L'Occitane • 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream • Lotions/ Creams

rated 4.1(827 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.72%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 jinxybells on 3/10/2014 8:18:00 PM more reviews by jinxybells

Age: 19-24   Skin: Dry, Fair   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is the first hand cream I've used that I actually love! My line of work requires me to wash my hands a lot and use tons of alcohol rub, which while keeps your hands very sterile, also dries them out immensely quickly, even more so in the dryness of European winters!

I was getting pretty desperate to find a hand cream that would actually lock in moisture and help heal my skin (which was painfully cracking at the knuckles) when a friend recommended the L'Occitane Shea Butter Hand Cream. It was a little pricey (I think I got mine for about 25 Euro for a 150ml tube), but I decided to give it a go.

Best decision ever! I quickly massaged it into my hands before I headed to work, and midway through my second hour (after tons of hand-washing), I realized that my hands still felt quite smooth and I felt less pain in my knuckles.

This thing really does what it says: it hydrates and moisturizers like no other. If you have hands that don't respond to anything else, give this a go. Also, just apply a pea-sized amount to the back of both hands, then slowly massaged it out, topping up with another pea-sized amount if you don't have enough to cover your hands. They absorb in about 2 minutes, leaving behind a pleasant satin-like finish on your skin.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 DianaMahr on 3/10/2014 8:43:00 AM more reviews by DianaMahr

Age: 19-24   Skin: Sensitive, Medium   Hair: Black   Eyes: Brown    

The best hand cream i've ever had !

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 makeupxo on 2/16/2014 1:19:00 PM more reviews by makeupxo

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Normal, Fair   Hair: Blond   Eyes: Green    

Absolutely love this hand cream. I have no idea what previous reviews are taking about because the smell is so nice. The cream itself is very thick but absorbs into your skin so fast. It is very moisturizing and makes my hands glow. The price is a bit on the expensive side but all L'occitane products are fair trade and use no harmful chemicals, everything is natural. This is an amazing product and i will repurchase, but the big size tube lasts so long i wont need to for a while!

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* clarissa90 on 1/28/2014 9:29:00 PM more reviews by clarissa90

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Medium, Cool   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

I agree with the previous reviews that state this cream is overpriced and the scent is hard to stand. Luckily, I bought a small size to try out per a recommendation of a classmate. I will not repurchase.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* shi1 on 1/22/2014 11:38:00 AM more reviews by shi1

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair, Neutral   Hair: Black, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I have been a loyal Crabtree & Evelyn hand cream user for years, but I've heard loads about the L'Occitane ones. Some have told me that L'Occitane is even better than C&E hand creams and now that I've had the chance to try them, here are my thoughts.

The cream itself is nice. It has a thick consistency, and it has a lovely silky finish. It is thicker than C&E, and the results are pretty similar in terms of how moisturizing it is. It relieves any flaky dryness, and like the C&E, I never suffer from hangnails. It doesn't leave a greasy finish.

HOWEVER, the scent is really really strong. I have this in the original scent, as well as two holiday scents and they are all strongly fragranced. So much so, that I have given them away. I work in an office at a desk, and when I wear this the scent drives my nose crazy.

In conclusion, its a really nice cream but unfortunately the scent is just too strong to tolerate. If you can find a scent that you like, or if you like strong fragraces then give it a go!

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 anpage on 1/17/2014 8:47:00 PM more reviews by anpage

Age: 30-35   Skin: Dry, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Straight, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

This is an incredibly rich and creamy hand lotion, perfect for those days when your hands are so dry, they are either cracking, peeling, flaking, etc. This soothes and smooths almost immediately. I don't really care for the shea scent on this one, but I deal with it because the lotion really does the trick when your hands need it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 2 of 5 coffeeandcream on 1/17/2014 4:20:00 PM more reviews by coffeeandcream

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

This is very moisturizing, however the overpowering fragrance and high pricetag is a turnoff. The scent reminds me of some sort of baby powder product. It's a shame because this did a really nice job at moisturizing my dry winter hands and cuticles.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 lissa2m on 12/27/2013 4:36:00 AM more reviews by lissa2m

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Medium Brown   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Hazel    

I buy this for my mum (age 69) and she loves it. Shes been using this for 8 months already. It makes her hand smooth and reduces her wrinkles. Shes now on her second tube.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 EM65 on 12/14/2013 11:38:00 AM more reviews by EM65

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

I really don't understand the hype around this product. First off, the moisturizing effects do not last through multiple handwashings. The moisturization itself is not that great. In fact, my hands tend to feel drier, especially in the morning after putting it on before going to bed. There are so many better hand lotions out there for a lot less $.

Secondly, the smell! Like strong baby powder. I had a tube in my gym bag and happened to put it on right before my boot camp class. Bad mistake. When my face was close to my hands (pushups, burpees), I felt nauseated from the smell. I will use up but will not repurchase. Too bad, I was so excited to try this brand. Hopefully the rest of the L'Occitane products that came in my "value set" are better.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 thirdsword on 12/10/2013 12:10:00 AM more reviews by thirdsword

Age: 19-24   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Black, Medium   Eyes: Brown    

I recently went through a sample of the 20% Shea Butter Hand Cream that I had acquired during a grand opening. This winter has been colder than usual, and as a result my already dry hands, arms, and legs have become even more parched, so I used up the 3mL sachet all over my body.

I'm extremely impressed with the formula. It absorbed quickly, leaving my skin soft, but not greasy. I especially love what it did for my hands--normally I need quite a large blob of product, especially for my eczema patches, but with this a little went a long way.

The only thing?

The smell.

I generally don't let scents get in the way of liking a product, but the smell of this reminds me of baby toiletries. Even though I finished the sample, right after I had the urge to spray myself with perfume to cover up the baby lotion smell.

I'll have to try L'Occitane's other hand creams, but I heard that the others aren't as moisturizing, which I am inclined to believe due to differing ingredient lists--in fact I recall trying the almond milk cream and loving the scent but not being satisfied with its more watery texture. It seemed that most of the scent faded quickly, though, so I'll have to test the shea butter cream again in store, but if others can smell it on my hands from afar, I'll have to pass up on it.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More L'Occitane products

More Lotions/ Creams products