MAC • Lipglass in Russian Red • Lip Gloss

rated 4.0(113 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients


rated 4 of 5 kristyb114 on 3/12/2014 3:09:00 PM more reviews by kristyb114

Age: 30-35   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

Love this. Great go to red.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 shellbelle123 on 3/6/2014 9:09:00 PM more reviews by shellbelle123

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Olive   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Hazel    

So, you want to wear red but feel like most reds look scary? This is red hot color that you can make as sheer or thick as you want. I tried it with a very light outline of Mac's Brick liner and it was perfect. Better staying power than most glosses. So WHAT if it's a little sticky? Its a gloss for cring out loud. I think glosses are especially wearable for women as they get older that want rich color without the age-enhancing effects that dryer lipstick formulas produce. I feel like the brunette from the Robin Thicke video (Blurred Lines) might be wearing this lipgloss....just a hunch ;)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Angeni on 11/14/2013 7:05:00 PM more reviews by Angeni

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Blue    

Today I purchased this at my local family dollar store. Because, I was looking for cheaper version of MAC lipglass in russian red. As soon as I got out of my store, and into my car I compared the lipglass russian red to L.A. colors lip gloss in Red Alert. In the store it looked more yellow base then my mac lipglass. To my surprised when I swatched the two next each other and found them almost alike in color, in fact the L.A. color lip gloss had a more blue undertone then the russian red!
PROS OF LA COLORS LIP GLOSS IN RED ALERT
costs: 1.00
layer lightly on lips to slight cherry color with concealer underneath (this helps it last longer) to bright red.
CONS:
it has cheap sweet smell.
does not last as long as mac one, without lipliner
PROS OF MAC LIPGLASS IN RUSSIAN RED
-VERY pigmented (more liquid lipstick)
-HAS more of sheen, or shine for that classic red lip look.
- IT has cult following hopefully will never be discontinued
- IS very moisturizing compared to the lipstick version

CONS
costs: 15.00 plus more for shipping & handling ( I look up the price on the mac website)
Can be hard to tone down because comes out so thickly pigmented.
For everyone out there who wondering whether you want to put the money out, try la colors first. Opposed to spending twenty dollars on color you feel makes you look clownish, or is too harsh.
-you only get a small amount of gloss for price you pay

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* missmanic on 5/15/2013 8:02:00 PM more reviews by missmanic

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Curly, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

Great pigmented, creamy, lip gloss. Very opaque, but can be sheered down when applied lightly. Can be worn on its own or over lipstick. Like all MAC lipglasses, it's quite thick. Does not leave a stain behind.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 SkyStarr on 5/9/2012 6:09:00 PM more reviews by SkyStarr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Dark, Neutral   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I just bought this product today from Macy's and I'm in love with this lip gloss. I've been searching for the perfect red that wasn't too overpowering but yet still bold and this did it for me. It has a hint of gloss and is very pigmented which is a plus for me. I wanted a red lipstick originally, but I just didn't care for their red lipsticks; they were too loud for me and plus you need a lip liner.The price factor does kinda suck considering that your only getting little product, but I'm still happy with my choice. I also had the same effect when it comes to the sticky-ness that other comments mentioned, but I personally like it that way so I know that the gloss is still on. The sticky-ness doesn't bother me too much. It also doesn't have a bad smell which is a plus. Overall I love this product and cannot wait to wear it.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 NARSaddiction on 2/5/2012 7:17:00 AM more reviews by NARSaddiction

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Oily, Fair-Medium   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Blue    

I am absolutely terrified of red lipsticks but I love how it looks on others. I was determined to make the look work for me but after many failed attepts with various versions of red lipsticks I had almost given up. I saw this lipglass on cheapsmells.com so I thought what the heck I'll give it a try.

I'm so glad I did. This is a gorgeous opaque red which isn't as over powering or clownish as a red lipstick. You can make it as sheer or as strong as you like and it realy is a less 'obvious' alternative to a lipstick. I wear it over Mac's Hue lipstick to get the best out of the colour.

For reference I have Platinum blonde hair and am a NW20

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 prettykitty1423 on 1/28/2012 7:38:00 AM more reviews by prettykitty1423

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Green    

This is a great, true red lipgloss.
It is very pigmented, opaque in a couple of swipes. I often wear this without any lipstick at all!
It's very glossy and shiny, and I love that even after a few hours, it's still opaque and glossy.
All in all, I love it!
:)

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* nola80 on 9/29/2011 1:41:00 PM more reviews by nola80

Age: 30-35   Skin: Very Oily, Olive, Warm   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

Gorgeous blood red color on the lips!!! This is extemely pigmented, I also own Russian Red and I almost wished I found this lipglass first because it's more amazing than it's lipstick counterpart. Worn on top of Russian Red it's the most perfect pinup look. Lasts long time on lips but it is very sticky, but I love the look too much to care!

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Kach100 on 9/9/2011 4:41:00 AM more reviews by Kach100

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Olive, Cool   Hair: Black, Kinky, Coarse   Eyes: Brown    

I love this lipglass. The texture IS really sticky, but I don't find it particularly discomforting, Just the usual texture of all MAC lip glosses. This lipglass has great colour pay off, and its 'less serious' than its lipstick counterpart which I love just as much. It looks fantastic on my NC42 toned skin and lasts for a fairly long time, even with eating and drinking. I snagged this off strawberry net for NZ$23 which I thought was a steal considering lipglasses are NZ$40ish from a MAC store. This is now a staple and is so lovely for all year round. Must have.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ellieface23 on 6/26/2011 1:04:00 AM more reviews by ellieface23

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Blue    

This is my absolute HG red lip color. It is a little bit sticky, but I would much prefer sticky to being too dry, so it really doesn't bother me too much. I love the pin-up/sex kitten vibe I get from this color while I am wearing it. I will say that it is not for the faint of heart because it is definitely RED. I absolutely love it!

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lip Gloss products