and a little around the outer corners of my eyes, because I tend to put brighter eye shadows in those areas.

Most of my eyeshadows are almost matte/satin, and so far, using this slightly shimmery base has not made the eyeshadows look extra shiny. If anything, it just seems to increase pigmentation, and has even worked with some eyeshadows which I thought were so poorly pigmented.

I've used this for a couple of weeks now, and I think it has lasted me about 8 hours, with only a slight wear down in shadow colour, and definitely no creasing/smudging of shadows at all! Lovely if you like putting more than 3 colours on one lid. It also seems to reduce fallout, which is always a plus point. Some of the previous reviewers remarked on an unpleasant smell? I've never noticed anything overwhelming.

Overall a good product to try, plus I think the price is quite alright (a little below 10 Euro here in Poland).

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.


Age: 19-24

Skin: Combination, Medium, Cool

Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium

Eyes: Brown

Pros: Super long lasting. You seriously need an oil base water remover to take off all your eye makeup. You just need a tiny amount of it and beca use of this reason is why I have this for a little bit more than a year and finally the consistency is the same as the beginning. CONS: this smell like man, super strong, if you are sensitive for fragances stay away from this. This have kind of a shimmery finish, i discovered that if I use a matte shadow, no matter how fine is the shimmer on this, this primer transform a matte shadow into a shimmery one! I cant complain or defend the little container because I always use a spatulla to despose my creammy products so they wont get bacteria. I will repurchase when I finish this baby (:

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.




Top Rated Artdeco Products

image

Eyeshadow Base

122 reviews
Back to Top