Scott Barnes • creme foundation • Crème

rated 4.1(34 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.70%
Ingredients


rated 3 of 5 Nirhtuc on 1/20/2013 4:47:00 AM more reviews by Nirhtuc

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Black, Wavy, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I got this for free from strawberrynet (as a first-time buyer), and boy am I glad that I just got it for free! When I chose this as a free gift from the website, I was feeling quite optimistic because of the good reviews I read about it here. The packaging is quite good- I like the mirror they have included in the compact, however, I think someone should come up with a better packaging idea for creamy face makeup- I accidentally dented the product straight away. I know- I'm a klutz! :S
Application was wonderful- I was a bit worried about the colour (chestnut- for reference, I am between NC45 and NC50 in MAC) as it looked kind of too light, but it blended in nicely like a dream. I had a bit of difficulty knowing just how much Bobbi Brown Creamy Concealer I had to wear on top, and as it turned out, I didn't really need to wear any! This product looked pretty medium-to-full coverage on me, although it seems kind of sheer when you first put it on.
And now for the makeup tragedy: after about 8 hours of wear...CAKEY CAKEY CAKEY! Disgustingly so! I totally looked like I was wearing a mask, so I got terrified of my own reflection in the mirror! There was a particularly horrible spot of clumping smack bang between my eyebrows! don't know why this happened, because I did my usual routine (moisturiser + primer+finishing spray+blotting). I have a suspicion that my very dry skin is perhaps, the true culprit. I think this foundation would fare better on oilier skins- it's so drying it seems like it saps the oils straight out of your skin! I am definitely not going to re-purchase, but will continue experimenting with this one- I'm by no means a make-up guru! Maybe the colour match would look closer in winter, when I turn NC45 again...
Still on the hunt for a foundation HG, unfortunately! :(

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Hawko on 10/19/2010 10:06:00 PM more reviews by Hawko

Age: 44-55   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I had this in Camel for my NC 35 skin. Curiosity & admiration at this master at work leads me to this product. I believed Holt & Renfrew once carried this line. I got mine at strawberrynet. The colour runs a little lighter but by no means unnatural. I used it over a clear silicone primer. This product has kaolin in it, for the staying power & the primer will help to spread it.
It does even out the skin, & takes care of the pore issues. I never break out so cannot comment on it.
The package is quite classy looking, I like the way it opens. The sponge is rather useless to me, I find using the Mac 187 is much better.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 maryandtheboys on 4/23/2010 1:34:00 PM more reviews by maryandtheboys

Age: 30-35   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this in alabaster...unfortunately even this shade is too dark and orange for my skin tone. It does have full coverage and really reduces redness. It's very creamy and easy to blend out but it does cake into fine lines and pores. Exfoiliating and moisturising is very important before applying the product. It doesn't have the best ingredients (parabens and mineral oil), as all in the Scott Barnes line.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 MaryBulychev on 1/17/2010 2:08:00 AM more reviews by MaryBulychev

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I received the foundation in Alabaster. Very nice texture and colour. BUT if you like to use it, you need to have a really PERFECT skin, because this foundation will mark every single pore (it sinks in), every wrinkle, every blemish spot, etc! My skin is not perfect at all, so I would not repurchase.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* glossyxlipz on 1/15/2010 4:31:00 PM more reviews by glossyxlipz

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Dry, Dark, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I just tried this on today and I feel like a model that just got her makeup done by Mr.Barnes. It really is just beautiful. My skin is not really problematic, just a few dark spots here and there. This just erases it.

I make sure my skin is moisturized and I use a buffer brush to apply this creme. This is my first creme foundation, so I see the diffrence between it and liquid. I am only sad that he is no longer creating this line. Figures.

For reference, I am NC 45 and the color I am using from Scott Barnes is Chestnut.

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 sunnibunni77 on 4/8/2008 12:51:00 PM more reviews by sunnibunni77

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I normally like tinted moisturizers so this was a stretch for me. It has amazing coverage though, I was recently sunburned and my face looked like a lobster and I applied this before going out that night and it literally showed no sign of my burn at all! It lasted all night too, I live on an island in texas and the humidity is crazy, but this creme foundation stayed in place all night long. This isnt an everyday makeup for me, but its great for night, especially if your going to be somwhere very humid. I would also recommend this for people with discolored skin because it covered up my sunburn great! This is def. not for dry skin though, I dont have dry skin and I make sure I am VERY VERY moisturized before I even think of using this stuff. But it gives a great glow just like the rest of his products. Now days I use MAC face and body plus the select sheer powder and literally everything else I ever use is Scott Barnes, thats how AMAZING his stuff truly is.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* 1badcat on 12/17/2007 7:12:00 PM more reviews by 1badcat

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I've been using this foundation for a few years now and I love it on a "I really need coverage day". I apply it w/BareEscentuals-bareMinerals Handy Buki Brush. It helps to buff the m/u in and it gives me that glowing perfect look. I especially like this during the winter months b/c it gives me a perfect canvas where I can create a believeable rosey cheek look. I use it in Camel (medium beige undertone) but the color is a teeny bit light but like I said it evens out my skintone so well that I can create a fresh look w/out looking too made up. Not only would I fork over the $40 but I have several times over the years. I get mine at Saks. It might be a little tricky for oilier skin types due to that it's creme to powder and that type of formula can cause the oilyies. I have combo/dehydated skin and I get the T-Zone by mid-day. It can also be order at www.scottbarnes.com

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 chaneljunkie80 on 11/11/2007 2:44:00 AM more reviews by chaneljunkie80

Age: 25-29   Skin: Very Oily, Tan, Warm   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Coarse   Eyes: Hazel    

this gives my acne marked skin the most flawless looking skin ever its amazing!!!!!!! I have the oiliest skin ever and i use neutrogena dry touch sunblock then some milk of magnesia for oilies and clinques pore minimizer instant pore perfector over nose area and voila beautiful glowing skin love it!!!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* sexysylvia1211 on 10/29/2007 10:09:00 AM more reviews by sexysylvia1211

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

I have been wearing this foundation for around a week now. Firstly, for my non tan nc25 skintone beyond beige is perfect!! Not as much yellow in, mac's nc25 has more. The coverage is sooooo natural and beautiful id say medium (I needed a concealer in places), and slightly glowy. But the only thing is I can't get it to look right on my nose. It gets into all the pores and won't look smooth there no matter what. From a distance (someone sat opposite you on a table) my skin looks 'perfect'- even my mum said so and she usually hates foundations. But close up my nose looks blotchy and smeared after an hour or so (I have an oily t zone) and u can see the pores so much. Other than that I will try and try to sort that out because this is truely a wonderful foundation- i think i could definitely say in terms of coverage, shade and the way it looks- the most non-fake foundation i have.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Jany on 9/18/2007 7:11:00 AM more reviews by Jany

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

I find with this foundation you have to make sure that your skin is well moisturised otherwise it can accentuate your flakes. If you moisturise well this gives you a flawless and smooth complexion and keeps your skin matte for most of the day. Beyond beige was a great match for my skin. It also feels comfortable on your skin, I have worn it through the day and night and it lasts. This doesn't make my skin break out.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Scott Barnes products

More Crème products