Alba Botanica • Hawaiian Papaya Enzyme Facial Mask • Masks

rated 4.1(132 reviews)

Average Rating.4.1
Would buy this product again.78%
Ingredients

Read Reviews


rated 5 of 5 SaraxD on 3/23/2014 12:18:00 AM more reviews by SaraxD

Age: 19-24   Skin: Very Dry, Fair   Hair: Brunette   Eyes: Green    

I have had this product for about 2 weeks, and have been using it nearly everyday.

PACKAGING: I know most people can't stand tub packaging, but I really don't mind it much. I hate the feeling when the product gets under my nails, but it's not like washing my hands after applying is going to kill me.

PRICE: It's a bit pricey (about $11 for 3oz of product), but I feel it's worth it considering how great it makes my skin look.


USE: I smear this all over my face, focusing more where I get flaky skin and breakouts.

FEEL: The immediate sensation when you put this mask on your face is a VERY SLIGHT burn/tingle. This goes away after a couple minutes. It is overall refreshing and cooling.

RESULTS: My skin looks brighter right after I wash this off. My face is smoother, the flakes are almost all gone, and my pores are smaller.

I feel this is gentle enough (for me) to use every day. I leave this on for 20-30 minutes, as I find anything less will not give me great results. This has quickly become a staple in my skincare routine.

For anyone wondering, I bought this off iherb.com because I could not find it in my local drugstores. As far as I know, Walgreens and CVS should carry it.

I will definitely update this in a month or two, or if I get any adverse effects. So far, I'm loving it! :)

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 celina5847 on 3/22/2014 7:32:00 PM more reviews by celina5847

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Medium   Hair: Brown   Eyes: Brown    

Just purchased this on clearance for $5.00 at Walmart. It smells wonderful and feels really refreshing. I don't mind that it comes in a little tub, but it would be more convenient if it had a pump. I really don't understand when people "shudder" at the thought of having to use their fingers to use a product...do you not use tampons?? Anyways, it's a nice little treat for your face.

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* UrbanObsession on 12/26/2013 2:35:00 AM more reviews by UrbanObsession

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brown, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

So far this mask is HG material, will update if this changes! Got it for $6 on clearance at Walgreens and even though I don't need anymore face products, the price was enough to justify purchasing.

Pros:
Smells like a tropical smoothie
Skin glows after one use
Doesn't dry completely, easy to remove
No breakouts or irritation
Reduces irritation from blemishes
Lessens the amount of blackheads on face

Cons:
Feels like icy hot on my face and burns if left on past the 5 min mark

There's a lot to love about Alba's papaya enzyme mask and my clog-prone, sensitive skin has benefited greatly from it..never in my life have I had such naturally glowing skin that radiates through my makeup. HG amazing:) I use this 1-3 times per week. It seriously works at perfecting my skin, shrinks pores, and restores a healthy glow!

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* FusiaFever on 12/6/2013 1:35:00 PM more reviews by FusiaFever

Age: 25-29   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Blond, Curly, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

I am definitely a mask girl! I have tried a lot of facial masks at this point. I must say that I am loving this hawaiian papaya enzyme mask so far. I like that Alba Botanica sticks to all natural products and the smell is so divine. It smells of pineapple and feels gel-like upon application to the face. While the sticky green substance is not what one expects, it glides on easily. This mask dries longer than the typical clay mask.

I use this mask on a rotation with others in the shower. I like that this mask does not have me washing the tub of particles, like clay masks. My face tingles ever so slightly. It definitely reduces inflammation, when I have a major acne breakout. And it leaves my pores smaller and barely visible.

Overall, this is one of my favorite masks. I got it on sale at Walgreens for $7.50.

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* combatmedicwife on 11/27/2013 9:59:00 AM more reviews by combatmedicwife

Age: 30-35   Skin: Combination, Fair-Medium, Warm   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Green    

Would I have purchased this mask were it not on sale, ten dollars off? No. However, this is love at first use and I do mean LOVE. I had trepidation on spending the money on Alba but was always curious.
This yummy gel-like mask is cooling and I know it works, I can feel the enzymes eating away at the dead and yucky skin. I used to get papaya enzyme peels from my esthetician and I can honestly say this mask does the same good as the professional one.
Consider me an Alba convert.

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 oilyteen on 11/24/2013 9:38:00 PM more reviews by oilyteen

Age: 18 & Under   Skin: Oily, Fair-Medium, Neutral   Hair: Brunette, Straight, Medium   Eyes: Blue    

This is very cooling and helps a brake out go away faster if I'm braking out ill use it 1-3 times a week, I started with once away and worked my way up to 3. One good finger tip dip is all you need so even though it's a little pricey it last a long time, just make sure you wash it off after 5 minutes

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 StarAlexander on 11/14/2013 5:12:00 PM more reviews by StarAlexander

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Olive   Hair: Other   Eyes: Brown    

The employee recommended this for me to freshen up my skin because it started to seem dull with little bumps. I ended up going back for it after reading reviews. I bought the toner as well. I am in love and addicted to this product. I feel so much better and my skin glows after I do it. I limited myself to 3 times a week. You definitely need to moisturize after this and the toner

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 *TOP REVIEWER* Shakeitdontbreakit on 10/6/2013 11:55:00 PM more reviews by Shakeitdontbreakit

Age: 36-43   Skin: Dry, Medium, Warm   Hair: Blond, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Brown    

I'm not a mask girl. I bought this because it was the most expensive beauty product in the grocery store and I hate to leave with just groceries.
I gotta say - I like this mask! It does slightly tingle, for me, only on the areas I regularly exfoliate/AHA. Because I don't have sensitive skin, or because I'm crazy, I like a little sting. Makes me feel like it's working.
I use this when I've been half-assing my skin care regime, to give it a more thorough cleaning. The thing I really love about this mask is that it definitely smooths and cleanses, but instead of stripping the skin, leaving it dry and tight (in a bad way), leaves it dewy, moist and comfortable.

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.     Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 5 of 5 bbarry75 on 7/12/2013 2:09:00 AM more reviews by bbarry75

Age: 36-43   Skin: Very Oily, Fair   Hair: Black   Eyes: Green    

love. I use it 3 days after a chemical peel to help get the flaking skin off gently

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No

rated 4 of 5 iEuphoria0 on 7/7/2013 8:06:00 PM more reviews by iEuphoria0

Age: 19-24   Skin: Combination, Fair   Hair: Brunette, Wavy, Fine   Eyes: Hazel    

I have a love/hate relationship with tubs of products. On one hand it's easier to get it all out, on the other it makes me shudder to stick my fingers into the product. (I use a tongue depressor now. Easy fix!) I also have sensitive skin. It's nothing crazy but it means I can't use this product more than once a week. But even using it that infrequently still helps my skin! I use this as a pre mask gel and it makes my skin smooth and pores open. It's hard to wash off if you leave it too long, so either watch the clock or take a shower to rinse it off! :)

    Was this review helpful to you? Yes   No



More Alba Botanica products

More Masks products