Mario Badescu • Olive Eye Cream • Treatments (Eye)

rated 4.2(33 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 5 of 5 Boxbits on 9/8/2014 9:09:00 PM more reviews by Boxbits

Age: 30-35   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

This the only eye cream I have found that combats dry winter skin. It absorbs so quickly, that I even wear it during the day under makeup. I can't recommend this enough.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lolabo773 on 1/7/2014 5:40:00 PM more reviews by lolabo773

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Other   Eyes: Green    

This is my HG eye cream. I have tried using other eye creams from this brand (the hyaluronic one), as well as creams from bliss, lancome, and tart; and I have tried various oils such as apricot, sweet almond, and grape seed.
The creams were either too runny or burned my sensitive skin; and, the oils seemed to absorb too quickly and did nothing to help with my undereye "wrinkles."

This eye cream has a very thick consistency, yet it does not sit on top of my skin, the way that i find vaseline does. It absorbs and hydrates my eyes almost miraculously! It is light enough to use during the day, under makeup (if applied with a light finger), and, it is heavy enough to be built up in thick layers at night.

I am young enough to not have actual wrinkles, but this helps with fine lines that are probably caused from lack of sleep and dehydration. I cannot live without this eye cream.

The only con is that I do not find the jar to be hygenic.
And my only uncertainty is whether or not it will be what someone with aged skin is looking for. I have found for myself, it is a perfect eyecream for maintaining/bettering youthful skin.

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 nanamisan on 6/18/2013 4:04:00 AM more reviews by nanamisan

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I really like this eye cream, for one main reason. I sometimes get a condition that makes my upper and lower eyelids puffy, itchy, burning and red. Not to mention dry! dry peeling and scaly. It's always a reaction to a product I use on my eyes. Whenever I would get this reaction it would last for weeks, and no moisturizer, organic oils, vaseline, lanolin or any home remedy helps. They all burned my skin so bad and made the swelling worse. However, this product works. Even straight olive oil burned, but this eye cream for some reason helped my eyelids go back to normal. I even lightly used it for the daytime for a few weeks. But I wouldn't recommend that. I only use it for night time because it just sits there. It doesn't absorb. And sometimes it stings my eyes for like ten seconds after I apply, but I can deal with that for moisturized lids. Ps a little goes a long way. I get this as a free sample when i order the drying lotion (hg) and it lasts forever.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* priyaj on 8/31/2011 2:50:00 PM more reviews by priyaj

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Dark   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I hate to be the party pooper here but I'm just not impressed with this eye cream at all. I've been using it for over 2 months and have not seen any improvement in my eye area. The inner-medial skin around my eyes is still dry and has fine lines because of that. There is no softening or lessening of the lines under my eyes. They don't look moisturized. Plus, I feel like this product does not sink in and most of it just comes off on the pillow. Wanted to love this eye cream but it didn't work out. On to the dermonectin eye cream.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* thebobcat64 on 1/1/2011 11:56:00 PM more reviews by thebobcat64

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

I got a sample of this when I ordered something on the website. I liked it a lot more than other eye creams I have used and will probably repurchase. I definitely liked it more than the hyaluronic eye cream, which made my eyes sting and didn't moisturize. I wish it was a bit cheaper though. This never made my eyes sting as some of the other reviewers mentioned. I have pretty dry skin, often around my eyes and this always took care of that. If you're not sure if you want to buy it, request a sample of it because it's a pretty good sized sample and lasted me for quite awhile. I only used this at night because it is a bit oily. You need a very small amount of this for use.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 mixedgreens on 12/22/2010 6:11:00 PM more reviews by mixedgreens

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I tend to like thick eye creams, and I like this one a lot. There is no discernible smell, and, most importantly, I can put a lot on and it doesn't sting my eyes. In the past I've used (and liked) eye creams that would make my eyes hurt, and I just accepted that that is what happens when you put a cream too close to your eyes. But I have no problems with this one. It's pretty greasy, though, so it's a nighttime-only sort of cream. I used to use Kiehl's Avocado eye cream, but I like this one better - it's easier to put on (glides on, no tugging at skin) and no stinging.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Lazulia on 12/14/2010 7:57:00 AM more reviews by Lazulia

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really like this cream - it's exactly what I was looking for. A simple hydrating eye cream. I'll admit, it's like putting lip balm on your eyes. But this was a plus for me in a way - my skin is really dry and tight and this helps hydrate and soften for longer than 5 minutes.

