Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab • Urd • Fragrances

rated 4.2(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.2
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* awesomeness2 on 8/16/2012 6:26:00 PM more reviews by awesomeness2

Age: 36-43   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

I don't get the positive reviews on this one.


Initially, all I get is grape bubble gum, which eventually morphs into grape bubble gum with some soapy flowers sitting on top of an earthy under-current. I found it pretty disgusting. I after about 20 minutes, I scrubbed, figuring that if it wasn't going to dry down to patch & incense by then, it might never.


Not a pleasant experience for me, and definitely among the least favorite BPAL that I have sampled, and I have tried many.


Not recommended.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 whoshore on 8/1/2009 5:12:00 PM more reviews by whoshore

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

My first and favorite BPAL scent. I think it is headshoppy, but I love the smell of headshops. Other people don't associate it with headshops and tell me it smells earthy and grapey and beautiful. It's really a wonderful scent for people who love patchouli but want something with a bit of warmth and richness. As with most BPALs, you have to work to find something that is perfect with your body chemistry, and this one is for me.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 OceansHeartbeat on 7/18/2009 2:56:00 PM more reviews by OceansHeartbeat

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive   Hair: Black   Eyes: Black    

I had to wear this a couple of times to fully appreciate it. Perhaps one's body changes each day due to hormones and such. I'm not a huge fan of fruits in my fragrances so I had to keep an open mind. As expected, I found the top notes cloying and smelling way too much likes grapes and bubblegum. After a few hours, the scent took on a smokey quality and my mother told me she liked it, as it reminded her of temple incense. I love incense-y scents, but not when they merge with fruits. I wore it again the following day and this time I didn't get any of the grapes. Just the incense. The drydown took me by surprise (I believe it's nag champa?) and I thought that it was completely worth the wait. I love nostalgic scents and this part took me back to my primary school days - walking towards the school with its plumeria/frangipani/champa filled narrow streets. Absolutely haunting.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 stitchtupgothgrl on 11/26/2008 6:40:00 PM more reviews by stitchtupgothgrl

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Other, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I have tried SO many fragrances of BPAL, and Urd stays in my number one spot!! To me, it IS the perfect fragrance! I love the patchoulies and nag champa notes. It's sweet, but earthy. And, yes actually does smell like my favorite headshop, lol.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ImCastingMagicMissiles on 3/1/2008 8:31:00 AM more reviews by ImCastingMagicMissiles

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

When I read the notes, I'd expected the patchouli to dominate, but the notes in Urd are pretty balanced. The nag champa is very pleasant and mellow, though I wish it were a bit stronger. On my skin, Urd is herbal and earthy, patchouli and rich soil, sweetened by a young merlot and warmed by the nag champa. It's like reading a book from a small, incense-saturated bookstore while sitting in a vineyard. The staying power is great, I get about 12 hours of wear. Though it's moderately complex and contains some fairly strong notes, it isn't busy or headache inducing.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nemesis41 on 2/24/2007 4:14:00 PM more reviews by nemesis41

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Absolutely agree with the reviewer who said that this is "headshoppy." That's precisely what I get from this blend- all nag champa and patchouli, though mostly nag champa. If you want incense, head shops, etc. this is the perfect blend for you. For me, that's not so much my thing, so I will likely swap this one away.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* haloinrverse on 5/4/2006 3:27:00 AM more reviews by haloinrverse

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

from excolo



notes: Muscadine, black and red patchouli, cereus and nag champa.



in the vial: mostly ok. wet fruit with musk. it doesnt indicate the yumminess that follows.



wet on skin: wowwwww. grapes! not jolly rancher or kool aid, but real grape. concord, if i had to pick a variety im familiar with. the jellyish insides of a concord grape shaken with the best damn patchouli ive ever smelled and plenty of champa.



dry down: i get cola from this, and i mean that in the best possible way. scents that give a cola smell usually turn painfully powdery on me. amazing musky, smoky dark fruity grape goodness. somehow dry from the champa and patchouli while remaining fruity and just light enough. the incense is like light wafts of scent coming from the curtains in a room where incense has been burned for years. (my fave smell ever!) im familiar with their version of cereus, and while i dont actually smell it specifically, it might be whats keeping this so light.



verdict: i love/hate when they throw in a note that i have to look up. i enjoy something new and interesting, but i dislike not having a memory of what a note smells like. theres it is: muscadine. american grapes. id give this a 10 if i could. one of their best blends. (urd = one of the three crones in norse mythology. related to the english word "weird." very interesting!)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* LadyWilde on 2/28/2006 10:54:00 PM more reviews by LadyWilde

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

SO headshoppy. . .but in a good way. I received this as a frimp with my order, and I very nearly didn't try it because I could clearly smell patchouli in the imp, and patchouli scares me. I tried it anyway, though. Wet, I smelled grapes and patchouli, followed by nag champa. . .very sweet. My skin tends to both amp sweet scents and release the Giant Scary Patchouli Monster of Death, so I was curious to find out in which way this scent would go horribly, horribly wrong on me. However, the patchouli stayed in the background, providing an earthy base note and reigning in the sweetness a bit. It's really not my style, but I'm very glad I tried it since it's nice to know that there is indeed a patchouli scent I can wear without smelling like a mouldering unwashed hippy corpse (ew, graphic). If you like sweet scents but are wary of patchouli, give Urd a try.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* BerryDelicious on 12/27/2005 8:02:00 AM more reviews by BerryDelicious

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Brown    

Excolo: The Norns: Fate ~ The Norns are the Norse Sister-Goddesses of destiny, who measure the lives and fortunes of both Gods and Men and hold steady the ineffable laws of the cosmos. They are preservers and protectors of the Tree of Life and the Well of Fate, and give assistance during the birth of every mortal and divine creature.
Muscadine, black and red patchouli, cereus and nag champa.
I adore Urd! It's grounding and comforting, yet sexy too. And it's one of, if not the most beautiful patchouli scents I've ever smelt. I love Beth's patchouli - Imp, Depraved and Lust being just a few I love with the delicious stuff as a note. The sweet muscadine is the perfect foil for the warm, earthy patchouli, which is all soft edges, no sharpness, and not too woody. The nag champa drives it further into an incensey scent, but it doesn't overpower it at all. I've not smelt cereus, but I've read it smells a little like vanilla, so I guess that's adding to the sweetness. My 5ml and I will have a wonderful relationship!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* SuburbanSue on 10/26/2005 12:50:00 AM more reviews by SuburbanSue

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous blend, and very unique. Who would have thought to mix a grape note with patchouli? Oddly enough, it works. The sweetness of the grape takes the harsh edge off the patchouli. Conversely, the woodsy earthiness of the patchouli tames the sweetness of the grape note. As it dries down, the woodsy/incense notes become more apparent. Overall, just a really well balanced, wearable scent. "Headshoppy" in the best sense of the term. Patchouli-laden without being too "hippie-ish."

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Black Phoenix Alchemy Lab products

More Fragrances products