LUSH • Icon • Fragrances

rated 4.0(12 reviews)

Average Rating.4.0
Would buy this product again.66%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 3 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Khiandra on 5/23/2013 2:12:00 PM more reviews by Khiandra

Age: 25-29   Skin: Dry, Tan, Warm   Hair: Black, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Black    

I boldly purchased a 1oz bottle of Icon un sniffed and I honestly don't regret it...kinda let down though. Let down only because its not as complex as others made it sound. It smells decent from the first spray right on through to the dry down but isn't anything spectacular, and though its strong it doesn't last long. Not long on me anyway. It's a basic incense type fragrance with nothing special going for it. I do use it but only hanging around the house or to bed, not for date night or anything like that. I wouldn't purchase again but I am enjoying the bottle that I do have. Overall I would say its just....ok.

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* renia22 on 10/19/2012 4:30:00 PM more reviews by renia22

Age: 36-43   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Brown, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I purchased this in the perfume solid, thinking the regular perfume might be too strong, and I'm glad I did. This is definitely a dark, rich fragrance; old fashioned, smokey, incense-y. The notes are:


Myrrh, orange blossom, bergamot, mandarin and sandalwood.


The best way I can describe it is it smells like incense, cola and spicy orange candy. Something about the addition of the orange blossom & mandarin I don't like, though. I can see how people say that some of the Lush fragrances have the potential to smell like cat pee, and if your chemistry does not mix well with this, it can go in that direction. However, once the orange fades on me (which luckily is within 30 minutes or so), it smells like fizzy-cola & incense. Then it finally fades into smelling like myrrh & sandalwood incense. To me it smells the best towards the end, right before it fades completely and needs to be reapplied. This is probably a perfume best worn during the cold weather months. I would not recommend wearing this to the office or in hot weather. This is a strong, pungent scent so wearing it sparingly is probably best.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 haxxai on 10/17/2010 9:14:00 PM more reviews by haxxai

Age: 25-29   Skin: Sensitive, Fair, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Hazel    

I love this stuff. It's definitely an acquired taste though. Initially I find it a bit overpowering but after it dries down it's much more mellow. Icon reminds me of the Amazonian massage bar (discontinued) which is also from Lush.

I've worn it every day since I purchased it. Today was the first day I wore it out in public and I got an interesting reaction. A woman near by was with her husband and started choking dramatically. She said "Ugh I hate that smell! It smells like a hospital!" to which her husband replied "Actually it smells like sexy ladies perfume". Hell yeah it does!

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 1 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* mommygirl5 on 1/22/2010 5:37:00 PM more reviews by mommygirl5

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair, Cool   Hair: Blond, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Green    

yuck! i love lush products and most of their scents...but this one was awful. i was so excited to get it. i opened the package, sprayed my wrist and then ran like crazy to the bathroom to wash it off. this perfume was so strong it made me sick to my stomach. i couldn't keep the bottle in my bedroom and i ended up throwing it out. awful awful stuff...

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* notluisebrooks on 5/1/2009 3:47:00 PM more reviews by notluisebrooks

Age: 25-29   Skin: Other   Hair: Other   Eyes: Other    

"Icon" is excactly what it says it is and the description of it on the "Lush" site couldn't be anymore perfect; Intensely spicy, woodsy, boozy and smoky, it somehow brings to mind Leonard Whiting as "Romeo" in "Romeo and Juliet"---this is the languid, philosophical scent of the original emo youth. Upon first spray, you will smell incense--and lots of it, incense that seems soaked in precious oils and astringent, herbal elixirs. It then softens into something gingery-plummy and clove-like...almost like an exquisite, monastic incense or ungent. Finally, it dries down into something that smells like old books, libraries, tapestries---anything beautiful and dusty, but aromatically so. The wood smells like something old and sacred, like a sandal, ebony or cedar box. "Icon" is a strong scent but not really expansive--people will, undoubtedly, know you are wearing it but you're unlikely to knock out anyone within a few feet of you---it wears more like a headshop, essential oil, i.e., close to the skin. While it would seem absolutely perfect on your typical Poe, Dorian Gray or some tragic, dishy, male poet, it's also quite unisex and would wear well on women. Of course, it would have to be a woman who's partial to deep burgundy, purple and green velvets, carries herself suspiciously like "The Lady of Shalott" or sometimes asks people to refer to her as "Ophelia", "Cassandra" or "Oracle". Maybe she even thinks she's an elf or a member of "Fleetwood Mac". Anyhow, "Icon" is classic, moody but all in good fun and I'm sure it will become a signature fragrance for many creative personalities.