However, it's kind of making my eyes sting. I'm really disappointed. My eyes feels a little bit like when I cut up onions (but not that much but still...). I feel like my eyes are red and teary.

I'm going to tough it a little longer though and see what happens. I had a eye pencil which used to have the same effect (MAC powerpoint) and my eyes eventually got use to it. I'll edit if it gets better.

Don't like the packaging much. Not keen on the MB pots.

Ah, such a shame. I'm gutted. :(

UPDATE: My eyes have gotten used to it after a little while so I've upped the score to 4. But I am careful not to put it too close to my eyes though. It's been very useful lately, my eyes have been very dry and irritated.

I've also noticed something pretty cool - I use MAC studio finish concealer on spots and imperfections, but I find it too thick for dark circles. BUT, with this eye cream, it is really good, with better finish than a lot of thinner concealers I've tried. Very excited about this. I've only tried it once, by accident. I'll give this a try for a while and edit.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mommygirl5 on 2/8/2010 12:57:00 PM more reviews by mommygirl5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

i love the texture and it absorbed well. best use is for at night for me. a bit too thick for daytime use. all you need is a tiny bit. this jar will last me forever!!!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* MsFernandez on 11/18/2009 11:23:00 PM more reviews by MsFernandez

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Green    

Love love love this stuff. I bought this as a recommendation from another MUA'er because my eyelids were so dry they were actually flaking. Eyeshadow is my passion and I was starting to get depressed because nothing looked good anymore... I couldn't even use my regular concealer to cover my dark circles because it would just kinda clump up and flake off after about an hour. I tried tons of stuff, from regular facial moisturizers to eye-specific creams but found very quickly that I have very very sensitive eyes, everything I tried made me wake up in the morning with my eyes swollen almost shut. This stuff has never caused a bad reaction (and I really slather it on) and after about 3 days of use my eye area was completely back to normal. The first week I did develop a very very small stye on my upper water line but it went away after a few days and hasn't returned since. The cream is very thick and is basically oil, so I go to bed with shiny eyes every night. It stays very well, when I wake up in the morning my eyelids still feel slightly oily but very moisturized. Love it! Will definitally be re-ordering. Oh yeah, and they give u great samples!! You get to pick any 3 products you want and the samples are very generously sized.

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* michybabe on 11/3/2009 7:24:00 AM more reviews by michybabe

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have never been so eager to use an eye cream in my life! I love this eye cream- it is SO moisturizing, rich, thick and long-lasting. I am tired of thin eye creams that sink in after 5 minutes. I need a cream to keeps my eyes plumped up overnight... I don't want wrinkles there! This really does the job. Lovely texture too.
The label does say it is "ideal for night use" so I don't think people should be complaining that it doesn't suit the daytime. Does not give me milia!

The product claims to soften up the skin around the eye area, moisturize it, and reduce wrinkles. I haven't been using it long enough to comment on reducing wrinkles, but it has definitely softened up the skin around my eyes. My eyes also feel far less dry and tired with this cream.

The ingredients are only a huge bonus. :) I love Mario Badescu products for this very reason.

Ingredients: Vegetable Oil,Deionized Water, Olive Oil,Carnation Oil, Beeswax,Quaternium-60,Isopropyl Myristate, Cocoa Butter,Cetyl Alcohol,Propylparaben,Sodium Benzoate,Imidazolidinyl Urea

All of these ingredients are rated incredibly low on the scale of toxicity (cosmeticsdatabase.com). Except for Imidazolidinyl Urea and Propylparaben which are there for anti-viral and anti-bacterial purposes. Be careful not to swallow the product!! ;)

Note- Cetyl Alcohol is not the type of alcohol you have to worry about. It is harmless on your skin. It is not really a liquid, but more of a waxy-like solid at room temperature.

BTW, I find the packaging not so hygienic. I hate dipping my fingers into skincare products so what I do is use a new cotton bud/swab each time! Yup... I'm a huge germaphobe.

FINALLY AN EYE CREAM THAT I LIKE!!!

Hope this review helped!

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Mario Badescu products

More Treatments (Eye) products