MAC • Matte - Honeylove • Lipstick

rated 4.1(164 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.75%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* susiej on 4/7/2014 1:00:00 PM more reviews by susiej

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Olive, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

For those of you in the UK this is a bit of an embarrassing admission but I actually bought this lipstick after reading one of the girls on TOWIE uses it.... oh I know. For shame- but I don't care really because in my book- if something looks nice, then it looks nice irrespective of any of the other peripheral factors!

The only other MAC matte lipstick that I own is Ruby Woo so I knew what to expect texture wise. I think the key to wearing pretty much any matte formula on the lips is 1. Preparation. For me this means going to bed with a really emollient balm on. 2. Less is more. The slightly heavier texture means it doesn't really ever dissipate in the way that a more gel formula would so you can be left with ghastly cakey looking lips where it has gathered.

So the colour of Honeylove is a sort of ever so slightly washed out 'brick' shade. It's medium/pale and when combined with the pink of your own lips (depending obviously on your pigmentation) it makes for a slightly warm nude. It's not a MLBB nude though, it definitely looks like you are wearing lipstick. On me it isn't a lipstick that I can wear with a bronzey look or a colourless look- I need a bit of colour on my cheeks to stop it washing me out. Combined with some definition on the eyes and cheeks it can look quite polished and chic. It lasts well. If I smudge it in with my finger, blot, smudge in again, I can get a good four hours out of it.

I'm giving Honeylove a 4 simply because it lacks a bit of versatility. I have to think a bit about what else is going on with my face and I have to make sure that my lips are in peak condition for it- but all that taken into account I consider it a worthwhile buy.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* wendycoco on 4/6/2014 10:21:00 PM more reviews by wendycoco

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Hazel    

This lipstick comes off orange on me. So sad :(. I don't see how people say it's a brown pink colour.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 dirtyblondeee on 1/11/2014 11:01:00 AM more reviews by dirtyblondeee

Age: 25-29   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I have used almost this entire tube and that NEVER happens with me (total lipstick junkie!!) I wanted a matte nude that wouldn't make me look like a corpse and this is perfect! I wear it literally just about every day and it looks amazing and lasts a realllllly long time on. I pair it with Stripdown lip liner sometimes, but it also looks great on its own. the ONLY drawback is sometimes it can end up looking a little "concealer mouth" but that depends what I'm doing with the rest of my makeup. I would buy this again in a heartbeat.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 asherzoby on 1/10/2014 1:48:00 AM more reviews by asherzoby

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

i heard so much about MAC lipsticks that i want to love this.
But sorry, i can't! it just does not look right sitting on my lips. Perhaps the colour is too beigey or strong and the texture is not right. This makes it look like i smeared some crayon on my lips which is NOT the look i am going for. The colour is also too stark against my asian NC 25 skin. I am chinese with yellow skin tones so perhaps that is why?
That being said, i have a friend who loves this shade and she's chinese just fairer (perhaps NC 20) so maybe it will work if you are lighter and have those gorgeous pale skintone.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* NinaSun on 1/2/2014 8:34:00 PM more reviews by NinaSun

Age: 19-24   Skin: Normal, Fair-Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

One of my all time favorite MAC lipsticks! The formula is so smooth and creamy and goes on seamlessly. It's not completely matte but not luster either, which I like, and feels great on the lips. THe color is also a very flattering shade of nude - not too peach but not too brown, just the right in between. This would look great on a lot of skintones, especially light - darker medium.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Samdoll on 12/2/2013 8:24:00 PM more reviews by Samdoll

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brown, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

Use this everyday! I love having a glowy skin look so a matte neutral rosy beige lipstick like Honeylove is perfect for a contrast texture and the rose undertone brightens my complexion. It's not a drying matte formula which I found is the case with Please Me. It lasts fairly long and looks great with Well Dressed blush by Mac or Nars Deep Throat as it brings out the pink tones of those shades even more. Any cons? Hmmm.....maybe it can sink into the lines when I haven't had time to use lip balm. But that's not a huge con.....I still love Honeylove! I have had mine for about 4 months and have used up about 3/4 of it so I'll definitely repurchase this when finished : )

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* beautyjunkie2012 on 11/22/2013 9:42:00 PM more reviews by beautyjunkie2012

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Dark   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

Honey Love had to come home with me after I applied it in-store. Cork lipliner first to line my lips (smudge it out) then the lipstick. With a touch of clear lipglass in the center of my lips....an instant hit! A perfect fit for my nc45 skintone. It features a slight peach undertone once it settles on my lips. I'm happy and confident with this lippie and I will definitely re purchase it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 kamberc94 on 8/3/2013 10:15:00 AM more reviews by kamberc94

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Coarse   Eyes: Blue    

I honestly have a love hate relationship with this. I hated it at first, I couldn't get a good application or anything. Eventually I figured out the trick. Now I can't seem to find it :( I hope I find it soon.... I might buy it again if I can't but I have yet to decide. Mattes tend to be hard to work with.

If you want this lipstick apply lightly, for me it caked on and felt thick and heavy. BE CAREFUL!! It's pigmented!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 expensivepink92 on 7/12/2013 6:10:00 PM more reviews by expensivepink92

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

This is a great nude lipstick if you have fair skin and it doesn't make your lips look dry or cracked if they aren't. Its nice to pair with a more dramatic eye or for an everyday look. I like to pair it with MAC's Stripdown lip liner and sometimes top it off with a gloss. Great, versatile lipstick!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 ImperfectionIsBeauty911 on 6/5/2013 6:36:00 PM more reviews by ImperfectionIsBeauty911

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Medium Brown, Cool   Hair: Brown, Relaxed, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I'm excited to even write a review on this lipstick! I am half African American half white so finding a nude shade to look good with my skin tone sucks. This lipstick however has been passed around to all of my friends who range from as pale as it gets to very dark, looking gorgeous on everyone.

I feel like if you are going to buy your first MAC lipstick, this is a good one to go for! I have yet to find a skin tone it isn't gorgeous with. Plus I will always get compliments on my lips when wearing this color so that's a major plus ;) Perfect for a smokey eye or any makeup look. Buy it- you wont be sorry!!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More MAC products

More Lipstick products