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 Truesark on 4/14/2009 6:35:00 PM more reviews by Truesark

Age: 44-55   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Green    

One fabulous insense scent. It worries me a bit when I bought it unsniffed, but after a few wearings, I was convinced it was nearly perfect on the 'insense radar'. If you like heady insense scent, you will love this and like another poster here, will never let yourself run out.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ianastar on 3/5/2009 3:30:00 PM more reviews by ianastar

Age: 36-43   Skin: Oily   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

the intoxicating scent of Icon, waft in the scent of Sandalwood, Mrryh and Bergamot. Smells like an Icon on the rise.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 Zibeline on 2/1/2009 10:32:00 PM more reviews by Zibeline

Age: Unknown   Skin: Dry, Fair-Medium   Hair: Red   Eyes: Black    

I bought this ages ago and decided to give it a second look for when I bought Icon I was not as besotted with incense as I am now.

I love it now. The scent is myrrhy and beautiful an Icon of a churchy type not the silly vain movie star type. Icon lasted 8 ours on my skin and still smells rich and beguiling and just a little bit spiritual.

Definitely going to hunt for another bottle of it.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* ChildOfTheMoon on 1/22/2009 11:16:00 AM more reviews by ChildOfTheMoon

Age: 25-29   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

This is like a bittersweet poem in liquid, if that makes any sense. Maybe something Emerson wrote... Imagine an old fashioned perfume bottle, say Youth Dew by Estee Lauder, with a deep purple satin ribbon. THAT is the kind of bottle this fragrance deserves. Like Youth Dew, Icon is rich, spicy and syrupy. It has that liquor warmth to it. It even appears that way, being so concentrated and dark.


Unlike other spicy fragrances I encountered, this one possesses something almost...minty, but not in a fresh, blue sense, more like fresh herbal plants dug up with muddy roots and all. Like a punch of spice and dirt with slightly bitter, lemony herbal leafs... If that makes any sense. There's myrrh in this, which is quite unusual, so maybe that's what gives Icon its old-fashioned, deep purple edge. Myrrh can be compared to patchouli, it is a warm, earthy scent, but slightly sharper. Other notes included are orange blossom, bergamot, sandalwood and mandarin oil.


There's a single flower hidden somewhere in the heart of Icon, red and heady, like a poppy. Surrounded by the citrusy spice of bergamot and mandarin, growing in the base of earthy, incensey myrrh and woody sandalwood, this mysterious flower completes the scent.



Icon is the kind of fragrance you don't want to over-apply, or wear every day. It can easily make you feel dizzy. To me this is a cold weather scent, saved for rainy days and snowy nights when I feel particularly poetic or just crazy in a dark and twisted way. So I wear it quite often then... Ha! But seriously, not as often as I'd like to.

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* AmandaPandaPSC on 5/28/2006 12:17:00 AM more reviews by AmandaPandaPSC

Age: 19-24   Skin: Acne-prone, Fair   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Blue    

I bought this dusting powder on ebay - from someone who got it from a recent batch of specially made discontinued LUSH products. I bought it never having sniffed it before. I could smell it through the closed container and almost didn't open it because I didn't think I'd like it. I then opened it and had a closer sniff and still did not care for it. So, I decided that since I opened it I might as well try it. I sprinkled a bit on my arms. WOW. It smells 10X better when worn (on me). I have discovered this with many LUSH products - they seem to smell better when worn/used. Definitely smells warm & dark...smells like a BPAL fragrance would. While I'm not SUPER crazy about it, I will use it up, and enjoy it. Who knows....maybe the scent will grow on me, and if I ever find another ICON scented item, I just might buy it ;)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More LUSH products

More Fragrances products